Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I, claims 1-7 and 11-12, in the reply filed on 03/09/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Applicant submits that the inventions of groups I-III relate to a mutant gene encoding a mutant homoserine kinase protein of SEQ ID NO: 1, and a method of using said mutant gene and a method of detecting said gene. Applicant asserts that all claims can be examined together without undue search burden. This is not found persuasive because the method of generating a lettuce plant comprising at least 10.0 nmol L-homoserine kinase level per mg fresh weight of leaf tissue of group II and the method of detecting whether a lettuce plant comprises a mutant L-homoserine kinase allele have different modes of operation because the step of determining the presence of a nucleic acid having one or more nucleotides which are different compared to the DNA of SEQ ID NO: 2 of the method of group III is not required by the method of group II. Therefore, the search of the invention of group III would not necessarily reveal all arts relevant to the patentability of the invention of group II. Consequently, the examination of the invention of group II with the invention of group III would present search burden upon the office.
Upon further consideration, the invention of group II, claims 13-15, is hereby rejoined with the elected invention of group I, claims 1-7 and 11-12. Claims 1-7 and 11-15 are hereby rejoined for examination.
Claims 1-7 and 11-17 are pending.
Claims 16 and 17 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to the non-elected invention.
Claims 1-7 and 11-15 are examined.
Copending Applications
Applicants must bring to the attention of the Examiner, or other Office official involved with the examination of a particular application, information within their knowledge as to other copending United States applications, which are "material to patentability" of the application in question. MPEP 2001.06(b). See Dayco Products Inc. v. Total Containment Inc., 66 USPQ2d 1801 (CA FC 2003).
Claims 1-7 and 11-15, pending in this application, are examined.
Claim Objections
Claims 11-12 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims should have been in the singular. Therefore, it is suggested that “Seeds” in claim 11 be replaced with ---A seed---; and “Lettuce leaves or heads” be replaced with --- A lettuce leaf or head---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims are broadly drawn to a cultivated plant of the species of Lactuca sativa which is homozygous for a mutant allele of the wild type homoserine kinase gene encoding SEQ ID NO: 1, which mutant allele a) encodes a mutant homoserine kinase protein comprising one or more amino acids inserted, deleted or replaced compared to the wild type protein of SEQ ID NO: 1, or b) has reduced gene expression compared to the wild type allele, wherein said mutant allele results in the leaf tissue of said lettuce plant accumulating L-homoserine, while a plant heterozygous for the mutant allele or lacking the mutant allele does not accumulate L-homoserine in the leaf tissue and wherein said L-homoserine in the leaf tissue confers resistance against Bremia Lactuca wherein the plant is homozygous for the wild type allele of the homoserine kinase gene encoding the homoserine kinase protein of SEQ ID NO: 3; wherein the mutant allele encodes a mutant homoserine kinase protein which comprises an amino acid N64 (Asn at position 64 of SEQ ID NO: 1), D70 (Asp at position 70 of SEQ ID NO: 1), N118 (Asn at position 118 of SEQ ID NO: 1), C119 (Cys at position 119 of SEQ ID NO: 1), K144 (Lys at position 144 of SEQ ID NO: 1), G149 (Gly at position 149 of SEQ ID NO: 1), G151 (Gly at position 151 of SEQ ID NO: 1), L152 (Leu at position 152 of SEQ ID NO: 1), G153 (Gly at position 153 of SEQ ID NO: 1), S154 (Ser at position 154 of SEQ ID NO: 1), S155 (Ser at position 155 of SEQ ID NO: 1), S158 (Ser at position 158 of SEQ ID NO: 1), D196 (Asp at position 196 of SEQ ID NO: 1), N197 (Asn at position 197 of SEQ ID NO: 1), T241 (Thr at position 241 of SEQ ID NO: 1), R245 (Arg at position 245 of SEQ ID NO: 1), R293 (Arg at position 293 of SEQ ID NO: 1) and A320 (Ala at position 320 of SEQ ID NO: 1) and M244 (met at position 244 of SEQ ID NO: 1) being replaced by a different amino acid or an amino acid located 1, 2, 3 or 4 positions before or after said amino acid being replaced by a different amino acid; said plant wherein the mutant allele encodes a mutant homoserine kinase protein which comprises the amino acid Arginine (Arg, R) at amino acid number 245 of SEQ ID NO: 1 being replaced by a different amino acid or by Lysine (Lys, K); wherein the leaf tissue comprises at least 10 nmol/mg fresh weight, wherein the L-homoserine in the leaf tissue confers resistance against Bremia lactucae wherein the amount of said L-homoserine in the leaf tissue is high enough to prevent sporulation of Bremia lactucae under conditions where the susceptible control plant shows 100% sporulation. The claims are also drawn to seeds from which said plant can be grown, and a lettuce leaf or head from said plant; and a method of generating a lettuce plant comprising at least 10.0 nmol per mg of fresh weight of leaf tissue.
In contrast, the specification describes lactuca sativa plant and seed that produces said plant which is homozygous for a mutant allele of the homoserine kinase (HSK) protein with Arginine (Arg, R) at amino acid number 245 of SEQ ID NO: 1 is replaced by a Lysine (Lys, K) that results in a lower phosphorylation of homoserine that leads to an accumulation of L-homoserine level of 19.46 nmol per mg fresh weight in the leaf tissue; wherein said L-homoserine level in the leaf tissue confers resistance against Bremia lactucae, and prevents sporulation of Bremia lactucae. The specification does not describe a Lactuca sativa plant comprising a mutant allele encoding a homoserine kinase protein with point mutations as listed in the claims and with 10 nmol/mg of homoserine levels that resulted in resistance to Bremia in the plant. In fact, the specification data shows that a homoserine concentration of 4.41 nmol/mg does not lead to Bremia resistance in the mutated plant (Fig. 1). The specification does not show a single lettuce mutant with homoserine accumulation of 10 nmol nmol/mg fresh weight having resistance to the pathogen. In addition, the specification does not describe a single Bremia resistant lettuce plant with mutant allele encoding a mutant homoserine kinase which comprises other than an amino acid other than R245k .
Therefore, the specification has not described a representative species of Bremia lactucae resistant lettuce plant/seed/leaf or head comprising the genus of mutated homoserine kinase protein comprising one or more amino acids inserted, deleted or replaced compared to the wild type protein of SEQ ID NO: 1, wherein the mutated homoserine kinase leads to a homoserine level sufficient to induce resistance against the pathogen. Furthermore, the specification fails to describe structural features common to members of the genus of mutated homoserine kinase that leads to a homoserine level sufficient to induce resistance against the pathogen. Therefore, the specification has not met either of the two elements of the written description requirement as set forth in the court's decision in Eli Lilly, and has not shown her/his possession of the claimed genus at the time of the application.
Therefore, the specification fails to sufficiently describe the claimed invention in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms that a skilled artisan would recognize that Applicant was in possession of the invention as broadly claimed at the time of filing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VAN DEN et al (US 8, 237019 B2; Applicant’s IDS) in view of Reyes-Chin et al (Accession A0A2J6LHE4 and A0A2J6M5X6; deposited 2017; Applicant’s IDS ).
