DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is responsive to amendments filed for No. 18/598,807 on December 31, 2025. Please note Claims 1-28 are pending and have been examined.
America Invents Act
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 5-9, 11, 15-19 and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. ( US 2014/0375947 A1 ) in view of Bailey et al. ( US 2016/0274365 A1 ) and Samec et al. ( US 2016/0270656 A1 ).
Park teaches in Claim 1:
A display panel ( Figure 24B, [0002] discloses a head mounted display. Figure 21, etc, disclose a display optical system 101 ), the display panel comprising:
the first display panel region ( With regards to the first region having a first visible light at a first image resolution, please note the reasoning below, though Park shows a region for which the user can see the image (read as a first region). To clarify, “display panel region” is a broad term and needs to be better defined ) comprising:
a first plurality of visible light emitters [in the first display panel region], the first plurality of visible light emitters being configured to project the first visible image light in a first direction toward an eye of a user ( Figure 24B shows a temple arm, i.e. one side, of the pair of temple arms. [0069] discloses details on the image generation unit 1620 is included on each temple arm 1513, so there are two generation units, i.e. a plurality of visible light emitters. [0078] discloses the generation of visible light representing images. [0082] discloses a representative reflecting element 1634E which directs visible light representing an image towards the user’s eye 1640. Please note this path 1634E and/or the path shown by optical axis 1542. To clarify, 1634E constitute a path/axis for the visible light to be directed to reach the user’s eye ),
a first plurality of infrared emitters [in the first display panel region], the first plurality of infrared receivers being configured to project infrared light in a second direction toward the eye of the user ( Figure 24B, [0083] discloses eye tracking IR illumination source 1634A in one temple arm (of two) which uses bidirectional filtering to direct infrared light towards the eye 1640. Furthermore, please note the optical path/axis 1542 on which the infrared light is transmitted to the user’s eye; this is a common path/same path as the visible light and this is then further directed through 1634E back to the IR receiver ), and
a first plurality of infrared receivers [in the first display region], the first plurality of infrared receivers being configured to receive a reflection of the infrared light from the eye of the user ( Figure 24B, [0083] discloses eye tracking IR sensor 1634B in one temple arm (of two) which, again, uses bidirectional filtering to receive infrared light from the user’s eye 1640. As noted above, it uses the same optical axis 1542 and/or representative element 1634E to direct this infrared light. To clarify, the IR tracks the eye and directs the infrared back along the same path, from the lower optics to the upper optics and on to the sensor ); but
Park does not explicitly teach “a first display region configured to present a first visible image light at a first image resolution” and “a second display panel region configured to present a second visible image light at a second image resolution, the second display region comprising a second plurality of visible light emitters in the second display panel region”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, wearable display devices, Bailey teaches of different foveal regions, ( Bailey, Figure 2, [0056]+ ). In particular, Bailey teaches to determine a region of interest in the user’s field of view and in accordance with that determination, content is projected with a high/higher quality to that particular region of interest. This is done by focusing the projector 120 in particular, [0037]. Figure 2, [0056] discloses of a non-foveal region(s) (read as the claimed first display region with a first resolution) and a foveal region (read as the claimed second display region with a second resolution). Park teaches in [0065] of having relatively fewer/more/concentration of pixels in the different regions, i.e. different densities which require different amounts of light emitters, etc. Park teaches of emitters/receivers and Richards teaches of locators which can be arranged accordingly to implement Bailey’s region of interest teachings. To clarify, each display region of Bailey has visible light emitters, etc to render it at the specific location with the specific resolution; Park teaches of these emitters, etc, “in” the first and second display panel regions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the determination of a region of interest and adjusted resolution/quality to that particular region, as taught by Bailey, with the motivation that by determining the user’s focus, reducing processing can be done for the regions of non-interest, reducing power consumption while still maintaining a quality display, ( Bailey, [0032] ).
