Acknowledgment
The amendment filed on 08/11/2026 has been entered. The present Office action is made with all the suggested amendments being fully considered. Claims 1, 6-10, and 12 have been amended and claims 3-5, 11, and 13-20 have been cancelled. Accordingly, claims 1, 2, 6-10 and 12 are pending.
The amendments added to claims 2, 6-10 and 12 have overcome the 112(b) rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 6-10, and 12 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding new claim 1:
Applicant asserts:
As disclosed in Figs. lA and lE, and paragraph [0097], of Kim, "[the] isolation regions 32, 33 [are] spaced apart along the length of the gate finger 23." In other words, the isolation regions 32, 33 in Kim are always entirely under the gate finger 23.
There is no mention within Kim of saturation current or Ron resistance, let alone any hint or suggestion in Kim that would motivate the skilled person to decrease saturation current for a given Ron resistance. Thus, Kim does not disclose isolation regions that are between the source terminal and the gate terminal, or adjacent the source terminal, as recited by amended claim 1.
Examiner’s response:
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the above assertion.
Kim discloses, in figs. 1F-1G, the isolation regions (32, 33) are adjacent the source terminal (22).
Regarding the arguments “There is no mention within Kim of saturation current or Ron resistance, let alone any hint or suggestion in Kim that would motivate the skilled person to decrease saturation current for a given Ron resistance”: Kim teaches all the structural limitations cited in claim 1. Claim 1 in its current form does not cite any specific magnitude of changes in the saturation current or Ron resistance to distinguish from Kim.
MPEP section 2145 I: The arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("An assertion of what seems to follow from common experience is just attorney argument and not the kind of factual evidence that is required to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness.").
Therefore, claims 1 and 6-8 have been shown as rejected over Kim.
Applicant asserts:
Applicant’s arguments regarding Prechtl are moot as Prechtl has not been applied in the current Office action.
Regarding claim 2:
Applicant asserts:
Claim 2 depends from claim 1, thus, all arguments pertaining to claim 1 are equally pplicable to claim 2.
Examiner’s response:
This argument is moot as Prechtl has been relied upon in this Office action for claim 2. Furthermore, no specific arguments have been presented for claim 2.
Regarding claims 10-12:
Applicant asserts:
Claims 10-12 depend from claim 1, thus, all arguments pertaining to claim 1 are equally applicable to claims 10-12.
Examiner’s response:
This argument is moot as Prechtl has been relied upon in this Office action for claims 10-12. Furthermore, no specific arguments have been presented for claims 10-12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 20230068822 A1; hereinafter “Kim”) (Kim has been listed in the 10/31/2024 IDS).
In re claim 1, Kim discloses (e.g. Figs. 1A-1G and correlated text) discloses:
a power transistor (20) (¶86-88) comprising:
a source terminal (22);
a drain terminal (24);
a gate terminal (26);
a heterojunction (43) formed between two Ill-nitride semiconductor layers (41, 42) (¶112), the heterojunction being configured to allow the formation of a two-dimensional carrier gas at the heterojunction and thereby define an active area of the power transistor (¶112); and
a plurality of isolation regions (32, 33) located inside a boundary of the active area, the plurality of isolation regions being configured to prevent the formation of the two-dimensional carrier gas inside the plurality of isolation regions (since 32 & 33 extend deeper than 42, see Figs. 1E & G) (¶97);
wherein the source terminal (22), the drain terminal (24), and the gate terminal (26) are
laterally spaced apart in a first direction (x), the gate terminal (26) being located between the source terminal and the drain terminal; and
wherein the isolation regions (32, 33) are spaced apart from one another in a second
direction (y), perpendicular to the first direction (x); and
wherein either:
the isolation regions are between the source terminal and the gate terminal of the power transistor; or
the isolation regions (32, 33) are adjacent the source terminal (22) of the power transistor (fig. 1G shows the isolation regions 32, 33 are adjacent the source terminal 22).
In re claim 6, Kim discloses in Figs. 1A-1G, the power transistor according to claim 1, wherein the isolation regions (32, 33) comprise trenches formed in the III-nitride semiconductor layers (41, 42), the trenches being filled with dielectric material (fig. 1G; ¶97).
In re claim 7, Kim discloses in Figs. 1A-G, the power transistor according to claim 1, wherein the isolation regions (32, 33) comprise doped regions configured to inhibit the formation of a two dimensional carrier gas (fig. 1E; ¶97).
