Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Inconsistencies related to the sequence of events
Claim 4,5,11, & 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The Specification/claims discloses that a substrate is transferred from the first placement part to the second placement part (assuming it does not stop at the standby chamber). Claim 4 recites the substrate is transferred from the first placement part to the exposure machine. This sequence is inconsistent with that recited in claim 1 (transfer from first placement part to the second placement part).
Similarly, claim 5 recites detecting, as the abnormality, stagnation in transferring the substrate in a section subsequent to the second placement part in the transfer path. This seems to contradict an abnormality occurring between the first and second placement parts.
Claim 11 recites the first placement part is the first developing module and the second placement part is the second developing module. It is not clear if the first developing module is the first placement part and if the second post exposure heating module is the second placement part.
Claim 12 recites the film forming module is included as the first placement part or subsequent to the first placement part making the scope indefinite. It’s unclear if the film forming module is the first placement part or a module at the subsequent stage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1,3-6, 8, & 15-18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaneko. (US-20070219660-A1)
Claim 1, Kaneko discloses a substrate transfer method of transferring a substrate on which a metal-containing resist film is formed from a first placement (16) to a second placement part (17), the method comprising:
transferring, depending on an abnormality in a transfer path, the substrate to a standby chamber (50) in which a second atmosphere (17) different from a first atmosphere (16) of the first placement part (16) is formed, without transferring the substrate to the second placement part (17), and putting the substrate on standby in the second atmosphere (17). (Note: The post exposure bake (PEB) module (16) and Cooling Module (17) have separate atmospheres due to the differences functions and locations of the modules).
Claim 3, Kaneko discloses a substrate transfer method of Claim 1, wherein the first atmosphere (16) is an atmosphere that promotes a reaction of the metal-containing resist film compared to the second atmosphere (17). (Note: The PEB module promotes a chemical reaction to the resist film and the Cooling module (17) promotes a condensation reaction).
Claim 4, Kaneko teaches a substrate transfer method of Claim 1, further comprising:
transferring the substrate to an exposure machine (5) provided on the transfer path; and
transferring the substrate, which is transferred from the first placement part (16) and which is immediately before being transferred to the exposure machine (5) in the transfer path, to the second placement part (17) and adjusting a temperature of the substrate. (Note: The PEB raises the temperature of the substrate and the developing module lowers the temperature of the substrate by pouring a rinse solution on the substrate).
Claim 5, Kaneko discloses a substrate transfer method of Claim 4, further comprising:
detecting, as the abnormality stagnation in transferring the substrate in a section subsequent to the second placement part (17) in the transfer path. ((Claim 1) when the controller detects a fault in the process module or the transport system that makes it impossible to transfer substrates, and so that at least part of the substrates having been subjected to the PEB process are loaded into the buffer module for temporary storage).
Claim 6, Kaneko discloses a substrate transfer method of Claim 1, further comprising:
transferring the substrate in a module other than the first placement part (17) provided on the transfer path to the standby chamber (20) depending on a type of a detected abnormality. ((Claim 1) when the controller detects a fault in the process module or the transport system that makes it impossible to transfer substrates, and so that at least part of the substrates having been subjected to the PEB process are loaded into the buffer module for temporary storage).
Claim 8, Kaneko discloses a substrate transfer method of Claim 1, wherein one or more substrates are provided for each of the first placement part (16) and the standby chamber (50), and
wherein a total number of substrates that can be accommodated in the standby chamber (50) is greater than or equal to a total number of substrates that can be accommodated in the first placement part. ([0016] PEB modules (16) stacked at multiple levels that heat exposed wafers W. (Claim 1) a buffer module configured to contain a plurality of substrates).
Claim 15, Kaneko discloses a substrate transfer method of Claim 1, wherein the putting the substrate on standby is performed when an abnormality that the substrate cannot be transferred to the second placement part is detected. ((Claim 5) - all the substrates having been subjected to the PEB process are loaded into the buffer module and are stored therein until the fault is eliminated)).
Claim 16, Kaneko discloses a substrate transfer method of Claim 1, wherein the putting the substrate on standby (50) is performed depending on an abnormality anticipated regarding the first placement part ((Claim 5) – all the substrates having been subjected to the PEB process are loaded into the buffer module and are stored therein until the fault is eliminated).
