DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “locking portion” in claim 10; “pressing portion” in claim 12.
Para. [0153] of the published application describes the locking portion as a recess. “Locking portion” uses the generic placeholder “portion” coupled with the term “locking”, which is functional in that the limitation alternatively recites a portion for locking, and the term “portion” is not preceded by a structural modifier since the term “locking” does not imply any structure.
Paras. [0087]-[0096] of the published application describe the pressing portion as a body depicted in fig. 5. “Pressing portion” uses the generic placeholder “portion” coupled with the term “pressing”, which is functional in that the limitation alternatively recites a portion for pressing, and the term “portion” is not preceded by a structural modifier since the term “pressing” does not imply any structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bootman (US 5833665).
Regarding claim 1, Bootman discloses (see abstract; col. 3 line 40-col. 10 line 67; figs. 4-6) an attachment device (figs. 4-6) comprising:
an attachment sheet (10, col. 7 lines 60-64; fig. 4) including an attachment surface (bottom surface of membrane 10) configured to be attached to a living body surface (bottom surface is secured to skin, col. 9 lines 5-15) and a fixing surface (upper surface of 10, col. 8 lines 42-65) that is positioned on a side opposite to the attachment surface (figs. 4-6);
a device body (17) that is fixed to the fixing surface of the attachment sheet (col. 8 lines 42-65);
a plurality of release sheets (includes removable layers 12, 13a and 13b, col. 9 lines 5-15) that are releasably attached to different positions on the attachment surface of the attachment sheet (figs. 4-5);
the attachment sheet includes an outer edge portion (flap 11, fig. 4) to which the device body is not fixed (depicted in fig. 4), the outer edge portion is positioned at an outer periphery of the device body in plan view as viewed in a thickness direction of the attachment sheet (depicted in fig. 4); and
wherein the plurality of release sheets include a first release sheet (includes 13a and 13b) that is attached to a first attachment region (region of membrane 10 that does not include flap 11) including an attachment surface of a part different from the outer edge portion in the attachment surface of the attachment sheet (depicted in fig. 4), and a second release sheet (12) that is attached to a second attachment region (flap 11) including only an attachment surface of the outer edge portion in the attachment surface of the attachment sheet (depicted in fig. 4).
Regarding claim 2, Bootman discloses the attachment device according to claim 1. Bootman further discloses wherein the first release sheet includes a first release layer (first layer of 13a, col. 9 lines 30-35) that is attached to the first attachment region of the attachment surface of the attachment sheet (layer attached to bottom adhesive surface of membrane 10, col. 9 lines 5-15); and a first folding layer (layer of 13a folded onto itself) that is folded and laminated on the first release layer on a side of the attachment surface opposite to a first attachment region side (considered to be folded onto opposite side of removable layer 13a directly attached to membrane 10, note the limitation “laminated on the first release layer” is treated as a product by process limitation, in which determination of patentability is based on the product itself; since Bootman discloses folded layers 13a, the limitation is considered to be met, see MPEP 2113).
Regarding claim 6, Bootman discloses the attachment device according to claim 1. Bootman further discloses wherein the second attachment region is adjacent to the first attachment region (depicted in figs. 4-5).
Regarding claim 12, Bootman discloses (see abstract; col. 3 line 40-col. 10 line 67; figs. 4-6) an attachment device (figs. 4-6) comprising:
an attachment sheet (10, col. 7 lines 60-64; fig. 4) including an attachment surface (bottom surface of membrane 10) configured to be attached to a living body surface (bottom surface is secured to skin, col. 9 lines 5-15) and a fixing surface (upper surface of 10, col. 8 lines 42-65) that is positioned on a side opposite to the attachment surface (figs. 4-6), the fixing surface configured to receive a device body (17) including a pressing portion (body of 17, considered to correspond to the structure disclosed for the pressing portion interpreted under 112(f)) configured to press the living body surface in a central region of the attachment sheet (considered to provide a level of pressing to the skin when catheter is secured to pillow 17 by flap 14, figs. 4-6);
a plurality of release sheets (includes removable layers 12, 13a and 13b, col. 9 lines 5-15) that are releasably attached to different positions on the attachment surface of the attachment sheet (figs. 4-5); and
wherein the plurality of release sheets include a first release sheet (includes 13a and 13b) that is attached to a first attachment region (region of membrane 10 that does not include flap 11) including an attachment surface of a part different from an outer edge portion in the attachment surface of the attachment sheet (depicted in fig. 4), and a second release sheet (12) that is attached to a second attachment region (flap 11) including only an attachment surface of the outer edge portion in the attachment surface of the attachment sheet (depicted in fig. 4).
