DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election with traverse of Species B, figure 7a, in the reply filed on 08/03/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the subject matter in the listed species is sufficiently related such that a search for the subject matter of any one of these species would encompass a search for the subject matter of the remaining species. The groupings of patently distinct inventions require a different field of search, e.g. searching for different classes and/or subclasses and/or electronic resources and/or employing different search strategies and/or search queries. The specific limitations of species A are not recited in species B or C. Similarly, species B has limitations not recited in species A or species C are not recited in each other, requiring different fields of search. This is not found persuasive because a search for species B, a power module with a sensing component and a metal recess not taught in the other species. The species are not obvious variants of each other because searching for a power module with a metal terminal that does not have a recess , a power module with a metal recess in the metal terminal, and a power module with a segmented metal terminal would require 3 different searches.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 12 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species A or C, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08/03/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: “detachably”. Appropriate correction is required. Claims should read “can be detached”.
Claims 9-11, 13 and 17-18 are objected to because of the following informalities: “ when the housing cover part is installed“. Appropriate correction is required. In this instant case, “when” refers to a method of making the apparatus. Claims should read “ the housing cover part is installed”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-10, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Buffenbarger et al. (Pg Pub US 20150233978 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Buffenbarger teaches a power module with detachable function, comprising:
a housing box part (¶0008, fig 1: 16) ;
a housing cover part ¶0012, fig 1: 34), installed on the housing box part (¶0008, fig 1: 16) and comprising a cover combination structure (¶0012, FIG 1: 36);
a power component (fig 1: power module assembly 10, implies a power component), mounted in the housing box part (¶0008, fig 1: 16) ; and
a sensing component (¶0008, fig 1:14), used to measure parameters of the power component (examiner note: not given patentable weight since it is intended use) and comprising an component combination structure (¶0015, fig 1: opening for receiving a conductor 48), wherein the component combination structure (¶0015, fig 1: 48) is detachably combined with the cover combination structure (¶0012, FIG 1: 36), so that the sensing component (¶0008, fig 1:14) is detachably installed on the housing cover part ¶0012, fig 1: 34) (¶0018, fig 2: removably or fixedly coupling the current sensor 14 with the IGBT assembly 12, it is implicit that 14 is also detachably installed on 34) .
Regarding claim 2, Buffenbarger teaches the power module as claimed in claim 1, further comprising:
a metal terminal (¶0008, fig 1: conductive output terminal 20), disposed on the housing box part (¶0008, fig 1: 16) and coupled to the power component (fig 1:10), wherein the sensing component (¶0008, fig 1:14) is coupled to the metal terminal (¶0008, fig 1: 20) in direct contact (¶0020, fig 1: 14 is coupled to 20, “20 extends through the opening of 14) or indirect contact (examiner note: not given patentable weight since “or” is not specific).
Regarding claim 3, Buffenbarger teaches the power module as claimed in claim 2, wherein the sensing component (¶0008, fig 1:14) measures a value of a current of the metal terminal (¶0008, fig 1: 20) in indirect contact (¶0018, 14 measures the current passing through 20, the bottom of “14 and 20 are in a confronting relationship and confronting does not require physical contact”).
Regarding claim 4, Buffenbarger teaches the power module as claimed in claim 2, wherein the sensing component (¶0008, fig 1:14) measures a value of a voltage of the metal terminal (¶0008, fig 1: 20) in direct contact (¶0018, 14 measures the current passing through 20, the bottom of “14 and 20 are in a confronting relationship).
Regarding claim 7, Buffenbarger teaches the power module as claimed in claim 2, wherein the cover combination structure (¶0012, fig 2: 36) is a screw boss (examiners note: screw boss is broadly interpreted as a hole made for a screw), and the component combination structure (¶0015, fig 2: 48) is an assembly through hole,( examiners note: through hole is broadly interpreted as a hole for something to pass through) wherein the power module further comprises a screw (¶0013, fig 2: mechanical fasteners 38) configured to pass through the assembly through hole and lock on the screw boss (¶0013, fig 2: 38 is configured to pass through 36 and 48).
