DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/29/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 6/30/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 18-20 are withdrawn. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8-9, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20230011160 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses (Fig. 2) A semiconductor device, comprising: a substrate (PS) that includes a first surface; a first semiconductor chip (300, set 1) that includes a second surface facing the first surface of the substrate and a third surface opposite to the second surface, each of the second and third surfaces having a rectangular shape that includes a plurality of sides and has surface areas that are different (PR1, PR2, Fig. 1); and a second semiconductor chip (200) disposed on the first surface of the substrate on one side of the first semiconductor chip, wherein when viewed in a first direction substantially perpendicular to the substrate, one of the sides of the third surface that is closest to the second semiconductor chip overlaps an interior portion of the second semiconductor chip (PR1 overlaps 200, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1, further comprising (Fig. 2): a third semiconductor chip (300, set 2) that includes a sixth surface facing the first surface of the substrate and a seventh surface opposite to the sixth surface, each of the sixth and seventh surfaces having a rectangular shape that includes a plurality of sides and has surface areas ( PR2, PR1,Fig. 1), that are different, wherein when viewed in the first direction, one of the sides of the seventh surface that is closest to the second semiconductor chip overlaps an interior portion of the second semiconductor chip (PR1 overlaps 200, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 8, wherein the second semiconductor chip has a rectangular shape including a plurality of sides, and two of the sides of the semiconductor chip that face each other are parallel to said one of the sides of the second surface, said one of the sides of the third surface, said one of the sides of the sixth surface, and said one of the sides of the seventh surface (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the first semiconductor chip includes a side surface having a stepped shape (PR1, PR2) with a plurality of surfaces that extend parallel to said one of the sides of the third surface and face the second semiconductor chip or the first surface of the substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20230011160 A1) in view of Oh (US 20090321954 A1)
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1 but is silent regarding the first semiconductor chip includes a first side surface that is on the side of the second semiconductor chip and extends in a second direction parallel to said one of the sides of the third surface and in a third direction that is oblique with respect to both the second and third surfaces. Though not disclosing the side surface facing the second die diagonally intersecting the second and third surfaces, Kim discloses the side surface is stepped sided from bottom up. Oh, an analogous art, discloses (Fig. 7) chip (101) has a side surface inclined into the inner portion of the chip to accommodate the footprint of an adjacent die (456). Artisans in the art would have realized a stepped side or inclined surface of a die would serve the same purpose, allowing a larger space on the substrate to accommodate another chip, thus yielding predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention to substitute the stepped side surface of Kim for the inclined surface of Oh for a diversity of optimal applications.
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of Oh discloses he semiconductor device according to claim 2. Kim further discloses (Fig. 2, ¶ [0048]) comprising: a resin layer (MD) that covers the first semiconductor chip and contacts the first side surface.
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of Oh discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 2, wherein the first semiconductor chip includes a second side surface that is connected to the first side surface and perpendicular to both the second and third surfaces (the other side surfaces of first chip).
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Oh discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the second semiconductor chip includes a fourth surface facing the first surface (bottom surface) of the substrate and a fifth surface (top surface) opposite to the fourth surface, and when viewed in the first direction, a part of the fourth surface overlaps the first semiconductor chip (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of Oh discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 5. Kim discloses (Fig. 2) the fourth and fifth surfaces of the second semiconductor chip (200) have a rectangular shape (200, Fig. 1) including a plurality of sides and surface areas that are different but is silent regarding when viewed in the first direction, one of the sides of the fifth surface closest to the first semiconductor chip is farther from a center of the first semiconductor chip than one of the sides of the fourth surface closest to the first semiconductor chip. However, OH discloses (Fig. 7) and inclined side surfaces of 456 fit into the inclined side surface of lowermost die 101, maximizing the larger space on the substrate enabled by the inclined side of the lowermost die 101. As such one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate an inclined die by another inclined die to maximum the space on the substrate.