The claims are broadly drawn to a cultivated plant of the species of Lactuca sativa which is homozygous for a mutant allele of the wild type homoserine kinase gene encoding SEQ ID NO: 1, which mutant allele a) encodes a mutant homoserine kinase protein comprising one or more amino acids inserted, deleted or replaced compared to the wild type protein of SEQ ID NO: 1, or b) has reduced gene expression compared to the wild type allele, wherein said mutant allele results in the leaf tissue of said lettuce plant accumulating L-homoserine, while a plant heterozygous for the mutant allele or lacking the mutant allele does not accumulate L-homoserine in the leaf tissue and wherein said L-homoserine in the leaf tissue confers resistance against Bremia Lactuca wherein the plant is homozygous for the wild type allele of the homoserine kinase gene encoding the homoserine kinase protein of SEQ ID NO: 3; wherein the mutant allele encodes a mutant homoserine kinase protein which comprises an amino acid N64 (Asn at position 64 of SEQ ID NO: 1), D70 (Asp at position 70 of SEQ ID NO: 1), N118 (Asn at position 118 of SEQ ID NO: 1), C119 (Cys at position 119 of SEQ ID NO: 1), K144 (Lys at position 144 of SEQ ID NO: 1), G149 (Gly at position 149 of SEQ ID NO: 1), G151 (Gly at position 151 of SEQ ID NO: 1), L152 (Leu at position 152 of SEQ ID NO: 1), G153 (Gly at position 153 of SEQ ID NO: 1), S154 (Ser at position 154 of SEQ ID NO: 1), S155 (Ser at position 155 of SEQ ID NO: 1), S158 (Ser at position 158 of SEQ ID NO: 1), D196 (Asp at position 196 of SEQ ID NO: 1), N197 (Asn at position 197 of SEQ ID NO: 1), T241 (Thr at position 241 of SEQ ID NO: 1), R245 (Arg at position 245 of SEQ ID NO: 1), R293 (Arg at position 293 of SEQ ID NO: 1) and A320 (Ala at position 320 of SEQ ID NO: 1) and M244 (met at position 244 of SEQ ID NO: 1) being replaced by a different amino acid or an amino acid located 1, 2, 3 or 4 positions before or after said amino acid being replaced by a different amino acid; said plant wherein the mutant allele encodes a mutant homoserine kinase protein which comprises the amino acid Arginine (Arg, R) at amino acid number 245 of SEQ ID NO: 1 being replaced by a different amino acid or by Lysine (Lys, K); wherein the leaf tissue comprises at least 10 nmol/mg fresh weight, wherein the L-homoserine in the leaf tissue confers resistance against Bremia lactucae wherein the amount of said L-homoserine in the leaf tissue is high enough to prevent sporulation of Bremia lactucae under conditions where the susceptible control plant shows 100% sporulation. The claims are also drawn to seeds from which said plant can be grown, and a lettuce leaf or head from said plant; and a method of generating a lettuce plant comprising at least 10.0 nmol per mg of fresh weight of leaf tissue.
VAN DEN et al teach an isolated lettuce plant that is resistant to Bremia Lactucae as a result of a mutation in the homoserine kinase gene leading to a mutated homoserine kinase of SEQ ID NO: 102 with reduced activity, wherein the reduced HSK activity leads to an increased endogenous homoserine concentration/level. Van Den et al also teach that mutation in the HSK gene leads to amino acid substitutions in SEQ ID NO: 102, thereby lowering the activity of the encoded protein or reducing the expression of the gene SEQ ID NO: 101. Van Den et al further teach methods of producing said lettuce plant by targeted mutagenesis treatment and selecting mutant lettuce plants having resistance to Bremia Lactucae . Van Den et al teach the Bremia Lactuca resistant lettuce plants/seed are made homozygous by selfing. Van Den et al also teach that orthologous HSK sequences from any plant species can be identified using the HSK Arabidopsis thaliana DNA sequence and that the identified orthologous sequences can be used to prepare mutants with downregulated HSK activity (column 6 and Examples 4-5). In Figs. 3-4, Van Den et al teach 5 dmr1 mutants from Arabidopsis thaliana with a point mutation at different positions (Examples 1-2 and Table 1). At column 7, Van Den et al teaches various embodiments of downregulating the activity of HSK. In Fig. 1, Van Den et al teach amino acid sequence alignment of HSK proteins of Arabidopsis thaliana and orthologous from other plant species including Lactuca sativa and also show conserved amino acids. The figure shows that dmr1 is highly conserved across all plants. Fig. 10 shows the HSK nucleotide and amino acid sequences of Lactuca sativa (SEQ ID NO: 101-102). At [0028], Van Den et al state that two dmr1 homologs may exist in the same plant as is identified in potato, tobacco and poplar plants. This implies that two dmr1 homologs can also be found in lettuce. In addition, the sequence search results of the instant SEQ ID NO: 1 reveals that SEQ ID NO: 1 and 3 of the instant claims share high sequence similarity with SEQ ID NO: 102 of Van Den et al (see alignment of sequences shown below). Van Den et al suggest mutating the dmr1 genes, screening for homoserine level and selecting the resistant plants.
While Van Den et al teach one or more mutants with amino acid point mutations as recited in the claims, any mutant not explicitly disclosed or suggested in Van Den et al may be regarded as of many of alternatives that a person skilled in the art would have selected from targeted mutagenesis to identify dmr1 mutants leading to Bremia lactucae resistance in lettuce. Van Den et al show the routine experimentation to mutate the dmr1 genes in lettuce, screening the mutated plant for increased homoserine levels, and testing dmr1 mutated plant with increased homoserine levels for resistance against the pathogen by visually examining the conidiophore formation (Example 6 and Figures 2 and 6). Figure 2 shows the more homoserine is accumulated in a plant, the pathogen resistance will be increased more.
Van Den et al do not explicitly teach the least 10.0 per mg fresh weight of homoserine level in lettuce tissues. However, the prior art teaches that the Bremia lactucae resistance can be provided by the accumulation of homoserine in the dmr1-mutated plant tissues. In Example 2, Van Den et al show accumulation of homoserine level in dmr1 mutants and measuring the level of homoserine in dmr1 mutants (Table 1). Therefore, it is straight forward to find plants with the right amount of homoserine using the method disclosed Van Den et al.
Therefore, given that the homoserine kinase of SEQ ID NO: 1 and 3 of the claims are known in the prior art as taught by Reyes-Chin et al (Accession A0A2J6LHE4 and A0A2J6M5X6; deposited 2017; Applicant’s IDS); given that the prior art as evidenced by Van Den et al already show production of Bremia Lactucae resistance lettuce by mutations in the HSK gene leads to a homoserine kinase of SEQ ID NO: 102 with reduced activity, wherein the reduced HSK activity leads to an increased endogenous homoserine concentration/level; given the importance of lettuce as one of the most valuable vegetable crop species in the USA, and given the problem of downy mildew in production of important crop plants such as lettuce as taught by Van Den et al; one of skilled in the art would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to produce mutant lettuce plant or parts thereof having resistance to downy mildew by downregulating homoserine kinase activity or by reducing expression of homoserine kinase gene using the methods taught by Van Den et al, with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to target homoserine kinase gene in lettuce, give the availability of genome sequences including instant SEQ ID NO: 1 and 3 taught by Reyes-Chin et al. Therefore, the claimed invention is a prima facie obvious, absent evidence to the contrary.
US-12-092-253-101 (US 8, 237, 019)
; Sequence 101, Application US/12092253
; Publication No. US20090170703A1
; GENERAL INFORMATION
; APPLICANT: UNIVERSITEIT UTRECHT HOLDING B.V.
