DETAILED ACTION
This OA is in response to the claims filled on 3/8/2024 that has been entered, wherein claims 1-14 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 8/4/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 11-14 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/8/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first conductive layer" in line 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Is the first conductive layer one of the plurality of first conductive layers of line 7 or distinct layer different from the plurality of first conductive layers? For the purpose of examination “the first conductive layer” will be interpreted as “a first conductive layer of the plurality of first conductive layers”.
Claims 2-10 depend on claim 1 and inherit it deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rabkin et al. (US 2022/0208748 A1) as cited in the IDS of 3/8/2024.
Regarding claim 1, Rabkin teaches a semiconductor device(Fig. 27) comprising:
a first chip(700, ¶0238) including a peripheral circuit(710, ¶0238); and
a second chip(1000, ¶0238) including an array structure of memory cell transistors and bonded to the first chip(700, ¶0238), wherein
the second chip(1000, ¶0238) includes
a stacked body(32, 46, ¶0238) including a memory part and a staircase part, the memory part including a plurality of first conductive layers(46, ¶0238) and a plurality of first insulating layers(32, ¶0238) alternately stacked in a first direction, the staircase part being a part at which end parts of the plurality of first conductive layers(46, ¶0238) are formed in a stepped shape(¶0238),
a contact(86/186, ¶0114) connected to the staircase part,
a first column-shaped part(58, ¶0238) formed to extend through the memory part in the first direction and forming a memory cell transistor(¶0095, ¶0110) at an intersection part with a first conductive layer(46, ¶0238) of the plurality of first conductive layers(46, ¶0238),
a second conductive layer(240, ¶0203, ¶0239) formed above the stacked body(32, 46, ¶0238) and connected to an upper end part of the first column-shaped part(58, ¶0238), and
a second column-shaped part(20, ¶0096) formed to extend through the staircase part in the first direction, and
the second column-shaped part(20, ¶0096) is electrically insulated from the second conductive layer(240, ¶0203, ¶0239).
Regarding claim 2, Rabkin teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the second conductive layer(240, ¶0203, ¶0239) contains a metallic material(¶0202).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabkin et al. (US 2022/0208748 A1) as cited in the IDS of 3/8/2024 in view Li et al. (US 2018/0121345 A1) .
Regarding claim 3, Rabkin teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 2, wherein
the first column-shaped part(58, ¶0238) includes
a first core part(62, ¶0090) formed to extend in the first direction and formed of an insulator(¶0090),
a semiconductor layer(60, ¶0089,¶0093) provided between the first core part(62, ¶0090) and the first conductive layer(46, ¶0238), and
an electric charge accumulation film(54, ¶0085) provided between the semiconductor layer(60, ¶0089,¶0093) and the first conductive layer(46, ¶0238), and
the semiconductor layer(60, ¶0089,¶0093) and the second conductive layer(240, ¶0203, ¶0239) are joined with each other(¶0202).
Rabkin does not explicitly state the semiconductor layer(60, ¶0089,¶0093) and the second conductive layer(240, ¶0203, ¶0239) are Schottky-joined with each other(¶0202).
Li teaches a semiconductor device(Fig. 2L1) wherein the semiconductor layer(214, ¶0072) and the second conductive layer(201, ¶0075) are Schottky-joined with each other(¶0075). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Rabkin, so that the semiconductor layer and the second conductive layer are Schottky-joined with each other, as taught by Li, in order to have leakage current control in the semiconductor layer(¶0079).
Regarding claim 4, Rabkin teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 3, wherein the second column-shaped part(20, ¶0096) has a same structure(¶0095) as the first column-shaped part(58, ¶0238).
Regarding claim 5, Rabkin teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 4, wherein
the second conductive layer(240, ¶0203, ¶0239) is formed at a part above the stacked body(32, 46, ¶0238) except for a part above the second column-shaped part(20, ¶0096), and
an upper end part of the second column-shaped part(20, ¶0096) is spaced apart from the second conductive layer(240, ¶0203, ¶0239) and electrically insulated from the second conductive layer(240, ¶0203, ¶0239).
Regarding claim 6, Rabkin teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 5, further comprising:
a second insulating layer(230,¶0239) formed above the second conductive layer(240, ¶0203, ¶0239); and
a fourth conductive layer(316,¶0243) formed above the second insulating layer(230,¶0239), wherein
the upper end part of the second column-shaped part(20, ¶0096) is in contact with the second insulating layer(230,¶0239).
Regarding claim 7, Rabkin teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 6, wherein an upper end part of at least one of the semiconductor layer(60, ¶0089,¶0093) and the electric charge accumulation film(54, ¶0085) of the second column-shaped part(20, ¶0096) is in contact with the second insulating layer(230,¶0239).
Regarding claim 8, Rabkin teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 6, wherein part of the second conductive layer(240, ¶0203, ¶0239) is provided between an upper end part of the first core part(62, ¶0090) and the second insulating layer(230,¶0239).
Regarding claim 9, Rabkin teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 6, wherein the second conductive layer(240, ¶0203, ¶0239) is not provided between an upper end part of the first core part(62, ¶0090) [of the second column-shaped part(20, ¶0096)] and the second insulating layer(230,¶0239).
Regarding claim 10, Rabkin teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 3, wherein the second column-shaped part(20, ¶0096) includes a second core part(62 of 20, ¶0090) formed to extend in the first direction, and an insulating film(52, ¶0084 provided between the first conductive layer(46, ¶0238) and the second core part(62 of 20, ¶0090).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yu et al. (US 2022/0352091 A1) Discloses a semiconductor device.
/LAURA M DYKES/Examiner, Art Unit 2892