In re claim 8, Kim discloses in Figs. 1A-G, the power transistor according to claim 1, comprising a doped III-nitride region (25) disposed within the boundary of the active area, wherein the gate terminal (26) is disposed on the doped III-nitride region (25) (fig. 1A; ¶88).
In re claim 9, Kim discloses in Figs. 1A-G, the power transistor according to claim 1, comprising a plurality of doped III-nitride regions (Fig. 1F: (25', 25") disposed within the boundary of the active area and separated by the isolation regions (32, 33), wherein the gate terminal (26) is disposed across the plurality of doped III-nitride regions (25) (fig. 1A; ¶88).
Claim(s) 1, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng et al. (US 20230080538 A1; hereinafter “Cheng”).
In re claim 1, Cheng discloses, in figs. 1-2, a power transistor (1) comprising:
a source terminal (16) (¶27);
a drain terminal (17) (¶27);
a gate terminal (15) (¶27);
a heterojunction formed between two III-nitride semiconductor layers (111/112), the heterojunction being configured to allow the formation of a two-dimensional carrier gas at the heterojunction and thereby define an active area of the power transistor (¶29); and
a plurality of isolation regions (plurality of notched portions of the doped region 13 as shown in fig. 1) located inside a boundary of the active area,
the plurality of isolation regions (13) being configured to prevent the formation of the two-dimensional carrier gas inside the plurality of isolation regions (as the (plurality of doped regions 13 penetrate through the heterojunction formed between III-N layers 111/112, it prevents the formation of the two-dimensional carrier gas inside the plurality of isolation regions) (¶27);
wherein the source terminal (16), the drain terminal (17), and the gate terminal (15) are laterally spaced apart in a first direction (e.g., east-west direction; hereinafter “D1”), the gate terminal (15) being located between the source terminal (16) and the drain terminal (17); and
wherein the isolation regions (plurality of notched portions of the doped region 13 as shown in fig. 1) are spaced apart from one another in a second direction (e.g., north-south direction; hereinafter “D2”), perpendicular to the first direction (D1); and
wherein either:
the isolation regions (13) are between the source terminal (16) and the gate terminal (15) of the power transistor; or
the isolation regions (13) are adjacent the source terminal (16) of the power transistor.
In re claim 7, Cheng discloses, in figs. 1-2, the power transistor according to claim 1, wherein the isolation regions (13) comprise doped regions configured to inhibit the formation of a two dimensional carrier gas (¶34-36).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng, as applied to claim 1 above.
In re claim 2, Cheng the power transistor according to claim 1 outlined above.
Cheng does not expressly disclose wherein a distance between adjacent isolation regions in the second direction is smaller than a distance between the drain terminal and the gate terminal in the first direction.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a distance between adjacent isolation regions in the second direction is smaller than a distance between the drain terminal and the gate terminal in the first direction on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select a distance between adjacent isolation regions in the second direction is smaller than a distance between the drain terminal and the gate terminal in the first direction in order to significantly reduce overall on-resistance and increase the drive current for the power transistor (¶24-25 of Cheng).
Claim(s) 10, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Lin et al. (US 20150091095 A1; hereinafter “Lin”).
In re claim 10, Cheng discloses the power transistor according to claim 1 outlined above.
Cheng does not expressly disclose the power transistor comprising a hexagonal cell, wherein: the source terminal is a hexagonal source terminal; and the gate terminal is a hexagonal gate terminal; and wherein the hexagonal source terminal, the hexagonal gate terminal, and the drain terminal surround a same axis.
In the same field of endeavor, Lin discloses in figs. 3, 9, a power transistor comprising a hexagonal cell 20 (¶23-24), wherein:
the source terminal 24 is a hexagonal source terminal (¶27, 38); and
the gate terminal 25 is a hexagonal gate terminal (¶27, 38); and
wherein the hexagonal source terminal 24, the hexagonal gate terminal 25, and the drain terminal 23 surround a same axis.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form the gate, source terminals of Cheng having hexagonal shapes to provide a semiconductor device having a greater gate width of the gate electrode in the same area of the substrate and providing greater current. (¶9 of Lin).
In re claim 12, Cheng as modified by Lin discloses a power transistor according to claim 10 outlined above.
Lin further discloses in fig. 9, wherein the isolation regions 262 are located at corners of the hexagonal source terminal 24 (¶38).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NILUFA RAHIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893