; APPLICANT:van den Ackerveken, Augustinus Franciscus Johannes
; APPLICANT:van Damme, Mireille Maria Augusta
; TITLE OF INVENTION: DISEASE RESISTANT PLANTS
; FILE REFERENCE: L/2DR71/3p
; CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/12/092,253
; CURRENT FILING DATE: 2008-12-19
; PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: PCT/EP2006/010535
; PRIOR FILING DATE: 2006-11-01
; PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: PCT/EP2005/011718
; PRIOR FILING DATE: 2005-11-01
; NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 110
; SOFTWARE: PatentIn version 3.3
; SEQ ID NO 101
; LENGTH: 1128
; TYPE: DNA
; ORGANISM: Lactuca sativa
US-12-092-253-101
Alignment Scores:
Length: 1128
Score: 1875.00 Matches: 373
Percent Similarity: 99.7% Conservative: 1
Best Local Similarity: 99.5% Mismatches: 1
Query Match: 99.4% Indels: 0
DB: 34 Gaps: 0
US-17-283-877-3 (1-375) x US-12-092-253-101 (1-1128)
Qy 1 MetAlaIleArgHisTyrGlnProProPheAlaSerThrSerSerSerIleSerSerThr 20
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 ATGGCAATTCGCCATTATCAACCTCCATTCGCCTCCACTTCTTCTTCTATCTCTAGTACA 60
Qy 21 AspLeuPheLysProProLysLeuHisLeuSerSerSerValArgCysAsnIleSerVal 40
||||||||||||||||||||||||:::|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 GATTTATTCAAACCCCCTAAACTTTATCTTTCATCGTCTGTCCGGTGCAACATCTCCGTC 120
Qy 41 AlaSerLysLeuGluProGluProHisProValPheThrSerValLysSerPheAlaPro 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 GCTTCCAAACTGGAACCCGAACCTCATCCAGTTTTCACCTCCGTTAAGTCATTCGCCCCC 180
Qy 61 AlaThrValAlaAsnLeuGlyProGlyPheAspPheLeuGlyCysAlaIleAspGlyIle 80
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 GCCACCGTAGCCAACCTCGGGCCTGGTTTCGACTTCCTCGGCTGCGCAATCGACGGCATC 240
Qy 81 GlyAspTyrValThrLeuThrValAspProGlnValGlnProGlyArgLeuSerIleAla 100
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 GGAGATTACGTTACCCTCACAGTCGACCCCCAAGTCCAACCCGGCAGATTATCAATTGCA 300
Qy 101 GluIleAsnGlyValAspLysSerSerLysArgLeuSerArgAsnProLeuTrpAsnCys 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 GAAATCAACGGCGTTGACAAGTCTTCCAAGAGGCTCAGCAGAAACCCTCTATGGAATTGC 360
Qy 121 AlaGlyIleAlaAlaIleSerValMetLysMetLeuLysIleArgSerValGlyLeuSer 140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 GCCGGAATTGCTGCAATCTCCGTCATGAAGATGCTCAAGATCCGATCCGTTGGTCTCTCT 420
Qy 141 LeuSerIleAsnThrCysLeuProLeuArgGlyGlyLeuGlySerSerAlaAlaSerAla 160
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 TTATCCATCAATACATGTCTCCCCCTTCGAGGCGGCCTAGGCTCCAGCGCCGCTAGCGCT 480
Qy 161 AlaAlaAlaAlaValAlaValAsnGluIlePheGlyGlyLysLeuGlnAspSerAspLeu 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||
Db 481 GCCGCCGCCGCCGTTGCGGTTAATGAGATTTTCGGAGGGAAGTTACATGATTCCGATTTG 540
Qy 181 IleLeuAlaGlyLeuGluAlaGluAlaLysLeuSerGlyTyrHisAlaAspAsnIleAla 200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 541 ATACTCGCGGGGCTCGAAGCTGAAGCGAAGTTATCCGGTTATCACGCCGATAACATTGCT 600
Qy 201 ProAlaIleMetGlyGlyPheValLeuIleArgSerTyrAspProLeuGluLeuIleSer 220
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 601 CCGGCGATCATGGGCGGGTTTGTGTTGATCAGAAGCTACGATCCATTAGAGTTGATCTCC 660
Qy 221 LeuLysPheProProGluLysAsnLeuPhePheValLeuValAsnProGluPheGlnAla 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 661 TTGAAGTTTCCACCGGAAAAGAATCTGTTTTTCGTGTTGGTGAATCCTGAATTCCAAGCA 720
Qy 241 GlnThrLysLysMetArgAlaValLeuProThrGluIleThrMetSerAspHisValTrp 260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 721 CAAACGAAGAAGATGAGGGCGGTTCTACCGACGGAGATAACAATGTCGGATCATGTATGG 780
Qy 261 AsnCysSerGlnAlaAlaAlaLeuValAlaGlyValLeuGlnGlyAspLeuValGlyPhe 280
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 781 AATTGTAGTCAGGCGGCGGCGTTGGTGGCAGGCGTATTGCAGGGGGATTTGGTGGGGTTT 840
Qy 281 GlyLysAlaLeuSerSerAspArgIleValGluProArgArgAlaProLeuLeuProGly 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 841 GGGAAGGCATTGTCATCGGATAGAATAGTGGAGCCACGGCGGGCGCCATTGCTTCCGGGA 900
Qy 301 MetGluAspValLysLysAlaAlaMetGluAlaGlyAlaTyrGlyCysThrIleSerGly 320
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 901 ATGGAAGATGTGAAGAAGGCAGCAATGGAAGCAGGGGCATATGGGTGTACGATAAGTGGG 960
Qy 321 SerGlyProThrValValAlaValThrAspAspGluAspArgGlyArgGluIleGlyGlu 340
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 961 TCAGGGCCGACGGTGGTGGCGGTGACGGATGATGAAGATAGAGGGAGGGAGATCGGGGAG 1020
Qy 341 LysMetValGluAlaPheValGluLysGlyLysLeuLysAlaLeuAlaMetValLysLys 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1021 AAGATGGTGGAAGCTTTTGTAGAGAAGGGAAAGTTGAAAGCTTTGGCTATGGTGAAGAAA 1080
Qy 361 LeuAspArgValGlyAlaArgValIleSerArgIleSerSerGln 375
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1081 CTGGACAGAGTTGGTGCTAGAGTTATCAGTCGTATCTCCAGCCAA 1125
Search Results from instant SEQ ID NO: 1
RESULT 7
US-12-092-253-101 (US 8, 237, 019)
Sequence 101, Application US/12092253
Publication No. US20090170703A1
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: UNIVERSITEIT UTRECHT HOLDING B.V.
