Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ma (CN 114143382A) in view of Ciu (US 2020/0026538)/ Bishop, M., Ed. (June 2022). HTTP/3. RFC 9114. doi:10.17487/RFC9114. ) – hereinafter Bishop.
As per claim 1, Ma discloses a method, comprising: receiving, at a first protocol accelerator proxy, at the source site a data communication, via a first protocol, wherein the data communication is received from a first computer application at the source site, and wherein data received with the data communication is formatted for transport by the first protocol; reformatting, by the first protocol accelerator proxy, the data received with the data communication to be sent with a second protocol; (Disclosure of invention: first proxy device binds a client source IP address with the second connection port to enable the first proxy device to communicate with a server ; Examiner note: This shows the proxy is on the client side and the IP network is a WAN network Disclosure of invention: Second proxy device binds a client source IP address with the fourth connection port so as to enable the second proxy device to communicate with a server; and the second proxy equipment binds the IP address of the server with the third connecting port so as to enable the client to communicate with the second proxy equipment.; Examiner note: This shows the proxy is on the destination code and the IP network is a WAN network)
the data received with the data communication formatted in the second protocol to a gateway for a destination site, and the gateway for the destination site is configured to receive the data communication formatted in the second protocol to a second protocol accelerator proxy at the destination site;. (abstract, The invention provides a bilateral acceleration data transmission method applied to a bilateral acceleration data transmission system, and relates to the technical field of network communication. Comprising the following steps: a first proxy device receives request information sent by a client through a TCP protocol, converts the request information into a UDP protocol format, and sends the request information to a second proxy device through the UDP protocol; the second proxy device receives the request information through a UDP protocol, converts the request information into a TCP protocol format, and sends the request information to the server through the TCP protocol; the second proxy device receives response information sent by the server through the TCP protocol, converts the response information into a UDP protocol format, and sends the response information to the first proxy device through the UDP protocol; and the first proxy device receives the response information through the UDP protocol, converts the response information into a TCP protocol format, and sends the response information to the client through the TCP protocol.; Fig. 2; Disclosure of invention: first proxy device binds a client source IP address with the second connection port to enable the first proxy device to communicate with a server ; Examiner note: This shows the proxy is on the client side; Disclosure of invention: Second proxy device binds a client source IP address with the fourth connection port so as to enable the second proxy device to communicate with a server; and the second proxy equipment binds the IP address of the server with the third connecting port so as to enable the client to communicate with the second proxy equipment.; Examiner note: This shows the proxy is on the destination code)
reformatting, by the second protocol accelerator proxy, the data received with the data communication of the first protocol; and sending the data received with the data communication to a second computer application at the destination site via the first protocol (abstract: the second proxy device receives response information sent by the server through the TCP protocol, converts the response information into a UDP protocol format, and sends the response information to the first proxy device through the UDP protocol; and the first proxy device receives the response information through the UDP protocol, converts the response information into a TCP protocol format, and sends the response information to the client through the TCP protocol.; Fig. 2; Disclosure of invention: Second proxy device binds a client source IP address with the fourth connection port so as to enable the second proxy device to communicate with a server; and the second proxy equipment binds the IP address of the server with the third connecting port so as to enable the client to communicate with the second proxy equipment.; Examiner note: This shows the proxy is on the destination code)Ma fails to disclose wherein the first protocol is version 1.0 or version 1.1. of the hypertext transport protocol (HTTP) , wherein the second protocol is version 3.0 of HTTP.)
The teachings of Ma fail to disclose receiving, by a first gateway at the source site, the data received with the data communication formatted in the second protocol; communicating , by the first gateway and via a wide area network (WAN), the data received with the data communication formatted in the second protocol to a second gateway at a destination site; receiving, by the second gateway the data communication formatted in the second protocol to a second protocol accelerator proxy at the destination site
and wherein the first protocol is version 1.0 or version 1.1. of the hypertext transport protocol (HTTP) , wherein the second protocol is version 3.0 of HTTP.
