DETAILED ACTION
This responds to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filed 01/27/2026. Claims 1, and 4 have been amended. Claim 20 has been added. Claims 1-20 are now pending in this Application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 1 appears to be directed to an abstract idea without reciting additional limitations that tie it to a practical application or without reciting additional limitations that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. One can mentally generate graph with nodes for spaces in a building as well as assets that are contained within those spaces. Then one can also mentally associate and classify senor readings and generate relationships between spaces, assets and sensors. The additional limitations are receiving data. These additional limitations are mere data gathering which are insignificant extra solution activities under step 2A prong II and well understood routine and conventional under step 2B (For Berkhiemer See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) Versata.)
Step 2A, Prong One: Mathematical Concepts
Independent claim 1 is directed to search including a chatbot.
Establishing a connection with a client device over a network; initiating a first session with the client device for engaging in a natural language conversion with the client device; generating structured search context parameters summarizing the conversation; storing, after terminating the first session, the structured search-context parameters… resumption of the conversation based on the structured search context parameters. Those are typically viewed as mental processes, data handing practices implemented on generic computing infrastructure.
Step 2A Prong Two and Step 2B
Use of processors to receive information, summarizing information, storing structure data, resuming processing based on stored data would constitute use of a generic computer used as tool to implement the abstract idea discussed above.
The step of receiving data associated with a building constitutes an insignificant extra-solution activity in the form of mere data gather, see MPEP 2106.05(g)
i. Performing clinical tests on individuals to obtain input for an equation, In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 839-40; 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1827-28 (Fed. Cir. 1989);
Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Claims 2-19 depend on claim 1 and therefore includes all of the limitation of claim 1, which is directed an abstract idea as discussed above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-9, 11, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konam et al (U.S. Pub No. 2023/0367973), and in view of Ross (U.S. Patent No. 9,426,111 A1), and further in view of Goldshtein et al (U.S. Pub No. 2024/0194180 A1).
As per claim 1, Konam discloses a method for network search performed by a computing engine, the method comprising:
establishing a connection with a client device over a network (Par [0041,0046]);
initiating a first session with the client device for engaging in a natural language conversation with the client device (Par [0041, 0046]);
generating structured search context parameters summarizing the conversation using a static large language model (LLM) engine based on the conversation (Par [0016, 0062]);
storing, after terminating the first session, the structure search-context parameter receive from the engine for resumption of the conversation based on the structure based on the structured search context parameters (Par [0046, 0080]).
Konam does not explicitly disclose storing the structured search context parameters received from the LLM engine with an identifier in a virtual clipboard hosted on the network for resumption of the conversation based on the structured search context parameters.
However, Ross discloses storing the structured search context parameters received from the LLM engine with an identifier in a virtual clipboard hosted on the network for resumption of the conversation based on the structured search context parameters (Col 5 lines 41-67 through col 6 lines 1-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Ross into the teaching of Dong in order to improve security (Col 3 lines 25-29).
Konam discloses large language model (LLM). Konam does not explicitly disclose the conversation using a static large language model (LLM).
However, Goldshtein discloses the conversation using a static large language model (LLM) (Par [0007-0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Goldshtein into the teaching of Konam as modified of Ross in order to improving the system.
As per claim 2, Ross discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising detecting a termination of the first session before generating the structured search context parameters (Col 16, lines 53-67 through col 17 lines 1-2).
As per claim 4, Goldshtein discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the computing engine and the static LLM engine are on distinct platforms (Par [0028-0031]).
As per claim 6, Goldshtein discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the natural language conversation is performed by a chatbot application separate from the static LLM engine (Par [0042-0044]).
As per claim 7, Goldshtein discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the natural language conversation is performed by a chatbot application integrated into the static LLM engine (Par [0042-0044]).
As per claim 8, Goldshtein discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the natural language conversation is performed by a chatbot application as a browser extension on the client device that is controlled by the computing engine (Par [0024-0044]).
As per claim 9, Ross discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the virtual clipboard is hosted by the computing engine (Col 16 lines 53-67. Request access and request access to the selected communication).
As per claim 11, Ross discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the conversation is resumed on a second computing engine in a second session (Col 11 lines 45-67 through col 12 lines 1-3).
As per claim 16, Konam discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising:
continuing the natural language conversation during a second session with a second computing engine; (Par [0016, 0062]); and,
updating the parameters using the static LLM engine (Par [0088];
storing the updated parameters received from the static LLM engine with an identifier (Par [0121-0125]).
Konam does not explicitly disclose in the virtual clipboard hosted for resumption of the conversation using the updated parameters.
However, Ross discloses in the virtual clipboard hosted for resumption of the conversation using the updated parameters parameters (Col 5 lines 41-67 through col 6 lines 1-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Ross into the teaching of Dong in order to improve security (Col 3 lines 25-29).