Regarding claim 8, Buffenbarger teaches the power module as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one of the cover combination structure (¶0012, FIG 1: 36) and the component combination structure (¶0015, fig 1: 48) has a glue layer (¶0013: Other suitable mechanical fasteners, e.g. screws, bolts, nails, pins, etc., or alternatively, non-mechanical fasteners, such as welding or adhesive ) configured to adhere the cover combination structure (¶0012, FIG 1: 36) and the component combination structure (¶0013, fig 1: 36 and 48 have other suitable non-mechanical/mechanical fasteners to adhere 36).
Regarding claim 9, Buffenbarger teaches the power module as claimed in claim 2, wherein the housing box part (¶0008, fig 2: 16) comprises a box combination structure (¶0014, fig 2: 41), and when the housing cover part (¶0012, fig 2: 34) is installed on the housing box part (¶0008, fig 2: 16), the sensing component (¶0008, fig 2:14) is inserted into the box combination structure(¶0014, fig 2: 41)(¶0014, fig 2: 16 comprises 41, and 34 is installed on 16, and 14 is in between 41).
Regarding claim 10, Buffenbarger teaches the power module as claimed in claim 9, wherein the box combination structure (¶0014, fig 2: 41) is a fixing slot (¶0014, fig 2: top planar surface 40, broadest reasonable interpretation of fixing slot is a an aperture for something to be inserted) (fig 2: 41 is an aperture for something to be inserted), and when the housing cover part ¶0012, fig 1: 34) is installed on the housing box part (¶0008, fig 1: 16), the sensing component (¶0008, fig 2:14) is inserted into the fixing slot (¶0014, fig 2: 40), and the sensing component (¶0008, fig 2:14) can merely leave the housing cover part (¶0012, fig 2: 34) along an inserting direction (vertical direction) due to a restriction of a slot wall (fig 2: side walls) of the fixing slot (¶0014, fig 2: 40).
Regarding claim 13, Buffenbarger teaches a power module with detachable function, comprising:
a housing box part (¶0008, fig 1: 16), comprising a box combination structure (¶0014, fig 2: 41);
a housing cover part ¶0012, fig 1: 34), installed on the housing box part (¶0008, fig 1: 16);
a power component (fig 1:10), mounted in the housing box part (¶0008, fig 1: 16); and
a sensing component (¶0008, fig 1:14), used to detect parameters of the power component (fig 1:10) (examiners note: “used to detect” not given patentable weight since it is intended use); wherein when the housing cover part ¶0012, fig 1: 34) is installed on the housing box part (¶0008, fig 1: 16) (fig 1: 34 is installed on 16), the sensing component (¶0008, fig 1:14) is inserted into the box combination structure (¶0014, fig 2: 41)(fig 1: 14 inserted in between 41), so that the sensing component (¶0008, fig 1:14) is detachably installed on the housing box part (¶0008, fig 1: 16)(¶0013, fig 2: 14 is detachably installed on 16 with fasteners).
Regarding claim 14, Buffenbarger teaches the power module as claimed in claim 13, further comprising:
a metal terminal (¶0008, fig 1: 20), disposed on the housing box part (¶0008, fig 1: 16) and coupled to the power component (fig 1:10), wherein the sensing component (¶0008, fig 1:14) is coupled to the metal terminal (¶0008, fig 1: 20) in direct contact or indirect contact (¶0018,14 and 20 are in a confronting relationship).
Regarding claim 15, Buffenbarger teaches the power module as claimed in claim 14, wherein the sensing component (¶0008, fig 1:14) measures a value of a current of the metal terminal (¶0008, fig 1: 20) in indirect contact (¶0018, 14 measures the current passing through 20, the bottom of “14 and 20 are in a confronting relationship).
Regarding claim 16, Buffenbarger teaches the power module as claimed in claim 14, wherein the sensing component (¶0008, fig 1:14) measures a value of a voltage of the metal terminal (¶0008, fig 1: 20) in direct contact (¶0018, 14 measures the current passing through 20, the bottom of “14 and 20 are in a confronting relationship).