APPLICANT:van den Ackerveken, Augustinus Franciscus Johannes
APPLICANT:van Damme, Mireille Maria Augusta
TITLE OF INVENTION: DISEASE RESISTANT PLANTS
FILE REFERENCE: L/2DR71/3p
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/12/092,253
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2008-12-19
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: PCT/EP2006/010535
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2006-11-01
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: PCT/EP2005/011718
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2005-11-01
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 110
SOFTWARE: PatentIn version 3.3
SEQ ID NO 101
LENGTH: 1128
TYPE: DNA
ORGANISM: Lactuca sativa
US-12-092-253-101
Alignment Scores:
Length: 1128
Score: 1424.50 Matches: 282
Percent Similarity: 86.1% Conservative: 40
Best Local Similarity: 75.4% Mismatches: 49
Query Match: 75.3% Indels: 3
DB: 34 Gaps: 2
US-17-283-877-1 (1-373) x US-12-092-253-101 (1-1128)
Qy 1 MetAlaIleCysHisHisHisGlnProSerPheThrIleProSerSerPheProPheThr 20
||||||||| |||:::|||||| ||| |||||| :::
Db 1 ATGGCAATT---CGCCATTATCAACCTCCATTCGCCTCCACTTCTTCTTCTATCTCTAGT 57
Qy 21 ThrAsnLeuSerAsnLysSerGlnLeuHisLeuProSerSerPheArgCysAsnLeuSer 40
|||:::||| :::|||:::||| |||||| |||||||||:::|||
Db 58 ACAGATTTATTCAAACCCCCTAAACTTTATCTTTCATCGTCTGTCCGGTGCAACATCTCC 117
Qy 41 ValThrThrAsnLeuGluProGlu------ProValTyrThrAlaValLysSerPheAla 58
||| ::: |||||||||||| ||||||:::|||:::|||||||||||||||
Db 118 GTCGCTTCCAAACTGGAACCCGAACCTCATCCAGTTTTCACCTCCGTTAAGTCATTCGCC 177
Qy 59 ProAlaThrValAlaAsnLeuGlyProGlyPheAspPheLeuGlyCysAlaValAspGly 78
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:::||||||
Db 178 CCCGCCACCGTAGCCAACCTCGGGCCTGGTTTCGACTTCCTCGGCTGCGCAATCGACGGC 237
Qy 79 IleGlyAspTyrValThrLeuLysIleAspProGlnValHisProGlyGluValSerIle 98
||||||||||||||||||||| :::|||||||||||| |||||| :::||||||
Db 238 ATCGGAGATTACGTTACCCTCACAGTCGACCCCCAAGTCCAACCCGGCAGATTATCAATT 297
Qy 99 ThrGluIleThrGlyThrGlyAsnSerAlaAsnLysLeuSerLysAsnProIleTrpAsn 118
|||||| ||| |||::: :::||||||:::||||||:::||||||
Db 298 GCAGAAATCAACGGCGTTGACAAGTCTTCCAAGAGGCTCAGCAGAAACCCTCTATGGAAT 357
Qy 119 CysAlaGlyIleAlaAlaIleSerValMetLysMetLeuAsnIleArgSerValGlyLeu 138
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||
Db 358 TGCGCCGGAATTGCTGCAATCTCCGTCATGAAGATGCTCAAGATCCGATCCGTTGGTCTC 417
Qy 139 SerLeuSerLeuGluLysGlyLeuProLeuGlySerGlyLeuGlySerSerAlaAlaSer 158
|||||||||::: ||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 418 TCTTTATCCATCAATACATGTCTCCCCCTTCGAGGCGGCCTAGGCTCCAGCGCCGCTAGC 477
Qy 159 AlaAlaAlaAlaAlaIleAlaValAsnGluIlePheGlyGlyLysLeuProAlaLeuAsp 178
|||||||||||||||:::|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||
Db 478 GCTGCCGCCGCCGCCGTTGCGGTTAATGAGATTTTCGGAGGGAAGTTACATGATTCCGAT 537
Qy 179 LeuValLeuAlaGlyLeuGluSerGluAlaLysValSerGlyTyrHisAlaAspAsnIle 198
|||:::|||||||||||||||:::|||||||||:::||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 538 TTGATACTCGCGGGGCTCGAAGCTGAAGCGAAGTTATCCGGTTATCACGCCGATAACATT 597
Qy 199 AlaProAlaIleMetGlyGlyPheValLeuValArgSerTyrAspProLeuGluLeuIle 218
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:::|||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 598 GCTCCGGCGATCATGGGCGGGTTTGTGTTGATCAGAAGCTACGATCCATTAGAGTTGATC 657
Qy 219 ProLeuGlnPheProValAspLysAsnLeuTyrPheValLeuValAsnProGluPheGlu 238
|||:::|||||| :::|||||||||:::||||||||||||||||||||||||:::
Db 658 TCCTTGAAGTTTCCACCGGAAAAGAATCTGTTTTTCGTGTTGGTGAATCCTGAATTCCAA 717
Qy 239 AlaProThrLysLysMetArgAlaAlaLeuProLysGluIleThrMetSerHisHisVal 258
||| |||||||||||||||||| |||||| ||||||||||||||| ||||||
Db 718 GCACAAACGAAGAAGATGAGGGCGGTTCTACCGACGGAGATAACAATGTCGGATCATGTA 777
Qy 259 TrpAsnSerSerGlnAlaGlyAlaLeuValAlaAlaValLeuGlnGlyAspLeuLysGly 278
|||||| ||||||||| |||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||| |||
Db 778 TGGAATTGTAGTCAGGCGGCGGCGTTGGTGGCAGGCGTATTGCAGGGGGATTTGGTGGGG 837
Qy 279 PheGlyLysAlaLeuSerSerAspLysIleValGluProArgArgAlaProLeuIlePro 298
||||||||||||||||||||||||:::|||||||||||||||||||||||||||:::|||
Db 838 TTTGGGAAGGCATTGTCATCGGATAGAATAGTGGAGCCACGGCGGGCGCCATTGCTTCCG 897
Qy 299 GlyMetAspAlaValLysLysAlaAlaLeuGluAlaGlyAlaTyrGlyCysThrIleSer 318
||||||::: |||||||||||||||:::||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 898 GGAATGGAAGATGTGAAGAAGGCAGCAATGGAAGCAGGGGCATATGGGTGTACGATAAGT 957
Qy 319 GlyAlaGlyProThrAlaValAlaValThrAspAsnGluGluLysGlyArgGluIleGly 338
|||:::||||||||| |||||||||||||||:::|||::::::|||||||||||||||
Db 958 GGGTCAGGGCCGACGGTGGTGGCGGTGACGGATGATGAAGATAGAGGGAGGGAGATCGGG 1017
Qy 339 GluLysMetValGluAlaPheMetAlaGluGlyAsnLeuLysAlaValAlaMetValLys 358
|||||||||||||||||||||::: :::||| |||||||||:::||||||||||||
Db 1018 GAGAAGATGGTGGAAGCTTTTGTAGAGAAGGGAAAGTTGAAAGCTTTGGCTATGGTGAAG 1077
Qy 359 GlnLeuAspArgValGlyAlaArgLeuValSerSerIleSer 372
:::|||||||||||||||||||||::::::||| ||||||
Db 1078 AAACTGGACAGAGTTGGTGCTAGAGTTATCAGTCGTATCTCC 1119
Results of Instant SEQ ID NO: 1
RESULT 1
JI586151/c
LOCUS JI586151 1385 bp mRNA linear TSA 25-APR-2011
DEFINITION TSA: Lactuca sativa Letassy_X1_4175 mRNA sequence.
ACCESSION JI586151
SOURCE Lactuca sativa
ORGANISM Lactuca sativa
AUTHORS Matvienko,M., Kozik,A., Xu,H. and Michelmore,R.
TITLE Lettuce transcriptome assembly
JOURNAL Unpublished
REFERENCE 2 (bases 1 to 1385)
AUTHORS Matvienko,M., Kozik,A., Xu,H. and Michelmore,R.