Konam discloses large language model (LLM). Konam does not explicitly disclose the conversation using a static large language model (LLM).
However, Goldshtein discloses the conversation using a static large language model (LLM) (Par [0007-0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Goldshtein into the teaching of Konam as modified of Ross in order to improving the system.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konam et al, and Ross et al, and Goldshtein et al, and further in view of Venable (U.S. Pub No. 2023/0208840 A1).
As per claim 13, Ross discloses the method of claim 1, identifier that is stored on the virtual clipboard (Col 5 lines 41-67 through col 6 lines 1-12).
Konam and Ross do not explicitly disclose wherein the identifier is associated with personally identifiable information (PII) of a user operating the client device.
However, Venable discloses not explicitly disclose wherein the identifier is associated with personally identifiable information (PII) of a user operating the client device (Par [0017])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Venable into the teaching of Konam as modified by Ross and Goldshtein in order to provide data access permission within computing systems (Par [0003]).
As per claim 14, Venable discloses the method of claim 13 wherein a second computing engine is configured to send an inquiry for permission to access the PII (Par [0013]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konam et al, and Ross et al, Goldshtein et al, and further in view of Wronski et al (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0409204 A1).
As per claim 18, Konam, Ross and Goldshtei do not explicitly disclose wherein the structured search context parameters are generated in a structured JSON format from unstructured content of the conversation.
However, Wronski discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the structured search context parameters are generated in a structured JSON format from unstructured content of the conversation (Par [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Wronski into the teaching of Konam as modified by Ross and Goldshtein in order to provide effective, efficient, scalable, fast reliable and convenient technical solution (Par [0003]).
Claim(s) 10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Konam et al, Ross et al, Goldshtein et al, and further in view of Zaydman et al (U.S. Pub No. 2024/0020019 A1).
As per claim 10, Konam, Ross and Goldshtein do not explicitly disclose the method of claim 1 wherein the virtual clipboard is hosted by a virtual clipboard engine separate from the computing engine
However, Zaydman discloses wherein the virtual clipboard is hosted by a virtual clipboard engine separate from the computing engine (Par [0031] transfer virtual disk and receive virtual disk).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Zaydman into the teaching of Konam as modified of Ross and Goldshtein in order to prevent loss work (Par [0010]).
As per claim 19, Zaydman discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the structured search context parameters consume less memory than the conversation (Par [0047]).
Claim(s) 3, 5, 12, 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konam et al, Ross et al, Goldshtein et al, and further in view of Wilkinson et al (U.S. Pub No. 2014/0278597 A1).
As per claim 3, Konam, Ross and Goldshtein do not explicitly disclose the method of claim 1 wherein the computing engine is a meta-search engine.
However, Wilkinson discloses wherein the computing engine is a meta-search engine (Par [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Wilkinson into the teaching of Konam as modified of Ross and Goldshtein in order to provide perquisites to user especially for travelers (Par [0009]).
As per claim 5, Goldshtein discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the computing engine and the static LLM engine (Par [0007-0009]).
Konam, Ross and Goldshtein do not explicitly disclose integrated into a single platform.
However, Wilkinson discloses integrated into a single platform (Par [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Wilkinson into the teaching of Konam as modified of Ross and Goldshtein in order to provide perquisites to user especially for travelers (Par [0009]).
As per claim 12, Wilkinson discloses the method of claim 11 wherein the second computing engine is hosted by one of an online travel agency, a music search engine, a real-estate search engine, legal research engine, media streaming service engine; food delivery engine; social media platform; job search engine; online learning platforms; and freelance service search engine (Par [0018-0020]).
As per claim 15, Wilkinson discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the conversation concerns travel-planning and includes one or more of origin, destination, number of passengers, dates, activities and budget preferences and the structured query includes fields matching the preferences (par [0018-0020, 0042]).
As per claim 17, Goldshtein discloses the method of claim 1 , the static LLM engine (Par [0007-0009]).
Konam, Ross and Goldshtein do not explicitly disclose wherein the conversation is a travel planning conversation and the method further comprises: continuing the natural language travel-planning conversation during a second session with a second computing engine; the second computing engine accessing the static LLM engine for parsing the travel planning conversation into structure search parameters, generating a travel itinerary at the second computing engine without accessing the static LLM engine based on the structured search parameter; and sending the itinerary to the client device.
However, Wilkinson discloses wherein the conversation is a travel planning conversation and the method further comprises: continuing the natural language travel-planning conversation during a second session with a second computing engine; the second computing engine accessing the static LLM engine for parsing the travel planning conversation into structure search parameters, generating a travel itinerary at the second computing engine without accessing the static LLM engine based on the structured search parameter; and sending the itinerary to the client device (par [0018-0020, 0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the features as disclosed in Wilkinson into the teaching of Konam as modified of Ross and Goldshtein in order to provide perquisites to user especially for travelers (Par [0009]).
Conclusion
February 18, 2026
/THU N NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2154