DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samuel et al. US (2014/0192790) in view of Panpaliya et al. US (2013/0288643), and further in view of Schnepp et al. US (2007/0266191).
Regarding Claim 1, Samuel discloses a communication apparatus (see Fig. 11 & Para’s [0078] & [0132]) comprising: a receiving circuit (see Fig. 11 i.e., receiving unit 102) configured to receive a signal in a first slot or a second slot according to a time division multiplexing access scheme; (see Figures 1-2 & Para’s [0002-0003] i.e., Digital Mobile Radio (DMR) protocol which adopts the two-timeslot TDMA structure, [0022] i.e., thus the receiving party may identify the high-priority service by detecting the priority frame and ensure to receive and process the high-priority service preferentially, regardless of whether the receiving party is in the state of receiving a voice call, [0088] i.e., the terminal, which does not need to transmit the high-priority service, may monitor two timeslots simultaneously in order to receive the higher priority service preferentially, [0103] i.e., user terminal C needs to monitor two timeslots simultaneously. For example, if user terminal C receives a voice call in timeslot 1, then detects a high-priority service in timeslot 2, then user C may cease the voice call in timeslot 1 and begin to receive the high-priority service in timeslot 2 & [0139] i.e., TDMA).
a transmitting circuit (see Fig. 11 i.e., transmitting unit 101) configured to transmit a transmission signal corresponding to the first or second slot according to the time division multiplexing access scheme and by half-duplex communication; (see Fig. 2 i.e., transmission signal by MS 2 which may be in timeslot 2 (designated by the slashed part in Fig. 2) such as reversing burst signaling & Para’s [0002] i.e., DMR protocol which adopts the two-timeslot TDMA structure. As shown in Fig. 1, each burst sequence includes two timeslots in order to realize two calls via two timeslots, [0003] i.e., As shown in Fig. 2, in a channel inversion mode, radio MS2 which is receiving in timeslot 1, may send back in timeslot 2 a reverse burst signaling (i.e., “transmission signal”) to the radio MS1…the reverse burst signaling is a relatively short frame, which cannot be used to transmit audio signal, and can only carry the status data to notify the radio in transmitting state of the current status of the radio in receiving state, [0059] i.e., the receiving party sends back a response frame, [0075] i.e., sending a response frame (i.e., “transmission signal”) after completing the receiving of the high-priority service frame, [0093] i.e., push-to-talk, [0103], & [0136] i.e., transmitting unit 101 may send back a response frame to the transmitting party after the receiving unit 104 completes the receiving of the high-priority service frame, and the response frame may be transmitted in the same timeslot in which the high-priority service frame is received)
a voice signal decoding circuit (see Fig. 11 i.e., receiving unit 102) configured to handle one of a first reception signal received in the first slot and a second reception signal received in the second slot as a signal for outputting a voice, (see Para’s [0012], [0022] i.e., thus the receiving party may identify the high-priority service by detecting the priority frame and ensure to receive and process the high-priority service preferentially, regardless of whether the receiving party is in the state of receiving a voice call, [0037], [0127-0128] i.e., a receiving and detecting unit 102 adapted to receive and detect a priority frame in another timeslot & [0130] i.e., stop the voice call and notify the receiving unit 104 to receive the high-priority service frame in the another timeslot)
and decode the voice signal, (see Para [0022] i.e., thus the receiving party may identify the high-priority service by detecting the priority frame and ensure to receive and process the high-priority service preferentially (i.e., processing the high-priority service (i.e., voice signal) includes decoding the voice signal) & [0103])
a baseband signal processing circuit (see Fig. 11 i.e., detecting unit 102 which performs the claim feature may be interpreted as the “baseband signal processing circuit”) configured to determine a priority in regard to a slot for outputting a voice based on information contained in the first and second reception signals, (see Para’s [0011-0012] i.e., receiving and detecting a priority frame in another timeslot different from a timeslot occupied by a voice call…stopping the voice call and receiving a high-priority service frame in the another timeslot if the priority frame is detected, [0022], [0035-0036], [0038] i.e., different priority frames are distinguished by adding new data type to the existing data frame format, [0055] i.e., multiple priority frames may be distinguished by different data type values, [0062] i.e., a service level indicator may be further carried in the priority frame so that the receiving party may determine whether to interrupt the current call