DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 7, and 9 – 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 7 and 9 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wahl (US 2013/0087921).
Regarding claim 1, Wahl teaches (FIG. 10):
A transformer arrangement, comprising:
an electrically insulating carrier (40);
a first integrated circuit comprising a first semiconductor die (42); and
a transformer comprising a first winding (38) and a second winding (39) that are inductively coupled ([0046]),
wherein one of the first and second windings is connected to the first integrated circuit ([0046]),
wherein each of the first and second windings is embedded in or arranged on top of the electrically insulating carrier (FIG. 10),
wherein the electrically insulating carrier comprises an insulating core layer (40) and a first insulating layer (34/35/36) formed on top of a first surface of the insulating core layer,
wherein the first semiconductor die is embedded in the insulating core layer (FIG. 10),
wherein at least one of the first winding and the second winding is embedded in the first insulating layer (FIG. 10).
Regarding claim 2, Wahl teaches (FIG. 17):
The transformer arrangement of claim 1, further comprising:
a second integrated circuit (71/72) comprising a second semiconductor die embedded in or arranged on top of the electrically insulating carrier,
wherein the other one of the first and second windings is connected to the second integrated circuit (FIG. 17).
Regarding claim 3, Wahl teaches (FIG. 10):
The transformer arrangement of claim 1, wherein the first integrated circuit comprises one of a transmitter circuit and a receiver circuit ([0051]).
Regarding claim 4, Wahl teaches (FIG. 10):
The transformer arrangement of claim 1, further comprising:
a package comprising a package body and a plurality of legs protruding from the body,
wherein the electrically insulating carrier is embedded in the package body.
Regarding claim 5, Wahl teaches (FIG. 17):
The transformer arrangement of claim 4, further comprising:
a further semiconductor die embedded in the package body and spaced apart from the electrically insulating carrier.
Regarding claim 6, Wahl teaches (FIG. 10):
The transformer arrangement of claim 1, wherein the first winding is arranged in a first horizontal plane of the electrically insulating carrier,
wherein the second winding is arranged in a second horizontal plane of the electrically insulating carrier, and
wherein the first horizontal plane is spaced apart from the second horizontal plane in a vertical direction of the electrically insulating carrier.
Regarding claim 10, Wahl teaches (FIG. 19):
The transformer arrangement of claim 1, wherein the other one of the first winding and the second winding is embedded in the insulating core layer (78).
Regarding claim 11, Wahl teaches (FIG. 10):
The transformer arrangement of claim 1,wherein the insulating core layer comprises a mold compound ([0045]).
Regarding claim 12, Wahl teaches (FIG. 10):
The transformer arrangement of claim 1,wherein the insulating core layer comprises a glass ([0035]).
Regarding claim 15, Wahl teaches (FIG. 10):
The transformer arrangement of claim 1, wherein the one of the first and second windings that is connected to the first integrated circuit is connected to the first integrated circuit through bond wires or through connections arranged within the electrically insulating carrier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wahl as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of French et al. (US 2012/0002377).
Regarding claim 7, Wahl teaches various transformer embodiments, but fails to expressly disclose:
The transformer arrangement of claim 1, wherein the first winding and the second winding are arranged in a same horizontal plane of the electrically insulating carrier.
However, French teaches a transformer for galvanic isolation wherein the two coils are arranged on a same horizontal plane (FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the conventional single layer transformer design of French in the device of Wahl for the predictable advantage of reducing metallization layers in a conventional manner.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wahl as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Meyer et al. (US 2008/0135977).
Regarding claim 9, Wahl teaches various transformer embodiments, but fails to expressly disclose:
The transformer arrangement of claim 1, wherein the electrically insulating carrier further comprises a second insulating layer formed on top of a second surface opposite the first surface of the insulating core layer, and
wherein the other one of the first winding and the second winding is embedded in the second insulating layer.
However, Meyer teaches forming winding structures on both the upper and lower surfaces of an embedded device structure (FIG. 25).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the conventional double sided layout of Meyer to enable an embedded device with transformer structure in a thin package.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CORY W ESKRIDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898