Park and Bailey do not explicitly teach “wherein the first plurality of infrared emitters is interwoven among the first plurality of visible light emitters in the first display region.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, head mounted displays, Samec teaches of a display system, ( Samec, Figures 20A, 22A, [1911] ). Notably, Samec teaches in these figures (as well as other similar figures) of an optical source 2268 which can generate a range of wavelengths in a visible spectral region, [1911]. Furthermore, Samec teaches in [1866] of additional optical sources, such as 2026 (labeled as 2226 in Figure 22A, for reference), which can be used as infrared or visible lasers. Furthermore, please note 2224 and 2274 which are imaging devices. As such, given 2268 (visible light emitters) and 2206/2226 (infrared light emitters), an interwoven nature is shown, given the plurality of such emitters arranged on the periphery, as shown in Figures 20A, 22A, etc. Furthermore, in light of Samec’s other figures which show differing layouts, as well as various modifications to the optical source aspects, such as [2008], etc, it is clear one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to design the layout of the plurality of visible light emitters and infrared emitters in various ways, essentially rendering this a design choice issue.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the arrangement of emitters, as taught by Samec, with the motivation that an effective arrangement can allow for the emission and subsequent detection of light, namely for glint detection, etc. Furthermore, given Samec teaches of various configurations, this is also a design choice issue as well.
Park and Bailey teach in Claim 5:
The display panel of claim 1, wherein: the first plurality of visible light emitters in the first display region has a first density associated with the first image resolution, the second plurality of visible light emitters in the second display region has a second density associated with the second image resolution, and the second density is greater than the first density. ( Bailey teaches in Figure 2, [0065] of different concentration of pixels and/or sizing of pixels between the foveal and non-foveal regions, i.e. first and second densities. Since the foveal region, i.e. the interpreted second region, has a higher resolution, it has more pixels/greater concentration of pixels than the non-foveal regions )
Bailey teach in Claim 6:
The display panel of claim 1, wherein the second display panel region comprises a central region of the display panel. ( Bailey, Figure 2 shows the foveal region being in a central region of the display )
Park teaches in Claim 7:
The display panel of claim 1, wherein:
the first visible image light and the infrared light are projected toward the eye via a partially-reflective partially-transmissive surface, and the reflection of the infrared light is received from the eye via the partially-reflective partially-transmissive surface. ( Figure 24B, [0082] discloses that from 1654E, etc (the interpreted first optical axis), the light is directed to an optical axis 1542 (read as a second axis), allowing the user to have an actual direct view. Please note 1634E is a reflecting element, like mirrors, gratings which can direct visible light. At some point, it is able to transmit through (transmissive is natural given a see-through optical system) to the user’s eye. To clarify, the IR tracks the eye and directs the infrared back along the same path, from the lower optics to the upper optics and on to the sensor )
Park and Bailey teach in Claim 8:
The display panel of claim 1, wherein the second display region further comprises a second plurality of infrared emitters in the second display panel region. ( Bailey, [0021] teaches of a first resolution associated with the region of interest which is relatively high (meaning a first density of resources, such as projectors/emitters/receivers/etc, to be able to determine eye aspects and deliver content) and other regions which are outside the region of interest which can have a second, lower level of resolution (meaning a second density of resources). Due to the different regions, there are also a different density of infrared aspects as well )
Bailey teaches in Claim 9:
The display panel of claim 8, wherein:
the first plurality of infrared emitters in the first display region has a first density associated with the first image resolution, the second plurality of infrared emitters in the second display region has a second density associated with the second image resolution, and the second density is less than the first density. ( Please note the reasoning above for Claim 8 is also applicable here as well with regards to Bailey’s Figure 2 of two different region types and different densities of element as well )
Park teaches in Claim 11:
A method ( Figure 24B, [0002] discloses a head mounted display. Figure 21, etc, disclose a display optical system 101 ) comprising:
presenting, via a first region of a display panel ( With regards to the first region having a first visible light at a first image resolution, please note the reasoning below, though Park shows a region for which the user can see the image (read as a first region). To clarify, “display panel region” is a broad term and needs to be better defined ), wherein the first display panel region comprises:
a first plurality of visible light emitters [in the first display panel region], the first plurality of visible light emitters being configured to project the first visible image light in a first direction toward an eye of a user ( Figure 24B shows a temple arm, i.e. one side, of the pair of temple arms. [0069] discloses details on the image generation unit 1620 is included on each temple arm 1513, so there are two generation units, i.e. a plurality of visible light emitters. [0078] discloses the generation of visible light representing images. [0082] discloses a representative reflecting element 1634E which directs visible light representing an image towards the user’s eye 1640. Please note this path 1634E and/or the path shown by optical axis 1542. To clarify, 1634E constitute a path/axis for the visible light to be directed to reach the user’s eye ),
a first plurality of infrared emitters [in the first display panel region], the first plurality of infrared emitters being configured to project infrared light in a second direction toward the eye of the user ( Figure 24B, [0083] discloses eye tracking IR illumination source 1634A in one temple arm (of two) which uses bidirectional filtering to direct infrared light towards the eye 1640. Furthermore, please note the optical path/axis 1542 on which the infrared light is transmitted to the user’s eye; this is a common path/same path as the visible light and this is then further directed through 1634E back to the IR receiver ), and
a first plurality of infrared receivers [in the first display panel region], the first plurality of infrared receivers being configured to receive a reflection of infrared light from the eye of the user ( Figure 24B, [0083] discloses eye tracking IR sensor 1634B in one temple arm (of two) which, again, uses bidirectional filtering to receive infrared light from the user’s eye 1640. As noted above, it uses the same optical axis 1542 and/or representative element 1634E to direct this infrared light. To clarify, the IR tracks the eye and directs the infrared back along the same path, from the lower optics to the upper optics and on to the sensor ); but
Park does not explicitly teach “a first visible image light at a first resolution” and “presenting, via a second region of the display panel, a second visible image light at a second resolution, wherein the second display region comprises a second plurality of visible light emitters in the second display panel region”
However, in the same field of endeavor, wearable display devices, Bailey teaches of different foveal regions, ( Bailey, Figure 2, [0056]+ ). In particular, Bailey teaches to determine a region of interest in the user’s field of view and in accordance with that determination, content is projected with a high/higher quality to that particular region of interest. This is done by focusing the projector 120 in particular, [0037]. Figure 2, [0056] discloses of a non-foveal region(s) (read as the claimed first display region with a first resolution) and a foveal region (read as the claimed second display region with a second resolution). Park teaches in [0065] of having relatively fewer/more/concentration of pixels in the different regions, i.e. different densities which require different amounts of light emitters, etc. Park teaches of emitters/receivers and Richards teaches of locators which can be arranged accordingly to implement Bailey’s region of interest teachings. To clarify, each display region of Bailey has visible light emitters, etc to render it at the specific location with the specific resolution; Park teaches of these emitters, etc, “in” the first and second display panel regions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the determination of a region of interest and adjusted resolution/quality to that particular region, as taught by Bailey, with the motivation that by determining the user’s focus, reducing processing can be done for the regions of non-interest, reducing power consumption while still maintaining a quality display, ( Bailey, [0032] ).
Park and Bailey do not explicitly teach “wherein the first plurality of infrared emitters is interwoven among the first plurality of visible light emitters in the first display panel region.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, head mounted displays, Samec teaches of a display system, ( Samec, Figures 20A, 22A, [1911] ). Notably, Samec teaches in these figures (as well as other similar figures) of an optical source 2268 which can generate a range of wavelengths in a visible spectral region, [1911]. Furthermore, Samec teaches in [1866] of additional optical sources, such as 2026 (labeled as 2226 in Figure 22A, for reference), which can be used as infrared or visible lasers. Furthermore, please note 2224 and 2274 which are imaging devices. As such, given 2268 (visible light emitters) and 2206/2226 (infrared light emitters), an interwoven nature is shown, given the plurality of such emitters arranged on the periphery, as shown in Figures 20A, 22A, etc. Furthermore, in light of Samec’s other figures which show differing layouts, as well as various modifications to the optical source aspects, such as [2008], etc, it is clear one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to design the layout of the plurality of visible light emitters and infrared emitters in various ways, essentially rendering this a design choice issue.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the arrangement of emitters, as taught by Samec, with the motivation that an effective arrangement can allow for the emission and subsequent detection of light, namely for glint detection, etc. Furthermore, given Samec teaches of various configurations, this is also a design choice issue as well.