according to the detected service level indicator…the service level indicator may be implemented by the field of data type in the PDU structure, [0064], [0071] i.e., if the level of the high-priority service indicated by the service level indicator is higher (i.e., priority of the second reception signal is determined) than the level of the current voice call (i.e., priority of the first reception signal is determined), & [0130] i.e., in a case that the receiving and detecting unit 102 detects that the level of the high-priority service indicated by the service level indicator is higher than the level of the voice call, notify the transmitting unit 101 to stop the voice call and notify the receiving unit 104 to receive the high-priority service frame in the another timeslot)
and output information about the determined priority; (see Para’s [0127-0128] i.e., the control unit adapted to notify the receiving unit to receive a high priority service frame which is detected by the receiving and detecting unit 102 suggests the outputting the determined priority information to the control unit & [0130])
and a control circuit (see Fig. 11 i.e., controlling unit 103) configured to, when the first reception signal is received in the first slot and then the second reception signal having a priority higher than that of the first reception signal is received in the second slot, switch a slot for outputting a voice from the first slot for the first reception signal to the second slot for the second reception signal based on information about the priority, (see Para’s [0011-0012], [0022] i.e., thus the receiving party may identify the high-priority service by detecting the priority frame and ensure to receive and process the high-priority service preferentially, regardless of whether the receiving party is in the state of receiving a voice call, [0071], [0103] i.e., user terminal C needs to monitor two timeslots simultaneously. For example, if user terminal C receives a voice call in timeslot 1, then detects a high-priority service in timeslot 2, then user C may cease the voice call in timeslot 1 and begin to receive the high-priority service in timeslot 2, & [0130] i.e., in a case that the receiving and detecting unit 102 detects that the level of the high-priority service indicated by the service level indicator is higher than the level of the voice call, notify the transmitting unit 101 to stop the voice call and notify the receiving unit 104 to receive the high-priority service frame in the another timeslot)
wherein the control circuit (see Fig. 11 i.e., controlling unit 103), when the reception of the first reception signal is finished before the reception of the second reception signal is finished, (see Fig. 1 i.e., since the TDMA frame (i.e., or burst) which includes two timeslots, may be transmitted more than once, it may be possible for the reception of the voice call to be finished in timeslot 1 (i.e., first payload portion of timeslot 1) of the next TDMA frame which is before the reception of the second reception signal which can be finished in slot 2 of the next TDMA frame, & Para’s [0002] i.e., each burst sequence includes two timeslots. The objective of this protocol is to realize two calls via two timeslots, [0067] i.e., each time after a voice frame is transmitted by a user terminal, receiving and detecting a priority frame by the user terminal in another timeslot different from a timeslot occupied by a voice call, [0127] i.e., each time a voice frame is transmitted)
configures the transmission circuit so that a transmission signal can be transmitted during a predefined first period that starts after the reception of the first reception signal is finished, (see Fig. 2 i.e., MS2 transmitting (i.e., “transmission signal”) in the slashed part in Fig. 2 will be transmitted in the next TDMA frame which may be after the reception of the voice call finished in timeslot 1 (i.e., at first payload portion of timeslot 1) of the next TDMA frame & Para’s [0003] i.e., radio MS2 which is receiving in timeslot 1, may send back in timeslot 2 a reversing burst signaling (i.e., “transmission signal”) to the radio MS1…The reversing burst (designated by the slashed part in Fig. 2) (i.e., “transmission signal”) is a relatively short frame…and can only carry the status data to notify the radio in transmitting state of the current status of the radio in receiving state & [0059]).
While Samuel discloses configuring the transmission circuit so that a transmission signal (i.e., the reversing burst signaling) indicating the current status of the radio in receiving state (see Para [0003]) can be transmitted by the second slot in the next TDMA frame (see Figures 1-2 & Para’s [0003], [0059], [0067] i.e., each time after a voice frame is transmitted & [0075]), Samuel does not disclose the transmission signal being transmitted in the first slot (i.e., in the synchronized or embedded signaling field in timeslot 1 of the frame). However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Panpaliya et al. US (2013/0288643).
