Detailed Action
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claims 1, 4 and 6-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shin (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2024/0274679).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 2 of Shin discloses a semiconductor structure comprising: a fork sheet transistor located on a frontside of a semiconductor [0022] device layer (F1) and comprising a plurality of semiconductor channel material nanosheets (NSS), a gate structure (160) contacting each semiconductor channel material nanosheet of the plurality of semiconductor channel material nanosheets, and source/drain regions (130); a backside power rail located on a backside of the semiconductor device layer; a via-to-backside power rail (VBPR) structure (DBC) in electrical contact with the backside power rail (BPW) and one of the source/drain regions of the fork sheet transistor; and a dielectric layer (BDI) separating the VBPR structure from each of the gate structure, the plurality of semiconductor channel material nanosheets, the semiconductor device layer and the source/drain region that is in electrical contact with the backside power rail.
Regarding Claim 4
FIG. 2 of Shin discloses the VBPR structure (DBC) includes a merged frontside source/drain contact structure in direct physically contact with a topmost surface of the source/drain region (130) that is in electrical contact with the backside power rail.
Regarding Claim 6
FIG. 2A of Shin discloses the dielectric layer lands on a surface of the backside power rail.
Regarding Claim 7
FIG. 2B of Shin discloses a frontside back-end-of-the-line (BEOL) structure (CB) located above the transistor, wherein the frontside BEOL structure is in electrical contact with the gate structure of the transistor by a frontside gate contact structure.
Regarding Claim 8
FIG. 2 of Shin discloses the VBPR structure is in contact with the frontside BEOL structure.
Claims 1, 5, 10, 13, 14 and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nam (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2025/0120165).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 4 of Nam discloses a semiconductor structure comprising: a fork sheet transistor located on a frontside of a semiconductor device layer (FA) and comprising a plurality of semiconductor channel material nanosheets (NS), a gate structure (125) contacting each semiconductor channel material nanosheet of the plurality of semiconductor channel material nanosheets, and source/drain regions (SD, FIG. 3); a backside power rail located on a backside of the semiconductor device layer; a via-to-backside power rail (VBPR) structure (130) in electrical contact with the backside power rail (230) and one of the source/drain regions of the fork sheet transistor; and a dielectric layer (132) separating the VBPR structure from each of the gate structure, the plurality of semiconductor channel material nanosheets, the semiconductor device layer and the source/drain region that is in electrical contact with the backside power rail.
Regarding Claim 5
FIG. 4 of Nam discloses the VBPR structure (130) extends into the backside power rail (230).
Regarding Claim 10
FIG. 4 of Nam discloses semiconductor structure comprising: a fork sheet transistor located on a frontside of a semiconductor device layer (FA) and comprising a plurality of semiconductor channel material nanosheets (NS), a gate structure (125) contacting each semiconductor channel material nanosheet of the plurality of semiconductor channel material nanosheets, and source/drain regions (SD); a backside power rail located on a backside of the semiconductor device layer; a via-to-backside power rail (VBPR) structure (130) located in a non-active device area and in electrical contact with the backside power rail (230) and a topmost surface and a sidewall surface of one of the source/drain regions of the fork sheet transistor (FIG. 24); and a dielectric layer (132) separating the VBPR structure from each of the gate structure and the plurality of semiconductor channel material nanosheets.
Regarding Claim 13
FIG. 24 of Nam discloses the VBPR structure (130+CM+CA1) includes a merged frontside source/drain contact structure in direct physically contact with a topmost surface of the source/drain region that is in electrical contact with the backside power rail.
Regarding Claim 14
FIG. 4 of Nam discloses the VBPR structure (130) extends into the backside power rail (230).
Regarding Claim 19
FIG. 4 of Nam discloses the dielectric layer (132) separates the VBPR structure (130) from the semiconductor device layer (FA).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 2, 3, 11 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam, in view of Jo (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2024/0274677).
Regarding Claim 2
Nam discloses Claim 1.
Nam is silent with respect to “an upper portion of the VBPR structure is present in a middle-of-the-line (MOL) dielectric layer, and the upper portion of the VBPR structure directly contacts the MOL dielectric layer”.
FIG. 3 of Jo discloses a similar semiconductor structure, wherein an upper portion of the VBPR structure (WVPR) is present in a middle-of-the-line (MOL) dielectric layer (168), and the upper portion of the VBPR structure directly contacts the MOL dielectric layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nam, as taught by Jo. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nam in the above manner for purpose of improving the reliability of the integrated circuit device ([0004] of Jo).
