DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on application KR10-2023-0036584. The priority document exchange retrieval request failed; therefore, no certified copy is present in the application file. Please contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free) or 571-272-4100 (local).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 10 September 2026 are persuasive as to which electrodes were being called the first and second electrodes. A new interpretation of the reference was taken with different elements being called the first and second electrodes which meet the other limitations required by the first and second electrodes as argued, it is apologized this interpretation was not given first, but as this is a new rejection, this rejection is Non-Final.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “second opening” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Also, the “tip part” should be consistently indicated in the drawings - in figure 6A, TP is indicated to be an area, whereas in figures 5, 7. 8, 9, 10, 11, 12A and 12B, TP is a point. The figure 6A is a close-up, so TP may seem to have more area in that drawing, but 12A is also a close-up drawing, and there, TP is indicated to be a point. Drawings should be corrected to show TP in a consistent manner. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [00192] recites “and the tip part TP of the emission connection part CE may be defined by a portion of the third layer L3, which protrudes from to the second layer L2”. The words “from to” should be changed to either “from” or “to”.
Paragraph [00233] recites “The tip part PT may be defined on the second pattern” Is this supposed to be the same tip part as the tip part of the claims? It seems to be a different tip part, as it is defined on the second pattern, while the tip part of claim 17 is “a second pattern…including the tip part.” However, no element PT is shown in the figures. Clarification is needed.
Paragraphs [00105 and 00121] refer to “the pixel defining layer opening OP-PDL that will be described later”, but no description is given later, nor is OP-PDL indicated in the figures.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7, 10, 18, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: the feature corresponding to “a second opening” is not clear from the specification and drawings. The “second opening” is not defined in the specification, as the first opening is. The first opening is defined and labeled in the figures as OP-E [00178], but the only other opening designated in the figures is OP-C, which in all of the figures appears to be a much smaller opening than the full second opening in the pixel-defining layer. OP-C comprises a feature called “the second opening portion,” which is described and labeled in the specification and drawings, but this is not the same as the claimed second opening. Another opening, OP-PDL (see specification objection) is referenced but not described in the specification and is not shown in the figures. For purposes of compact prosecution, the second opening will be considered to be any opening in the pixel defining layer other than the first opening.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:: “a first pattern arranged the driving connection part” should read “a first pattern arranged on the driving connection part.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 15 and 17, the metes and bounds of these claims cannot be determined because the claimed “tip part” is not consistently defined: Claim 15 recites “an emission connection part connected to the second electrode and having a tip part defined therein,” while claim 17 recites: “a second pattern spaced apart from the first pattern, arranged on the emission connection part, and including the tip part.” So, in claim 15, the tip part is an integral part of the emission connection part; while in claim 17, the same tip part is included in the second pattern, which is arranged on the emission connection part. This single tip part cannot simultaneously be a part of the two distinct elements. For purposes of compact prosecution, the tip portion will be considered to be any point at a corner of the emission connection part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4 -7, 9 – 13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Won et al. US 20220013609.
Regarding claim 1, Won discloses a display panel comprising:
a light-emitting element (figure 6B, LED [0093]) including a first electrode (figure 6B, electrode 223), a second electrode arranged on the first electrode (the upper portion of 221 arranged directly under 222 [0107] contacting 222, which is attached to, and thus “on”, the first electrode 223 as shown in figure 6B similar to a picture ‘on a wall’ – further this would also read on – ‘on top of’ – in the instance the figure was rotated 180 degrees), and an intermediate layer arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode (intermediate layer 222 is arranged between electrodes 221 and 223, shown in figure 6B);
a transistor electrically connected to the light-emitting element (see figure 6B, where thin film transistor TFT is connected to LED by CM1 and CM2);
a connection line arranged between the light-emitting element and the transistor in a cross-sectional view and including a driving connection part connected to the transistor and an emission connection part connected to the second electrode (figure 6B, a cross-sectional view, shows connection comprising CM1/CM2 as well as the lower part of 221, comprising the portion of 221 exposed from 222, arranged between LED and TFT, including a driving connection part CM1 connected to TFT and an emission connection part CM2 connected to the second electrode, the upper part of 221);
a first organic layer arranged between the transistor and the connection line (figure 6B, organic insulating layer 213 is arranged between TFT and the upper part of the connection line comprising the lower part of 221 [0103]);
a second organic layer arranged on the first organic layer and between the transistor and the light-emitting element (figure 6B, organic layer 209/211 is arranged on organic layer 213 and between TFT and LED [0103]);
and a pixel defining layer arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode (figure 6B, pixel defining layer 215 is arranged between 2nd electrode, the upper part of 221 and 1st electrode 223 [0109]) and having defined therein a first opening overlapping at least a portion of the first electrode (figure 6B, pixel defining layer 215 has an opening at the position of the LED, which overlaps at least a portion of the first electrode, 223), and a second opening spaced apart from the first opening (figure 7B, which like figure 6A illustrates another cross section of the device of figure 5, shows that pixel defining layer pixel defining layer 215 has another opening comprising the recess R),
wherein the second electrode includes one end connected to the emission connection part and another end spaced apart from the one end in a cross-sectional view (see annotated figure 6B below)
Regarding claim 2, Won discloses the display panel of claim 1, wherein the connection line includes:
a first pattern layer contacting the first organic layer and including a transparent conductive oxide (The connection line includes the lower part of element 221, which will be considered part of the first pattern layer. The lower part of 221 contacts the first organic layer 213 and includes a transparent conductive oxide, as described in paragraph [0108] ;
and a second pattern layer arranged on the first pattern layer (the second pattern layer comprises CM1 and CM2 and is arranged on the bottom surface of the first pattern layer).