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of Oh discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 6. The modification of the shape of the second chip of Kim by Oh would allow the second semiconductor chip includes a side surface that extends in a second direction parallel to said one of the sides of the fourth surface and said one of the sides of the fifth surface and in a third direction that is oblique with respect to both the fourth and fifth surfaces.
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1. Kim fails to disclose the first semiconductor chip includes: a first side surface that is on the side of the second semiconductor chip and extends in a second direction parallel to said one of the sides of the third surface and in a third direction that is oblique with respect to both the second and third surfaces, and a second side surface that is on the other side of the second semiconductor chip and extends in the second direction and in a fourth direction that is oblique with respect to both the second and third surfaces.
Oh, an analogous art, discloses (Fig. 7) chip (101) has a side surface inwardly inclined into the chip to accommodate the footprint of an adjacent die (456). Artisans in the art would have realized a stepped side or inclined surface of a die would serve the same purpose, allowing a larger space on the substrate to accommodate another chip, thus yielding predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention to substitute the stepped side surface of Kim for the inclined surface of Oh for a diversity of optimal applications. It is predictable for artisans in the art to mirror a shape or point over its central axis to create symmetry and aesthetically pleasing look. As such it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to mirror the modified side surface of Kim by Oh to the other side of the die to efficiently accommodate the space of another adjacent die. Doing so would streamline the production and enhance the symmetrical structure of packaging applications.
Claim(s) 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20230011160 A1) in view of Choi (US 20230413585 A1)
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1, further comprising: a fourth semiconductor (second chip of set 1, Fig. 2) chip on the third surface of the first semiconductor chip but is silent regarding a thickness of the first semiconductor chip is greater than a thickness of the fourth semiconductor.
Choi, an analogous art, discloses (Fig. 2, ¶ [0038]) a base chip (400a) thickness (Ta) is greater than a thickness (Tb) of upper chips stacked on the base chip to prevent crack from occurring in the lowermost chip.
It is predictable for artisans to employ the teaching of Choi to strengthen the base chip for the base chip of Kim. Doing so would provide structure support for the chip package. As such it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute a base chip with a greater thickness than that of the upper chips taught by Choi for the base chip of Kim to strengthen the stacking structures.
Regarding claim 11, Kim in view of Choi discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 10, wherein the fourth semiconductor chip includes an eighth surface facing the third surface of the first semiconductor chip and a ninth surface opposite to the eighth surface, each of the eighth and ninth surfaces having a rectangular shape that includes a plurality of sides and has substantially the same surface area, and when viewed in the first direction, each of the sides of the eighth surface approximately coincides with a corresponding one of the sides of the ninth surface (Fig. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of Choi discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 11, wherein when viewed in the first direction, one of the sides of the eighth surface farthest from the second semiconductor chip and one of the sides of the ninth surface corresponding to said one of the sides of the eighth surface overlap an interior portion of the first semiconductor chip (Fig. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 13, Kim in view of Choi discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1. Kim further discloses (Fig. 2) comprising: an adhesive layer (AD2) by which the first semiconductor chip adheres to the substrate, wherein a part of the adhesive layer is between the first and second semiconductor chips, and is closer to the third surface of the first semiconductor chip than the second semiconductor chip in the first direction (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Kim in view of Choi discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1. Kim further discloses no spacer is between the substrate and the first semiconductor chip (Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20230011160 A1)
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1. Though being silent regarding the first semiconductor chip includes a curved side surface that extends parallel to said one of the sides of the third surface and faces the second semiconductor chip, Kim discloses a stepped side surface extending parallel to one of the sides of the bottom surface and facing the second chip. Artisans in the art would have appreciated the etching or cutting a rounded or curved corner for a curved side surface would be much simpler and less risk of chipping than etching or cutting a square corner of a stepped side surface. As such it would be predictable to adapt a rounded corner for a rounded side surface to yield practical advantages. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the stepped side surface of Kim for a rounded side surface. Doing so would ensure stress reduction and structural integrity.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Park (US 20230343746 A1) and Goto (US 20200303345 A1) disclose two stacked chip sets side by side and a single chip disposed in the middle.
Conclusion
/DTH/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/Leonard Chang/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898