DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Guide Tube Inspection For Gas Turbine Engine
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taylor et al US4846573 (hereinafter “Taylor”).
Regarding claim 1, Taylor discloses a method (borescope-10 implements the method) of inspecting an indirectly accessible cavity of a gas turbine engine (Col 1 line 12-25), the method comprising: memorizing a guide tube (cable-11 is made up of wires-24) formed of smart metal alloy (SMA) into a bent shape (Col 8 line 8-51 and Col 9 line 27-37 disclosing imprinting a bent shape on the alloy as a second memory shape); straightening the guide tube (Col 9 line 14-57 discloses imprinting a straight shape on the alloy as a first memory shape); installing a scope (Col 7 line 49-58 discloses tip-12 using various scopes such as an image guide-13 or a camera in the borescope head), which comprises a connecting line to which an inspection element is attached, into the guide tube; inserting the guide tube into the gas turbine engine toward a location of the indirectly accessible cavity (Fig 5-7, Col 12 line 32-Col 13 line 48); heating the guide tube to cause the guide tube to return to the bent shape in order to bring the inspection element into the indirectly accessible cavity (Fig 5-7, Col 12 line 32-Col 13 line 48 discloses using a joystick-31, 47 to control heating and cooling the cable-11 to position it in the desired direction for performing inspection operations); and using the inspection element to perform an inspection of the indirectly accessible cavity (Fig 5-7, Col 12 line 32-Col 13 line 48 discloses using a joystick-31, 47 to control heating and cooling the cable-11 to position it in the desired direction for performing inspection operations).
Regarding claim 2, Taylor discloses re-straightening the guide tube following inspection completion; and removing the guide tube from the gas turbine engine (Fig 5-7, Col 12 line 32-Col 13 line 48 discloses using a joystick-31, 47 to control heating and cooling the cable-11 to position it in the desired direction for performing inspection operations and removal). (See also Col 9 line 14-Col 11 line 35)
Regarding claim 3, Taylor discloses the re-straightening of the guide tube (cable-11) is accomplished during the removing of the guide tube from the gas turbine engine. (Fig 5-7, Col 12 line 32-Col 13 line 48 discloses using a joystick-31, 47 to control cable orientation for cooling of the cable to straighten the cable). (See also Col 9 line 14-Col 11 line 35)
Regarding claim 4, Taylor discloses the re-straightening of the guide tube (cable-11) comprises inserting a straightening rod (Guide sheaths-25) into the guide tube. (Col 8 line 34-58)
Regarding claim 5, Taylor discloses the heating comprises directing hot air into the guide tube (cable-11). (Col 11 line 19- Col 12 line 6 discloses blowing air over the wires-24)
Regarding claim 6, Taylor discloses the bent shape in characterized in that the guide tube (cable-11) has multiple bends (each disc-20 allows for multiple bendable sections) and the heating is executed to cause the guide tube to return to the bent shape with the multiple bends. (Col 9 line 14-Col 11 line 49 discloses heating the cable-11 allows it to return to it’s bent memory shape)
Regarding claim 7, Taylor discloses tailoring a chemistry of the guide tube (Cable-11) to support the multiple bends. (Col 8 line 52-58, Col 9 line 14-Col 11 line 49 discloses heating the cable-11 allows it to return to its bent memory shape) (Col 7 line 59-68)
Regarding claim 8, Taylor discloses a guide tube assembly (borescope-10) for inspecting an indirectly accessible cavity of a gas turbine engine (Col 1 line 12-25), the guide tube assembly comprising: a guide tube (cable-11 is made up of wires-24) formed of smart metal alloy (SMA) (Col 8 line 8-51 and Col 9 line 27-37 disclosing imprinting a bent shape on the alloy as a second memory shape), which is memorized into a bent shape and then straightened tube (Col 9 line 14-57 discloses imprinting a straight shape on the alloy as a first memory shape); and a scope (Col 7 line 49-58 discloses tip-12 using various scopes such as an image guide-13 or a camera in the borescope head), which comprises a connecting line to which an inspection element is attached and which is installed into the guide tube (Fig 5-7, Col 12 line 32-Col 13 line 48 discloses using a joystick-31, 47 to control heating and cooling the cable-11 to position it in the desired direction for performing inspection operations).
Regarding claim 9, Taylor discloses a hot air source coupled to the guide tube (cable-11) and configured to heat the guide tube by directing hot air into the guide tube. (Col 11 line 19- Col 12 line 6 discloses blowing air over the wires-24)
Regarding claim 10, Taylor discloses the guide tube (cable-11) is configured to be re-straightened following inspection completion and removed from the gas turbine engine. (Fig 5-7, Col 12 line 32-Col 13 line 48 discloses using a joystick-31, 47 to control heating and cooling the cable-11 to position it in the desired direction for performing inspection operations and removal). (See also Col 9 line 14-Col 11 line 35)
Regarding claim 11, Taylor discloses at least one of: the guide tube (cable-11) is configured such that the re-straightening of the guide tube is accomplished during removal of the guide tube from the gas turbine engine (Fig 5-7, Col 12 line 32-Col 13 line 48 discloses using a joystick-31, 47 to control heating and cooling the cable-11 to position it in the desired direction for performing inspection operations and removal). (See also Col 9 line 14-Col 11 line 35), and the guide tube assembly further comprising a straightening rod (guide sheaths-25) insertable into the guide tube to re-straighten the guide tube. (Col 8 line 34-58)
Regarding claim 12, Taylor discloses the guide tube (cable-11) comprises: an outer guide tube (flexible jacket-21), which is formed of SMA, and which is memorized into a bent shape and then straightened (Col 9 line 14-Col 11 line 35); and an inner guide tube (wires-24), which is formed of SMA, and which is memorized into a straight shape and then bent (Col 9 line 14-Col 11 line 35), the outer and inner guide tubes being coaxial and heatable to return to the respective memorized bent or straight shapes at different temperatures (Col 9 line 14-Col 11 line 35 discloses heating and cooling the cable-11 for different bending and straight orientations during operational use).
