Detailed Action
This action is in response to the application filed on 12/23/2025.
Priority
No claim for priority has been made in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
All claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
All claims are directed to a system, method, or product, which are/is one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES).
The Examiner has identified independent method Claim Y (herein called the Primary Independent Claim) as the claim that represents the claimed invention for analysis and is similar to independent system Claim X and product Claim Z (herein called Additional Independent Claims). The Primary Independent Claim recites the limitations of :
A computer-implemented method for managing retirement asset transfers within a private blockchain network including a source node, a destination node, and an ordering node issued with a certificate authority, the computer-implemented method comprising:
processing, by the destination node associated with a destination entity, an input event by:
generating a transfer request based on a transaction request,
causing a transfer document to be generated,
transmitting, to a source node associated with a source entity, the transfer request and the transfer document,
updating a current transfer state to transfer requested,
transmitting, to the ordering node, a message indicating of the updating of the current transfer state to transfer requested, and
causing the ordering node to verify the updating of the current transfer state to transfer requested, and, upon verification, generate a block indicative of updating of the current transfer state to transfer requested;
processing, by the destination node, a transfer requested input event by:
receiving, from the source node, a message indicating that transaction request is approved,
updating the current transfer state to transfer approved,
transmitting, to the ordering node, a message indicating of the updating of the current transfer state to transfer approved, and causing the ordering node to verify the updating of the current transfer state to transfer approved, and,
upon verification, generate a block indicative of updating of the current transfer state to transfer approved;
processing, by the destination node, a transfer approved input event by:
receiving a message indicating that the source entity has sent the retirement asset to the destination entity,
updating the current transfer state to asset sent,
transmitting, to the ordering node, a message indicating of the updating of the current transfer state to asset sent, and
causing the ordering node to verify the updating of the current transfer state to asset sent, and, upon verification, generate a block indicative of updating of the current transfer state to asset sent;
processing, by the destination node, an asset sent input event by:
confirming that the destination entity has received the retirement asset,
updating the current transfer state to asset received,
transmitting, to the ordering node, a message indicating of the updating of the current transfer state to asset received, and
causing the ordering node to verify the updating of the current transfer state to asset received, and, upon verification, generate a block indicative of updating of the current transfer state to asset received;
processing, by the destination node, an asset received input event by:
confirming that the retirement asset has been added to an electronic account of a user associated with the transaction request,
updating the current transfer state to closed,
transmitting, to the ordering node, a message indicating of the updating of the current transfer state to closed, and
causing the ordering node to verify the updating of the current transfer state to closed, and, upon verification, generate a block indicative of updating of the current transfer state to closed; and
processing, by the destination node, a transaction closed input event by transmitting, to a user device, a notice of receipt of the retirement asset.
These limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation as “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity”. The limitation of at least “processing a transaction closed input event by transmitting, to a user device, a notice of receipt of the retirement asset.” recites a fundamental economic practice. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation as a fundamental economic practice, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
The limitation of at least “a destination node; and a source node” in the Primary Independent Claim is just applying generic computer components to the recited abstract limitations. The recitation of generic computer components in a claim does not necessarily preclude that claim from reciting an abstract idea. The Additional Independent Claims are also abstract for similar reasons. (Step 2A-Prong 1: YES. The claims recite an abstract idea)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The examiner did not find any additional elements that would cause further analysis. The computer hardware/software is/are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and are at a high level of generality. Therefore, all the independent claims are directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application).