Regarding claim 13, Bootman discloses the attachment device according to claim 12. Bootman further discloses wherein the outer edge portion corresponds to an outer periphery of the device body (considered to match with an outer periphery of 17 to a degree, fig. 4).
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haak (US 8425467 B1).
Regarding claim 20, Haak discloses (see abstract; col. 3 line 12-col. 5 line 28; figs. 1-8) an attachment method for attachment to a living body surface by an attachment device (abstract), the attachment device including an attachment sheet (includes first side member 20, second side member 40 and rigid crossmember 60, col. 3 lines 18-27; fig. 1) including an attachment surface (bottom surface of 20, 40 and 60) that is attachable to a living body surface (col. 4 lines 21-26) and a fixing surface (upper surface of 20, 40 and 60) that is positioned on a side opposite to the attachment surface (figs. 1-2), a device body (80, col. 3 lines 35-47) that is fixed to the fixing surface of the attachment sheet (mounted on crossmember 60, col. 3 lines 35-47), and first and second release sheets (parts of 30, col. 4 lines 47-53) that are releasably attached to different positions on the attachment surface of the attachment sheet (col. 4 lines 47-53; fig. 2), the first release sheet (includes 33 and 34) being attached to a first attachment region in the attachment surface of the attachment sheet (fig. 2), and the second release sheet (includes 31 and 32) being attached to a second attachment region in the attachment surface of the attachment sheet (fig. 2), the method comprising:
releasing the first release sheet from the first attachment region (extension piece 35 pulled to remove backing 30, col. 4 line 58-col. 5 line 11; fig. 2), and attaching the first attachment region to the living body surface (secures device to patient); and
releasing the second release sheet from the second attachment region by moving the second release sheet in a direction orthogonal to the first attachment region in a state attached to the living body surface (31 and 32 considered to be released in an orthogonal direction relative to 33 and 34, see fig. 2 depicting release of 31 and 32 orthogonal to L-shaped parts 33 and 34), and attaching the second attachment region to the living body surface (secured to patient, col. 4 line 58-col. 5 line 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bootman in view of Aviles (US 2014/0276544 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Bootman discloses the attachment device according to claim 2. Bootman further discloses wherein the second release sheet includes a second release layer (removable layer 12, col. 9 lines 5-15) that is attached to the second attachment region of the attachment surface of the attachment sheet (figs. 4-5).
However, Bootman fails to disclose the second release sheet including a second folding layer that is folded and laminated on the second release layer on a side of the attachment surface opposite to a second attachment region side.
Aviles teaches (paras. [0045]-[0047]; figs. 1-3), in the same field of endeavor, an attachment device (abstract) comprising a release sheet (liner 180) including a release layer (layer of liner 180 covering adhesive lower surface 160, para. [0044]; fig. 1) and a folding layer (folded over portion defining pull tab 190) that is folded and laminated on the release layer (considered to be folded onto opposite side of liner 180 directly attached to lower surface 160, note the limitation “laminated on the second release layer” is treated as a product by process limitation, in which determination of patentability is based on the product itself; since Aviles teaches folded layers of liner 180, the limitation is considered to be met, see MPEP 2113) on a side of an attachment surface opposite to a second attachment region side (considered to be folded on opposite side of layer of liner 180, figs. 1-3), for the purpose of overcoming any requirement for a healthcare provider to pick at a corner edge or other segment of the liner in order to separate the liner from the adhesive layer (para. [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the removable layer 12 of Bootman to include a folded over portion such that layer 12 includes a release layer and a folding layer as claimed, in order to overcome any requirement for a healthcare provider to pick at a corner edge or other segment of the removable layer 12 in order to separate the layer from the adhesive of flap 11, based on the teachings of Aviles (para. [0045]).