TITLE Direct Submission
JOURNAL Submitted (04-APR-2011) Genome Center, University of California
Davis, Genome and Biomedical Sciences Facility, 451 Health Sciences
Drive, Davis, CA 95616, USA
FEATURES Location/Qualifiers
source 1..1385
/organism="Lactuca sativa"
/mol_type="mRNA"
/isolation_source="multiple pooled tissues"
/db_xref="taxon:4236"
Alignment Scores:
Length: 1385
Score: 1892.00 Matches: 373
Percent Similarity: 100.0% Conservative: 0
Best Local Similarity: 100.0% Mismatches: 0
Query Match: 100.0% Indels: 0
DB: 1088 Gaps: 0
US-17-283-877-1 (1-373) x JI586151 (1-1385)
Qy 1 MetAlaIleCysHisHisHisGlnProSerPheThrIleProSerSerPheProPheThr 20
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1342 ATGGCGATTTGTCATCACCATCAACCTTCATTCACCATCCCTTCTTCTTTCCCATTCACT 1283
Qy 21 ThrAsnLeuSerAsnLysSerGlnLeuHisLeuProSerSerPheArgCysAsnLeuSer 40
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1282 ACTAATCTTTCAAACAAATCCCAACTTCATCTCCCATCGTCTTTCCGCTGCAATCTATCC 1223
Qy 41 ValThrThrAsnLeuGluProGluProValTyrThrAlaValLysSerPheAlaProAla 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1222 GTCACTACAAATCTCGAACCCGAACCCGTTTACACCGCCGTCAAGTCATTCGCCCCCGCC 1163
Qy 61 ThrValAlaAsnLeuGlyProGlyPheAspPheLeuGlyCysAlaValAspGlyIleGly 80
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1162 ACCGTAGCCAACCTCGGCCCTGGGTTTGACTTTCTCGGTTGCGCAGTCGACGGGATCGGA 1103
Qy 81 AspTyrValThrLeuLysIleAspProGlnValHisProGlyGluValSerIleThrGlu 100
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1102 GACTATGTCACCCTCAAAATCGACCCCCAAGTTCACCCTGGCGAGGTCTCAATCACCGAA 1043
Qy 101 IleThrGlyThrGlyAsnSerAlaAsnLysLeuSerLysAsnProIleTrpAsnCysAla 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1042 ATCACCGGAACCGGCAACTCCGCCAATAAGCTCAGCAAAAACCCTATCTGGAATTGCGCT 983
Qy 121 GlyIleAlaAlaIleSerValMetLysMetLeuAsnIleArgSerValGlyLeuSerLeu 140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 982 GGGATTGCTGCCATTTCTGTCATGAAGATGCTCAACATCCGATCCGTCGGCCTCTCTCTA 923
Qy 141 SerLeuGluLysGlyLeuProLeuGlySerGlyLeuGlySerSerAlaAlaSerAlaAla 160
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 922 TCTCTAGAAAAGGGTCTCCCCCTCGGAAGCGGTCTCGGTTCCAGCGCCGCTAGTGCCGCC 863
Qy 161 AlaAlaAlaIleAlaValAsnGluIlePheGlyGlyLysLeuProAlaLeuAspLeuVal 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 862 GCCGCGGCAATCGCCGTTAATGAGATTTTTGGTGGAAAGTTACCTGCATTGGATTTAGTC 803
Qy 181 LeuAlaGlyLeuGluSerGluAlaLysValSerGlyTyrHisAlaAspAsnIleAlaPro 200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 802 CTCGCAGGGCTTGAATCGGAAGCTAAAGTATCCGGATACCACGCTGATAACATTGCGCCG 743
Qy 201 AlaIleMetGlyGlyPheValLeuValArgSerTyrAspProLeuGluLeuIleProLeu 220
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 742 GCAATCATGGGTGGTTTCGTTCTCGTTCGGAGCTACGATCCTTTAGAGCTGATTCCGTTG 683
Qy 221 GlnPheProValAspLysAsnLeuTyrPheValLeuValAsnProGluPheGluAlaPro 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 682 CAGTTTCCGGTCGACAAAAACCTCTATTTCGTCTTGGTGAATCCGGAATTCGAAGCGCCG 623
Qy 241 ThrLysLysMetArgAlaAlaLeuProLysGluIleThrMetSerHisHisValTrpAsn 260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 622 ACGAAGAAGATGAGGGCGGCGTTACCAAAAGAGATAACAATGTCGCACCATGTATGGAAC 563
Qy 261 SerSerGlnAlaGlyAlaLeuValAlaAlaValLeuGlnGlyAspLeuLysGlyPheGly 280
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 562 AGTAGTCAAGCAGGTGCCTTGGTGGCGGCGGTGTTGCAGGGGGATTTGAAGGGGTTTGGA 503
Qy 281 LysAlaLeuSerSerAspLysIleValGluProArgArgAlaProLeuIleProGlyMet 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 502 AAGGCGTTGTCTTCTGATAAGATAGTGGAACCGAGGAGGGCGCCATTGATTCCGGGAATG 443
Qy 301 AspAlaValLysLysAlaAlaLeuGluAlaGlyAlaTyrGlyCysThrIleSerGlyAla 320
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 442 GATGCTGTGAAGAAGGCTGCACTTGAGGCAGGGGCTTATGGGTGTACGATCAGTGGAGCA 383
Qy 321 GlyProThrAlaValAlaValThrAspAsnGluGluLysGlyArgGluIleGlyGluLys 340
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 382 GGGCCAACTGCGGTGGCTGTTACAGATAACGAGGAAAAAGGGAGGGAGATTGGGGAGAAG 323
Qy 341 MetValGluAlaPheMetAlaGluGlyAsnLeuLysAlaValAlaMetValLysGlnLeu 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 322 ATGGTGGAAGCTTTCATGGCGGAAGGAAATTTGAAAGCTGTGGCTATGGTGAAGCAATTG 263
Qy 361 AspArgValGlyAlaArgLeuValSerSerIleSerArg 373
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 262 GACAGAGTTGGTGCTAGACTTGTTAGTAGCATTTCCAGA 224
SEQ ID NO: 1
RESULT 3
KM397806
LOCUS KM397806 948 bp mRNA linear PLN 01-NOV-2014
DEFINITION Lactuca sativa homoserine kinase mRNA, partial cds.
ACCESSION KM397806
VERSION KM397806.1
KEYWORDS .
SOURCE Lactuca sativa
AUTHORS Zeng,L., Zhang,Q., Sun,R., Kong,H., Zhang,N. and Ma,H.
TITLE Resolution of deep angiosperm phylogeny using conserved nuclear
genes and estimates of early divergence times
JOURNAL Nat Commun 5, 4956 (2014)
PUBMED 25249442
REMARK Publication Status: Online-Only
REFERENCE 2 (bases 1 to 948)
AUTHORS Zeng,L., Zhang,Q., Sun,R., Kong,H., Zhang,N. and Ma,H.