Claim 17, Kaneko discloses a substrate transfer method of Claim 1, wherein the putting the substrate on standby (50) is performed depending on an abnormality anticipated regarding the second placement part. (17) ((Claim 5)– all the substrates having been subjected to the PEB process are loaded into the buffer module and are stored therein until the fault is eliminated).
Claim 18, Kaneko discloses a substrate transfer apparatus comprising:
a transfer mechanism (20) configured to transfer a substrate on which a metal-containing resist film is formed in a transfer path from a first placement part (17) to a second placement part (12); and
a controller (70) configured to control an operation of the transfer mechanism (20) depending on an abnormality in the transfer path such that, in order to put the substrate on standby in a standby chamber (50) in which a second atmosphere (12) different from a first atmosphere (17) of the first placement part (17) is formed, the transfer mechanism (20) transfers the substrate to the standby chamber (50) without transferring the substrate to the second placement part (17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3-6, 8-13, 15-18 are rejected under 34 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Kawakami (US-20200233308-A1), in view of Kaneko (US-20070219660-A1)
Claim 1, Kawakami discloses a substrate transfer method of transferring a substrate on which a metal-containing resist film is formed from a first placement part (U8) to a second placement part (U7), the method comprising:
transferring, the substrate to a standby chamber (20) in which a second atmosphere (U7) different from a first atmosphere (U8) of the first placement part (U8) is formed, without transferring the substrate to the second placement part (U8), and putting the substrate on standby (20) in the second atmosphere (U7). [0102] (to carry the wafer W, which has been carried out of the heat treatment unit U8, into the developing unit U7).
Claim 2, Kawakami discloses the substrate transfer method of Claim 1, wherein the metal-containing resist film is a metal oxide resist film, [0022].
Claim 3, Kawakami discloses a substrate transfer method of Claim 1, wherein the first atmosphere (U8) is an atmosphere that promotes a reaction of the metal-containing resist film compared to the second atmosphere(U7). [0039] (U8 to perform the developing processing and the post exposure bake (PEB) on the film).
Claim 4, Kawakami discloses the substrate transfer method of Claim 1, further comprising:
transferring the substrate to an exposure machine (3) provided on the transfer path; and
transferring the substrate, which is transferred from the first placement part (U8) and which is immediately before being transferred to the exposure machine (3) in the transfer path, to the second placement part (U7) and adjusting a temperature of the substrate.
Claim 5, Kawakami discloses the substrate transfer method of Claim 4, further comprising:
transferring the substrate in a section subsequent to the second placement part in the transfer path.
Claim 6, Kawakami discloses the substrate transfer method of Claim 1, further comprising:
transferring the substrate in a module (7) other than the first placement part (U8) provided on the transfer path to the standby chamber (20) [0033] (The humidity adjusting mechanism 7 includes a substrate accommodating unit 20).
Claim 8, Kawakami discloses the substrate transfer method of Claim 1, wherein one or more substrates are provided for each of the first placement part (U8) and the standby chamber (20), and
wherein a total number of substrates that can be accommodated in the standby chamber (20) is greater than or equal to a total number of substrates that can be accommodated in the first placement part. [0033] (The substrate accommodating unit (20) is configured to accommodate a plurality of wafers W).
Claim 9, Kawakami discloses a substrate transfer method of Claim 1, wherein the transfer path is a path formed by a processing block (5) configured to perform at least one of forming and developing the metal-containing resist film, and an interface block (6) interposed between the processing block and an exposure machine (3) that exposes the metal-containing resist film, and
wherein the first placement part, the second placement part, and the standby chamber are provided in the interface block [0032].
Claim 10, Kawakami discloses the substrate transfer method of Claim 1, further comprising:
transferring the substrate to a film forming module (12) configured to form the metal-containing resist film on the transfer path [0027].