Regarding claim 4, Bootman (as modified) teaches the attachment device according to claim 3. Bootman (as modified) further teaches wherein a first folding direction of the first release sheet from the first release layer to the first folding layer is different from a second folding direction of the second release sheet from the second release layer to the second folding layer (combination considered to further teach folding directions of layers 12 and 13a/13b different due to extending direction of layers 12 and 13a/13b in Bootman, figs. 4-5).
Regarding claim 5, Bootman (as modified) teaches the attachment device according to claim 4. Bootman (as modified) further teaches wherein the first folding direction and the second folding direction are in mutually opposite directions in an in-plane direction of the attachment surface of the attachment sheet (see annotated figs. 4-5 of Bootman depicting folding directions of layers 12 and 13a being in opposite directions, see also fold of layer 13a depicted in fig. 4 of Bootman).
Annotated Figures 4 and 5 of Bootman
Regarding claim 14, Bootman discloses the attachment device according to claim 12.
Bootman further discloses wherein the first release sheet includes a first release layer (first layer of 13a, col. 9 lines 30-35) that is attached to the first attachment region of the attachment surface of the attachment sheet (layer attached to bottom adhesive surface of membrane 10, col. 9 lines 5-15); a first folding layer (layer of 13a folded onto itself) that is folded and laminated on the first release layer on a side of the attachment surface opposite to a first attachment region side (considered to be folded onto opposite side of removable layer 13a directly attached to membrane 10, note the limitation “laminated on the first release layer” is treated as a product by process limitation, in which determination of patentability is based on the product itself; since Bootman discloses folded layers 13a, the limitation is considered to be met, see MPEP 2113); the second release sheet includes a second release layer (removable layer 12, col. 9 lines 5-15) that is attached to the second attachment region of the attachment surface of the attachment sheet (figs. 4-5).
However, Bootman fails to disclose a second folding layer that is folded and laminated on the second release layer on a side of the attachment surface opposite to a second attachment region side.
Aviles teaches (paras. [0045]-[0047]; figs. 1-3), in the same field of endeavor, an attachment device (abstract) comprising a release sheet (liner 180) including a release layer (layer of liner 180 covering adhesive lower surface 160, para. [0044]; fig. 1) and a folding layer (folded over portion defining pull tab 190) that is folded and laminated on the release layer (considered to be folded onto opposite side of liner 180 directly attached to lower surface 160, note the limitation “laminated on the second release layer” is treated as a product by process limitation, in which determination of patentability is based on the product itself; since Aviles teaches folded layers of liner 180, the limitation is considered to be met, see MPEP 2113) on a side of an attachment surface opposite to a second attachment region side (considered to be folded on opposite side of layer of liner 180, figs. 1-3), for the purpose of overcoming any requirement for a healthcare provider to pick at a corner edge or other segment of the liner in order to separate the liner from the adhesive layer (para. [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the removable layer 12 of Bootman to include a folded over portion such that layer 12 includes a release layer and a folding layer as claimed, in order to overcome any requirement for a healthcare provider to pick at a corner edge or other segment of the removable layer 12 in order to separate the layer from the adhesive of flap 11, based on the teachings of Aviles (para. [0045]).
Regarding claim 15, Bootman (as modified) teaches the attachment device according to claim 14. Bootman (as modified) further teaches wherein a first folding direction of the first release sheet from the first release layer to the first folding layer is different from a second folding direction of the second release sheet from the second release layer to the second folding layer (combination considered to further teach folding directions of layers 12 and 13a/13b different due to extending direction of layers 12 and 13a/13b in Bootman, figs. 4-5); and the first folding direction and the second folding direction are in mutually opposite directions in an in-plane direction of the attachment surface of the attachment sheet (see annotated figs. 4-5 of Bootman depicting folding directions of layers 12 and 13a being in opposite directions, see also fold of layer 13a depicted in fig. 4 of Bootman).
