DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-6) in the reply filed on 11/25/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 7-13 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/25/2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“the other surface” in line 6 on page 1 of claim 1 should read –another surface--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “close” in line 5 on page 1 of claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear the degree of “close contact” between “one surface” and “heating surface”.
For examination purposes, “close contact” is construed as --contact--.
Claims 2-6 are also rejected due to their dependency of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US PGPub No. 2006/0124280) in view of Martin (US Patent No. 11,542,605, effectively filed on 4/8/2020 before the instant case).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a vapor chamber (Fig. 2) comprising:
a chamber body plate (lower plate 12 and sides 10) having one surface placed in contact with a heating surface of a heating element (bottom surface of the lower plate 12 contacts a top surface of a heat source) and another surface that is open (top surface of the lower plate 12 that is open to an enclosed space of the vapor chamber), the chamber body plate having a refrigerant filling space (the enclosed space closed by the lower plate 12 and the sides 10 and an upper plate 11) filled with a refrigerant therein (a working fluid within the space, paragraph 0054) and defined to have a predetermined thickness (a thickness of the space defined by the sides 10);
a chamber cover plate (the upper plate 11) bonded to shield the other open surface of the chamber body plate (to close the top surface of the lower plate 12); and
a wick (wick structure 10a) formed in the refrigerant filling space (within the enclosed space), which is a space between the chamber body plate and the chamber cover plate (the enclosed space is between the lower plate 12 and upper plate 11), the wick having at least multiple pores through which the refrigerant filled in the refrigerant filling space flows (the wick 10a has a structure of sintered aluminum powder, paragraph 0065. Thus, the wick 10a inherently includes pores to wick liquid working fluid by capillary force).
Lee fails to disclose wherein the wick comprises a Ni plating layer formed on an outer surface of aluminum powder bonded in particle units.
Martin directed to a treatment to aluminum powder for sintering, discloses (Fig. 1B) wherein a reactive metal particle 110 may be coated with layer 120 and outer layer 130. Martin further discloses that the reactive metal may be aluminum (col. 9, lines 22-30); a coating may include from 1 to 10 coating layers, and the coating may further include multiple coating layers containing progressively more noble metals (col. 7, lines 60-67; and col. 8, lines 1-4); and the noble metals include nickel and copper (col. 8, lines 58-67).
Based on the teaching of Martin, the particle 110 may be aluminum, the layer 120 may be nickel which is more noble than aluminum and the outer layer 130 may be copper which is more noble than both the nickel and aluminum.
Martin further teaches that the coating removes the oxide barrier, lowering sintering temperature and sintering time, and increase mechanical toughness of the final sintered product (col. 6, lines 24-45).
Therefore, the wick 10a in Lee that is made of sintered aluminum powder may be made of aluminum powder that is coated with a more noble metal or nickel on the aluminum surface; and the nickel surface may be further being coated a furthermore noble metal or copper. It is expected that the sintering temperature and sintering time may be lowered, and an increased mechanical toughness of the resultant sintered product.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the wick comprises a Ni plating layer formed on an outer surface of aluminum powder bonded in particle units in Lee as taught by Martin in order to improve quality of the sintered wick 10a in Lee.
Regarding claim 2, Lee in claim 1 further discloses wherein the chamber body plate and the chamber cover plate are made of aluminum (the lower plate 12 and upper plate 11 are made of aluminum, paragraph 0073), which is the same material as the wick (the aluminum material of the plated 11 12 is the same as the aluminum powder of the wick 10a) before an electroless Ni plating process (noted that the “before an electroless Ni plating process” is a product-by-process limitation, and the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production, see MPEP 2113. “before an electroless Ni plating process” does not imply a distinct structure to the “wick” itself, and the structure of the wick has the same material as the plates before or after the claimed process).
Regarding claim 3, Lee in claim 2 further discloses wherein the chamber body plate and the wick or the chamber cover plate and the wick are bonded with a predetermined bonding force (the bonding between the plate 12 and the sintered wick 10a; or the plate 11 and the sintered wick 10a inherently has a predetermined bonding force defined by the sintering) through the electroless Ni plating process (as noted above, the “electroless Ni plating process” is product-by-process limitation and the resultant structure bears the predetermined bonding force with or without going through the claimed process).
Regarding claim 4, Lee in claim 2 further discloses the wick further comprises a Cu plating layer formed on an outer surface of the Ni plating layer (the modified sintered wick 10a has the copper outer layer formed outside the intermediate nickel layer).
Regarding claim 5, Lee in claim 4 further discloses wherein a predetermined bonding force between an inner surface of the chamber body plate and the wick is further increased by addition of a wet Cu plating process to form the Cu plating layer (“by addition of a wet Cu plating process” is a product-by-process limitation, and the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production, see MPEP 2113. “by addition of a wet Cu plating process” does not imply a distinct structure to the bonding force between the inner surface and the wick itself. The bonding strength between inner surface of the plate 12 and the removed oxide and copper coated aluminum particles is expected to be increased since the oxide layer of the aluminum particles has been removed, see the teaching of Martin above).
Regarding claim 6, Lee in claim 5 further discloses wherein the multiple pores formed in the wick are sized such that the refrigerant flows through capillarity by the Cu plating layer (the sintered wick 10a made from modified aluminum particles has copper outer layer. The wick 10a itself inherently has sized pores so that the working fluid flows fluid through the pores by the copper outer layer of the sintered particles) formed through the wet Cu plating process (as noted above, “the wet Cu plating process” is product-by-process limitation and lacks a distinct structure to the modified copper layer on the aluminum particles).
Conclusion
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/F.K.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3763