Panpaliya discloses a data burst transmitted in accordance with the DMR standard includes reverse channel information which is included in embedded signaling in a timeslot within the frame (see Para’s [0003] i.e., DMR communications may take place over physical channels in accordance with TDMA, [0065], & [0067] i.e., The data burst may be transmitted over-the-air in accordance with the ETSI-DMR standard, in which the data burst is divided into two with a sync or embedded signaling (e.g., reverse channel))
(Panpaliya suggests the data burst may be a voice burst including reverse signaling channel in embedded signaling of the burst which may be used for indicating control information of the voice data to a receiving device in accordance with the DMR standard (see Para’s [0065] & [0067])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing for the transmission signal such as reverse burst signaling for indicating the current status of the radio in receiving state as disclosed in Samuel to be configured to be transmitted in the embedded signaling field in timeslot 1 of the next TDMA frame based on the teachings of Panpaliya who discloses reverse channel signaling can be included in the embedded signaling field of a TDMA frame burst, which results in the transmission signal being transmitted by the first slot during a predefined first period that starts after the reception of the first reception signal is finished until the next embedded signaling field of timeslot 2, because the motivation lies in Panpaliya that the data burst may be a voice burst including reverse signaling channel included in embedded signaling of the burst which may be used for indicating control information of the voice data to a receiving device in accordance with the DMR standard.
The combination of Samuel in view of Panpaliya does not disclose the claim features of a recording device configured so as to be able to record a voice signal contained in at least one of the first and second reception signals and make the recording device start recording a signal corresponding to at least a voice signal contained in the first reception signal. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Schnepp et al. US (2007/0266191).
Schnepp discloses a communication apparatus comprising a recording device configured so as to be able to record a voice signal contained in at least a first reception signal while a second reception signal (i.e., higher priority signal) is being output (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0011], [0082-0085] i.e., traffic announcement that is broadcasted may be voice data, [0088] i.e., Here it is assumed that the driver is engaged in an ongoing call while a traffic announcement is broadcasted i.e., the driver is using the hands free functionality of the car audio system. The traffic information is then recorded automatically, as the loudspeakers are occupied by the call-related voice output, thus preventing a play back of the traffic message. Once the call is terminated it will be detected that the loudspeaker serving as the output device is no longer occupied, and the recorded information is played back automatically, & [0090]).
and make the recording device start recording a signal corresponding to at least a voice signal contained in the first reception signal when a second reception signal is being output (see Para’s [0085] i.e., traffic announcement which may be voice data is recorded automatically…The traffic information is presented to the user immediately when it is detected that no other output with higher priority is currently performed , [0088] i.e., the traffic information is then recorded automatically, as the loudspeakers are occupied by the call-related voice output, thus preventing a play back of the traffic message. Once the call is terminated it will be detected that the loudspeaker serving as the output device is no longer occupied, and the recorded information is played back automatically & [0090]).