Claim(s) 7-9 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bootman in view of Martz (US 5593395).
Regarding claim 7, Bootman discloses the attachment device according to claim 6.
However, Bootman fails to disclose wherein the first release sheet includes an overlapping portion that covers the second release sheet.
Martz teaches (col. 27 lines 7-30; figs. 12-15), in the same field of endeavor, an attachment device (abstract) comprising a first release sheet (106a) and a second release sheet (106b), wherein the first release sheet includes an overlapping portion that covers the second release sheet (two sections of release sheet overlap), for the purpose of entirely covering the adhesive layer so as to avoid accidental contact by a nurse or physician with the adhesive layer (col. 27 lines 7-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first release sheet to further extend along the attachment region such that it overlaps with the second release sheet in Bootman, in order to avoid accidental contact by a nurse or physician with the adhesive surface of membrane 10, based on the teachings of Martz (col. 27 lines 7-30).
Regarding claim 8, Bootman (as modified) teaches the attachment device according to claim 7. Bootman (as modified) further teaches wherein a boundary between the first attachment region and the second attachment region is defined by a ridgeline (ridge of flap 11 depicted in fig. 4 of Bootman) formed by bending of the outer edge portion of the attachment sheet toward a fixing surface side (depicted in fig. 4 of Bootman); and the overlapping portion of the first release sheet protrudes in a direction away from the second release sheet along the first attachment region, not along the second attachment region (combination considered to further teach overlapping portion of 13a extending in the same direction as layer 13a, which is considered to extend in a direction away from layer 12, since layers 12 and 13a/13b extend in different directions as depicted in fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Bootman (as modified) teaches the attachment device according to claim 7. Bootman (as modified) further teaches wherein a boundary between the first attachment region and the second attachment region is defined by a ridgeline (ridge of flap 11 depicted in fig. 4) formed by bending of the outer edge portion of the attachment sheet toward a fixing surface side (depicted in fig. 4); and the overlapping portion of the first release sheet extends along the second attachment region and covers the second release sheet (combination considered to further teach overlapping portion of layer 13a extending longitudinally past flap 11 and therefore extending along the region of flap 11 at least width-wise and covering layer 12, see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 16, Bootman discloses the attachment device according to claim 12.
Bootman further discloses wherein the second attachment region is adjacent to the first attachment region (figs. 4-5).
However, Bootman fails to disclose the first release sheet includes an overlapping portion that covers the second release sheet.
Martz teaches (col. 27 lines 7-30; figs. 12-15), in the same field of endeavor, an attachment device (abstract) comprising a first release sheet (106a) and a second release sheet (106b), wherein the first release sheet includes an overlapping portion that covers the second release sheet (two sections of release sheet overlap), for the purpose of entirely covering the adhesive layer so as to avoid accidental contact by a nurse or physician with the adhesive layer (col. 27 lines 7-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first release sheet to further extend along the attachment region such that it overlaps with the second release sheet in Bootman, in order to avoid accidental contact by a nurse or physician with the adhesive surface of membrane 10, based on the teachings of Martz (col. 27 lines 7-30).
Regarding claim 17, Bootman (as modified) teaches the attachment device according to claim 16. Bootman (as modified) further teaches wherein a boundary between the first attachment region and the second attachment region is defined by a ridgeline (ridge of flap 11 depicted in fig. 4 of Bootman) formed by bending of the outer edge portion of the attachment sheet toward a fixing surface side (depicted in fig. 4 of Bootman); and the overlapping portion of the first release sheet protrudes in a direction away from the second release sheet along the first attachment region, not along the second attachment region (combination considered to further teach overlapping portion of 13a extending in the same direction as layer 13a, which is considered to extend in a direction away from layer 12, since layers 12 and 13a/13b extend in different directions as depicted in fig. 4).