Regarding claim 4, Won discloses display panel of claim 2, wherein the second pattern layer includes:
a first pattern arranged on the driving connection part (see figure 6B – the first pattern is the portions of driving connection part CM1 extending in the x-y plane above the via that is comprised by CM1) ;
and a second pattern spaced apart from the first pattern and arranged on the emission connection part (Similarly, the second pattern, which is spaced apart from the first pattern in the z direction, is the portions of driving connection part CM2 extending in the x-y plane above the via that is comprised by CM2).
Regarding claim 5, Won discloses display panel of claim 4, wherein the second pattern includes a tip part at a corner of element CM2 (see annotated figure 6B, where the tip part of the extending portion of CM2 is indicated by an arrow).
Regarding claim 6, Won discloses the display panel of claim 1, further comprising a protective layer arranged between the first organic layer and the connection line and including silicon (figure 6B, protective layer 214 is arranged between first organic layer 213 and the connection line parts in the lower part of 221 and includes silicon material [0135]), wherein the connection line penetrates the first organic layer and the protective layer and is connected to the transistor (figure 6B, the via below electrode 221, part of the connection line, penetrates 214 as well as first organic layer 213).
Regarding claim 7, Won discloses the display panel of claim 6, wherein
the second organic layer is arranged on the protective layer (figure 6B – the second organic layer 211/209 is arranged on the bottom side of the protective layer 214),
the second opening overlaps the emission connection part (the second opening, that is the opening in pixel defining layer 214 comprising recess R, as shown in figure 7B, overlaps the emission connection part CM1 - the opening is spaced apart from the emission connection CM1 in the x, the y, and the z directions, so there must be a diagonal direction in which these features overlap),
and at least a portion of the protective layer is exposed by the second opening (figure 7B - the magnified area of the side of the second opening shows that at least a portion of the protective layer 214 is exposed by the second opening.)
Regarding claim 9, Won discloses the display panel of claim 1, wherein the connection line is arranged between the first organic layer and the second organic layer (annotated figure 6B shows that connection line part CM1 is arranged between first organic layer 213 and second organic layer 209/211) , and a step is defined between the emission connection part and the second organic layer (the “step” is indicated on annotated figure 6B below).
Regarding claim 10, Won discloses the display panel of claim 1, further comprising a capping pattern (a capping pattern comprises layer 300, including sublayers 310, 311, and 312 [0119]) overlapping the second opening (figure 7B shows that capping pattern 330 overlaps the second opening) and covering at least a portion of the emission connection part (figure 6B shows that capping pattern 300 covers the emission connection part CM2).
Regarding claim 11, Won discloses the display panel of claim 1, wherein the connection line is arranged between the first organic layer and the pixel defining layer (annotated figure 6B shows that the connection line part comprising the lower part of 221 is arranged between first organic layer 213 and the pixel defining layer 215), and a step is defined between the emission connection part and the pixel defining layer (the “step” is indicated on annotated figure 6B above).
Regarding claim 12, Won discloses the display panel of claim 11, wherein the connection line includes: a first line arranged on the first organic layer (figure 6B, line AW); and a second line arranged on the second organic layer (figure 6B, line WL) and having a step defined between the second line and the pixel defining layer (the “step” is indicated on annotated figure 6B above).
