Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/25/24, 04/13/26 was filed in a timely manner; thus, the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claims #1-17 and 23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/18/26.
Claims #18-22 will be further examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim #19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are:
With respect to Claim #19, which currently states, “wherein the array region is substantially free of the additional insulative structures”, the Examiner notes that the current specifications and drawings designate the ‘array region’ (as seen in fig. 1G, as item 160), as item #160. However, the current specifications and drawings show and define the ‘insulative structures’ as being directly underneath the defined area for ‘substantially free’ area. The Examiner cannot differentiate, in light of the present specifications or drawings, what area or amount of area/region, is substantially free of claimed additional insulative structures. The Examiner takes the position that one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of original conception, could not reproduce said described invention without undue experimentation.
Furthermore, with respect to claim #19, the term "substantially" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite; it is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. “Substantially” is defined as "being largely but not wholly that which is specified” (see Merriam Webster online dictionary). This language is indefinite as the specification does not describe how much the value can deviate from ‘substantially free’. The term “substantially” modifies a target, and implicitly requires boundaries at some maximum value above the target and at some minimum value below the target beyond which one is not “substantially” the target any more. Neither the claims, nor the specification, defines these boundaries. Thus, it is unclear whether one must be within some small percentage of deviation of the target (such as 0.01 %, 0.1 %, 1 %, 2 %, 5 %, 10 %, or some other percentage) or within a certain number of units of the target (in this case, the target is substantially free), and specifically which of these possible values defines the boundaries. If one were to poll 100 people having ordinary skill in the art, there would be many different responses for the boundaries. Thus, determining whether one is infringing the limitation is subjective, rather than objective, and thus the claim is unclear. Therefore, the claim is rejected as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Correction to these matters is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim #18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (U.S. Pat. No, 9,960,180), hereinafter referred to as "Zhou" and in view of Ikawa et al., (U.S. Pat. No. 9,589,839), hereinafter referred to as "Ikawa".
Zhou shows, with respect to claim #18, a memory device, comprising: a stack structure (column #1, line 26-42) comprising: an array region comprising a vertically alternating sequence of insulative structures (fig. #2, item 32) and conductive structures (fig. #2, item 42; silicon nitride) arranged in tiers (column #6, line 28-46; column #7, line 30-35; column #15, line 58-62); and a peripheral region comprising a vertically alternating sequence of the insulative structures (fig. #2, item 32) and additional insulative structures (fig. #5, item 12) arranged in additional tiers horizontally neighboring the tiers of the array region (column #10, line 3-8), at least some of the additional insulative structures (fig. #16, item 54, 56) (column #11, line 43-67).
Zhou substantially shows the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #18 above.
Zhou fails to show, with respect to claim #18, a device comprising silicon nitride comprising greater than or equal to about 1.60 silicon atoms for every about 1.00 nitrogen atom. and strings of memory cells in the array region of the stack structure and comprising a channel material vertically extending through the stack structure.
Ikawa teaches, with respect to claim #18, a device comprising silicon nitride comprising greater than or equal to about 1.60 silicon atoms for every about 1.00 nitrogen atom. and strings of memory cells in the array region of the stack structure and comprising a channel material vertically extending through the stack structure (column #8, line 18-35).
The term "about" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite; it is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. “About” is defined as " almost or nearly used to indicate that a number, amount, time, etc., is not exact or certain” (see Merriam Webster online dictionary). This language is indefinite as the specification does not describe how much the value can deviate from about 1.60 silicon atoms for every about 1.00 nitrogen atom in order to be considered “about” 1.60 silicon atoms for every “about” 1.00 nitrogen atom. The term “about” modifies a target, and implicitly requires boundaries at some maximum value above the target and at some minimum value below the target beyond which one is not “about” the target any more. Neither the claims, nor the specification, defines these boundaries. Thus, it is unclear whether one must be within some small percentage of deviation of the target (such as 0.01 %, 0.1 %, 1 %, 2 %, 5 %, 10 %, or some other percentage) or within a certain number of units of the target (in this case, the target is about 1.60 silicon atoms for every about 1.00 nitrogen atom) and specifically which of these possible values defines the boundaries. If one were to poll 100 people having ordinary skill in the art, there would be many different responses for the boundaries. Thus, determining whether one is infringing the limitation is subjective, rather than objective, and thus the claim is unclear. Therefore, the claim is rejected as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #18, to modified the invention of Zhou as modified by the invention of Ikawa, which teaches, a device comprising silicon nitride comprising greater than or equal to about 1.60 silicon atoms for every about 1.00 nitrogen atom. and strings of memory cells in the array region of the stack structure and comprising a channel material vertically extending through the stack structure, to incorporate a structural wherein the silicon rich presence reduces the charge accumulation, as taught by Ikawa.
Zhou shows, with respect to claim #19, a device wherein the array region (fig. #8, item 73; contact region fig. #8, item 300) is substantially free of the additional insulative structures (column #10, lines 25-31; column #15, lines 18-40).
Zhou shows, with respect to claim #20, a device wherein each of the additional insulative structures (fig. #4, items 32 and 42) horizontally neighbors and is positioned at substantially the same vertical elevation as one of conductive structures (fig. #4a, item 32 and 42) (column #7, lines 1-7; column #9, lines 42-48).
