DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-14) in the reply filed on 7/20/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-11 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Caplet (US2022/0181512A1).
With respect to claim 8, Caplet teaches a semiconductor package bonding tool (title; and figures), comprising: a bonding plate (200); and a bonding block (100) disposed on a bottom surface of the bonding plate, wherein the bonding plate includes a first vacuum hole (205) that vertically penetrates the bonding plate, wherein the bonding block includes a bonding stage (101) disposed below the first vacuum hole, and wherein the bonding stage includes: a connection hole (103) connected (broadest reasonable interpretation) to the first vacuum hole (205) and vertically penetrating the bonding stage (figures 1A-5B); and a trench hole (the cavity formed by bosses 107) upwardly recessed from a bottom surface of the bonding stage, and wherein the trench hole surrounds the connection hole (103) and is spaced apart in a horizontal direction from the connection hole (figures 1A-5B; and paragraphs 41-71).
With respect to claim 9, Caplet teaches wherein the trench hole (the cavity formed by bosses 107) has a tetragonal frame shape (rectangular) (figures 1A-5B; and paragraphs 41-71).
With respect to claim 10, Caplet teaches wherein the trench hole is not connected to the first vacuum hole, and wherein a portion of the bonding stage separates the trench hole and the connection hole (figures 1A-5B; and paragraphs 41-71).
With respect to claim 11, Caplet teaches wherein a thickness in a vertical direction of the trench hole is less than a thickness in the vertical direction of the bonding stage (figures 1A-5B).
With respect to claim 13, Caplet teaches a plurality of bonding stages (the stages formed by bosses 107) including the bonding stage (101), and the plurality of bonding stages are spaced apart from each other in the horizontal direction on the bottom surface of the bonding plate (figures 1A-5B; and paragraphs 41-71).
With respect to claim 14, Caplet teaches wherein a width of the connection hole (103) is less than a width of the first vacuum hole (205) (figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caplet.
With respect to claim 12, Caplet discusses the lateral dimensions of the bonding stage (101) and microchips (paragraphs 42-43), but is silent with respect to a length in the horizontal direction of the trench hole. However, it is the examiner’s position that the horizontal length of the trench hole is merely an obvious design choice based on the microchips being handled and bonded. Thus, the artisan would have been motivation to utilize a horizontal length of the trench hole that is in a range of about 5 mm to about 15 mm in order to ensure that the microchips are precisely gripped by vacuum suction without interference.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 are allowed.
The examiner considers US2022/0181512A1 to be the closest prior art of record; however, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest either alone or in combination a semiconductor package bonding tool as recited by claim 1, particularly a bonding plate (200); and a plurality of bonding blocks (the structures formed by bosses 107) disposed on a bottom surface of the bonding plate, wherein each of the plurality of bonding blocks includes a bonding stage disposed below a respective first vacuum hole of the plurality of first vacuum holes, and wherein the bonding stage includes: a trench hole upwardly recessed from a bottom surface of the bonding stage; and a connection hole connecting a top surface of the bonding stage to the trench hole; and wherein a length in a horizontal direction of the trench hole is greater than a length in the horizontal direction of the connection hole.
Conclusion
/KILEY S STONER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735