Park and Bailey teach in Claim 15:
The method of claim 11, wherein
the first plurality of visible light emitters in the first display region has a first density associated with the first image resolution, the second plurality of visible light emitters in the second display region has a second density associated with the second image resolution, and the second density is greater than the first density. ( Bailey teaches in Figure 2, [0065] of different concentration of pixels and/or sizing of pixels between the foveal and non-foveal regions, i.e. first and second densities. Since the foveal region, i.e. the interpreted second region, has a higher resolution, it has more pixels/greater concentration of pixels than the non-foveal regions )
Park and Bailey teach in Claim 16:
The method of claim 11, wherein the second display region further comprises a second plurality of infrared emitters. ( Bailey, [0021] teaches of a first resolution associated with the region of interest which is relatively high (meaning a first density of resources, such as projectors/emitters/receivers/etc, to be able to determine eye aspects and deliver content) and other regions which are outside the region of interest which can have a second, lower level of resolution (meaning a second density of resources). Due to the different regions, there are also a different density of infrared aspects as well )
Bailey teaches in Claim 17:
The method of claim 16, wherein:
the first plurality of infrared emitters in the first display region has a first density associated with the first image resolution, the second plurality of infrared emitters in the second display region has a second density associated with the second image resolution, and the second density is less than the first density. ( Please note the reasoning above for Claim 8 is also applicable here as well with regards to Bailey’s Figure 2 of two different region types and different densities of element as well )
Park teaches in Claim 18:
The method of claim 11, wherein the second display panel region comprises a central region of the display panel. ( Bailey, Figure 2 shows the foveal region being in a central region of the display )
Park teaches in Claim 19:
The method of claim 11, wherein the method comprises:
the first visible image light and the infrared light are projected toward the eye via a partially-reflective partially-transmissive surface, and the reflection of the infrared light is received from the eye via the partially-reflective partially-transmissive surface. ( Figure 24B, [0082] discloses that from 1654E, etc (the interpreted first optical axis), the light is directed to an optical axis 1542 (read as a second axis), allowing the user to have an actual direct view. Please note 1634E is a reflecting element, like mirrors, gratings which can direct visible light. At some point, it is able to transmit through (transmissive is natural given a see-through optical system) to the user’s eye. To clarify, the IR tracks the eye and directs the infrared back along the same path, from the lower optics to the upper optics and on to the sensor )
Park and Bailey teach in Claim 21:
The display panel of claim 1, wherein the first display region of the display panel comprises a region of one or more of an OLED panel, an LED panel, an LCoS panel, and a DLP panel. ( Respectfully, these are well known types of display technologies and are often used in head mounted displays. Examiner asserts Official Notice to this being well known )
Park and Bailey teach in Claim 22:
The method of claim 11, wherein the first display region of the display panel comprises a region of one or more of an OLED panel, an LED panel, an LCoS panel, and a DLP panel. ( Respectfully, these are well known types of display technologies and are often used in head mounted displays. Examiner asserts Official Notice to this being well known )
Park, Bailey and Samec teach in Claim 23:
The display panel of claim 1, wherein the first plurality of infrared emitters and the first plurality of visible light emitters are interwoven with pixels in the first display panel region. ( Please note the combination with Samec who teaches in Figures 20A, 22A, [01866], [1911] of various additional optical sources. Furthermore, the arrangement on the periphery is also shown )
Park and Bailey teach in Claim 24:
The display panel of claim 7, wherein the first plurality of infrared emitters and the first plurality of infrared receivers in the first display panel region are configured to be positioned in front of an eye of a user earing a head worn computer comprising the display panel and to image the eye from a front of the eye perspective. ( Park teaches of a head mounted display for an AR or VR experience, as detailed in [0005]+. Figure 24B discloses the head mounted display outputs to a user’s eye )
Park and Bailey teach in Claim 25:
The display panel of claim 1, wherein the first display panel region and the second display panel region are display panel regions of a see-through display panel. ( Park, Figure 24A, [0027] discloses details on an optical see-through AR display system. As is known, for AR systems, the user’s real world environment is also prominent, meaning a see-through/transmissive display is used )
6. Claims 2-4, 12-14 and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. ( US 2014/0375947 A1 ) in view of Bailey et al. ( US 2016/0274365 A1 ) and Samec et al. ( US 2016/0270656 A1 ), as applied to Claims 1 and 11, further in view of Osterhout et al. ( US 2016/0116745 A1 ).
As per Claim 2:
Park does not explicitly teach “wherein the first plurality of visible light emitters comprises micro-LEDs.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, head worn systems with eye tracking, Osterhout teaches of a head worn computing device, ( Osterhout, [0220] ). In particular, there are a number of see-through optical designs which can be used, such as a reflective display, an OLED, LED, etc. In particular, [0707] notes the emissive source may be a micro-sized LED array as well.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the various types of display types, as taught by Osterhout, with the motivation that these are well known types of display sources and can reduce the size of the optics, useful in a head worn setting, ( Osterhout, [0707] ).