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computer hardware and software per se amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(f) where applying a computer as a tool is not indicative of significantly more as well as MPEP 2106.05(d). Accordingly, these additional elements, do not change the outcome of the analysis, when considered separately and as an ordered combination. Thus, all independent claims are not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more)
Dependent claims further define the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claims, and thus correspond to Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity and hence are abstract for the reasons presented above. The dependent claims do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, the dependent claims are directed to an abstract idea. Thus, all the claims are not patent-eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims listed below are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leach (U.S. Patent ref#1) in view of Sch (U.S. Patent ref#2)
Re claim 1: Leach discloses:
A computer-implemented method for managing retirement asset transfers within a private blockchain network including a source node, a destination node, and an ordering node issued with a certificate authority, the computer-implemented method comprising: (see Leach Figure 5 + para 0046)
A computer system for managing retirement asset transfers within a private blockchain network, comprising: a destination node; and a source node, wherein the blockchain network is maintained by a plurality of nodes including the destination node associated with a destination entity and the source node associated with a source entity (see Leach Figure 5 + para 0046)
A computer readable storage medium having stored thereon a set of non-transitory computer readable instructions for managing retirement asset transfers within a private blockchain network (see Leach Figure 5 + para 0046)
processing, by the destination node associated with a destination entity, an input event by: (see Leach Figure 2A item 202-204 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
generating a transfer request based on a transaction request, (see Leach Figure 2A item 202-204 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
causing a transfer document to be generated, (see Leach Figure 2A item 202-204 + Fig 5 + para 0046 + 0029)
transmitting, to a source node associated with a source entity, the transfer request and the transfer document, (see Leach Figure 2A item 206 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
updating a current transfer state to transfer requested, (see Leach Figure 2A item 206-208 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
transmitting, to the ordering node, a message indicating of the updating of the current transfer state to transfer requested, and (see Leach Figure 2A item 206 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
causing the ordering node to verify the updating of the current transfer state to transfer requested, and, upon verification, generate a block indicative of updating of the current transfer state to transfer requested; (see Leach Figure 2A item 206-208 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
processing, by the destination node, a transfer requested input event by: (see Leach Figure 2A item 206-208 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
receiving, from the source node, a message indicating that transaction request is approved, (see Leach Figure 2A item 206-208 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
updating the current transfer state to transfer approved, (see Leach Figure 2A item 206-208 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
transmitting, to the ordering node, a message indicating of the updating of the current transfer state to transfer approved, and causing the ordering node to verify the updating of the current transfer state to transfer approved, and, (see Leach Figure 2A item 206 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
upon verification, generate a block indicative of updating of the current transfer state to transfer approved; (see Leach Figure 2A item 206-208 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
processing, by the destination node, a transfer approved input event by: (see Leach Figure 2A item 206-208 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
receiving a message indicating that the source entity has sent the retirement asset to the destination entity, (see Leach Figure 2A item 206-208 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
updating the current transfer state to asset sent, (see Leach Figure 2A item 208-210 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
transmitting, to the ordering node, a message indicating of the updating of the current transfer state to asset sent, and (see Leach Figure 2A item 206 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
causing the ordering node to verify the updating of the current transfer state to asset sent, and, upon verification, generate a block indicative of updating of the current transfer state to asset sent; (see Leach Figure 2A item 206-208 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
processing, by the destination node, an asset sent input event by: (see Leach Figure 2A item 206-208 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
confirming that the destination entity has received the retirement asset, (see Leach Figure 2A item 210-212 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
updating the current transfer state to asset received, (see Leach Figure 2A item 206-208 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
transmitting, to the ordering node, a message indicating of the updating of the current transfer state to asset received, and (see Leach Figure 2A item 206 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
causing the ordering node to verify the updating of the current transfer state to asset received, and, upon verification, generate a block indicative of updating of the current transfer state to asset received; (see Leach Figure 2A item 206-208 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
processing, by the destination node, an asset received input event by: (see Leach Figure 2A item 206-208 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
confirming that the retirement asset has been added to an electronic account of a user associated with the transaction request, (see Leach Figure 2A item 210-212 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
updating the current transfer state to closed, (see Leach Figure 2A item 206-208 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
transmitting, to the ordering node, a message indicating of the updating of the current transfer state to closed, and (see Leach Figure 2A item 206 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
causing the ordering node to verify the updating of the current transfer state to closed, and, upon verification, generate a block indicative of updating of the current transfer state to closed; and (see Leach Figure 2A item 206-208 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
processing, by the destination node, a transaction closed input event by transmitting, to a user device, a notice of receipt of the retirement asset. (see Leach Figure 2A item 206-208 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
While examiner believes, Leach teaches the features of applicant, should the limitations be argued and for the sake of compact prosecution additional reference, Sch additionally teaches the limitations of the applicant. Sch para 0064
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effect filling date was made to modify Leach by adapting any features of Sch.
It is clear that one would be motivated by the teaching in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Specifically both Leach para 0046 and Sch para 0064 both relate to same subject area of blockchain for retirement accounts.