Regarding claim 18, Bootman (as modified) teaches the attachment device according to claim 16. Bootman (as modified) further teaches wherein a boundary between the first attachment region and the second attachment region is defined by a ridgeline (ridge of flap 11 depicted in fig. 4 of Bootman) formed by bending of the outer edge portion of the attachment sheet toward a fixing surface side (depicted in fig. 4 of Bootman); and the overlapping portion of the first release sheet extends along the second attachment region and covers the second release sheet (combination considered to further teach overlapping portion of layer 13a extending longitudinally past flap 11 and therefore extending along the region of flap 11 at least width-wise and covering layer 12, see fig. 4).
Claim(s) 10-11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bootman in view of Bendtsen (US 2021/0038249 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Bootman discloses the attachment device according to claim 1.
However, Bootman fails to disclose wherein the device body includes a locking portion that locks the second release sheet in a state in which the outer edge portion of the attachment sheet is bent toward the fixing surface side.
Bendtsen teaches (paras. [0047]-[0080]; figs. 1a-b), in the same field of endeavor, an attachment device (abstract) comprising a device body (1) including a locking portion (9, considered to correspond to the structure disclosed for the locking portion interpreted under 112(f), para. [0051]) that locks a flap (wall 3) in a state in which an outer edge portion of a window (2) is bent toward a fixing surface side (bent towards side opposite of insertion site 20, para. [0047]; figs. 1a-b), for the purpose of maintaining an angled orientation between the wall 3 and window 2 for safe investigation of the tissue adjacent to the insertion site (paras. [0051] and [0070]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify pillow 17 of Bootman to include a stabilizer positioned between pillow 17 and flap 11, in order to maintain flap 11 and layer 12 in an upright position, allowing for safe investigation of the tissue prior to removing layer 12 and securing flap 11 to tissue when desired, based on the suggestions and teachings of Bendtsen (paras. [0051] and [0070]).
Regarding claim 11, Bootman (as modified) teaches the attachment device according to claim 10. Bootman (as modified) further teaches wherein the locking portion is a recess (combination considered to further teach stabilizer 9 including a bend and therefore recessed, fig. 1b of Bendtsen) that an outer edge portion of the second release sheet enters (combination considered to further teach flap 11 and layer 12 of Bootman secured to stabilizer, therefore encompassing an outer edge portion of layer 12 entering stabilizer, figs. 1a-b of Bendtsen).
Regarding claim 19, Bootman discloses the attachment device according to claim 12.
Bootman further discloses the device body (17).
However, Bootman fails to disclose further comprising: wherein the device body includes a locking portion that locks the second release sheet in a state in which the outer edge portion of the attachment sheet is bent toward the fixing surface side, and the locking portion is a recess that an outer edge portion of the second release sheet enters.
Bendtsen teaches (paras. [0047]-[0080]; figs. 1a-b), in the same field of endeavor, an attachment device (abstract) comprising a device body (1) including a locking portion (9, para. [0051]) that locks a flap (wall 3) in a state in which an outer edge portion of a window (2) is bent toward a fixing surface side (bent towards side opposite of insertion site 20, para. [0047]; figs. 1a-b), and the locking portion is a recess (stabilizer 9 includes bend and is therefore recessed, fig. 1b), for the purpose of maintaining an angled orientation between the wall 3 and window 2 for safe investigation of the tissue adjacent to the insertion site (paras. [0051] and [0070]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify pillow 17 of Bootman to include a stabilizer positioned between pillow 17 and flap 11, in order to maintain flap 11 and layer 12 in an upright position, allowing for safe investigation of the tissue prior to removing layer 12 and securing flap 11 to tissue when desired, based on the suggestions and teachings of Bendtsen (paras. [0051] and [0070]).
Bootman (as modified) further teaches the locking portion is a recess that an outer edge portion of the second release sheet enters (combination considered to further teach flap 11 and layer 12 of Bootman secured to stabilizer, therefore encompassing an outer edge portion of layer 12 entering stabilizer, figs. 1a-b of Bendtsen).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2001/0025159 A1 to Fleischer, disclosing a fixation device.
/BRIGID K BYRD/Examiner, Art Unit 3771