DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to application 18/599087 filed on 09/19/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 12-16 and 18-23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US Pub. 9577640).
As to claim 1 the prior art teaches an integrated circuit (an IC) including an array of bit-slice tiles, tiles and a bondpad, wherein: each bit-slice tile comprises:
a ground coupling circuit (see fig 2-3 col. 3 lines 43 to col. 4 lines 24);
a supply voltage coupling circuit (see fig 2-4 col. 4 lines 10 to col. 5 lines 19);
a first electro-static discharge protection circuit (a first ESD protection circuit (see fig 3-5 col. 5 lines 20 to col. 6 lines 20);
and at least one of a first communication protocol bit-transmit circuit or a first communication protocol bit-receive circuit (see fig 3-6 col. 7 lines 1 to col. 8 lines 20).
the bondpad is in a top interconnect layer of the IC and is located over a group of two or more bit-slice tiles of the array (see fig 4-7 col. 7 lines 39 to col. 8 lines 63);
and the bondpad is electrically coupled with the at least one of the first communication protocol bit-transmit circuit or the first communication protocol bit-receive circuit of a bit-slice tile in the group (see fig 4-9 col. 8 lines 8 to col. 9 lines 50).
As to claim 2 the prior art teaches wherein each bit-slice tile further comprises: at least one of a second communication protocol bit-transmit circuit or a second communication protocol bit-receive circuit (see fig 3-6 col. 7 lines 45 to col. 8 lines 60).
As to claim 3 the prior art teaches wherein: the at least one of the first communication protocol bit-transmit circuit and/or or the first communication protocol bit-receive circuit is based on a communication protocol described in a Universal Chiplet Interconnect Express (UCIe) standard (see fig 3-6 col. 8 lines 1-65).
As to claim 4 the prior art teaches wherein: each bit-slice tile further comprises at least one of a second communication protocol bit-transmit circuit or a second communication protocol bit- receive circuit, based on a communication protocol described in a Bunch- of-Wires (BoW) standard (see fig 3-6 col. 8 lines 40 to col. 10 lines 15).
As to claim 5 the prior art teaches wherein: each bit-slice tile further comprises a second ESD protection circuit (see fig 2-5 col. 5 lines 30 to col. 6 lines 20).
As to claim 6 the prior art teaches wherein: bit-slice tiles in the array are arranged in a staggered arrangement of rows and/or or columns (see fig 4-9 col. 9 lines 45 to col. 10 lines 600).
As to claim 7 the prior art teaches wherein each bit-slice tile further comprising: comprises: a configurable bit-transmit circuit and a configurable bit-receive circuit (see fig 6-10 col. 10 lines 10 to col. 11 lines 20).
As to claim 8, the prior art teaches wherein: the configurable bit-transmit circuit and/or and the configurable bit-receive circuit include circuits that can be selected and coupled using are configurable through customization of one or more interconnect layers. layers of the IC (see fig 6-10 col. 11 lines 1-65).
As to claim 12 the prior art teaches wherein: each bit-slice tile further comprises at least one of a line termination series resistor Rs and/or (Rs) or a line termination parallel resistor (Rp) (see fig 3-6 col. 6 lines 45 to col. 7 lines 40).
As to claim 13 the prior art teaches wherein: the bit-slice tile further comprises a second ESD protection circuit is larger than the first ESD protection circuit (see fig 5-9 col. 9 lines 10 to col. 10 lines 30).