As per Claim 3:
Park does not explicitly teach “wherein the first plurality of visible light emitters comprises OLEDs.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, head worn systems with eye tracking, Osterhout teaches of a head worn computing device, ( Osterhout, [0220] ). In particular, there are a number of see-through optical designs which can be used, such as a reflective display, an OLED, LED, etc. In particular, [0707] notes details on the OLED.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the various types of display types, as taught by Osterhout, with the motivation that these are well known types of display sources and can reduce the size of the optics, useful in a head worn setting, ( Osterhout, [0707] ).
As per Claim 4:
Park does not explicitly teach “wherein the first plurality of visible light emitters comprises reflective pixels.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, head worn systems with eye tracking, Osterhout teaches of a head worn computing device, ( Osterhout, [0220] ). In particular, there are a number of see-through optical designs which can be used, such as a reflective display, an OLED, LED, etc. In particular, Figure 3B, [0227], [0234] disclose a reflective polarizer as part of the display/DLP which can reflect light using the pixels as part of the scanning process to deliver image content.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the various types of display types, as taught by Osterhout, with the motivation that these are well known types of display sources and can reduce the among of stray light, producing images with high contrast, ( Osterhout, [0232] ).
As per Claim 12:
Park does not explicitly teach “wherein the first plurality of visible light emitters comprises micro-LEDs.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, head worn systems with eye tracking, Osterhout teaches of a head worn computing device, ( Osterhout, [0220] ). In particular, there are a number of see-through optical designs which can be used, such as a reflective display, an OLED, LED, etc. In particular, [0707] notes the emissive source may be a micro-sized LED array as well.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the various types of display types, as taught by Osterhout, with the motivation that these are well known types of display sources and can reduce the size of the optics, useful in a head worn setting, ( Osterhout, [0707] ).
As per Claim 13:
Park does not explicitly teach “wherein the first plurality of visible light emitters comprises OLEDs.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, head worn systems with eye tracking, Osterhout teaches of a head worn computing device, ( Osterhout, [0220] ). In particular, there are a number of see-through optical designs which can be used, such as a reflective display, an OLED, LED, etc. In particular, [0707] notes details on the OLED.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the various types of display types, as taught by Osterhout, with the motivation that these are well known types of display sources and can reduce the size of the optics, useful in a head worn setting, ( Osterhout, [0707] ).
As per Claim 14:
Park does not explicitly teach “wherein the first plurality of visible light emitters comprises reflective pixels.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, head worn systems with eye tracking, Osterhout teaches of a head worn computing device, ( Osterhout, [0220] ). In particular, there are a number of see-through optical designs which can be used, such as a reflective display, an OLED, LED, etc. In particular, Figure 3B, [0227], [0234] disclose a reflective polarizer as part of the display/DLP which can reflect light using the pixels as part of the scanning process to deliver image content.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the various types of display types, as taught by Osterhout, with the motivation that these are well known types of display sources and can reduce the among of stray light, producing images with high contrast, ( Osterhout, [0232] ).
Park teaches in Claim 26:
An organic light emitting diode (OLED) display panel of a head mounted display (HMD) in the form of head-worn glasses ( Figure 24B, [0002] discloses a head mounted display. Figure 21, etc, disclose a display optical system 101. As for aspects of an OLED, please note the combination below ), wherein the OLED display panel is positioned between arms of the head-worn glasses and in front of an eye of the user when the head-worn glasses are placed on a head of the user ( Figure 24B shows the HMD around the user’s head, outputting images to the display, in the middle/between the arms, as shown ), the OLED display panel comprising:
a first OLED display panel region ( With regards to the first region having a first visible light at a first image resolution, please note the reasoning below, though Park shows a region for which the user can see the image (read as a first region). To clarify, “display panel region” is a broad term and needs to be better defined ), the first OLED display panel region comprising:
a first plurality of visible light emitters [in the first OLED display panel region], the first plurality of visible light emitters being configured to project the first visible image light in a first direction toward an eye of a user ( Figure 24B shows a temple arm, i.e. one side, of the pair of temple arms. [0069] discloses details on the image generation unit 1620 is included on each temple arm 1513, so there are two generation units, i.e. a plurality of visible light emitters. [0078] discloses the generation of visible light representing images. [0082] discloses a representative reflecting element 1634E which directs visible light representing an image towards the user’s eye 1640. Please note this path 1634E and/or the path shown by optical axis 1542. To clarify, 1634E constitute a path/axis for the visible light to be directed to reach the user’s eye ),