Claim 11, Kawakami discloses transferring the substrate to a film forming module (12) configured to form the metal-containing resist film on the transfer path ([0027]) Claim 10,
Kawakami teaches a substrate transfer method of Claim 1, further comprising:
transferring the substrate on which the exposed metal-containing resist film is formed on the transfer path in an order of a first post-exposure heating module (U8), a first developing module (U7), a second post-exposure heating module (U8), and a second developing module (U7) to repeat post-exposure heating and development, ([102] U8, into the developing unit U7. Then, the control device 100 controls the developing unit U7 to perform the developing processing on the wafer W. After the developing processing, the control device 100 may control the transfer device A3 and the heat treatment unit U8 to perform the heating processing on the wafer W in the heat treatment unit U8 after the developing processing.)
wherein the substrate, which is transferred from the first developing module (U7) and which is before being transferred to the second post-exposure heating module (U8), is transferred to the standby chamber (20). [0104].
Claim 12, Kawakami discloses a substrate transfer method of Claim 1, wherein a resist film forming module (12) configured to form the metal-containing resist film on the substrate is included as the first placement part or a module at a stage subsequent to the first placement part in the transfer path, [0047] (the processing module 12 to form the metal-containing resist film on the wafer).
Claim 13, Kawakami discloses a substrate transfer method of Claim 1, wherein the transfer path is provided with an atmosphere-controlled module (7) ([0033] The humidity adjusting mechanism 7 is configured to adjust a water amount contained in the film) in which an atmosphere different from the first atmosphere is formed, and the atmosphere-controlled module includes the standby chamber (20) ([0033] humidity adjusting mechanism 7 includes a substrate accommodating unit (20), and
wherein the method further comprises:
performing a transfer control on a plurality of substrates such that a time during which the substrates do not stay in the atmosphere-controlled module (7) in the transfer path is matched among the plurality of substrates. ([0033] The substrate accommodating unit 20 is configured to accommodate a plurality of wafers W and suppress the variation in the water content of the films on the accommodated wafers W. The water removing unit 30 is configured to accommodate one or more wafers).
Claim 15, Kawakami discloses the substrate transfer method of Claim 1, wherein the putting the substrate on standby is performed (20).
Claim 16, Kawakami discloses the substrate transfer method of Claim 1, wherein the putting the substrate on standby is performed (20).
Claim 17, Kawakami discloses the substrate transfer method of Claim 1, wherein the putting the substrate on standby is performed (20).
Claim 18, Kawakami discloses a substrate transfer apparatus comprising:
a transfer mechanism configured to transfer a substrate on which a metal-containing resist film is formed in a transfer path from a first placement (U8) part to a second placement part(U7); and
a controller (100) configured to control an operation of the transfer mechanism in the transfer path such that, in order to put the substrate on standby in a standby chamber in which a second atmosphere (U7) different from a first atmosphere (U8) of the first placement part (U8) is formed, the transfer mechanism transfers the substrate to the standby chamber 20 without transferring the substrate to the second placement part (U7).
Re Claim 1, Kawakami does not teach, transferring to a standby chamber depending on an abnormality in a transfer path,
Re Claim 2, and the second atmosphere is an inert gas atmosphere.
Re Claim 5, detecting, as the abnormality, stagnation in
Re Claim 6, depending on a type of a detected abnormality.
Re Claim 7, substrate transfer method of Claim 1, wherein the standby chamber comprises a plurality of standby chambers, and when the abnormality occurs in one standby chamber, the substrate is transferred to another standby chamber
Re Claim 10, stopping when the abnormality is detected.
Re Claim 12, stopping transferring the substrate to the resist film forming module when the abnormality is detected.
Re Claim 14, a substrate transfer method of claim 1, wherein the first atmosphere is a vacuum atmosphere, and the second atmosphere is an inert gas atmosphere.
Re Claim 15, when an abnormality that the substrate cannot be transferred to the second placement part is detected.
Re Claim 16, wherein the putting the substrate on standby is performed depending on an abnormality anticipated regarding the first placement part.
Re Claim 17, wherein the putting the substrate on standby is performed depending on an abnormality anticipated regarding the second placement part.
Re Claim 18, depending on an abnormality.
Kaneko discloses a Fault management substrate transporting processing apparatus containing process modules (11-17) with a buffer module (32) to temporarily hold wafers until a fault is cleared.
