helpDETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1-20, Applicant argues that Kawamura does not disclose, teach, or suggest any deformation of the support 6, and therefore does not disclose, teach or suggest “ a first deformation on the surface”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Kawamura teaches a first deformation of film 4 occurring on top of the support 6. Kawamura shows in fig. 3 film 4 deforming between a first point and a second point on top of the surface 6, specifically on top of the groove 23 (for example, shown in fig. 3). Applicant also argues that the film 4 shown in fig. 3 cannot disclose, teach, or suggest the surface of claim 1, as there is no groove formed on the film. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 recites “a groove formed on a surface”, and Kawamura teaches a groove (23 to 26) formed on a surface (6). Therefore, Kawamura teaches "a groove formed on a surface, the groove comprising an opening, wherein a distance between a first point and a second point on the surface and across the opening is configured to vary in response to a first deformation on the surface" recited in the Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawamura et al. (US Pat. 2015/0135857).
Regarding claim 1, Kawamura et al. teaches a sensing system (1) comprising: a groove (23 to 26) formed on a surface (6), the groove comprising an opening (as shown in fig. 1-3 and disclosed in para. 0034), wherein a distance between a first point and a second point (indicated with dotted lines 23 in fig. 1) on the surface and across the opening is configured to vary in response to a first deformation on the surface (as shown in fig. 3 and disclosed in para. 0035); a first sensor (7) mechanically coupled to the first point and the second point (as shown in fig. 1 and disclosed in para. 0034), wherein an electrical property (resistance) of the first sensor (7) is configured to change in response to the variation in the distance between the first point and the second point (as discussed in para. 0035); and a detection circuitry (U1, U2 and external circuit, as disclosed in para. 0039) configured to: detect the change in the electrical property of the first sensor (7) (as shown in fig. 4 and disclosed in para. 0041-0045); and generate an output (OUT 1) indicating a presence of the first deformation using the detection of the change in the electrical property of the first sensor (7) (as disclosed in 0041-0045).
Regarding claim 7, Kawamura et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1, in addition, Kawamura et al. teaches wherein the sensor (7) comprises a resistive strain gauge (as shown in fig. 1-4) wherein a resistance of the resistive strain gauge varies due to the variation in the distance between the first point and the second point and wherein the first deformation is detected when the resistance is outside a normal resistance range (as disclosed in 0041-0045).
Regarding claim 14, Kawamura et al. teaches a method comprising: measuring an electrical property (resistance) of a first sensor (7), wherein the first sensor (7) is mechanically coupled to a first point and a second point (indicated with dotted lines 23 in fig. 1) on a surface (6) (as shown in fig. 1-3 and disclosed in para. 0035), wherein the first point and the second point are located across an opening of a groove (23 to 26) on the surface (6) (as shown in fig. 1 and disclosed in para. 0034); comparing (using U1) the electrical property (resistance) of the first sensor (7) with a first threshold (V1) and with a second threshold (V3) (as shown in fig. 4 and disclosed in 0041-0045); and determining a first deformation of the surface when the electrical property of the first sensor (7) is higher than the first threshold (V1) or lower than the second threshold (V2) (as shown in fig. 4 and disclosed in 0041-0045).
Regarding claim 18, Kawamura et al. teaches a sensing device (1) comprising: a first sensor (7) configured to mechanically couple to a first point and a second point (indicated with dotted lines 23 in fig. 1) on a surface (6) (as shown in fig. 1 and disclosed in para, 0034), wherein the first point and the second point are located across an opening of a groove (23 to 26) on the surface (6), wherein an electrical property (resistance) of the first sensor (7) is configured to change in response to a variation in the distance between the first point and the second point (as disclosed in 0041-0045); and a detection circuitry (U1, U2 and external circuit, as disclosed in para. 0039) configured to: detect the change in the electrical property of the first sensor (7) (as disclosed in 0041-0045); and generate an output (OUT 1) indicating a presence of a first deformation using the detection of the change in the electrical property of the first sensor (7) (as disclosed in 0041-0045).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 15-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamura et al. (US Pat. 2015/0135857) in view of Hart (US PGPUB 2020/0249128).