a first plurality of infrared (IR) emitters [in the first OLED display panel region], the first plurality of IR emitters being configured to project IR light in a second direction toward the eye of the user ( Figure 24B, [0083] discloses eye tracking IR illumination source 1634A in one temple arm (of two) which uses bidirectional filtering to direct infrared light towards the eye 1640. Furthermore, please note the optical path/axis 1542 on which the infrared light is transmitted to the user’s eye; this is a common path/same path as the visible light and this is then further directed through 1634E back to the IR receiver ), and
a first plurality of IR receivers [in the first OLED display panel region], the first plurality of IR receivers being configured to receive a reflection of the IR light from the eye of the user ( Figure 24B, [0083] discloses eye tracking IR sensor 1634B in one temple arm (of two) which, again, uses bidirectional filtering to receive infrared light from the user’s eye 1640. As noted above, it uses the same optical axis 1542 and/or representative element 1634E to direct this infrared light. To clarify, the IR tracks the eye and directs the infrared back along the same path, from the lower optics to the upper optics and on to the sensor ); but
Park does not explicitly teach the first display region “configured to present a first visible image light at a first image resolution” and “a second OLED display panel region configured to present a second visible image light at a second image resolution, the second OLED display panel region comprising: a second plurality of visible light emitters in the second OLED display panel region, and a second plurality of infrared emitters in the second display panel region”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, wearable display devices, Bailey teaches of different foveal regions, ( Bailey, Figure 2, [0056]+ ). In particular, Bailey teaches to determine a region of interest in the user’s field of view and in accordance with that determination, content is projected with a high/higher quality to that particular region of interest. This is done by focusing the projector 120 in particular, [0037]. Figure 2, [0056] discloses of a non-foveal region(s) (read as the claimed first display region with a first resolution) and a foveal region (read as the claimed second display region with a second resolution). Park teaches in [0065] of having relatively fewer/more/concentration of pixels in the different regions, i.e. different densities which require different amounts of light emitters, etc. Park teaches of emitters/receivers and Richards teaches of locators which can be arranged accordingly to implement Bailey’s region of interest teachings. To clarify, each display region of Bailey has visible light emitters, etc to render it at the specific location with the specific resolution; Park teaches of these emitters, etc, “in” the first and second display panel regions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the determination of a region of interest and adjusted resolution/quality to that particular region, as taught by Bailey, with the motivation that by determining the user’s focus, reducing processing can be done for the regions of non-interest, reducing power consumption while still maintaining a quality display, ( Bailey, [0032] ).
Park and Bailey do not explicitly teach “wherein the first plurality of IR emitters is interwoven among the first plurality of visible light emitters in the first OLED display panel region”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, head mounted displays, Samec teaches of a display system, ( Samec, Figures 20A, 22A, [1911] ). Notably, Samec teaches in these figures (as well as other similar figures) of an optical source 2268 which can generate a range of wavelengths in a visible spectral region, [1911]. Furthermore, Samec teaches in [1866] of additional optical sources, such as 2026 (labeled as 2226 in Figure 22A, for reference), which can be used as infrared or visible lasers. Furthermore, please note 2224 and 2274 which are imaging devices. As such, given 2268 (visible light emitters) and 2206/2226 (infrared light emitters), an interwoven nature is shown, given the plurality of such emitters arranged on the periphery, as shown in Figures 20A, 22A, etc. Furthermore, in light of Samec’s other figures which show differing layouts, as well as various modifications to the optical source aspects, such as [2008], etc, it is clear one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to design the layout of the plurality of visible light emitters and infrared emitters in various ways, essentially rendering this a design choice issue.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the arrangement of emitters, as taught by Samec, with the motivation that an effective arrangement can allow for the emission and subsequent detection of light, namely for glint detection, etc. Furthermore, given Samec teaches of various configurations, this is also a design choice issue as well.
Park and Bailey do not explicitly teach of the display panel comprising light emitting diode (OLED), that type of display technology.
Initially, OLED technology is well known in the art. However, in the same field of endeavor, head worn systems with eye tracking, Osterhout teaches of a head worn computing device, ( Osterhout, [0220] ). In particular, there are a number of see-through optical designs which can be used, such as a reflective display, an OLED, LED, etc. In particular, [0707] notes the emissive source may be a micro-sized LED array as well.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the various types of display types, as taught by Osterhout, with the motivation that these are well known types of display sources and can reduce the size of the optics, useful in a head worn setting, ( Osterhout, [0707] ).
