Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jonas et al., US9985426 (hereinafter referred to as Jonas).
In regards to claim 1, Jonas teaches a superconducting magnet device (superconducting persistent magnet 200; [Title] & [Fig. 2]) comprising: a superconducting coil (conductive coil 230; [Fig. 2]); and a Joule heat generating element (energy dump unit 250; [Fig. 2]) that is connected in parallel (implicit; [Fig. 2]) to the superconducting coil and is cooled (crystat 210 as a heat sink; [Col. 10, Ln. 21-25]) to a cooling temperature (insulation region 212b; [Col. 6, Ln. 34-41]) higher than the superconducting coil during an operation (operating; [Col. 4, Ln. 10-12]) of the superconducting coil (Examiner’s Note: The energy dump unit 250 is thermally conductive to the crystat 210 which is the barrier surrounding the region 212b. Jonas teaches the insulation region to be 50K at the lowest, while the inner chamber 220 is less than the lower end temperature of the region 212a temperatures at 4.2K. 50K is higher than 4.2K).
In regards to claim 2, Jonas teaches the superconducting magnet device according to claim 1, further comprising: a cryocooler (cryostat 210; [Fig. 2]) including a first cooling stage (insulation region 212b; [Fig. 2]) that is thermally coupled (directly connected to cryostat 210; [Col. 10, Ln. 21-25]) to the Joule heat generating element and cooled to a first cooling temperature (50K; [Col. 6, Ln. 34-41]), and a second cooling stage (inner chamber 220; [Fig. 2]) that is thermally coupled (implicit; [Fig. 2]) to the superconducting coil and cooled to a second cooling temperature (4.2K; [Col. 6, Ln. 32-41]) lower than the first cooling temperature (implicit, 4.2K is less than 50K).
In regards to claim 5, Jonas teaches wherein the Joule heat generating element includes a non-linear resistor (one diode; [Col. 9, Ln. 20-23]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jonas et al., US9985426 (hereinafter referred to as Jonas) in view of Tsuchiya et al., US7196883 (hereinafter referred to as Tsuchiya.
In regards to claim 3, Jonas does not teach wherein the superconducting coil includes a plurality of superconducting coil portions connected in series to form the superconducting coil, the superconducting magnet device includes a plurality of the Joule heat generating elements, and each of the plurality of Joule heat generating elements is connected in parallel to a corresponding superconducting coil portion among the plurality of superconducting coil portions.
Tsuchiya teaches wherein the superconducting coil includes a plurality of superconducting coil portions (x4 of superconducting coils 40, 42, 44, & 46; [Fig. 1]) connected in series (implicit; [Fig. 1]) to form the superconducting coil, the superconducting magnet device includes a plurality of the Joule heat generating elements (x4 each of resistive heaters 60, 62, 64, & 66 and diodes 702, 722, 742, & 762; [Fig. 1]), and each of the plurality of Joule heat generating elements is connected in parallel (implicit; [Fig. 1]) to a corresponding superconducting coil portion among the plurality of superconducting coil portions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jonas in order to incorporate wherein the superconducting coil includes a plurality of superconducting coil portions connected in series to form the superconducting coil, the superconducting magnet device includes a plurality of the Joule heat generating elements, and each of the plurality of Joule heat generating elements is connected in parallel to a corresponding superconducting coil portion among the plurality of superconducting coil portions as taught by Tsuchiya. The plurality of heat generating elements would substitute the “one or more diodes and/or resistors” taught within the energy dump unit 250 by Jonas. The motivation would be to improve the design to be incorporated into an MRI design which requires multiple coils in series.
In regards to claim 4, Jonas teaches the superconducting magnet device according to claim 3, further comprising: a high-temperature superconducting current lead (leads 203 & 204, made of copper; [Col. 7, Ln. 15-17]) that connects the Joule heat generating element and the corresponding superconducting coil portion (implicit; [Fig. 2]) (Examiner’s Note: One skilled in the art would know a lead made of copper is capable of handling high-temperatures.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JP2015142044A is another prior art that teaches of the leads capable of withstanding high-temperatures.
SAMANTHA LYNETTE FAUBERT
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838