Regarding claim 2, Kawamura et al. teaches a second sensor (8) coupled to a third point and a fourth point (indicated with dotted lines 24 in fig. 1) on the surface (6) and across the opening (as shown in fig. 1), wherein a distance between the third point and the fourth point is configured to vary in response to a second deformation (as disclosed in 0041-0045), and an electrical property (electrical resistance) of the second sensor (8) is configured to change in response to the variation in the distance between the third point and the fourth point (as disclosed in 0041-0045), wherein the detection circuitry (U1, U2 and external circuit, as disclosed in para. 0039) is configured to: detect the change in the electrical property of the second sensor (8) (as shown in fig. 4 and disclosed in 0041-0045); and generate an output indicating (OUT1) a presence of the second deformation using the detection of the change in the electrical property of the second sensor (8) (as disclosed in 0041-0045).
Kawamura et al. fails to specifically teach a communications circuitry configured to generate an alarm using any of the output indicating the presence of the first deformation and the output indicating the presence of the second deformations. However, Hart teaches a communications circuitry configured to generate an alarm using any of the output indicating the presence of the first deformation and the output indicating the presence of the second deformations (as disclosed in para. 0062).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have a communications circuitry configured to generate an alarm using any of the output indicating the presence of the first deformation and the output indicating the presence of the second deformations as taught by Hart with the invention of Kawamura et al. in order to avoid further damage to the vehicle.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kawamura et al. and Hart teaches the limitations of claim 2, in addition, Kawamura et al. teaches wherein a line (15) connecting the first point and the second point is distinct from and is approximately parallel to a line (13) connecting the third point and the fourth point (as shown in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kawamura et al. and Hart teaches the limitations of claim 2, in addition, Kawamura et al. teaches wherein a line (14) connecting the first point and the second point is distinct from and intersects a line (other line connecting sensor 8 to line 14) connecting the third point and the fourth point (as shown in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Kawamura et al. teaches the limitations of claim 14, in addition, Kawamura et al. teaches measuring an electrical property (resistance) of a second sensor (8), wherein the second sensor (8) is mechanically coupled to a third point and a fourth point (indicated with dotted lines 24 in fig. 1) on the surface (6), wherein the third point and the fourth point are located across the opening of the groove on the surface (as shown in fig. 1); comparing (using U1) the electrical property of the second sensor (8) with a third threshold (V1) and with a fourth threshold (V3); determining a second deformation of the surface (6) when the electrical property of the second sensor (8) is higher than the third threshold or lower than the second threshold (as shown in fig. 4 and disclosed in 0041-0045).
Kawamura et al. fails to specifically teach generating an alarm in response to determining any of the first deformation and the second deformations. However, Hart teaches generating an alarm in response to determining any of the first deformation and the second deformations (as disclosed in para. 0062).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have generating an alarm in response to determining any of the first deformation and the second deformations as taught by Hart with the invention of Kawamura et al. in order to avoid further damage to the vehicle.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Kawamura et al. and Hart teaches the limitations of claim 15, in addition, Kawamura et al. teaches wherein a line (15) connecting the first point and the second point is distinct from and is approximately parallel to a line (13) connecting the third point and the fourth point (as shown in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Kawamura et al. and Hart teaches the limitations of claim 16, in addition, Kawamura et al. teaches wherein a line (14) connecting the first point and the second point is distinct from and intersects a line (other line connecting sensor 8 to line 14) connecting the third point and the fourth point (as shown in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 19, Kawamura et al. teaches the limitations of claim 18, in addition, Kawamura et al. teaches a second sensor (8) configured to mechanically couple to a third point and a fourth point (indicated with dotted lines 24 in fig. 1) on a surface (6), wherein the third point and the fourth point are located across the opening of the groove (23 to 26) on the surface (6) (as shown in fig. 1), wherein an electrical property (resistance) of the second sensor (8) is configured to change in response to a variation in the distance between the third point and the fourth point (as disclosed in 0041-0045); wherein the detection circuitry (U1, U2 and external circuit, as disclosed in para. 0039) is configured to: detect the change in the electrical property of the second sensor (8) (as shown in fig. 4 and disclosed in 0041-0045); and generate an output (OUT 1) indicating a presence of a second deformation using the detection of the change in the electrical property of the second sensor (8) (as shown in fig. 4 and disclosed in 0041-0045).