Re Claim 1, Kaneko teaches a substrate transfer method of transferring a substrate on which a metal-containing resist film is formed from a first placement (16) to a second placement part (17), the method comprising:
transferring, depending on an abnormality in a transfer path, the substrate to a standby chamber (50) in which a second atmosphere (17) different from a first atmosphere (16) of the first placement part (16) is formed, without transferring the substrate to the second placement part (17), and putting the substrate on standby in the second atmosphere (17). (Note: The post exposure bake (PEB) module (16) and Cooling Module (17) have separate atmospheres due to the differences functions and locations of the modules).
Re Claim 2, Kaneko teaches a substrate transfer method of Claim 1, wherein the metal-containing resist film is a metal oxide resist film, [0002]
Re Claim 3, Kaneko teaches a substrate transfer method of Claim 1, wherein the first atmosphere (16) is an atmosphere that promotes a reaction of the metal-containing resist film compared to the second atmosphere (17). (Note: The PEB module promotes a chemical reaction to the resist film and the Cooling module (17) promotes a condensation reaction).
Re Claim 4, Kaneko teaches a substrate transfer method of Claim 1, further comprising:
transferring the substrate to an exposure machine (5) provided on the transfer path; and
transferring the substrate, which is transferred from the first placement part (16) and which is immediately before being transferred to the exposure machine (5) in the transfer path, to the second placement part (17) and adjusting a temperature of the substrate. (Note: The PEB raises the temperature of the substrate and the developing module lowers the temperature of the substrate by pouring a rinse solution on the substrate).
Re Claim 5, Kaneko teaches a substrate transfer method of Claim 4, further comprising:
detecting, as the abnormality stagnation in transferring the substrate in a section subsequent to the second placement part (17) in the transfer path. ((Claim 1) “when the controller detects a fault in the process module or the transport system that makes it impossible to transfer substrates, and so that at least part of the substrates having been subjected to the PEB process are loaded into the buffer module for temporary storage”).
Re Claim 6, Kaneko teaches a substrate transfer method of Claim 1, further comprising:
transferring the substrate in a module other than the first placement part (17) provided on the transfer path to the standby chamber (20) depending on a type of a detected abnormality. ((Claim 1) “when the controller detects a fault in the process module or the transport system that makes it impossible to transfer substrates, and so that at least part of the substrates having been subjected to the PEB process are loaded into the buffer module for temporary storage”).
Re Claim 7, Kaneko teaches when the abnormality occurs in one standby chamber. ((Claim 1) and so that at least part of the substrates having been subjected to the PEB process are loaded into the buffer module for temporary storage).
Re Claim 8, Kaneko teaches a substrate transfer method of Claim 1, wherein one or more substrates are provided for each of the first placement part (16) and the standby chamber (50), and
wherein a total number of substrates that can be accommodated in the standby chamber (50) is greater than or equal to a total number of substrates that can be accommodated in the first placement part. ([0016] “PEB modules (16) stacked at multiple levels that heat exposed wafers W. (Claim 1) a buffer module configured to contain a plurality of substrates).
Re Claim 10, Kaneko teaches stopping when the abnormality is detected. ((Claim 1) and configured to detect a fault that may occur in the plurality of process modules and the transport system).
Re Claim 12, Kaneko teaches a substrate transfer method of Claim 1
wherein the method further comprises:
stopping transferring the substrate to the resist film forming module when the abnormality is detected. ((Claim 1) - and configured to detect a fault that may occur in the plurality of process modules and the transport system).
Re Claim 15, Kaneko teaches a substrate transfer method of Claim 1, wherein the putting the substrate on standby is performed when an abnormality that the substrate cannot be transferred to the second placement part is detected. ((Claim 5) – all the substrates having been subjected to the PEB process are loaded into the buffer module and are stored therein until the fault is eliminated).
Re Claim 16, Kaneko teaches a substrate transfer method of Claim 1, wherein the putting the substrate on standby (50) is performed depending on an abnormality anticipated regarding the first placement part ((Claim 5) – all the substrates having been subjected to the PEB process are loaded into the buffer module and are stored therein until the fault is eliminated).