Regarding Claim 3
FIG. 3 of Jo discloses the upper portion of the VBPR structure that is present in the MOL dielectric layer has a shape that differs from a shape of a remaining portion of the VBPR structure.
Regarding Claim 11
Nam discloses Claim 10.
Nam is silent with respect to “an upper portion of the VBPR structure is present in a middle-of-the-line (MOL) dielectric layer, and the upper portion of the VBPR structure directly contacts the MOL dielectric layer”.
FIG. 3 of Jo discloses a similar semiconductor structure, wherein an upper portion of the VBPR structure (WVPR) is present in a middle-of-the-line (MOL) dielectric layer (168), and the upper portion of the VBPR structure directly contacts the MOL dielectric layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nam, as taught by Jo. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nam in the above manner for purpose of improving the reliability of the integrated circuit device ([0004] of Jo).
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 3 of Jo discloses the upper portion of the VBPR structure that is present in the MOL dielectric layer has a shape that differs from a shape of a remaining portion of the VBPR structure.
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam, in view of Yun (TW 202425273, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 9
Nam discloses Claim 1.
Nam is silent with respect to “the dielectric layer has a topmost surface that is substantially coplanar with a topmost surface of the gate structure, and a bottommost surface that lands on the backside power rail”.
FIG. 14 of Yun discloses a similar semiconductor structure, wherein the dielectric layer (25) has a topmost surface that is substantially coplanar with a topmost surface of the gate structure, and a bottommost surface that lands on the backside power rail.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nam, as taught by Yun. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nam in the above manner for purpose of reducing capacitance and leaking between gate structures and source/drain features.
Regarding Claim 18
Nam discloses Claim 10.
Nam is silent with respect to “the dielectric layer has a topmost surface that is substantially coplanar with a topmost surface of the gate structure, and a bottommost surface that lands on the backside power rail”.
FIG. 14 of Yun discloses a similar semiconductor structure, wherein the dielectric layer (25) has a topmost surface that is substantially coplanar with a topmost surface of the gate structure, and a bottommost surface that lands on the backside power rail.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nam, as taught by Yun. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nam in the above manner for purpose of reducing capacitance and leaking between gate structures and source/drain features.
Claims 10 and 15-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin, in view of Hong (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2024/0079330).
Regarding Claim 10
FIG. 2 of Shin discloses a semiconductor structure comprising: a fork sheet transistor located on a frontside of a semiconductor device layer (F1) and comprising a plurality of semiconductor channel material nanosheets (NSS), a gate structure (160) contacting each semiconductor channel material nanosheet of the plurality of semiconductor channel material nanosheets, and source/drain regions (130); a backside power rail (BPW) located on a backside of the semiconductor device layer; a via-to-backside power rail (VBPR) structure (DBC) located in a non-active device area and in electrical contact with the backside power rail and a sidewall surface of one of the source/drain regions of the fork sheet transistor; and a dielectric layer (BDI) separating the VBPR structure from each of the gate structure and the plurality of semiconductor channel material nanosheets.
Shin is silent with respect to the via-to-backside power rail (VBPR) structure in electrical contact with a topmost surface of one of the source/drain regions of the fork sheet transistor.
FIG. 6 of Hong discloses a similar semiconductor structure, wherein the via-to-backside power rail (VBPR) structure (648) in electrical contact with a topmost surface and a sidewall surface of one of the source/drain regions (126) of the fork sheet transistor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Shin, as taught by Hong. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Shin in the above manner for purpose of an integrated circuit device including conductors having a low contact resistance ([0002] of Hong).
Regarding Claim 15
FIG. 2A of Shin discloses the dielectric layer lands on a surface of the backside power rail.
Regarding Claim 16
FIG. 2B of Shin discloses a frontside back-end-of-the-line (BEOL) structure (CB) located above the transistor, wherein the frontside BEOL structure is in electrical contact with the gate structure of the transistor by a frontside gate contact structure.
Regarding Claim 17
FIG. 2 of Shin discloses the VBPR structure is in contact with the frontside BEOL structure.
Claim 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam, in view of Son (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0163073).
Regarding Claim 20
Nam discloses Claim 10.
Nam is silent with respect to “the VBPR structure directly contacts a sidewall of the semiconductor device layer”.
FIG. 2 of Son discloses a similar semiconductor structure, wherein the VBPR structure (52) directly contacts a sidewall of the semiconductor device layer (10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nam, as taught by Son. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nam in the above manner for purpose of improving the reliability of the integrated circuit device ([0004] of Son).
Pertinent Art
US 20240063122, 20250157896, and CN 202410468516.
Conclusion
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897