Kawamura et al. fails to specifically teach a communications circuitry configured to generate an alarm using any of the output indicating the presence of the first deformation and the output indicating the presence of the second deformations. However, Hart teaches a communications circuitry configured to generate an alarm using any of the output indicating the presence of the first deformation and the output indicating the presence of the second deformations (as disclosed in para. 0062).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have a communications circuitry configured to generate an alarm using any of the output indicating the presence of the first deformation and the output indicating the presence of the second deformations as taught by Hart with the invention of Kawamura et al. in order to avoid further damage to the vehicle.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Kawamura et al. and Hart teaches the limitations of claim 19, in addition, Kawamura et al. teaches wherein a line (15) connecting the first point and the second point is distinct from a line (14) connecting the third point and the fourth point (as shown in fig. 1).
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamura et al. (US Pat. 2015/0135857) in view of Pokora et al. (US PGPUB 2023/0032112).
Regarding claim 5, Kawamura et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Kawamura et al. fails to specifically teach wherein the surface is on a bottom cover of an electric vehicle facing a battery of the electric vehicle. However, Pokora et al. teaches wherein the surface (106) is on a bottom cover of an electric vehicle facing a battery of the electric vehicle (as shown in fig. 1 and 5, and disclosed in para. 0028 and 0039).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the surface on a bottom cover of an electric vehicle facing a battery of the electric vehicle as taught by Pokora et al. with the invention of Kawamura et al. in order to accurately and effectively determine impacts from debris.
Regarding claim 11, Kawamura et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Kawamura et al. fails to specifically teach wherein the sensor comprises a breakable conductive element, wherein the breakable conductive element generates an open circuit between the first point and the second point due to the variation in the distance between the first point and the second point and wherein the first deformation is detected using the open circuit. However, Pokora et al. teaches wherein the sensor (222) comprises a breakable conductive element, wherein the breakable conductive element generates an open circuit between the first point and the second point due to the variation in the distance between the first point and the second point and wherein the first deformation is detected using the open circuit (as shown in fig. 5 and 7, and disclosed in para. 0041).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the sensor comprise a breakable conductive element, wherein the breakable conductive element generates an open circuit between the first point and the second point due to the variation in the distance between the first point and the second point and wherein the first deformation is detected using the open circuit as taught by Pokora et al. with the invention of Kawamura et al. in order to accurately locate and determine impacts from debris.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamura et al. (US Pat. 2015/0135857) and Pokora et al. (US PGPUB 2023/0032112) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (US Pat. 10,474,769).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kawamura et al. and Pokora et al. teaches the limitations of claim 5.
The combination of Kawamura et al. and Pokora et al. fails to specifically teach wherein the battery comprises a battery cell structure, wherein the battery cell structure and the bottom cover form a chassis of the electric vehicle. However, Liu et al. teaches wherein the battery comprises a battery cell structure (100), wherein the battery cell structure and the bottom cover form a chassis (710) of the electric vehicle (705) (as shown in fig. 7).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the battery comprise a battery cell structure, wherein the battery cell structure and the bottom cover form a chassis of the electric vehicle as taught by Liu et al. with the invention of the combination of Kawamura et al. and Pokora et al. in order to securely ground the battery and the corresponding circuitry.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamura et al. (US Pat. 2015/0135857) in view of HE et al. (US PGPUB 2022/0109010).
Regarding claim 8, Kawamura et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Kawamura et al. fails to specifically teach wherein the sensor comprises a capacitive strain gauge wherein a capacitance of the capacitive strain gauge varies due to the variation in the distance between the first point and the second point and wherein the first deformation is detected when the capacitance is outside a normal capacitance range. However, HE et al. teaches wherein the sensor (103) comprises a capacitive strain gauge wherein a capacitance of the capacitive strain gauge varies due to the variation in the distance between the first point and the second point and wherein the first deformation is detected when the capacitance is outside a normal capacitance range (as disclosed in para. 0056).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the sensor comprise a capacitive strain gauge wherein a capacitance of the capacitive strain gauge varies due to the variation in the distance between the first point and the second point and wherein the first deformation is detected when the capacitance is outside a normal capacitance range as taught by HE with the invention of Kawamura et al. in order to use a device with high sensitivity and accuracy.