Re Claim 17, Kaneko discloses a substrate transfer method of Claim 1, wherein the putting the substrate on standby (50) is performed depending on an abnormality anticipated regarding the second placement part. (17) ((Claim 5)– “all the substrates having been subjected to the PEB process are loaded into the buffer module and are stored therein until the fault is eliminated”).
Re Claim 18, Kaneko discloses a substrate transfer apparatus comprising:
a transfer mechanism (20) configured to transfer a substrate on which a metal-containing resist film is formed in a transfer path from a first placement part (17) to a second placement part (12); and
a controller (70) configured to control an operation of the transfer mechanism (20) depending on an abnormality in the transfer path such that, in order to put the substrate on standby in a standby chamber (50) in which a second atmosphere (12) different from a first atmosphere (17) of the first placement part (17) is formed, the transfer mechanism (20) transfers the substrate to the standby chamber (50) without transferring the substrate to the second placement part (17).
Then it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date to modify the metal-containing resist film processing substate apparatus of Kawakami with the fault management substrate transporting processing apparatus of Kaneko. A person of ordinary skill in the art would combine both devices to create a substrate transfer apparatus that does not halt progress when an abnormality occurs. The substrates go to the standby chambers to keep production on pace.
Claims 2 & 14 are rejected under 34 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Kawakami (US-20200233308-A1), in view of Kaneko (US-20070219660-A1) In further view of Inaba (US-20220020616-A1).
Re Claim 2, Kawakami in view of Kaneko does not teach the second atmosphere is an inert gas atmosphere.
Re Claim 14, wherein the first atmosphere is a vacuum atmosphere, and the second atmosphere is an inert gas atmosphere.
Inaba discloses a substrate processing device continuously preforming wet and dry processing including a plurality of processing modules.
Re Claim 2, Inaba teaches a second atmosphere (53) is an inert gas atmosphere ([0121], inactive gas may be supplied to the transfer space (53)).
Re Claim 14, Inaba teaches a first atmosphere is a vacuum atmosphere (52) ([189] Vacuuming in the dry processing space (52) is started. The pressure adjustment valve (28) once reduces the pressure in the dry processing space (52)), and the second atmosphere is an inert gas atmosphere (53). Claim 14, (Note: The transfer space (53) is considered a standby chamber for rejection reasons as it is a module that temporarily store and transition substrates).
Then it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date to modify the metal-containing resist film processing substate apparatus of Kawakami with the fault management substrate transporting processing apparatus of Kaneko and the separate vacuum/ inert gas atmospheres of Inaba. A person of ordinary skill in the art would combine these devices to create a substrate transfer apparatus that does not halt progress when an abnormality occurs while ensuring impurities does not contaminate the substrate by using inert gases. The substrates go to the standby chambers to keep production on pace.
Claim 7 is rejected under 34 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Kawakami (US-20200233308-A1), in view of Kaneko (US-20070219660-A1) In further view of Matsunaga (US-20150059985-A1).
Re Claim 7, Kawakami in view of Kaneko does not teach a standby chamber comprises a plurality of standby chambers, the substrate is transferred to another standby chamber.
Matsunaga discloses a substrate bonding processing system to combine substrate including a plurality of buffer units (134-136) configured to temporarily hold substrates.
Re Claim 7, Matsunaga teaches a substrate transfer method of claim 1, wherein the standby chamber comprises a plurality of standby chambers (134-136), and when the abnormality occurs in one standby chamber, the substrate is transferred to another standby chamber. [0091] (The second buffer units (135 &136) are also used as buffers for holding as many superimposed substrates (T) as possible within the bonding system (1) so that a processing is not interrupted).
Then it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date to substitute the metal-containing resist film processing substate apparatus of Kawakami with the fault management substrate transporting processing apparatus of Kaneko and plurality buffer units of Matsunaga. A person of ordinary skill in the art would combine these devices to create a substrate transfer apparatus that does not halt progress when an abnormality while the substates are contained in the buffer chamber safe until the abnormality is corrected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure ‘256, ‘214, ‘205, and ‘716 cited on the 892 discloses a substrate system and method transfer apparatus.
/TM/ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652