Regarding claim 13, Won discloses the display panel of claim 1, wherein the light-emitting element is provided in plurality (paragraphs [0006] and [0059] and figure 11), and the first electrodes of the plurality of light-emitting elements are connected to each other ([0084]).
Regarding claim 15, Won discloses a display panel comprising:
a light-emitting element (figure 6B, LED [0093]) including a first electrode (figure 6B, 223), a second electrode arranged on the first electrode (second electrode, the upper portion of 221 arranged directly under 222 [0107], is arranged on, that is connected to the first electrode 223 through layer 222, as shown in figure 6B), and an intermediate layer arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode (intermediate layer 222 is arranged between electrodes 221 and 223, shown in figure 6B);
a transistor electrically connected to the light-emitting element (see figure 6B, where thin film transistor TFT is connected to LED by CM1 and CM2);
a connection line arranged between the light-emitting element and the transistor in a cross-sectional view and including a driving connection part connected to the transistor and an emission connection part connected to the second electrode (Figure 6B, a cross-sectional view, shows connection comprising CM1/CM2 as well as the lower part of 221, comprising the portion of 221 exposed from 222, arranged between LED and TFT, including a driving connection part CM1 connected to TFT and an emission connection part CM2 connected to the second electrode, the upper part of 221)
and having a tip part defined therein (see annotated figure 6B from the rejection of claim 5 above, where the tip part of the extending portion of CM2 is indicated by an arrow);
and a first organic layer arranged between the transistor and the connection line (figure 6B, organic insulating layer 213 is arranged between TFT and the upper part of the connection line comprising the lower part of 221 [0103]), wherein
the connection line includes a first pattern layer contacting the first organic layer and including a transparent conductive oxide (The connection line includes the lower part of element 221, which will be considered part of the first pattern layer. The lower part of 221 contacts the first organic layer 213 and includes a transparent conductive oxide, as described in paragraph [0108].) and a second pattern layer arranged on the first pattern layer (see figure 6B – the first pattern is the portions of driving connection part CM1 extending in the x-y plane above the via that is comprised by CM1).
Regarding claim 17, Won discloses the display panel of claim 15, wherein the second pattern layer includes:
a first pattern arranged the driving connection part (see figure 6B – the first pattern is the portions of driving connection part CM1 extending in the x-y plane above the via that is comprised by CM1); and
a second pattern spaced apart from the first pattern, arranged on the emission connection part (Similarly, the second pattern, which is spaced apart from the first pattern in the z direction, is the portions of driving connection part CM2 extending in the x-y plane above the via that is comprised by CM2), and including the tip par(see annotated figure 6B from the rejection of claim 5 above, where the tip part of the extending portion of CM2 is indicated by an arrow).
Regarding claim 18, Won discloses the display panel of claim 15, further comprising:
a pixel defining layer arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode (figure 6B, pixel defining layer 215 is arranged between 1st electrode, 223, and 2nd electrode, the upper part of 221 [0109]) and having defined therein a first opening overlapping at least a portion of the first electrode (figure 6B, pixel defining layer 215 has an opening at the position of the LED, which overlaps at least a portion of the first electrode 223) and a second opening spaced apart from the first opening (figure 7B, which like figure 6A illustrates another cross section of the device of figure 5, shows that pixel defining layer pixel defining layer 215 has another opening comprising the recess R); and
a capping pattern (a capping pattern comprises layer 300, including sublayers 310, 311, and 312 [0119]) overlapping the second opening (figure 7B shows that capping pattern 330 overlaps the second opening) and covering at least a portion of the emission connection part (figure 6B shows that capping pattern 300 covers the emission connection part CM2).
Regarding claim 19, Won discloses a display panel comprising:
a light-emitting element (figure 6B, LED [0093]) including a first electrode (figure 6B, 223), a second electrode arranged on the first electrode (second electrode, the upper portion of 221 arranged directly under 222 [0107], is arranged on, that is connected to the first electrode 223 through layer 222, as shown in figure 6B), and an intermediate layer arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode (intermediate layer 222 is arranged between electrodes 221 and 223, shown in figure 6B);
a transistor electrically connected to the light-emitting element (see figure 6B, where thin film transistor TFT is connected to LED by CM1 and CM2);
a connection line arranged between the light-emitting element and the transistor in a cross-sectional view and including a driving connection part connected to the transistor and an emission connection part connected to the second electrode (figure 6B, a cross-sectional view, shows a connection part comprising CM1/CM2 as well as the lower part of 221, comprising the portion of 221 exposed from 222, arranged between LED and TFT, including a driving connection part CM1 connected to TFT and an emission connection part CM2 connected to the second electrode, the upper part of 221) and having a tip part defined therein (see annotated figure 6B in the rejection of claim 5, where the tip part of the extending portion of CM2 is indicated by an arrow);
a first organic layer arranged between the transistor and the connection line (figure 6B, organic insulating layer 213 is arranged between TFT and the upper part of the connection line comprising the lower part of 221 [0103]); and
a protective layer arranged between the first organic layer and the connection line and including silicon (figure 6B, protective layer 214 is arranged between first organic layer 213 and the connection line parts in the lower part of 221 and includes silicon material [0135]), wherein the connection line penetrates the first organic layer and the protective layer and is connected to the transistor (figure 6B, the via below electrode 221, part of the connection line, penetrates 214 as well as first organic layer 213).