Regarding claim 9, Kawamura et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Kawamura et al. fails to specifically teach wherein the sensor comprises an inductive strain gauge wherein an inductance of the inductive strain gauge varies due to the variation in the distance between the first point and the second point and wherein the first deformation is detected when the inductance is outside a normal inductance range. However, HE et al. teaches wherein the sensor (103) comprises an inductive strain gauge wherein an inductance of the inductive strain gauge varies due to the variation in the distance between the first point and the second point and wherein the first deformation is detected when the inductance is outside a normal inductance range (as disclosed in para. 0056).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the sensor comprise an inductive strain gauge wherein an inductance of the inductive strain gauge varies due to the variation in the distance between the first point and the second point and wherein the first deformation is detected when the inductance is outside a normal inductance range as taught by HE with the invention of Kawamura et al. in order to use a device with high durability.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamura et al. (US Pat. 2015/0135857) in view of Roylance (US Pat. 5,574,447).
Regarding claim 10, Kawamura et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Kawamura et al. fails to specifically teach wherein the sensor comprises a piezoelectric material, wherein the piezoelectric material generates a voltage due to the variation in the distance between the first point and the second point and wherein the first deformation is detected when the voltage is outside a normal voltage range. However, Roylance teaches wherein the sensor comprises a piezoelectric material, wherein the piezoelectric material generates a voltage due to the variation in the distance between the first point and the second point and wherein the first deformation is detected when the voltage is outside a normal voltage range. (as disclosed in col. 6, lines 53-63).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the sensor comprise a piezoelectric material, wherein the piezoelectric material generates a voltage due to the variation in the distance between the first point and the second point and wherein the first deformation is detected when the voltage is outside a normal voltage range as taught by Roylance with the invention of Kawamura et al. in order to use a device with high rigidity and sensitivity.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamura et al. (US Pat. 2015/0135857) and Pokora et al. (US PGPUB 2023/0032112) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Keller et al. (US PGPUB 2018/0372562).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kawamura et al. and Pokora et al. teaches the limitations of claim 11.
The combination of Kawamura et al. and Pokora et al. fails to specifically teach wherein the sensor comprises a flexible substrate wherein a length of the flexible substrate is configured to change because of the variation in the distance between the first point and the second point, wherein the breakable conductive element is mechanically coupled to the flexible substrate. However, Keller et al. teaches wherein the sensor (100) comprises a flexible substrate (130) wherein a length of the flexible substrate is configured to change because of the variation in the distance between the first point and the second point, wherein the breakable conductive element is mechanically coupled to the flexible substrate (as shown in fig. 3A).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the sensor comprise a flexible substrate wherein a length of the flexible substrate is configured to change because of the variation in the distance between the first point and the second point, wherein the breakable conductive element is mechanically coupled to the flexible substrate as taught by Keller et al. with the invention of the combination of Kawamura et al. and Pokora et al. in order to use a device that has enhance reliability and durability.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamura et al. (US Pat. 2015/0135857) and Pokora et al. (US PGPUB 2023/0032112) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of KR 101239220 B1.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kawamura et al. and Pokora et al. teaches the limitations of claim 11.
The combination of Kawamura et al. and Pokora et al. fails to specifically teach wherein the breakable conductive element comprises nanocrystal metal. However, KR 101239220 B1 teaches wherein the breakable conductive element comprises nanocrystal metal (see translated document).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the breakable conductive element comprises nanocrystal metal as taught by KR 101239220 B1 with the invention of the combination of Kawamura et al. and Pokora et al. in order to use a material with superior mechanical strength and durability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rowe et al. (US PGPUB 2023/0182288) teaches artificial muscles comprising a strain sensor and artificial muscle assemblies comprising the same.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERTO VELEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858