DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 08/22/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Applicant’s amendments have overcome the specification objections, claim objections, and some of the 35 USC 112 rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 07/29/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "D2" and "D3" have both been used to designate for the vertical direction in fig. 2. The arrows of D2 in fig. 1 and fig. 2 conflict to each other. Examiner suggests changing the direction of D2 arrow to horizontal as shown in fig. 2 below.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claims
Claim 17: “second distance” is not shown in the drawing.
Claim 19: the feature “the second direction is a horizontal direction in the common plane” is not shown in the drawing. Fig. 2 does not show D2 is a horizontal direction opposite to D1.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The term “second distance” is not described in the specification.
Claims 4-5, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “wherein the elongate first bifurcated slot path has a single end that is close-ended, the elongate second bifurcated slot path has a single end that is open-ended, and the elongate second slot path has a single end that is close-ended” in lines 7-10 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear if these single ends are the same or different with the first and second closed ends and the open end recited in claim 1. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Claim 5 recites “wherein a first continuous planar electrically conductive portion of the electrically conductive portion defines the elongate first bifurcated slot path, a second continuous planar electrically conductive portion of the electrically conductive portion defines the elongate second slot path, and a space between the first continuous planar electrically conductive portion and the second continuous planar electrically conductive portion defines the elongate second bifurcated slot path” in lines 1-6 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear how these first and second continuous planar electrically conductive portions relate to the first and second electrically conductive portions of the electrically conductive portion recited in claim 1. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-12 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al, US-20070057849-A1, (hereinafter Moon) in view of Dou et al, US-9105966-B1 (hereinafter Dou).
Regarding claim 1, Moon discloses the following:
antenna arrangement, comprising:
a feed (130, fig. 3); and
an electrically conductive portion (110, 120) that terminates at an edge (fig. 3 reproduced below), wherein the electrically conductive portion comprises a slot (fig. 3) comprising:
an elongate first slot-path (slot extending to the left of feed 130, fig. 3) extending lengthwise from the feed in a first direction (fig. 3); and
an elongate second slot-path (slot extending to the right of feed 130, fig. 3) extending lengthwise from the feed in a second direction different to the first direction (fig. 3);
wherein the elongate first slot-path extends lengthwise a first distance in the first direction from the feed and then bifurcates into an elongate first bifurcated slot path and an elongate second bifurcated slot path (fig. 3); and
wherein:
the elongate first bifurcated slot path is close-ended and terminates at a first closed end (closed end at 120c);
the elongate second bifurcated slot path is open-ended and terminates at an open end in the edge (fig. 3); and
the elongate second slot path is close-ended and terminates at a second closed end (closed end at 110c);
wherein the elongate first bifurcated slot path, the elongate second bifurcated slot path, and the elongate second slot patch occupy a slot area in a common plane (fig. 3, para [0049], [0056]: in the same plane as the ground surface 140) and are formed in first and second electrically conductive portions of the electrically conductive portion (fig. 3: 110a-110d, 120a-120d), the first and second electrically conductive portions also being in the common plane (para [0049], [0056]).
Although Moon does not explicitly disclose wherein areas of the first and second electrically conductive portions in the common plane is greater than the slot area, Moon suggests the size of the first and second electrically conductive portions could be adjusted (fig. 5A-5B, 8A-8B).
Dou suggests the size and shape of the slot area can be adjusted (col. 5, lines 15-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the areas of the first and second electrically conductive portions taught in Moon to be greater than the slot area as suggested in Dou as claimed for the purpose of achieving the desired antenna performance (Dou, col. 5, lines 15-17).
Regarding claim 4, as best understood, Moon discloses wherein the slot comprises the elongate first slot-path (slot extending to the left of feed 130, fig. 3 above) extending lengthwise from the feed in the first direction (fig. 3) and the elongate second slot-path (slot extending to the right of feed 130, fig. 3) extending lengthwise from the feed in the second direction (fig. 3), and
wherein the elongate first slot-path comprises the elongate first bifurcated slot path and the elongate second bifurcated slot path (fig. 3), and
wherein the elongate first bifurcated slot path has a single end (at 120c) that is close-ended (fig. 3), the elongate second bifurcated slot path has a single end that is open-ended (fig. 3), and the elongate second slot path has a single end (at 110c) that is close-ended.