Park , Bailey, Samec and Osterhout teach in Claim 27:
The OLED display panel of claim 26, wherein the first plurality of visible light emitters and the first plurality of infrared emitters are interwoven with pixels in the first OLED display panel region of the OLED display panel. ( Please note the combination with Samec who teaches in Figures 20A, 22A, [01866], [1911] of various additional optical sources. Furthermore, the arrangement on the periphery is also shown )
Park, Bailey, Samec and Osterhout teach in Claim 28:
The OLED display panel of claim 26, wherein the first plurality of visible light emitters, the first plurality of infrared emitters, and the first plurality of infrared receivers are interwoven in the first display panel region. ( Please note the combination with Samec who teaches in Figures 20A, 22A, [01866], [1911] of various additional optical sources. Furthermore, the arrangement on the periphery is also shown )
7. Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. ( US 2014/0375947 A1 ) in view of Bailey et al. ( US 2016/0274365 A1 ) and Samec et al. ( US 2016/0270656 A1 ), as applied to Claims 1 and 11, further in view of Perez et al. ( US 2013/0083003 A1 ).
As per Claim 10:
Park does not explicitly teach “wherein the first plurality of visible light emitters, the first plurality of infrared emitters and the first plurality of infrared receivers are interwoven in the first display panel region.”
Initially, Samec teaches in Figure 20A, 22A, etc, of various configurations, such as the position and what the optical sources can entail, whether that is visible emission, infrared emission, detectors combined in, separated, etc, essentially rendering this a design choice issue. Samec teaches of an optical source 2268, an imaging camera 2274 and 2224 (infrared receivers), additional emitters in 2206/2226, resulting in the receivers being between/interwoven among the emitters 2268 and 2226.
Furthermore, in the same field of endeavor, wearable displays, Perez teaches of various layouts of emitters/sensors, ( Perez, Figure 4A-4C, [0110] ). Perez teaches of IR emitter 153, photodetector 152 for sensing infrared, RGB/visible light sensors 134, etc. As shown, there is a interwoven layout of these elements along the rim of the wearable. Even still, in light of the arrangement, it is a design choice issue as to the specific arrangement of the elements relative to each other.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the arrangement of emitters and sensors, as taught by Perez, with the motivation that it is a design choice as to the layout of these elements, considering Park, Perez, etc, teach of these elements.
As per Claim 20:
Park does not explicitly teach “wherein the first plurality of infrared emitters, the first plurality of visible light emitters, and the first plurality of infrared receivers are interwoven amongst the first plurality of visible light emitters in the first region.”
Initially, Samec teaches in Figure 20A, 22A, etc, of various configurations, such as the position and what the optical sources can entail, whether that is visible emission, infrared emission, detectors combined in, separated, etc, essentially rendering this a design choice issue. Samec teaches of an optical source 2268, an imaging camera 2274 and 2224 (infrared receivers), additional emitters in 2206/2226, resulting in the receivers being between/interwoven among the emitters 2268 and 2226.
Furthermore, in the same field of endeavor, wearable displays, Perez teaches of various layouts of emitters/sensors, ( Perez, Figure 4A-4C, [0110] ). Perez teaches of IR emitter 153, photodetector 152 for sensing infrared, RGB/visible light sensors 134, etc. As shown, there is a interwoven layout of these elements along the rim of the wearable. Even still, in light of the arrangement, it is a design choice issue as to the specific arrangement of the elements relative to each other.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the arrangement of emitters and sensors, as taught by Perez, with the motivation that it is a design choice as to the layout of these elements, considering Park, Perez, etc, teach of these elements.
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant’s arguments considered, but are respectfully not persuasive.
Please note the updated rejection in light of the claim amendments.
The focus of the amendments attempts to define the first and second display panel regions, with the previously recited elements, such as the various emitters and receivers, being arranged in these regions. However, Bailey teaches of multiple display regions with different resolutions. As combined with Park, who teaches of the various types of emitters and receivers, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to arrange in/for these display regions.
Respectfully, the display regions need to be better defined as the term “region” is too broad. With Bailey teaching of different display regions with the different resolutions, this is reasonable to read on these claim limtiations.
Conclusion
9. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENNIS P JOSEPH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621