DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17/419,713, filed on June 29, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 28, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein the protective layer and the coverplate are arranged at intervals” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein the protective layer and the coverplate are arranged at intervals.” However, the originally filed specification and the drawings do not show or describe how the protective layer and the coverplate are arranged at intervals. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to understand what the claimed invention is.
Claims 2-20 are rejected based on their dependency of rejected independent claim 1.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein the protective layer and the coverplate are arranged at intervals.” However, it is unclear from the originally filed specification and the drawings how the protective layer and the coverplate are arranged at intervals. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Claims 2-20 are rejected based on their dependency of rejected independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 8, 10, 18, and 20, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (US Pub 2019/0339741).
In re claim 1, Park discloses a display device, comprising: a flexible screen body (i.e. 210) comprising a planar area and a bending area connected to the planar area; a color filter (i.e. 221 – see at least paragraph 0073 disclosing that the function module 221 may include at least one function layer; the functional layer may perform…a color filter feature; the functional layer may be a color filter, etc.) disposed on the flexible screen body and at least covering the planar area; a protective layer (i.e. 411) disposed on the flexible screen body and at least covering a part of the bending area; and a coverplate (i.e. 222 – in this case, the instant application does not further describe what the “coverplate” is, what material(s) the “coverplate” comprises, etc; thus, the window module 222 is the claimed “coverplate” as the term “coverplate” is a mere label) disposed on the color filter and at least covering the planar area; wherein the protective layer and the coverplate are arranged at intervals (i.e. in this case, the interval is at least one) (i.e. see at least Figure 4).
In re claim 2, Park discloses wherein in an overlapping area of the protective layer and the coverplate, a distance between the protective layer and the coverplate is greater than or equal to a default value, wherein the default value is greater than 0 (i.e. see at least Figure 4).
In re claim 6, Park discloses wherein the bending area comprises a transitional bending sub-area, a bending sub-area, and an extending bending sub-area defined in sequence, and the transitional bending sub-area is connected to and flush with the planar area (i.e. see at least Figure 4); the protective layer (i.e. 411) completely covers the bending sub-area and covers at least a part of the transitional bending sub-area; and the coverplate (i.e. 222) is connected to the color filter by an optical adhesive (i.e. NAD1), and the coverplate completely covers the planar area and covers at least the part of the transitional bending sub-area (i.e. see at least Figure 4).
In re claim 8, Park discloses wherein the protective layer (i.e. 411) further covers at least a part of the extending bending sub-area (i.e. see at least Figure 4).
In re claim 10, Park discloses further comprising: a support layer (i.e. 230), wherein one side of the support layer supports the planar area and the transitional bending sub-area, and another side of the support layer away from the planar area supports the extending bending sub-area (i.e. see at least Figure 4).
In re claim 18, Park discloses wherein the optical adhesive is an optically clear adhesive (OCA) (i.e. see at least paragraph 0075).
In re claim 20, Park discloses further comprising a driving unit (i.e. 422) disposed on one surface of the extending bending sub-area away from the support layer (i.e. see at least Figure 4).
Conclusion
/ANTHONY HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817