Regarding claim 17, Buffenbarger teaches the power module as claimed in claim 14, wherein the box combination structure (¶0014, fig 2: 41) is a fixing slot (¶0014, fig 2: top planar surface 40, broadest reasonable interpretation of fixing slot is a an aperture for something to be inserted), and when the housing cover part ¶0012, fig 2: 34) is installed on the housing box part (¶0008, fig 2: 16), the sensing component (¶0008, fig 2:14) is inserted into the fixing slot, and the sensing component (¶0008, fig 2:14) can merely leave the housing cover part (¶0012, fig 2: 34) along an inserting direction (fig 2: vertical direction) due to a restriction of a slot wall of the fixing slot (see annotated fig 2 below: slot wall) (fig 2: 41 is an aperture for something to be inserted, 34 is installed on 16, 14 is in between 41, 14 can leave 34 along the vertical direction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buffenbarger et al. as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Scharf et al. (Pg Pub US 20190304858 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Buffenbarger teaches the power module as claimed in claim 2, wherein the power device comprises a cover combination structure (¶0012, FIG 1: 36), and the component combination structure (¶0015, fig 1: 48).
Buffenbarger fails to teach the cover combination structure is a positioning protrusion, the component combination structure is a positioning recess, and the dimensions of the positioning protrusion are greater than dimensions of the positioning recess, so that the positioning protrusion is tight fitted with the positioning recess.
Scharf teaches a cover (¶0091, fig 6E: cap 108) and a cover combination structure (¶0091, fig 6E: 110) with protrusions (¶0092, fig 6E: protrusions 110a/110b), and a component combination structure (¶0093, indentations 98) is a positioning recess, wherein dimensions of the positioning protrusion (fig 6E: 110a/110b are greater than dimensions of the positioning recess (fig 6E: 98).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the cover combination structure and the component combination structure of Buffenbarger with the fastening of Scharf so that the positioning protrusion is tight fitted with the positioning recess In this case, it is implicit that the dimensions of 110a/110b are greater than the dimensions of 98 to fasten the cap in a form fit manner (Scharf ¶0057).
Regarding claim 6, Buffenbarger teaches the power module as claimed in claim 5, wherein a design in which the positioning protrusion (Scharf ¶0091, fig 6E: 110a/110b) and the positioning recess (¶0093, indentations 98) are tight fitted restricts movement (Scharf ¶0057: it is implicit that the dimensions of 110a/110b are greater than the dimensions of 98 to fasten the cap in a form fit manner) of the sensing component in a first axial direction (horizontal) and a second axial direction (vertically), wherein the first axial direction is perpendicular to the second axial direction (Scharf fig 6e: horizontal axis is perpendicular to the vertical axis). Claim(s) 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buffenbarger et al. as applied to claim 9 and 14 above, and further in view of Koch et al. (PG Pub. US 20210057577 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Buffenbarger teaches the power module as claimed in claim 9, wherein the box combination structure (¶0014, fig 2: 41) on the metal terminal (¶0008, fig 2: 20), and when the housing cover part ¶0012, fig 2: 34) is installed on the housing box part (¶0008, fig 2: 16), the sensing component (¶0008, fig 2:14) is inserted into the box combination structure (¶0014, fig 2: 41) and the metal recess.
Buffenbarger does not teach a metal recess is on the metal terminal (¶0008, fig 1: 20).
Koch teaches a metal recess (¶0034, fig 2: opening 140) on the metal terminal (¶0016, fig 2: external contact 120).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the box combination structure on the metal terminal of reference one to be a metal recess like the box combination structure in Koch to allow for adjustment relative to the output terminal to optimize the current sensor’s location in order to increase the current sensors sensitivity (Koch ¶0034).
Regarding claim 18, Buffenbarger teaches the power module as claimed in claim 14, wherein the box combination structure (¶0014, fig 2: 41) , and when the housing cover part ¶0012, fig 1: 34) is installed on the housing box part (¶0008, fig 1: 16), the sensing component (¶0008, fig 1:14) is inserted into the box combination structure (¶0014, fig 2: 41) and the metal recess.
Buffenbarger does not teach metal recess is on the metal terminal (¶0008, fig 1: 20).
Koch teaches a metal recess (¶0034, fig 2: opening 140) on the metal terminal (¶0016, fig 2: external contact 120).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the box combination structure on the metal terminal of reference one to be a metal recess like the box combination structure in Koch to allow for adjustment relative to the output terminal to optimize the current sensor’s location in order to increase the current sensors sensitivity (Koch ¶0034).
Conclusion
/LYTESHIA M PRICE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/Jami Valentine Miller/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818