Regarding claim 13, Taylor discloses the guide tube (cable-11) comprises: a first guide tube side (jacket-21), which is formed of SMA, and which is memorized into a bent shape and then straightened (Col 9 line 14-Col 11 line 35); and a second guide tube side (wires-24), which is formed of SMA, and which is memorized into a straight shape and then bent, the first and second guide tube (Col 9 line 14-Col 11 line 35), sides being attachable and heatable to return to the respective memorized bent or straight shapes at different temperatures (Col 9 line 14-Col 11 line 35 discloses heating and cooling the cable-11 for different bending and straight orientations during operational use).
Regarding claim 14, Taylor discloses the bent shape (Fig 5-6) is characterized in that the guide tube has multiple bends (Col 8 line 52-58, Col 9 line 14-Col 11 line 49 discloses heating the cable-11 allows it to return to its bent memory shape) and the heating is executed to cause the guide tube to return to the bent shape with the multiple bends and a chemistry of the guide tube is tailored to support the multiple bends. (Col 7 line 59-68)
Regarding claim 15, Taylor discloses a guide tube assembly (borescope-10) for inspecting an indirectly accessible cavity of a gas turbine engine (Col 1 line 12-25), the guide tube assembly comprising: a guide tube (cable-11) formed of smart metal alloy (SMA), which is memorized into a bent shape and then straightened (Col 8 line 8-51 and Col 9 line 27-37 disclosing imprinting a bent shape on the alloy as a second memory shape); and a scope (Col 7 line 49-58 discloses tip-12 using various scopes such as an image guide-13 or a camera in the borescope head), which comprises a connecting line to which an inspection element is attached and which is installed into the guide tube, the guide tube being insertable into the gas turbine engine toward a location of the indirectly accessible cavity (Fig 5-7, Col 12 line 32-Col 13 line 48) and heatable to cause the guide tube to return to the bent shape in order to bring the inspection element into the indirectly accessible cavity whereupon the inspection element is disposable to inspect the indirectly accessible cavity (Fig 5-7, Col 12 line 32-Col 13 line 48 discloses using a joystick-31, 47 to control heating and cooling the cable-11 to position it in the desired direction for performing inspection operations), and the guide tube being configured to be re-straightened following inspection completion and removed from the gas turbine engine (Fig 5-7, Col 12 line 32-Col 13 line 48 discloses using a joystick-31, 47 to control heating and cooling the cable-11 to position it in the desired direction for performing inspection operations).
Regarding claim 16, Taylor discloses a hot air source coupled to the guide tube (cable-11) and configured to heat the guide tube by directing hot air into the guide tube. (Col 11 line 19- Col 12 line 6 discloses blowing air over the wires-24)
Regarding claim 17, Taylor discloses at least one of: the guide tube (cable-11) is configured such that the re-straightening of the guide tube is accomplished during removal of the guide tube from the gas turbine engine (Fig 5-7, Col 12 line 32-Col 13 line 48 discloses using a joystick-31, 47 to control heating and cooling the cable-11 to position it in the desired direction for performing inspection operations and removal). (See also Col 9 line 14-Col 11 line 35), and the guide tube assembly further comprises a straightening rod (Guide Sheaths-25) insertable into the guide tube to re-straighten the guide tube. (Col 8 line 34-58)
Regarding claim 18, Taylor discloses the guide tube (cable-11) comprises: an outer guide tube (flexible jacket-21), which is formed of SMA, and which is memorized into a bent shape and then straightened (Col 9 line 14-Col 11 line 35); and an inner guide tube (wires-24), which is formed of SMA, and which is memorized into a straight shape and then bent (Col 9 line 14-Col 11 line 35),, the outer and inner guide tubes being coaxial and heatable to return to the respective memorized bent or straight shapes at different temperatures. (Col 9 line 14-Col 11 line 35 discloses heating and cooling the cable-11 for different bending and straight orientations during operational use).
Regarding claim 19, Taylor discloses the guide tube (cable-11) comprises: a first guide tube side (jacket-21), which is formed of SMA, and which is memorized into a bent shape and then straightened (Col 9 line 14-Col 11 line 35); and a second guide tube side (wires-24), which is formed of SMA, and which is memorized into a straight shape and then bent, the first and second guide tube sides being attachable and heatable to return to the respective memorized bent or straight shapes at different temperatures (Col 9 line 14-Col 11 line 35 discloses heating and cooling the cable-11 for different bending and straight orientations during operational use).
Regarding claim 20, Taylor discloses the bent shape is characterized in that the guide tube (cable-11) has multiple bends and the heating is executed to cause the guide tube to return to the bent shape with the multiple bends and a chemistry of the guide tube is tailored to support the multiple bends (Col 8 line 52-58, Col 9 line 14-Col 11 line 49 discloses heating the cable-11 allows it to return to its bent memory shape) (Col 7 line 59-68)
Conclusion
The prior art as cited on the PTO-892 is made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/NIGEL H PLUMB/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/Eric S. McCall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855