Ciu discloses receiving, by a first gateway at the source site, the data received with the data communication formatted in the second protocol; communicating , by the first gateway and via a wide area network (WAN), the data received with the data communication formatted in the second protocol to a second gateway at a destination site; receiving, by the second gateway the data communication formatted in the second protocol to a second protocol accelerator proxy at the destination site ([0020] Source gateway 126S (e.g., executing as a virtual appliance) is configured to provide source data center 102S with connectivity to the outside world, and in particular to an external data center, shown as destination data center 102D. Source gateway 126S connects to destination data center 102D through a site interconnect comprising one or more connections, e.g., one or more of a WAN (e.g., Internet), a dedicated direct link, Multiprotocol Label Switching (MPLS), or a “stretched” layer-2 (L2) network, a local area network (LAN), etc. Source gateway 126S may further manage external public internet protocol (IP) addresses for VMs on source host 106S and route traffic incoming to and outgoing from source data center 102S. Source gateway 126S may also provide networking services, such as a firewall, network address translation (NAT), dynamic host configuration protocol (DHCP), and load balancing, as well as virtual private network (VPN) connectivity with other VPN endpoints, such as a destination gateway within destination data center 102D. In one embodiment, control module 134 collects network latency, network throughput, and packet loss information from source gateway 126S as part of the performance information used to predict success of a VM transfer. As used herein, network latency refers to the time taken to send a packet over a network from a source (e.g., source gateway 126S) to a destination (e.g., a destination gateway))
It would have been obvious before the earliest effective filing date for the teachings of Ma to be modified so that the request from the source and destination accelerator proxy at the source site and destination site that is formatted from the first to the second protocol pass through source and the destination gateways in the network across the wide area network. This would have been advantageous because it would have yielded predicable results of sending, receiving, or routing network communications across the internet
The combined teachings of Ma / Ciu fail to disclose wherein the first protocol is version 1.0 or version 1.1. of the hypertext transport protocol (HTTP) , wherein the second protocol is version 3.0 of HTTP.
Bishop discloses wherein the first protocol is version 1.0 or version 1.1. of the hypertext transport protocol (HTTP) , wherein the second protocol is version 3.0 of HTTP. (4.2: Header Fields, An intermediary transforming an HTTP/1.x message to HTTP/3 MUST remove connection-specific header fields as discussed in Section 7.6.1 of [HTTP], or their messages will be treated by other HTTP/3 endpoints as malformed.)
It would have been obvious before the earliest effective filing date for the combined teachings of Ma / Ciu to be modified so that the router across the WAN translates between HTTP/1 and HTTP/3 protocol. This would have been beneficial it would have reduced latency and improved security on the internet.
As per claim 4, Ma / Ciu / Bishop disclose the method of claim 1. Ma discloses wherein the first computer application is a client application. (abstract, The invention provides a bilateral acceleration data transmission method applied to a bilateral acceleration data transmission system, and relates to the technical field of network communication. Comprising the following steps: a first proxy device receives request information sent by a client through a TCP protocol)
As per claim 5. Ma / Ciu / Bishop disclose the method of claim 4. Ma discloses wherein the second computer application is a server application. (abstract, and sends the request information to the server through the TCP protocol)
As per claim 6, Ma / Ciu / Bishop disclose the method of claim 1. Ma discloses wherein a transport layer protocol underlying the first protocol is a transmission control protocol (TCP). ((abstract, The invention provides a bilateral acceleration data transmission method applied to a bilateral acceleration data transmission system, and relates to the technical field of network communication. Comprising the following steps: a first proxy device receives request information sent by a client through a TCP protocol)
As per claim 7, Ma / Ciu / Bishop disclose the method of claim 1. Ma discloses wherein a transport layer protocol underlying the second protocol is a user datagram protocol (UDP). (abstract, a first proxy device receives request information sent by a client through a TCP protocol, converts the request information into a UDP protocol format)
As per claim 8, Ma discloses a system, comprising: a system, comprising:
a source site comprising a source system, a first protocol accelerator proxy, a destination site comprising a destination system, a second protocol accelerator proxy,
wherein: the first protocol accelerator proxy is configured to receive a data communication from the source system via a first protocol, the data communication comprising data formatted for transport by the first protocol; to reformat the data for transport by a second protocol; and to send the data formatted for transport by the second protocol; the second protocol accelerator proxy is configured to receive the data formatted for transport by the second protocol; to reformat the data to the first protocol, and to send the data to the destination system via the first protocol. (abstract, The invention provides a bilateral acceleration data transmission method applied to a bilateral acceleration data transmission system, and relates to the technical field of network communication. Comprising the following steps: a first proxy device receives request information sent by a client through a TCP protocol, converts the request information into a UDP protocol format, and sends the request information to a second proxy device through the UDP protocol; the second proxy device receives the request information through a UDP protocol, converts the request information into a TCP protocol format, and sends the request information to the server through the TCP protocol; the second proxy device receives response information sent by the server through the TCP protocol, converts the response information into a UDP protocol format, and sends the response information to the first proxy device through the UDP protocol; and the first proxy device receives the response information through the UDP protocol, converts the response information into a TCP protocol format, and sends the response information to the client through the TCP protocol.; Fig. 2; Disclosure of invention: first proxy device binds a client source IP address with the second connection port to enable the first proxy device to communicate with a server ; Examiner note: This shows the proxy is on the client side; Disclosure of invention: Second proxy device binds a client source IP address with the fourth connection port so as to enable the second proxy device to communicate with a server; and the second proxy equipment binds the IP address of the server with the third connecting port so as to enable the client to communicate with the second proxy equipment.; Examiner note: This shows the proxy is on the destination code)
Ma fails to disclose a first gateway, a second gateway ; and to send the data formatted for transport by the second protocol to the first gateway, the first gateway is configured to communicate, vis a Wide Area Network (WAN), the data received with the data communication
Formatted in the second protocol to the second gateway; the second gateway is configured to receive the data communication formatted in the second protocol to the second protocol accelerator proxy, and wherein the first protocol is version 1.0 or version 1.1. of the hypertext transport protocol (HTTP).