As to claim 14 the prior art teaches a method of making an integrated circuit (an IC), the method comprising: forming an array of bit-slice tiles in the IC, wherein each bit- slice tile includes:
a ground coupling circuit (see fig 2-3 col. 3 lines 43 to col. 4 lines 24);
a supply voltage coupling circuit (see fig 2-4 col. 4 lines 10 to col. 5 lines 19);
a first electro-static discharge protection circuit (a first ESD protection circuit) and at least one of a first communication protocol bit-transmit circuit or a first communication protocol bit-receive circuit (see fig 3-5 col. 5 lines 20 to col. 6 lines 20);
selecting a communication protocol, a bump pitch, and a number of data bits (see fig 4-6 col. 6 lines 10 -63);
based on the bump pitch, determining a number of rows and columns of bit-slice tiles per data bit, the rows and columns including two or more bit-slice tiles (see fig 4-6 col. 6 lines 40 to col. 7 lines 35);
grouping bit-slice tiles in the array of bit-slice tiles into groups according to the number of rows and columns of bit-slice tiles per data bit, and according to the number of data bits (see fig 3-6 col. 7 lines 1 to col. 8 lines 20);
and for each group of bit-slice tiles per data bit: creating a bondpad in a top interconnect layer of the IC according to the bump pitch over the group of bit-slice tiles per data bit (see fig 4-7 col. 7 lines 39 to col. 8 lines 63);
and electrically coupling the bondpad with the at least one of the first communication protocol bit-transmit circuit or the first communication protocol bit-receive circuit of a bit-slice tile in the group of bit-slice tiles per data bit (see fig 4-9 col. 8 lines 8 to col. 9 lines 50).
As to claim 15 the prior art teaches wherein: making the IC includes using a set of reticles; and only one or more topmost interconnect layers of the IC are customized for the communication protocol and the bump pitch, the one or more topmost interconnect layers including the top interconnect layer. (see fig 3-6 col. 4 lines 3 to col. 5 lines 20).
As to claim 16 the prior art teaches wherein electrically coupling the bondpad includes: routing a metal track from the bondpad only in one or more topmost interconnect layers of the IC, which include the top interconnect layer (see fig 4-7 col. 4 lines 40 to col. 5 lines 40);
and coupling the metal track through a via that passes through lower interconnect layers of the IC (see fig 3-6 col. 5 lines 1 to col. 6 lines 20).
As to claim 18 the prior art teaches wherein: the selecting further includes selecting a number of power and ground bondpads and a number of clock bondpads (see fig 4-7 col. 6 lines 1-60);
and the grouping further includes grouping bit-slice tiles in the array of bit-slice tiles into further groups for the power and ground bondpads and for the clock bondpads (see fig 4-7 col. 6 lines 5 to col. 7 lines 40).
As to claim 19 the prior art teaches wherein: the at least one of the first communication protocol bit-transmit circuit or the first communication protocol bit-receive circuit of the bit-slice tile in the group of bit- slice tiles per data bit includes both (see fig 6-10 col. 11 lines 5 to col. 12 lines 40);
and electrically coupling the bondpad includes coupling the bondpad with both, for time- division multiplexed communication (see fig 6-10 col. 12 lines 1-60).
As to claim 20 the prior art teaches wherein: electrically coupling the bondpad includes coupling the bondpad through the first ESD protection circuit of the bit-slice tile in the group of bit-slice tiles per data bit see fig 4-7 col. 6 lines 45 to col. 7 lines 60).
As to claim 21 the prior art teaches wherein: the at least one of the first communication protocol bit-transmit circuit or the first communication protocol bit-receive circuit of the bit-slice tile in the group includes both (see fig 4-7 col. 7 lines 50 to col. 9 lines 15);
and the bondpad is electrically coupled with both, for time-division multiplexed communication (see fig 4-7 col. 8 lines 45 to col. 10 lines 25).
As to claim 22 the prior art teaches further comprising: a metal track that runs from the bondpad only in one or more topmost interconnect layers of the IC, which include the top interconnect layer see fig 7-11 col. 10 lines 5 to col. 11 lines 20);
and a via that couples the metal track, through lower interconnect layers of the IC, with the bit-slice tile in the group see fig 7-11 col. 11 lines 1-60).
As to claim 23 the prior art teaches further comprising: a second bondpad in the top interconnect layer, located over a second group of bit-slice tiles of the array, wherein the second group has a different number of bit-slice tiles than the group see fig 8-12 col. 11 lines 30 to col. 12 lines 20).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BINH C TAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851