TITLE Direct Submission
JOURNAL Submitted (26-AUG-2014) School of Life Sciences, Fudan University,
220th Handan Road, Shanghai 200433, China
COMMENT ##Assembly-Data-START##
Assembly Method :: trinity v. Trinityrnaseq_r20131110
Sequencing Technology :: Illumina
##Assembly-Data-END##
FEATURES Location/Qualifiers
source 1..948
/organism="Lactuca sativa"
/mol_type="mRNA"
/db_xref="taxon:4236"
CDS <1..>948
/note="HSK; 431559"
/codon_start=1
/product="homoserine kinase"
/protein_id="AIU48469.1"
/translation="EPEPVYTAVKSFAPATVANLGPGFDFLGCAVDGIGDYVTLKIDP
QVHPGEVSITEITKLSKNPIWNCAGIAAISVMKMLNIRSVGLSLSLEKGLPLGSGLGS
SAASAAAAAIA VNEIFGGKLPALDLVLAGLESEAKVSGYHADNIAPAIMGGFVLVRSY
DPLELIPLQFPVDKNLYFVLVNPEFEAPTKKMRAALPKEITMSHHVWNSSQAGALVAA
VLQGDLKGFGKALSSDKIVEPRRAPLIPGMDAVKKAALEAGAYGCTISGAGPTAVAVT
DNEEKGREIGEKMVEAFMAEGNLKAVAMVKQLDRVGARLV"
Alignment Scores:
Length: 948
Score: 1576.50 Matches: 316
Percent Similarity: 97.8% Conservative: 0
Best Local Similarity: 97.8% Mismatches: 0
Query Match: 83.3% Indels: 7
DB: 536 Gaps: 1
US-17-283-877-1 (1-373) x KM397806 (1-948)
Qy 46 GluProGluProValTyrThrAlaValLysSerPheAlaProAlaThrValAlaAsnLeu 65
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 GAACCCGAACCCGTTTACACCGCCGTCAAGTCATTCGCCCCCGCCACCGTAGCCAACCTC 60
Qy 66 GlyProGlyPheAspPheLeuGlyCysAlaValAspGlyIleGlyAspTyrValThrLeu 85
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 GGCCCTGGGTTTGACTTTCTCGGTTGCGCAGTCGACGGGATCGGAGACTATGTCACCCTC 120
Qy 86 LysIleAspProGlnValHisProGlyGluValSerIleThrGluIleThrGlyThrGly 105
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 AAAATCGACCCCCAAGTTCACCCTGGCGAGGTCTCAATCACCGAAATCACC--------- 171
Qy 106 AsnSerAlaAsnLysLeuSerLysAsnProIleTrpAsnCysAlaGlyIleAlaAlaIle 125
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 172 ------------AAGCTCAGCAAAAACCCTATTTGGAATTGCGCTGGTATTGCCGCCATT 219
Qy 126 SerValMetLysMetLeuAsnIleArgSerValGlyLeuSerLeuSerLeuGluLysGly 145
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 220 TCCGTCATGAAGATGCTCAACATCCGATCCGTCGGCCTCTCTCTATCTCTAGAAAAGGGT 279
Qy 146 LeuProLeuGlySerGlyLeuGlySerSerAlaAlaSerAlaAlaAlaAlaAlaIleAla 165
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 280 CTCCCCCTCGGAAGCGGTCTCGGTTCCAGCGCCGCTAGTGCCGCCGCCGCGGCAATCGCC 339
Qy 166 ValAsnGluIlePheGlyGlyLysLeuProAlaLeuAspLeuValLeuAlaGlyLeuGlu 185
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 340 GTTAATGAGATTTTTGGTGGAAAGTTACCTGCATTGGATTTAGTCCTCGCAGGGCTTGAA 399
Qy 186 SerGluAlaLysValSerGlyTyrHisAlaAspAsnIleAlaProAlaIleMetGlyGly 205
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 400 TCGGAAGCTAAAGTATCCGGATACCACGCTGATAACATTGCGCCGGCAATCATGGGTGGT 459
Qy 206 PheValLeuValArgSerTyrAspProLeuGluLeuIleProLeuGlnPheProValAsp 225
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 460 TTCGTTCTCGTTCGGAGCTACGATCCTTTAGAGCTGATTCCGTTGCAGTTTCCGGTCGAC 519
Qy 226 LysAsnLeuTyrPheValLeuValAsnProGluPheGluAlaProThrLysLysMetArg 245
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 520 AAAAACCTCTATTTCGTCTTGGTGAATCCGGAATTCGAAGCGCCGACGAAGAAGATGAGG 579
Qy 246 AlaAlaLeuProLysGluIleThrMetSerHisHisValTrpAsnSerSerGlnAlaGly 265
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 580 GCGGCGTTACCAAAAGAGATAACAATGTCGCACCATGTATGGAACAGTAGTCAAGCAGGT 639
Qy 266 AlaLeuValAlaAlaValLeuGlnGlyAspLeuLysGlyPheGlyLysAlaLeuSerSer 285
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 640 GCCTTGGTGGCGGCGGTGTTGCAGGGGGATTTGAAGGGGTTTGGAAAGGCGTTGTCTTCT 699
Qy 286 AspLysIleValGluProArgArgAlaProLeuIleProGlyMetAspAlaValLysLys 305
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 700 GATAAGATAGTGGAGCCGAGGAGGGCGCCATTGATTCCGGGAATGGATGCTGTGAAGAAG 759
Qy 306 AlaAlaLeuGluAlaGlyAlaTyrGlyCysThrIleSerGlyAlaGlyProThrAlaVal 325
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 760 GCTGCACTTGAGGCAGGGGCTTATGGGTGTACGATCAGTGGAGCAGGGCCAACTGCGGTG 819
Qy 326 AlaValThrAspAsnGluGluLysGlyArgGluIleGlyGluLysMetValGluAlaPhe 345
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 820 GCTGTTACAGATAACGAGGAAAAAGGGAGGGAGATTGGGGAGAAGATGGTGGAAGCTTTC 879
Qy 346 MetAlaGluGlyAsnLeuLysAlaValAlaMetValLysGlnLeuAspArgValGlyAla 365
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 880 ATGGCGGAAGGAAATTTGAAAGCTGTGGCTATGGTGAAGCAATTGGACAGAGTTGGTGCT 939
Qy 366 ArgLeuVal 368
|||||||||
Db 940 AGACTTGTT 948
SEQ ID NO: 1 with multiple of substitutions
RESULT 7
US-12-092-253-101 (US 8, 237, 019)
; Sequence 101, Application US/12092253
; APPLICANT:van den Ackerveken, Augustinus Franciscus Johannes
; APPLICANT:van Damme, Mireille Maria Augusta