(Schnepp suggests the device records the traffic announcement information while an ongoing higher priority voice call is being output in which the recording is played back to the user automatically when it is detected that the output is no longer occupied by the higher priority call signal for ensuring that no important traffic messages are missed by the user, (see Para’s [0011], [0085], [0088], & [0090])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the communication device which switches the output to the reception of the second voice signal having a higher priority as disclosed in Samuel in view of Panpaliya to include a recording device which starts recording a first reception signal corresponding to at least a voice signal contained in the first reception signal when a second higher priority reception signal is being output by the device as disclosed in the teachings of Schnepp, because the motivation lies in Schnepp that the device records the traffic announcement information while an ongoing higher priority voice call is being output in which the recording is played back to the user automatically when it is detected that the output is no longer occupied by the higher priority call signal for ensuring that no important traffic messages are missed by the user.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Samuel in view of Panpaliya, and further in view of Schnepp discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a timing of the end of the first period is, at the latest, simultaneous with the end of the reception of the second reception signal, (Samuel, see Fig. 1 i.e., the predefined first period may be the period from the embedded signaling field of timeslot 1 to embedded signaling field of timeslot 2 of the next TDMA frame, in which the ending may be simultaneous with the end of the second reception signal which may be in the end of first payload portion of time slot 2 & Para’s [0002-0003], & [0067] i.e., each time after a voice frame is transmitted by a user terminal, receiving and detecting a priority frame by the user terminal in another timeslot different from a timeslot occupied by a voice call)
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Samuel in view of Panpaliya discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein when the reception of the first reception signal is continued after the reception of the second reception signal is finished, (Samuel, see Fig. 1 i.e., since the TDMA frame (i.e., or burst) which includes two timeslots, may be transmitted more than once, it may be possible for the reception of the voice call to be continued in timeslot 1 of a next TDMA frame after the reception of the second reception signal is finished being received in timeslot 2 of a previous TDMA frame, Fig. 2 i.e., voice frame is continued after reverse burst signaling & Para’s [0002] i.e., each burst sequence includes two timeslots. The objective of this protocol is to realize two calls via two timeslots, [0067] i.e., each time after a voice frame is transmitted by a user terminal, receiving and detecting a priority frame by the user terminal in another timeslot different from a timeslot occupied by a voice call, [0069] i.e., if the priority frame is not detected, the user terminal may continue the current voice call, [0127] i.e., each time a voice frame is transmitted),
and the control circuit configures the transmission circuit so that a transmission signal can be transmitted by the first slot (Based on the combination of Samuel in view of Panpaliya explained in clam 1, it would be for the transmission signal to be transmitted in the embedded signaling field in first slot (i.e., timeslot 1) of the next TDMA frame in which the first reception signal (i.e., voice call) continues)
during a predefined second period that starts after the reception of the first reception signal is finished., (Samuel, see Fig. 1 i.e., the predefined second period may be a period starting from embedded signaling field of timeslot 1 of the next TDMA frame & Para’s [0002-0003], [0067] i.e., each time a voice frame is transmitted, & [0069])
but does not disclose the control circuit continues the recording of the first reception signal, and upon completion of the reception of the second reception signal, starts outputting a voice of the stored first reception signal. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Schnepp et al. US (2007/0266191).
Schnepp discloses the control circuit continues the recording of the first reception signal, (see Para [0088] i.e., the traffic information being recorded automatically suggests the recording of the entire first reception signal (i.e., the traffic information) will be continued to be recorded till the end of the reception of the first reception signal (i.e., the traffic information)…Once the call is terminated it will be detected that the loudspeaker serving as the output device is no longer occupied, and the recorded information is played back automatically )
and upon completion of the reception of the second reception signal, starts outputting a voice of the stored first reception signal (see Para’s [0085] i.e., the traffic information is presented to the user immediately when it is detected that no other output with higher priority is currently performed e.g., subsequent to ending an ongoing telephone call & [0088] i.e., once the call is terminated it will be detected that the loudspeaker serving as output device is no longer occupied, and the recorded information is played back automatically)
(Schnepp suggests the traffic announcement information is automatically recorded while an ongoing higher priority voice call is being output in which the recording is played back to the user automatically when it is detected that the output is no longer occupied by the higher priority call signal for ensuring that no important traffic messages are missed by the user, (see Para’s [0011], [0085], [0088], & [0090])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first reception signal which is continued after the reception of the second reception signal is finished as disclosed in Samuel to continue the recording of the first reception signal and be played back as disclosed in the teachings of Schnepp who discloses the first reception signal such as the entire traffic information is automatically recorded for play back, because the motivation lies in Schnepp that the traffic announcement information is automatically recorded while an ongoing higher priority voice call is being output in which the recording is played back to the user automatically when it is detected that the output is no longer occupied by the higher priority call signal for ensuring that no important traffic messages are missed by the user.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Samuel in view of Panpaliya discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 3, including wherein a timing when the second period starts is after when the reception of the first reception signal is finished (Samuel, see Fig. 1 i.e., timing of the second period starts after reception of the first reception signal is finished i.e., at end of first payload portion of timeslot 1 of the next TDMA frame & Para’s [0002-0003] & [0067]), but does not disclose it is after the outputting of the voice of the stored first reception signal is started and a timing of the end of the second period is, at the latest, simultaneous with the end of the outputting of the voice of the stored first reception signal. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Schnepp et al. US (2007/0266191).