Regarding claim 5, as best understood, Moon discloses wherein a first continuous planar electrically conductive portion of the electrically conductive portion (120, fig. 3) defines the elongate first bifurcated slot path, a second continuous planar electrically conductive portion (110) of the electrically conductive portion defines the elongate second slot path, and a space between the first continuous planar electrically conductive portion (portion 120c of 120) and the second continuous planar electrically conductive portion (portion 110c of 110) defines the elongate second bifurcated slot path (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Moon discloses wherein the electrically conductive portion (110, 120, fig. 3) is a rim of an apparatus (fig. 3), and the edge is an edge of the rim (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Moon discloses wherein the rim (110, 120, fig. 3) extends upwardly from a ground plane (140) and the elongate second bifurcated slot path (the slot between 120c and 110c) terminates at the open end on the edge of the rim furthest from the ground plane (140, fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Moon discloses wherein there is no portion of the rim between the elongate first slot path, before bifurcation (the slot extending to the left from feed 130 under 110d, fig. 3), and the ground plane (140).
Regarding claim 9, Moon discloses wherein
the elongate first bifurcated slot path (the slot extending to the left from feed 130, fig. 3 reproduced below) comprises an initial portion (fig. 3) that extends in the first direction and a terminating portion that extends in a third direction perpendicular to the first and second directions (fig. 3) and terminates at the first closed end (at 120b),
the elongate second bifurcated slot path (the slot between 110c and 120c, fig. 3 below) comprises a terminating portion that extends in the third direction perpendicular to the first and second directions and terminates at the open end (fig. 3), and
the elongate second slot-path (the slot extending to the right of feed 130) comprises a portion extending in the third direction perpendicular to the first and second directions (fig. 3) and a terminating portion that extends in the first direction and terminates at the second closed end (at 110c).
Regarding claim 10, Moon discloses wherein the elongate second slot path (the slot extending to the right of feed 130, fig. 3) is positioned and shaped so that the second closed end (at 110c) of the elongate second slot path is positioned adjacent the elongate second bifurcated slot path (the slot between 110c and 120c).
Regarding claim 11, Moon discloses wherein the elongate first slot-path has an F-shape (the slot extending to the left of feed 130, fig. 3 reproduced below) and wherein the elongate second slot-path has a J-shape or an L-shape (the slot extending to the right of feed 130, fig. 3), wherein the F-shape comprises two parallel arms extending perpendicularly from a stem, wherein a first arm is provided with the elongate first bifurcated slot path and a second arm is provided with the elongate second bifurcated slot path, wherein the second arm is positioned between the first arm and the elongate second slot-path having the J-shape or the L- shape (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Moon discloses the following:
an apparatus comprising:
an electrically conductive rim (fig. 3); and
at least one antenna arrangement (110, 120) as claimed in claim 1, defined in the electrically conductive rim (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, Moon discloses an electronic device (para [0015]: the apparatus of the invention is installed inside a portable terminal) configured for wireless communication (para [0005]: portable terminals refer to cellular phone and para [0013]: portable terminal providing multiple-band wireless communication services) comprising the apparatus of claim 12.
Regarding claim 16, Moon discloses wherein at least a portion of the elongate first slot-path (left of feed 130, fig. 3) is directly adjacent the ground plane (140).
Regarding claim 17, Moon discloses wherein the elongate second slot path (fig. 3: right of feed 130) extends lengthwise a second distance in the second direction from the feed (fig. 3 below).
Regarding claim 18, Moon discloses wherein the first direction is a horizontal direction in the common plane; and
the third direction is a vertical direction in the common plane (fig. 3 above).
Regarding claim 19, Moon discloses wherein the elongate second slot path comprises an initial portion that extends in the second direction; and
the second direction is a horizontal direction in the common plane (fig. 3 above).
Regarding claim 20, Moon discloses wherein a portion of the stem is provided with an initial portion of the elongate first slot-path before bifurcation (110d, fig. 3 below).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon and Dou as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al, US-20180090850-A1 (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 2, Moon discloses wherein the elongate first bifurcated slot path, the elongate second bifurcated slot path, and the elongate second slot path are mutually sized and arranged to provide:
a lower frequency resonance having a lower frequency operational bandwidth (para [0042]);
a higher frequency resonance having a higher frequency operational bandwidth (para [0042]).
The combination of Moon and Dou does not disclose the antenna arrangement provide an intermediate frequency resonance having an intermediate frequency operational bandwidth; wherein the lower frequency operational bandwidth and the higher frequency operational bandwidth are interconnected with the intermediate frequency operational bandwidth to form a combined bandwidth.