Regarding claim 20, Won discloses the display panel of claim 19, further comprising:
a second organic layer arranged on the protective layer and between the transistor and the light-emitting element (figure 6B – the second organic layer 211/209 is arranged on the bottom side of the protective layer 214 and between the transistor TFT and the light-emitting element LED);
and a pixel defining layer arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode (figure 6B, pixel defining layer 215 is arranged between 1st electrode, 223 and 2nd electrode the upper part of 221 [0109]) and having defined therein a first opening overlapping at least a portion of the first electrode (figure 6B, pixel defining layer 215 has an opening at the position of the LED, which overlaps at least a portion of the first electrode 223),and a second opening spaced apart from the first opening (figure 7B, which like figure 6A illustrates another cross section of the device of figure 5, shows that pixel defining layer pixel defining layer 215 has another opening comprising the recess R), wherein
the second opening overlaps the emission connection part (the second opening, that is the opening in pixel defining layer 214 comprising recess R, as shown in figure 7B, overlaps the emission connection part CM1 - the opening is spaced apart from the emission connection CM1 in the x, the y, and the z directions, so there must be a diagonal direction in which these features overlap), and
at least a portion of the protective layer is exposed by the second opening (figure 7B - the magnified area of the side of the second opening shows that at least a portion of the protective layer 214 is exposed by the second opening.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won et al. US 20220013609.
Regarding claim 3, Won discloses the display panel of claim 2,
Won lacks wherein the second pattern layer includes: a first layer including titanium (Ti); a second layer arranged on the first layer and including aluminum (Al); and a third layer arranged on the second layer and including titanium (Ti).
However, although Won is silent on the composition of the second pattern, in paragraph [0099] Won discloses that other metal patterns within this display panel may have triple layer structure including a titanium layer/an aluminum layer/a titanium layer in order to ensure good conductivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the date of filing to use a triple layer structure including a titanium layer/an aluminum layer/a titanium layer for the second pattern as disclosed by Won in order to ensure good conductivity.
Regarding claim 14, Won discloses the display panel of claim 13, having first electrodes that are commonly connected.
Won lacks wherein the second electrodes of the plurality are separated from each other.
However, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to provide separated second electrodes, in order to provide the display of Won with individual control of each pixel, as is necessary for a display device.
Regarding claim 16, Won discloses the display panel of claim 15.
Won lacks wherein the second pattern layer includes: a first layer including titanium (Ti); a second layer arranged on the first layer and including aluminum (Al); and a third layer arranged on the second layer and including titanium (Ti).
However, although Won is silent on the composition of the second pattern, in paragraph [0099] Won discloses that other metal patterns within this display panel may have triple layer structure including a titanium layer/an aluminum layer/a titanium layer in order to ensure good conductivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the date of filing to use a triple layer structure including a titanium layer/an aluminum layer/a titanium layer for the second pattern as disclosed by Won in order to ensure good conductivity.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won in view of In US 9299281.
Regarding claim 8, Won discloses the display panel of claim 6.
Won lacks wherein the protective layer has a thickness of about 500 Å to about 5000 Å.
However, In discloses a display device wherein the protective layer has a thickness of about 500 Å to about 5000 Å ([0016] and [0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to use a thickness of about 500 Å to about 5000 Å for a protective layer, to provide protection without adding excess bulk to the display panel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Lee et al. US 20200235172 and Kim et al. US 20200411629 (describe a similar OLED display panel), Lee et al. US 20210265456 (similar display device emphasizing connections), Shin et al. US 20170200916 and Choi et al. US 20200083306 (display devices with “steps” in pixel defining or insulating layers).
/KATRINA WALJESKI-MOSES/ Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818