Re claim 2: see claim 1 +
wherein causing the transfer document to be generated includes: causing, by the destination node, a computing device to generate the transfer document, the transfer document compliant with a set of rules associated with the source entity. (see Leach Figure 2A item 210-212 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
Re claim 3: see claim 1 +
further comprising: granting, by the destination node to the source node, a permission to access a user profile associated with the transaction request. (see Leach Figure 2A item 208-210 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
Re claim 4: see claim 1 +
further comprising: transmitting, by the destination node to the user device, the transfer document to allow the user to sign the transfer document; and receiving, by the destination node from the user device via an API, the transfer document with a signature of the user. (see Leach Figure 2A item 208-210 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
Re claim 5: see claim 1 +
wherein transmitting the transfer document to the source node includes: transmitting, by the destination node, the transfer document signed with a private key associated with the destination node to cause the source node to authenticate the transaction request using a public key associated with the destination node. (see Leach Figure 2A item 208-210 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
Re claim 6: see claim 1 +
wherein a block is configured to be viewable by a fully permissioned node set including the destination node and the source node, and not viewable by a non-permissioned node set including one or more nodes of a plurality of nodes that maintain the blockchain. (see Leach Figure 2A item 208-210 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
Re claim 7: see claim 1 +
herein the blockchain network is a consortium blockchain network, the method further comprising: receiving, by the destination node from a particular node, a request to register with the consortium blockchain network; determining, by the destination node, that the particular node satisfies a set of consortium rules; responsive to the determination, causing, by the destination node, a configuration block to be created, the configuration block includes configuration updates that effect a registration of the particular node with the consortium blockchain network; and appending, by the destination node, the configuration block including the transaction to a copy of a shared ledger maintained by the destination node. (see Leach Figure 2A item 208-210 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
Re claim 8: see claim 1 +
comprising: receiving, by the destination node from the user device, an inquiry request; generating, by the destination node based on the current transfer state, a message indicating a real-time status of processing transaction request; and transmitting, by the destination node to the user device, the message. (see Leach Figure 2A item 210-212 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
Re claim 9: see claim 1 +
comprising: causing a content identifier (CID) associated with the transfer document to be generated by a distributed file system using a hashing algorithm. (see Leach Figure 2A item 210-212 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
Re claim 10: see claim 1 +
wherein at least one of updating the current transfer state includes: transmitting a message indicating the update of the current transfer state to an ordering node; and causing the ordering node to verify the update of the current transfer state using a Raft or Practical Byzantine Fault Tolerance (PBFT) consensus mechanism. (see Leach Figure 2A item 210-212 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
Re claim 11: see claim 1 +
wherein the input event is a transaction request received input event. (see Leach Figure 2A item 210-212 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
Re claim 12: see claim 1 +
wherein the input event is a rule received input event, the method further comprising: processing, by the destination node, a transaction request received input event by: requesting a statement associated with the transaction request, and updating the current transfer state to statement requested; processing, by the destination node, a statement requested input event by: receiving the statement associated with the transaction request, and updating the current transfer state to statement received; processing, by the destination node, a statement received input event by: requesting transfer rules of the source entity, and updating the current transfer state to rule requested; processing, by the destination node, a rule requested input event by: receiving the transfer rules of the source entity, and updating the current transfer state to rule received. (see Leach Figure 2A item 212-214 + Fig 5 + para 0046)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Answers to the arguments on the amended limitations which change the scope of the claims, will be addressed in the action above. Applicant's art arguments are considered moot due to new grounds of rejection.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In particular, and respect to Claim 1 the Applicant argued 1st: 101 is improper.
Examiner has reviewed all of these amendments and new claims and examiner remains firm in the 101 rejection. The examiner remains firm that at the heart of the invention it is running a block chain system. The examiner respectfully argues the applicant is only just applying generic computer components to the recited abstract limitations. The recitation of generic computer components in a claim does not necessarily preclude that claim from reciting an abstract idea.
Applicants argued 2nd, prior art does not teach using an ordering node to verify an update of the current transfer state, and upon verification, generate a block indicative of the update.
The Examiner refutes the argument made by the Applicant and draws the attention to see Leach Figure 2A item 206-208 + Fig 5 + para 0046
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ashley et al., U.S. Patent Pub 2020/0148072, discloses a method advantageously track credits from generation through ownership trades to retirement; raw data will be submitted to one blockchain or a conventional database, while credit transactions will be tracked on a separate blockchain.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/KIRSTEN S APPLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3693