However, Moon discloses that the electromagnetic connection between the radiator 110 and 120 would increase the bandwidth (para [0050]).
Lee discloses wherein the elongate first bifurcated slot path (122, fig. 1), the elongate second bifurcated slot path (170), and the elongate second slot path (slot to the right of feed FP1) are mutually sized and arranged to provide:
a lower frequency resonance (210, fig. 2) having a lower frequency operational bandwidth;
a higher frequency resonance (230) having a higher frequency operational bandwidth; and
an intermediate frequency resonance (220, 240) having an intermediate frequency operational bandwidth; wherein the lower frequency operational bandwidth and the higher frequency operational bandwidth are interconnected with the intermediate frequency operational bandwidth to form a combined bandwidth (fig. 2, para [0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the antenna arrangement taught in Moon and Dou to have plurality of frequency resonance and form a combined bandwidth as taught in Lee as claimed for the purpose of extending the bandwidth of the antenna (Lee, para [0020]) in order to improve antenna’s performance and maintain wireless communication in different frequencies.
Regarding claim 3, Moon discloses wherein the feed is a single broadband feed (130, fig. 3) configured to feed across the combined bandwidth (combined bandwidth of radiators 110, 120, para [0050]).
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon in view of Dou as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Liu et al, US-20180375197-A1 (hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Moon and Dou does not disclose wherein the rim has a substantially planar perimeter formed as a rectangle that has 180 degree rotation symmetry, wherein the at least one antenna arrangement is arranged in the rim to satisfy the same 180 degree rotation symmetry.
Liu suggests wherein the rim (13, fig. 5) has a substantially planar perimeter formed as a rectangle that has 180 degree rotation symmetry, wherein the at least one antenna arrangement (15, 16) is arranged in the rim to satisfy the same 180 degree rotation symmetry (fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the at least one antenna arrangement taught in Moon and Dou in the rim to satisfy the same 180 degree rotation symmetry as suggested in Liu as claimed for the purpose of providing hard appearance to the antenna arrangement (Liu, para [0002]) and reducing space occupied by the antenna arrangement in the application.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Moon and Dou does not disclose wherein the rim has a spatially distributed array of antenna arrangements wherein the at least one antenna arrangement provides a wideband antenna suitable for multiple-input multiple-output.
Liu suggests wherein the rim (13, fig. 5) has a spatially distributed array of antenna arrangements (15, 16) wherein the at least one antenna arrangement provides a wideband antenna suitable for multiple-input multiple-output (para [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the at least one antenna arrangement taught in Moon and Dou suitable for multiple-input multiple-output as suggested in Liu as claimed for the purpose of increasing data rates, improving the signal quality and enhancing coverage in order to improve the quality of the wireless communication.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/22/2025 regarding the drawing objection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that “Although Applicant argued that “Due to the limitation of patent application illustrations being in two-dimensional, the second and third directions D2, D3 in Figure 2 may appear to be designating the same direction. However, when viewed in light of the specification, at least the above portions of the specification as filed indicate that the second and third directions D2, D3 shown in Figure 2 are not designating the same direction. Instead, as discussed above, the second direction D2 is described as extending in a two- dimensional flat plane and the third direction D3 is described as extending perpendicular to the two- dimensional flat plane.”
Examiner respectfully disagree because third direction D3 is perpendicular to both first and second direction D1, D2 in a two dimensional flat plane, therefore, fig. 2 has to show third direction D3 is perpendicular to the first and second direction, the arrow of second direction D2 cannot point to the same direction as the third direction D3. Examiner suggests rotating the arrow of second direction to horizontal as fig. 1.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argued that “Moon fails to disclose that "the elongate first bifurcated slot path, the elongate second bifurcated slot path, and the elongate second slot path occupy a slot area in a common plane and are formed in first and second electrically conductive portions of the electrically conductive portion, the first and second electrically conductive portions also being in the common plane" and that "areas of the first and second electrically conductive portions in the common plane is greater than the slot area," as recited in independent claim 1 as amended herein.”
Examiner respectfully disagree because Moon discloses "the elongate first bifurcated slot path, the elongate second bifurcated slot path, and the elongate second slot path occupy a slot area in a common plane and are formed in first and second electrically conductive portions of the electrically conductive portion, the first and second electrically conductive portions also being in the common plane" (para [0049], [0056]).
Moreover, the arguments are moot because claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon (US-20070057849-A1) in view of Dou (US-9105966-B1) as explained above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/ANH N HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2845