Schnepp discloses the outputting of the voice of the stored first reception signal is started occurs when the second higher priority reception signal is finished being received (see Para’s [0085] i.e., the traffic information is presented to the user immediately when it is detected that no other output with higher priority is currently performed e.g., subsequent to ending an ongoing telephone call & [0088] i.e., once the call is terminated it will be detected that the loudspeaker serving as output device is no longer occupied, and the recorded information is played back automatically)
the end of the outputting of the voice of the stored first reception signal (see Para’s [0085] & [0088] i.e., recorded information played back automatically includes the end of the outputting of the voice)
(Schnepp suggests the traffic announcement information is automatically recorded while an ongoing higher priority voice call is being output in which the recording is played back to the user automatically when it is detected that the output is no longer occupied by the higher priority call signal for ensuring that no important traffic messages are missed by the user, (see Para’s [0011], [0085], [0088], & [0090])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the timing for the reception of the first reception signal which is continued after the reception of the second reception signal is finished as disclosed in Samuel to start outputting the voice of the stored first reception signal when the second higher priority reception signal is finished being received as disclosed in the teachings of Schnepp, in which the play back (i.e., “outputting”) would continue after the first signal reception is ended which can result in configuring the second period to start after the outputting of the voice of the stored first reception signal is started and configuring the second period to end simultaneous with the end of the outputting of the voice of the stored first reception signal since the play back would continue after the reception of the first reception signal is finished, because the motivation lies in Schnepp that the traffic announcement information is automatically recorded while an ongoing higher priority voice call is being output in which the recording is played back to the user automatically when it is detected that the output is no longer occupied by the higher priority call signal for ensuring that no important traffic messages are missed by the user.
Regarding Claim 5, Samuel discloses a communication apparatus (see Fig. 11 & Para’s [0078] & [0132]) comprising: a receiving circuit (see Fig. 11 i.e., receiving unit 102) configured to receive a signal in a first slot or a second slot according to a time division multiplexing access scheme; (see Figures 1-2 & Para’s [0002-0003] i.e., Digital Mobile Radio (DMR) protocol which adopts the two-timeslot TDMA structure, [0022] i.e., thus the receiving party may identify the high-priority service by detecting the priority frame and ensure to receive and process the high-priority service preferentially, regardless of whether the receiving party is in the state of receiving a voice call, [0088] i.e., the terminal, which does not need to transmit the high-priority service, may monitor two timeslots simultaneously in order to receive the higher priority service preferentially, [0103] i.e., user terminal C needs to monitor two timeslots simultaneously. For example, if user terminal C receives a voice call in timeslot 1, then detects a high-priority service in timeslot 2, then user C may cease the voice call in timeslot 1 and begin to receive the high-priority service in timeslot 2 & [0139] i.e., TDMA).
