DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
The status of the claims upon filing of the Response to Restriction stands as follows:
Pending claims: 1-16
Withdrawn claims: 7-9 and 16
Canceled claims: None
Amended claims: None
New claims: None
Claims currently under consideration: 1-6 and 10-15
Currently rejected claims: 1-6 and 10-15
Allowed claims: None
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-5 and 10-15, in the reply filed on 02/23/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that “no adequate reasons and/or examples have been provided to support a conclusion of patentable distinctness” and that the example provided by Examiner was not supported by evidence in the record (Applicant’s Remarks, p. 2, ¶2-¶3). This is not found persuasive because (i) the cited example that the product of Group II could be used for proteolysis of products unrelated to food or production of a cheese analogue contradicts Applicant’s first argument that no example has been provided, and (ii) the example is adequate as is without supporting evidence (MPEP 803 II, “Examiners must provide reasons and/or examples to support conclusions, but need not cite documents to support the restriction requirement in most cases.”).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 6-9 and 16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 02/23/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 10, and 13 recite “fat and/or oil, starch, and protein”, which is vague and indefinite in that it is unclear whether the “and/or” phrase applies only to (i) fat and/or oil or (ii) fat and/or oil, starch and protein. The claim is open to interpretation that starch and protein fall within a group of components that are part of the alternative to fat alone. For examination purposes, the starch and protein are interpreted as being required components.
Claims 2, 6, 11, 12, 14, and 15 are indefinite due to their dependence from claims 1, 4, 10, and 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Holz-Schietinger et al. (U.S. 2015/0305361 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Holz-Schietinger et al. discloses a method for producing a cheese analogue ([0082]) comprising causing at least one protease to act on a mixture ([0176], [0179]) comprising fat/oil, protein (([0083]), and starch ([0234], [0238]).
As for claim 2, Holz-Schietinger et al. discloses the protease as being an exo-type protease or an endo-type protease (0179]).
Regarding claim 4, Holz-Schietinger et al. discloses a method for producing a cheese analogue ([0082]) comprising causing at least one protease to act on a mixture ([0176], [0179]) comprising fat/oil, protein (([0083]), and starch ([0234], [0238]) during production of the cheese analogue, wherein the method improves meltability and/or extensibility (i.e. stretchability) of a cheese analogue when heated ([0083], [0234]).
As for claim 5, Holz-Schietinger et al. discloses the protease as being an exo-type protease or an endo-type protease (0179]).
Regarding claim 10, Holz-Schietinger et al. discloses a method for producing a cheese analogue ([0082]) comprising causing at least one protease to act on a mixture ([0176], [0179]) comprising fat/oil, protein (([0083]), and starch ([0234], [0238]) (such that the cheese analogue would comprise fat/oil, starch, and protein) and heating/stirring the mixture ([0322]).
As for claim 11, Holz-Schietinger et al. discloses the protease as being an exo-type protease or an endo-type protease (0179]).
As for claim 12, Holz-Schietinger et al. discloses the mixture as further comprising a polysaccharide thickener ([0238], [0322]).
Regarding claim 13, Holz-Schietinger et al. discloses a method for producing a cheese analogue ([0082]) comprising causing at least one protease to act on a mixture ([0176], [0179]) comprising fat/oil, protein (([0083]), and starch ([0234], [0238]) (such that the cheese analogue would comprise fat/oil, starch, and protein) and heating/stirring the mixture ([0322]). The limitation that the method is “for suppressing…separation of oil in step (b)” is considered to be implicit in that the aim may be met under certain method configurations that would fall within the scope of the claim. Specifically, absent any limitation regarding a minimum amount of oil or any heating parameters, such as time or temperature of the heating step, separation of oil in step (b) would not necessarily occur for methods with low oil content and minimal heating. Thus, performance of the method would achieve the aim of “suppressing …separation of oil in step (b)” where no separation would occur even without the protease activity.
As for claim 14, Holz-Schietinger et al. discloses the protease as being an exo-type protease or an endo-type protease (0179]).
As for claim 15, Holz-Schietinger et al. discloses the mixture as further comprising a polysaccharide thickener ([0238], [0322]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holz-Schietinger et al. (U.S. 2015/0305361 A1) in view of Yu et al. (U.S. 2018/0016563 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Holz-Schietinger et al. discloses the production method of claim 1.
Holz-Schietinger et al. does not disclose the mixture as further comprising α-glucosidase.
However, Yu et al. discloses the incorporation of α-glucosidase ([0244]) into cheese ([0248]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate α-glucosidase into the cheese analogue product of Holz-Schietinger et al. First, Holz-Schietinger et al. discloses the inclusion of various enzymes “to help modulate the flavor, texture, and/or melting profile” ([0176]), which would prompt a skilled practitioner to consult a Yu et al. for such an enzyme. Since Yu et al. discloses the inclusion of α-glucosidase into cheese making processes in order to provide “benefits such as improved texture” ([0244], [0248]), a skilled practitioner would find the step of causing α-glucosidase to act on the mixture of Holz-Schietinger et al. for the purpose of improving texture to be obvious.
Regarding claim 6, Holz-Schietinger et al. discloses the production method of claim 4.
Holz-Schietinger et al. does not disclose the mixture as further comprising α-glucosidase.
However, Yu et al. discloses the incorporation of α-glucosidase ([0244]) into cheese ([0248]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate α-glucosidase into the cheese analogue product of Holz-Schietinger et al. First, Holz-Schietinger et al. discloses the inclusion of various enzymes “to help modulate the flavor, texture, and/or melting profile” ([0176]), which would prompt a skilled practitioner to consult a Yu et al. for such an enzyme. Since Yu et al. discloses the inclusion of α-glucosidase into cheese making processes in order to provide “benefits such as improved texture” ([0244], [0248]), a skilled practitioner would find the step of causing α-glucosidase to act on the mixture of Holz-Schietinger et al. for the purpose of improving texture to be obvious.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY P MORNHINWEG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793