Zhou shows, with respect to claim #21, a device wherein the strings of memory cells further comprise a memory material comprising silicon nitride (fig. #4a, item 32 and 42) (column #11, lines 63-67; column #12, lines 1-7).
Zhou fails to show, with respect to claim #22, a device a device wherein a ratio of nitrogen atoms to silicon atoms of the at least some of the additional insulative structures is greater than about 1.62:1.00.
Ikawa teaches, with respect to claim #22, a device a device wherein a ratio of nitrogen atoms to silicon atoms of the at least some of the additional insulative structures is greater than about 1.62:1.00 (column #8, line 18-35).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #22, to modified the invention of Zhou as modified by the invention of Ikawa, which teaches, a device wherein a ratio of nitrogen atoms to silicon atoms of the at least some of the additional insulative structures is greater than about 1.62:1.00, to incorporate a structural wherein the silicon rich presence reduces the charge accumulation, as taught by Ikawa.
Double Patenting
Claims #18-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims #1 of Lengade et al., (U.S. Patent No. U.S. 12,004,346), hereinafter referred to as "Lengade". Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because;
Claim #18 is rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim #1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,004,346, which discloses, microelectronic device, comprising: a stack structure including an array region and a peripheral region horizontally neighboring the array region, the stack structure comprising: a first region comprising first levels respectively comprising: silicon oxide material within the array region and the peripheral region; within the array region, conductive material vertically adjacent the silicon oxide material; and within the peripheral region, silicon nitride material vertically adjacent the silicon oxide material and having a first refractive index and a first ratio of nitrogen atoms to silicon atoms greater than about 1.60:1.00; and a second region vertically overlying the first region and including second levels respectively comprising: the silicon oxide material within the array region and the peripheral region; within the array region, the conductive material vertically adjacent the silicon oxide material; and within the peripheral region, additional silicon nitride material vertically adjacent the silicon oxide material, the additional silicon nitride material having a second refractive index greater than the first refractive index and having a second ratio of nitrogen atoms to silicon atoms less than about 1.60:1.00; and a third region vertically overlying the second region and including third levels respectively comprising: the silicon oxide material within the array region and the peripheral region; within the array region, the conductive material vertically adjacent the silicon oxide material; and within the peripheral region, the silicon nitride material vertically adjacent the silicon oxide material; and strings of memory cells vertically extending through the stack structure and horizontally confined within the array region of the stack structure. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to understand that the claimed structure of claim #1, of U.S. Patent No. 12,004,346, produces the same semiconductor structure as that in claim #18 of the instant application, which states, a memory device, comprising: a stack structure comprising: an array region comprising a vertically alternating sequence of insulative structures and conductive structures arranged in tiers; and a peripheral region comprising a vertically alternating sequence of the insulative structures and additional insulative structures arranged in additional tiers horizontally neighboring the tiers of the array region, at least some of the additional insulative structures comprise silicon nitride comprising greater than or equal to about 1.60 silicon atoms for every about 1.00 nitrogen atom. and strings of memory cells in the array region of the stack structure and comprising a channel material vertically extending through the stack structure.
Claim #22 is rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim #1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,004,346, which discloses, microelectronic device, comprising: a stack structure including an array region and a peripheral region horizontally neighboring the array region, the stack structure comprising: a first region comprising first levels respectively comprising: silicon oxide material within the array region and the peripheral region; within the array region, conductive material vertically adjacent the silicon oxide material; and within the peripheral region, silicon nitride material vertically adjacent the silicon oxide material and having a first refractive index and a first ratio of nitrogen atoms to silicon atoms greater than about 1.60:1.00; and a second region vertically overlying the first region and including second levels respectively comprising: the silicon oxide material within the array region and the peripheral region; within the array region, the conductive material vertically adjacent the silicon oxide material; and within the peripheral region, additional silicon nitride material vertically adjacent the silicon oxide material, the additional silicon nitride material having a second refractive index greater than the first refractive index and having a second ratio of nitrogen atoms to silicon atoms less than about 1.60:1.00; and a third region vertically overlying the second region and including third levels respectively comprising: the silicon oxide material within the array region and the peripheral region; within the array region, the conductive material vertically adjacent the silicon oxide material; and within the peripheral region, the silicon nitride material vertically adjacent the silicon oxide material; and strings of memory cells vertically extending through the stack structure and horizontally confined within the array region of the stack structure. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to understand that the claimed structure of claim #1, of U.S. Patent No. 12,004,346, produces the same semiconductor structure as that in claim #22 of the instant application, which states, a memory device wherein a ratio of nitrogen atoms to silicon atoms of the at least some of the additional insulative structures is greater than about 1.62:1.00.
EXAMINATION NOTE
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood or implied from the texts of the references. To emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out. Each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
Pertinent art
Pertinent art, not relied on in the present rejection, but considered to be related to the claimed filed invention, will be listed below.
1)
.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Andre’ Stevenson whose telephone number is (571) 272 1683 (Email Address, Andre.Stevenson@USPTO.GOV). The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 7:30 am to 4:30 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Zandra Smith can be reached on 571-272 2429. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Andre’ Stevenson Sr./
Art Unit 2899
/ZANDRA V SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899