Claim Status
Applicant’s amendments and remarks, filed 10/06/2025, are acknowledged.
Claims 1-18, 25, and 34 are canceled.
Claims 20-24, 26, 28-33, and 35-36 are amended.
Claims 43-55 are new.
Claims 19-24, 26-33, and 35-55 are pending.
Claims 36-42 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/08/2025.
As such, claims 19-24, 26-33, 35, and 43-55 are pending examination and currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 10/06/2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent Nos. 11807689, 11814439, 11884740, 11965032, and any patent granted on Application Number 18/597,659 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Withdrawn Objections
The specification objections are withdrawn. Issues regarding minor informalities and trademarks/names have been sufficiently addressed through amendments to the specification on 10/06/2025.
Withdrawn Rejections
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 13-16, filed 10/06/2025, with respect to claims 19-35 rejected under 35 USC 112(b) as allegedly being indefinite have been fully considered and are persuasive. The issue regarding the claims comprising indefinite language have been sufficiently addressed through amendments to the claims. Further, Examiner acknowledges that claims 25 and 34 are canceled thus rendering the rejection moot. As such, the rejection under 35 USC 112(b) is withdrawn.
Applicant’s remarks, see pages 16-20, filed on 10/06/2025, with respect to claims 19-35 rejected under 35 USC 103 as allegedly unpatentable over de Romeuf, as evidenced by Abdelwahed, DrugBank.com – Ublituximab, Dekkers, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER) Application Number: 761103Orig1s000 Product Quality Review(s), Rituxan (rituximab) FDA Labeling, GAZYVA® (Obinutuzumab) FDA Labeling, European Medicines Agency “EMA”, Kelley, Reusch, and Carillo have been fully considered and are persuasive. Examiner acknowledges that claims 25 and 34 are canceled, thus rendering the rejection moot. Further, Examiner agrees with Applicant’s argument that the pertinent art fails to teach or suggest a population of anti-CD20 antibody proteins as described by the present claims. As such, the rejection of claims 19-35 under 35 USC 103 is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 20 and 21, filed 10/06/2025, with respect to claims 19-35 rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting of US Patent Nos. 11807689, 11814439, 11884740, and 11965032 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Examiner acknowledges that Applicant submitted a terminal disclaimer for US Patent Nos. 11807689, 11814439, 11884740, and 11965032 filed 10/06/2025.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 20 and 21, filed 10/06/2025, with respect to claims 19-35 provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting of US Patent Nos. 11807689, 11814439, 11884740, and 11965032 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Examiner acknowledges that Applicant submitted a terminal disclaimer for copending Application No. 18/597,659 filed 10/06/2025.
New Objections and Rejections Necessitated by Amendment
Claim Objections
Claims 29 and 49 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 29 and 49: “dehydrate” should read “dihydrate”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 26, 35, 46, and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 26 and 35 were amended to end with the term “and/or”. This renders the scope of the claims indefinite because there is no alternative following the term, thus one would not know what the alternatives are.
Claims 46 and 53 recite the limitation "the bisecting N-glycans" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-24, 27-28, 30-33, 43-45, 47-48, 50-52 and 54-55 appear to be free of the art. The closest prior art is Faid et al. (WO 2013/021279 A2, publication date: 02/14/2013). Faid et al. teach of antibodies that are highly galactosylated (see Abstract). Faid et al. teach that these highly galactosylated antibodies show both high complement dependent cytotoxicity (CDC) activity and high antibody-depended cellular cytotoxicity (ADCC) activity (see pg.1, lines 21-23). Faid et al. teach of a composition comprising a population of antibodies wherein the ratio of the level of galactosylation of the antibody N-glycans in the population to the level of fucosylation of the antibody N-glycans in the population is between 0.8 and 1.2 (see pg. 13, lines 2-5). Comparatively, Faid et al. define a population of antibodies that are low galactose and/or low fucose refers to a population of antibodies wherein the level of galactosylation and/or fucosylation of the antibodies in the population is less than 50% (see pgs. 14-15).
Faid et al. teach of the population of antibodies are CD20 antibody constructs wherein the amino acid sequence for the CD20 antibody comprises SEQ ID NO:1 for the light chain and SEQ ID NO: 2 of the heavy chain (see Example 1). SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 2 disclosed by Faid et al. share 100% identity with SEQ ID NOs: 2 and 1, respectively, of the present invention (see alignment below). Faid et al. demonstrate that these CD20 antibody constructs had higher IL-2 cytokine release, induced cytotoxic activity, and had higher CDC activity than Rituxan (see pg. 57). Faid et al. teach that these CD20 antibody constructs demonstrated 100% functionality in the CDC and ADCC assays compared to 59% and 6% of Rituxan (see Fig. 8).
Faid et al. SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 2 alignments
However, Faid et al. fail to teach of a single batch preparation of the population of anti-CD20 antibodies wherein the N-glycan profile is 10 to 20% galactosylated glycans and about 20 to 40% fucosylated glycans and is produced in a 15,000 L or 20,000 L bioreactor as recited in instant claims 19 and 27. Also, Faid et al. fail to teach of bisecting N-glycans as recited in the present claims. Thus, the prior art does not teach or suggest the commercial scale preparation of populations of anti-CD20 antibody proteins comprising the specific range of glycans required by instant claims 19 and 27.
Conclusion
Claims 19-24, 27-28, 30-33, 43-45, 47-48, 50-52 and 54-55 are allowable.
Claims 26, 35, 46 and 53 are rejected.
Claims 29 and 49 are objected to.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANAYA L MIDDLETON/Examiner, Art Unit 1674
/VANESSA L. FORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1674