; TITLE OF INVENTION: DISEASE RESISTANT PLANTS
; PRIOR FILING DATE: 2005-11-01
; SEQ ID NO 101
; LENGTH: 1128
; TYPE: DNA
; ORGANISM: Lactuca sativa
US-12-092-253-101
Alignment Scores:
Length: 1128
Score: 1362.50 Matches: 267
Percent Similarity: 86.6% Conservative: 57
Best Local Similarity: 71.4% Mismatches: 47
Query Match: 75.2% Indels: 3
DB: 34 Gaps: 2
US-17-283-877-1MULTISUBX (1-373) x US-12-092-253-101 (1-1128)
Qy 1 MetAlaIleCysHisHisHisGlnProSerPheThrIleProSerSerPheProPheThr 20
||||||||| |||:::|||||| ||| |||||| :::
Db 1 ATGGCAATT---CGCCATTATCAACCTCCATTCGCCTCCACTTCTTCTTCTATCTCTAGT 57
Qy 21 ThrAsnLeuSerAsnLysSerGlnLeuHisLeuProSerSerPheArgCysAsnLeuSer 40
|||:::||| :::|||:::||| |||||| |||||||||:::|||
Db 58 ACAGATTTATTCAAACCCCCTAAACTTTATCTTTCATCGTCTGTCCGGTGCAACATCTCC 117
Qy 41 ValThrThrAsnLeuGluProGlu------ProValTyrThrAlaValLysSerPheAla 58
||| ::: |||||||||||| ||||||:::|||:::|||||||||||||||
Db 118 GTCGCTTCCAAACTGGAACCCGAACCTCATCCAGTTTTCACCTCCGTTAAGTCATTCGCC 177
Qy 59 ProAlaThrValAla***LeuGlyProGlyPhe***PheLeuGlyCysAlaValAspGly 78
|||||||||||||||:::|||||||||||||||:::|||||||||||||||:::||||||
Db 178 CCCGCCACCGTAGCCAACCTCGGGCCTGGTTTCGACTTCCTCGGCTGCGCAATCGACGGC 237
Qy 79 IleGlyAspTyrValThrLeuLysIleAspProGlnValHisProGlyGluValSerIle 98
||||||||||||||||||||| :::|||||||||||| |||||| :::||||||
Db 238 ATCGGAGATTACGTTACCCTCACAGTCGACCCCCAAGTCCAACCCGGCAGATTATCAATT 297
Qy 99 ThrGluIleThrGlyThrGlyAsnSerAlaAsnLysLeuSerLysAsnProIleTrp*** 118
|||||| ||| |||::: :::||||||:::||||||:::|||:::
Db 298 GCAGAAATCAACGGCGTTGACAAGTCTTCCAAGAGGCTCAGCAGAAACCCTCTATGGAAT 357
Qy 119 ***AlaGlyIleAlaAlaIleSerValMetLysMetLeuAsnIleArgSerValGlyLeu 138
:::|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||
Db 358 TGCGCCGGAATTGCTGCAATCTCCGTCATGAAGATGCTCAAGATCCGATCCGTTGGTCTC 417
Qy 139 SerLeuSerLeuGlu***GlyLeuProLeu***Ser***************AlaAla*** 158
|||||||||::: ::: |||||||||::: :::::::::::::::||||||:::
Db 418 TCTTTATCCATCAATACATGTCTCCCCCTTCGAGGCGGCCTAGGCTCCAGCGCCGCTAGC 477
Qy 159 AlaAlaAlaAlaAlaIleAlaValAsnGluIlePheGlyGlyLysLeuProAlaLeuAsp 178
|||||||||||||||:::|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||
Db 478 GCTGCCGCCGCCGCCGTTGCGGTTAATGAGATTTTCGGAGGGAAGTTACATGATTCCGAT 537
Qy 179 LeuValLeuAlaGlyLeuGluSerGluAlaLysValSerGlyTyrHisAla******Ile 198
|||:::|||||||||||||||:::|||||||||:::|||||||||||||||::::::|||
Db 538 TTGATACTCGCGGGGCTCGAAGCTGAAGCGAAGTTATCCGGTTATCACGCCGATAACATT 597
Qy 199 AlaProAlaIleMetGlyGlyPheValLeuValArgSerTyrAspProLeuGluLeuIle 218
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:::|||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 598 GCTCCGGCGATCATGGGCGGGTTTGTGTTGATCAGAAGCTACGATCCATTAGAGTTGATC 657
Qy 219 ProLeuGlnPheProValAspLysAsnLeuTyrPheValLeuValAsnProGluPheGlu 238
|||:::|||||| :::|||||||||:::||||||||||||||||||||||||:::
Db 658 TCCTTGAAGTTTCCACCGGAAAAGAATCTGTTTTTCGTGTTGGTGAATCCTGAATTCCAA 717
Qy 239 AlaPro***LysLysMet***AlaAlaLeuProLysGluIleThrMetSerHisHisVal 258
||| :::|||||||||:::||| |||||| ||||||||||||||| ||||||
Db 718 GCACAAACGAAGAAGATGAGGGCGGTTCTACCGACGGAGATAACAATGTCGGATCATGTA 777
Qy 259 TrpAsnSerSerGlnAlaGlyAlaLeuValAlaAlaValLeuGlnGlyAspLeuLysGly 278
|||||| ||||||||| |||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||| |||
Db 778 TGGAATTGTAGTCAGGCGGCGGCGTTGGTGGCAGGCGTATTGCAGGGGGATTTGGTGGGG 837
Qy 279 PheGlyLysAlaLeuSerSerAspLysIleValGluProArg***AlaProLeuIlePro 298
||||||||||||||||||||||||:::|||||||||||||||:::|||||||||:::|||
Db 838 TTTGGGAAGGCATTGTCATCGGATAGAATAGTGGAGCCACGGCGGGCGCCATTGCTTCCG 897
Qy 299 GlyMetAspAlaValLysLysAlaAlaLeuGluAlaGlyAlaTyrGlyCysThrIleSer 318
||||||::: |||||||||||||||:::||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 898 GGAATGGAAGATGTGAAGAAGGCAGCAATGGAAGCAGGGGCATATGGGTGTACGATAAGT 957
Qy 319 Gly***GlyProThrAlaValAlaValThrAspAsnGluGluLysGlyArgGluIleGly 338
|||:::||||||||| |||||||||||||||:::|||::::::|||||||||||||||
Db 958 GGGTCAGGGCCGACGGTGGTGGCGGTGACGGATGATGAAGATAGAGGGAGGGAGATCGGG 1017
Qy 339 GluLysMetValGluAlaPheMetAlaGluGlyAsnLeuLysAlaValAlaMetValLys 358
|||||||||||||||||||||::: :::||| |||||||||:::||||||||||||
Db 1018 GAGAAGATGGTGGAAGCTTTTGTAGAGAAGGGAAAGTTGAAAGCTTTGGCTATGGTGAAG 1077
Qy 359 GlnLeuAspArgValGlyAlaArgLeuValSerSerIleSer 372
:::|||||||||||||||||||||::::::||| ||||||
Db 1078 AAACTGGACAGAGTTGGTGCTAGAGTTATCAGTCGTATCTCC 1119
RESULT 5
US-12-092-253-101
; Sequence 101, Application US/12092253
; Patent No. 8237019
; GENERAL INFORMATION
; APPLICANT: UNIVERSITEIT UTRECHT HOLDING B.V.