a transmitting circuit (see Fig. 11 i.e., transmitting unit 101) configured to transmit a transmission signal corresponding to the first or second slot according to the time division multiplexing access scheme and by half-duplex communication; (see Fig. 2 i.e., transmission signal by MS 2 which may be in timeslot 2 (designated by the slashed part in Fig. 2) such as reversing burst signaling & Para’s [0002] i.e., DMR protocol which adopts the two-timeslot TDMA structure. As shown in Fig. 1, each burst sequence includes two timeslots in order to realize two calls via two timeslots, [0003] i.e., As shown in Fig. 2, in a channel inversion mode, radio MS2 which is receiving in timeslot 1, may send back in timeslot 2 a reverse burst signaling (i.e., “transmission signal”) to the radio MS1…the reverse burst signaling is a relatively short frame, which cannot be used to transmit audio signal, and can only carry the status data to notify the radio in transmitting state of the current status of the radio in receiving state, [0059] i.e., the receiving party sends back a response frame, [0075] i.e., sending a response frame (i.e., “transmission signal”) after completing the receiving of the high-priority service frame, [0093] i.e., push-to-talk, [0103] & [0136] i.e., transmitting unit 101 may send back a response frame to the transmitting party after the receiving unit 104 completes the receiving of the high-priority service frame, and the response frame may be transmitted in the same timeslot in which the high-priority service frame is received)
a voice signal decoding circuit (see Fig. 11 i.e., receiving unit 102) configured to handle one of a first reception signal received in the first slot and a second reception signal received in the second slot as a signal for outputting a voice, (see Para’s [0012], [0022] i.e., thus the receiving party may identify the high-priority service by detecting the priority frame and ensure to receive and process the high-priority service preferentially, regardless of whether the receiving party is in the state of receiving a voice call, [0037], [0127-0128] i.e., a receiving and detecting unit 102 adapted to receive and detect a priority frame in another timeslot & [0130] i.e., stop the voice call and notify the receiving unit 104 to receive the high-priority service frame in the another timeslot)
and decode the voice signal, (see Para [0022] i.e., thus the receiving party may identify the high-priority service by detecting the priority frame and ensure to receive and process the high-priority service preferentially (i.e., processing the high-priority service (i.e., voice signal) includes decoding the voice signal) & [0103])
a baseband signal processing circuit (see Fig. 11 i.e., detecting unit 102 which performs the claim feature may be interpreted as the “baseband signal processing circuit”) configured to determine a priority in regard to a slot for outputting a voice based on information contained in the first and second reception signals, (see Para’s [0011-0012] i.e., receiving and detecting a priority frame in another timeslot different from a timeslot occupied by a voice call…stopping the voice call and receiving a high-priority service frame in the another timeslot if the priority frame is detected, [0022], [0035-0036], [0038] i.e., different priority frames are distinguished by adding new data type to the existing data frame format, [0055] i.e., multiple priority frames may be distinguished by different data type values, [0062] i.e., a service level indicator may be further carried in the priority frame so that the receiving party may determine whether to interrupt the current call according to the detected service level indicator…the service level indicator may be implemented by the field of data type in the PDU structure, [0064], [0071] i.e., if the level of the high-priority service indicated by the service level indicator is higher (i.e., priority of the second reception signal is determined) than the level of the current voice call (i.e., priority of the first reception signal is determined), & [0130] i.e., in a case that the receiving and detecting unit 102 detects that the level of the high-priority service indicated by the service level indicator is higher than the level of the voice call, notify the transmitting unit 101 to stop the voice call and notify the receiving unit 104 to receive the high-priority service frame in the another timeslot)
and output information about the determined priority, (see Para’s [0127-0128] i.e., the control unit adapted to notify the receiving unit to receive a high priority service frame which is detected by the receiving and detecting unit 102 suggests the outputting the determined priority information to the control unit & [0130])
and a control circuit (see Fig. 11 i.e., controlling unit 103) configured to, when the first reception signal is received in the first slot and then the second reception signal having a priority higher than that of the first reception signal is received in the second slot, switch a slot for outputting a voice from the first slot for the first reception signal to the second slot for the second reception signal based on information about the priority, (see Para’s [0011-0012], [0022] i.e., thus the receiving party may identify the high-priority service by detecting the priority frame and ensure to receive and process the high-priority service preferentially, regardless of whether the receiving party is in the state of receiving a voice call, [0071], [0103] i.e., user terminal C needs to monitor two timeslots simultaneously. For example, if user terminal C receives a voice call in timeslot 1, then detects a high-priority service in timeslot 2, then user C may cease the voice call in timeslot 1 and begin to receive the high-priority service in timeslot 2, & [0130] i.e., in a case that the receiving and detecting unit 102 detects that the level of the high-priority service indicated by the service level indicator is higher than the level of the voice call, notify the transmitting unit 101 to stop the voice call and notify the receiving unit 104 to receive the high-priority service frame in the another timeslot)