Ciu discloses a first gateway, a second gateway ; and to send the data formatted for transport by the second protocol to the first gateway, the first gateway is configured to communicate, vis a Wide Area Network (WAN), the data received with the data communication formatted in the second protocol to the second gateway; the second gateway is configured to receive the data communication formatted in the second protocol to the second protocol accelerator proxy. ([0020] Source gateway 126S (e.g., executing as a virtual appliance) is configured to provide source data center 102S with connectivity to the outside world, and in particular to an external data center, shown as destination data center 102D. Source gateway 126S connects to destination data center 102D through a site interconnect comprising one or more connections, e.g., one or more of a WAN (e.g., Internet), a dedicated direct link, Multiprotocol Label Switching (MPLS), or a “stretched” layer-2 (L2) network, a local area network (LAN), etc. Source gateway 126S may further manage external public internet protocol (IP) addresses for VMs on source host 106S and route traffic incoming to and outgoing from source data center 102S. Source gateway 126S may also provide networking services, such as a firewall, network address translation (NAT), dynamic host configuration protocol (DHCP), and load balancing, as well as virtual private network (VPN) connectivity with other VPN endpoints, such as a destination gateway within destination data center 102D. In one embodiment, control module 134 collects network latency, network throughput, and packet loss information from source gateway 126S as part of the performance information used to predict success of a VM transfer. As used herein, network latency refers to the time taken to send a packet over a network from a source (e.g., source gateway 126S) to a destination (e.g., a destination gateway))
It would have been obvious before the earliest effective filing date for the teachings of Ma to be modified so that the request from the source and destination accelerator proxy at the source site and destination site that is formatted from the first to the second protocol pass through source and the destination gateways in the network across the wide area network. This would have been advantageous because it would have yielded predicable results of sending, receiving, or routing network communications across the internet
The combined teachings of Ma / Ciu fail to disclose and wherein the first protocol is version 1.0 or version 1.1. of the hypertext transport protocol (HTTP).
Bishop discloses wherein the first protocol is version 1.0 or version 1.1. of the hypertext transport protocol (HTTP) (4.2: Header Fields, An intermediary transforming an HTTP/1.x message to HTTP/3 MUST remove connection-specific header fields as discussed in Section 7.6.1 of [HTTP], or their messages will be treated by other HTTP/3 endpoints as malformed.)
It would have been obvious before the earliest effective filing date for the combined teachings of Ma / Ciu to be modified so that the router across the WAN translates between HTTP/1 and HTTP/3 protocol. This would have been beneficial it would have reduced latency and improved security on the internet.
As per claim 11, please see the discussion under claim 4 as similar logic applies.
As per claim 12, please see the discussion under claim 5 as similar logic applies.
As per claims 13, please see the discussion under claim 6 as similar logic applies.
As per claim 14, please see the discussion under claim 7 as similar logic applies.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-9, filed July 2, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 4-8 and 11-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent toapplicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from theexaminer should be directed to Chirag R Patel whose telephone number is (571)272-7966. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday to Friday from 9:00AM to 6:00PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, theexaminer's supervisor, Glenton Burgess, can be reached on 571-272-3949. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceedingis assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Chirag R Patel/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454