; APPLICANT:van den Ackerveken, Augustinus Franciscus Johannes
; APPLICANT:van Damme, Mireille Maria Augusta
; TITLE OF INVENTION: DISEASE RESISTANT PLANTS
; PRIOR FILING DATE: 2005-11-01
; NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 110
; SOFTWARE: PatentIn version 3.3
; SEQ ID NO 101
; LENGTH: 1128
; TYPE: DNA
; ORGANISM: Lactuca sativa
US-12-092-253-101
Alignment Scores:
Length: 1128
Score: 1363.70 Matches: 267
Percent Similarity: 86.6% Conservative: 57
Best Local Similarity: 71.4% Mismatches: 47
Query Match: 75.2% Indels: 3
DB: 28 Gaps: 2
US-17-283-877-1MULTISUBX (1-373) x US-12-092-253-101 (1-1128)
Qy 1 MetAlaIleCysHisHisHisGlnProSerPheThrIleProSerSerPheProPheThr 20
||||||||| |||:::|||||| ||| |||||| :::
Db 1 ATGGCAATT---CGCCATTATCAACCTCCATTCGCCTCCACTTCTTCTTCTATCTCTAGT 57
Qy 21 ThrAsnLeuSerAsnLysSerGlnLeuHisLeuProSerSerPheArgCysAsnLeuSer 40
|||:::||| :::|||:::||| |||||| |||||||||:::|||
Db 58 ACAGATTTATTCAAACCCCCTAAACTTTATCTTTCATCGTCTGTCCGGTGCAACATCTCC 117
Qy 41 ValThrThrAsnLeuGluProGlu------ProValTyrThrAlaValLysSerPheAla 58
||| ::: |||||||||||| ||||||:::|||:::|||||||||||||||
Db 118 GTCGCTTCCAAACTGGAACCCGAACCTCATCCAGTTTTCACCTCCGTTAAGTCATTCGCC 177
Qy 59 ProAlaThrValAla***LeuGlyProGlyPhe***PheLeuGlyCysAlaValAspGly 78
|||||||||||||||:::|||||||||||||||:::|||||||||||||||:::||||||
Db 178 CCCGCCACCGTAGCCAACCTCGGGCCTGGTTTCGACTTCCTCGGCTGCGCAATCGACGGC 237
Qy 79 IleGlyAspTyrValThrLeuLysIleAspProGlnValHisProGlyGluValSerIle 98
||||||||||||||||||||| :::|||||||||||| |||||| :::||||||
Db 238 ATCGGAGATTACGTTACCCTCACAGTCGACCCCCAAGTCCAACCCGGCAGATTATCAATT 297
Qy 99 ThrGluIleThrGlyThrGlyAsnSerAlaAsnLysLeuSerLysAsnProIleTrp*** 118
|||||| ||| |||::: :::||||||:::||||||:::|||:::
Db 298 GCAGAAATCAACGGCGTTGACAAGTCTTCCAAGAGGCTCAGCAGAAACCCTCTATGGAAT 357
Qy 119 ***AlaGlyIleAlaAlaIleSerValMetLysMetLeuAsnIleArgSerValGlyLeu 138
:::|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||
Db 358 TGCGCCGGAATTGCTGCAATCTCCGTCATGAAGATGCTCAAGATCCGATCCGTTGGTCTC 417
Qy 139 SerLeuSerLeuGlu***GlyLeuProLeu***Ser***************AlaAla*** 158
|||||||||::: ::: |||||||||::: :::::::::::::::||||||:::
Db 418 TCTTTATCCATCAATACATGTCTCCCCCTTCGAGGCGGCCTAGGCTCCAGCGCCGCTAGC 477
Qy 159 AlaAlaAlaAlaAlaIleAlaValAsnGluIlePheGlyGlyLysLeuProAlaLeuAsp 178
|||||||||||||||:::|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||
Db 478 GCTGCCGCCGCCGCCGTTGCGGTTAATGAGATTTTCGGAGGGAAGTTACATGATTCCGAT 537
Qy 179 LeuValLeuAlaGlyLeuGluSerGluAlaLysValSerGlyTyrHisAla******Ile 198
|||:::|||||||||||||||:::|||||||||:::|||||||||||||||::::::|||
Db 538 TTGATACTCGCGGGGCTCGAAGCTGAAGCGAAGTTATCCGGTTATCACGCCGATAACATT 597
Qy 199 AlaProAlaIleMetGlyGlyPheValLeuValArgSerTyrAspProLeuGluLeuIle 218
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:::|||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 598 GCTCCGGCGATCATGGGCGGGTTTGTGTTGATCAGAAGCTACGATCCATTAGAGTTGATC 657
Qy 219 ProLeuGlnPheProValAspLysAsnLeuTyrPheValLeuValAsnProGluPheGlu 238
|||:::|||||| :::|||||||||:::||||||||||||||||||||||||:::
Db 658 TCCTTGAAGTTTCCACCGGAAAAGAATCTGTTTTTCGTGTTGGTGAATCCTGAATTCCAA 717
Qy 239 AlaPro***LysLysMet***AlaAlaLeuProLysGluIleThrMetSerHisHisVal 258
||| :::|||||||||:::||| |||||| ||||||||||||||| ||||||
Db 718 GCACAAACGAAGAAGATGAGGGCGGTTCTACCGACGGAGATAACAATGTCGGATCATGTA 777
Qy 259 TrpAsnSerSerGlnAlaGlyAlaLeuValAlaAlaValLeuGlnGlyAspLeuLysGly 278
|||||| ||||||||| |||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||| |||
Db 778 TGGAATTGTAGTCAGGCGGCGGCGTTGGTGGCAGGCGTATTGCAGGGGGATTTGGTGGGG 837
Qy 279 PheGlyLysAlaLeuSerSerAspLysIleValGluProArg***AlaProLeuIlePro 298
||||||||||||||||||||||||:::|||||||||||||||:::|||||||||:::|||
Db 838 TTTGGGAAGGCATTGTCATCGGATAGAATAGTGGAGCCACGGCGGGCGCCATTGCTTCCG 897
Qy 299 GlyMetAspAlaValLysLysAlaAlaLeuGluAlaGlyAlaTyrGlyCysThrIleSer 318
||||||::: |||||||||||||||:::||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 898 GGAATGGAAGATGTGAAGAAGGCAGCAATGGAAGCAGGGGCATATGGGTGTACGATAAGT 957
Qy 319 Gly***GlyProThrAlaValAlaValThrAspAsnGluGluLysGlyArgGluIleGly 338
|||:::||||||||| |||||||||||||||:::|||::::::|||||||||||||||
Db 958 GGGTCAGGGCCGACGGTGGTGGCGGTGACGGATGATGAAGATAGAGGGAGGGAGATCGGG 1017
Qy 339 GluLysMetValGluAlaPheMetAlaGluGlyAsnLeuLysAlaValAlaMetValLys 358
|||||||||||||||||||||::: :::||| |||||||||:::||||||||||||
Db 1018 GAGAAGATGGTGGAAGCTTTTGTAGAGAAGGGAAAGTTGAAAGCTTTGGCTATGGTGAAG 1077
Qy 359 GlnLeuAspArgValGlyAlaArgLeuValSerSerIleSer 372
:::|||||||||||||||||||||::::::||| ||||||
Db 1078 AAACTGGACAGAGTTGGTGCTAGAGTTATCAGTCGTATCTCC 1119.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 and 11-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11, 952, 583. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of both the application and the issued patent are drawn to a cultivated lettuce plant/seed/leaf/head comprising a mutant allele encoding a mutant homoserine kinase with specific mutations relative to the wild type homoserine kinase protein of SEQ ID NO: 1, and a method generating said cultivated Lactuca sativa plant/seed/leaf/head.
The claims of the instant application are broader in scope than the claims of the issued patent. Claims 1-2, 5-7, 11-13 and 15 of the instant application do not require specific amino acid mutations. Claims 3, 5 and 14 recite specific amino acid replacement but also require further mutation with any different amino acid or an amino acid located 1, 2, 3 or 4 positions before or after said amino acids being replaced by a different amino acid. Therefore, the claims of the instant application are genus claims encompassing the claims of the issued patent.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Contact Information
MEDINA AHMED. IBRAHIM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1662
/MEDINA A IBRAHIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1662