wherein when the reception of the first reception signal is continued after the reception of the second reception signal is finished, (Samuel, see Fig. 1 i.e., since the TDMA frame (i.e., or burst) which includes two timeslots, may be transmitted more than once, it may be possible for the reception of the voice call to be continued in timeslot 1 of a next TDMA frame after the reception of the second reception signal is finished being received in timeslot 2 of a previous TDMA frame, Fig. 2 i.e., voice frame is continued after reverse burst signaling & Para’s [0002] i.e., each burst sequence includes two timeslots. The objective of this protocol is to realize two calls via two timeslots, [0067] i.e., each time after a voice frame is transmitted by a user terminal, receiving and detecting a priority frame by the user terminal in another timeslot different from a timeslot occupied by a voice call, [0069] i.e., if the priority frame is not detected, the user terminal may continue the current voice call, [0127] i.e., each time a voice frame is transmitted),
the control circuit configures the transmission circuit so that a transmission signal can be transmitted during a predefined second period that starts after the reception of the first reception signal is finished (i.e., reception of reception signal may be finished at the first payload portion of timeslot 1 of the next TDMA frame), (see Fig. 2 i.e., MS2 transmitting (i.e., “transmission signal”) in the slashed part in Fig. 2 will be transmitted in the next TDMA frame & Para’s [0003] i.e., radio MS2 which is receiving in timeslot 1, may send back in timeslot 2 a reversing burst signaling (i.e., “transmission signal”) to the radio MS1…The reversing burst (designated by the slashed part in Fig. 2) (i.e., “transmission signal”) is a relatively short frame…and can only carry the status data to notify the radio in transmitting state of the current status of the radio in receiving state & [0059]).
While Samuel discloses configuring the transmission circuit so that a transmission signal (i.e., the reversing burst signaling) indicating the current status of the radio in receiving state (see Para [0003]) can be transmitted by the second slot in the next TDMA frame (see Figures 1-2 & Para’s [0003], [0059], [0067] i.e., each time after a voice frame is transmitted & [0075]), Samuel does not disclose the transmission signal being transmitted in the first slot (i.e., in the synchronized or embedded signaling field in timeslot 1 of the frame). However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Panpaliya et al. US (2013/0288643).
Panpaliya discloses a data burst transmitted in accordance with the DMR standard includes reverse channel information which is included in embedded signaling in a timeslot within the frame (see Para’s [0003] i.e., DMR communications may take place over physical channels in accordance with TDMA, [0065], & [0067] i.e., The data burst may be transmitted over-the-air in accordance with the ETSI-DMR standard, in which the data burst is divided into two with a sync or embedded signaling (e.g., reverse channel))
(Panpaliya suggests the data burst may be a voice burst including reverse signaling channel in embedded signaling of the burst which may be used for indicating control information of the voice data to a receiving device in accordance with the DMR standard (see Para’s [0065] & [0067])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing for the transmission signal such as reverse burst signaling for indicating the current status of the radio in receiving state as disclosed in Samuel to be configured to be transmitted in the embedded signaling field in timeslot 1 of the next TDMA frame based on the teachings of Panpaliya who discloses reverse channel signaling can be included in the embedded signaling field of a TDMA frame burst, which results in the transmission signal being transmitted by the first slot during a predefined second period that starts after the reception of the first reception signal is finished, because the motivation lies in Panpaliya that the data burst may be a voice burst including reverse signaling channel included in embedded signaling of the burst which may be used for indicating control information of the voice data to a receiving device in accordance with the DMR standard.
The combination of Samuel in view of Panpaliya does not disclose the claim features of a recording device configured so as to be able to record a voice signal contained in at least one of the first and second reception signals, make the recording device start recording a signal corresponding to at least a voice signal contained in the first reception signal, the control circuit continues the recording of the first reception signal, and upon completion of the reception of the second reception signal, starts outputting a voice of the stored first reception signal, the second period is after the outputting of the voice of the stored first reception signal is started and a timing of the end of the second period is, at the latest, simultaneous with the end of the outputting of the voice of the stored first reception signal. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Schnepp et al. US (2007/0266191).
Schnepp discloses a communication apparatus comprising a recording device configured so as to be able to record a voice signal contained in at least a first reception signal while a second reception signal (i.e., higher priority signal) is being output (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0011], [0082-0085] i.e., traffic announcement that is broadcasted may be voice data, [0088] i.e., Here it is assumed that the driver is engaged in an ongoing call while a traffic announcement is broadcasted i.e., the driver is using the hands free functionality of the car audio system. The traffic information is then recorded automatically, as the loudspeakers are occupied by the call-related voice output, thus preventing a play back of the traffic message. Once the call is terminated it will be detected that the loudspeaker serving as the output device is no longer occupied, and the recorded information is played back automatically, & [0090]).
and make the recording device start recording a signal corresponding to at least a voice signal contained in the first reception signal when a second reception signal is being output (see Para’s [0085] i.e., traffic announcement which may be voice data is recorded automatically…The traffic information is presented to the user immediately when it is detected that no other output with higher priority is currently performed , [0088] i.e., the traffic information is then recorded automatically, as the loudspeakers are occupied by the call-related voice output, thus preventing a play back of the traffic message. Once the call is terminated it will be detected that the loudspeaker serving as the output device is no longer occupied, and the recorded information is played back automatically & [0090]).
Schnepp discloses the control circuit continues the recording of the first reception signal, (see Para [0088] i.e., the traffic information being recorded automatically suggests the recording of the entire first reception signal (i.e., the traffic information) will be continued to be recorded till the end of the reception of the first reception signal (i.e., the traffic information)…Once the call is terminated it will be detected that the loudspeaker serving as the output device is no longer occupied, and the recorded information is played back automatically )
and upon completion of the reception of the second reception signal, starts outputting a voice of the stored first reception signal (see Para’s [0085] i.e., the traffic information is presented to the user immediately when it is detected that no other output with higher priority is currently performed e.g., subsequent to ending an ongoing telephone call & [0088] i.e., once the call is terminated it will be detected that the loudspeaker serving as output device is no longer occupied, and the recorded information is played back automatically)
Schnepp discloses the outputting of the voice of the stored first reception signal is started occurs when the second higher priority reception signal is finished being received (see Para’s [0085] i.e., the traffic information is presented to the user immediately when it is detected that no other output with higher priority is currently performed e.g., subsequent to ending an ongoing telephone call & [0088] i.e., once the call is terminated it will be detected that the loudspeaker serving as output device is no longer occupied, and the recorded information is played back automatically)
the end of the outputting of the voice of the stored first reception signal (see Para’s [0085] & [0088] i.e., recorded information played back automatically includes the end of the outputting of the voice)
(Schnepp suggests the device records the traffic announcement information while an ongoing higher priority voice call is being output in which the recording is played back to the user automatically when it is detected that the output is no longer occupied by the higher priority call signal for ensuring that no important traffic messages are missed by the user, (see Para’s [0011], [0085], [0088], & [0090])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the communication device which switches the output to the reception of the second voice signal having a higher priority and when the timing for the reception of the first reception signal which is continued after the reception of the second reception signal is finished as disclosed in Samuel in view of Panpaliya to include a recording device which starts recording a first reception signal corresponding to at least a voice signal contained in the first reception signal when a second higher priority reception signal is being output by the device and starts outputting the voice of the stored first reception signal when the second higher priority reception signal is finished being received as disclosed in the teachings of Schnepp, in which the play back (i.e., “outputting”) would continue after the first signal reception is ended which can result in configuring the second period to start after the outputting of the voice of the stored first reception signal is started and configuring the second period to end simultaneous with the end of the outputting of the voice of the stored first reception signal since the play back would continue after the reception of the first reception signal is finished, because the motivation lies in Schnepp that the device records the traffic announcement information while an ongoing higher priority voice call is being output in which the recording is played back to the user automatically when it is detected that the output is no longer occupied by the higher priority call signal for ensuring that no important traffic messages are missed by the user.
Conclusion
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461