DETAILED ACTION
This OA is in response to the amendment filled on 7/20/2026 that has been entered, wherein claims 1-5,7-13 and 16-20 are pending, claims 6 and 14-15 are canceled.
Specification
The objection to the title is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment of 7/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claims 10-19 are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment of 7/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2023/0282662 A1) of record in view of Joung et al. (US 2023/0299096 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches an image sensing device(Fig. 8c), comprising:
a pixel array(Fig. 3A) that includes a plurality of unit pixels(Fig. 6C),
wherein a unit pixel in the pixel array(Fig. 3A) includes a plurality of sub-pixels(PX, ¶0047),
wherein a first isolation region(DT1-1, ¶0047) is disposed in an edge region of a sub-pixel(PX, ¶0047),
wherein a second isolation region(DT1-2, ¶0047) extends from the first isolation region(DT1-1, ¶0047) to a central portion of the sub-pixel(PX, ¶0047), wherein the second isolation region(DT1-2, ¶0047) comprises:
a first inner isolation region(please see examiner annotated Fig. 6C) protruding in a first direction from one region of the first isolation region(DT1-1, ¶0047) to the central portion of the sub-pixel(PX, ¶0047), and
a second inner isolation region(please see examiner annotated Fig. 6C) formed on a same straight line as the first inner isolation region and protruding in a second direction from another region of the first isolation region(DT1-1, ¶0047) to the central portion of the sub-pixel(PX, ¶0047),
wherein a first grid(LS, CV, ¶0071), and
wherein the first grid(LS, CV, ¶0071) comprises an air layer(CV, ¶0071).
Lee is not relied on to teach the first inner isolation region and the second inner isolation region are spaced apart from each other by a gap at the central portion of the sub-pixel, wherein a first grid(LS, CV, ¶0071) is disposed to vertically overlap the gap.
Joung teaches a image sensing device(Fig. 5) wherein the first inner isolation region(upper 120PA, ¶0083) and the second inner isolation region(lower 120PA, ¶0083) are spaced apart from each other by a gap at the central portion of the sub-pixel(PR, ¶0083). Since the first grid of Lee overlaps the central portion of the sub-pixel, modifying the first inner isolation region and the second inner isolation region of Lee so that they are spaced apart from each other by a gap at the central portion of the sub-pixel would result in the first grid of Lee being disposed to vertically overlap the gap. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee so that the first inner isolation region and the second inner isolation region are spaced apart from each other by a gap at the central portion of the sub-pixel, wherein a first grid is disposed to vertically overlap the gap, as taught by Joung, in order to prevent a junction from being degraded between the photoelectric conversion regions inside the plurality of sub pixel regions, physically reflect incident light at edges of each of pixel regions and reduce crosstalk between the plurality of photoelectric conversion regions(¶0084).
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches the image sensing device of claim 1, wherein the sub-pixel(PX, ¶0047) comprises:
the first inner isolation region,
the second inner isolation region,
a color filter(CF2, ¶0046) formed over the first inner isolation region and the second inner isolation region, and
a microlens(ML, ¶0046) formed over the color filter(CF2, ¶0046), and wherein the first grid(LS, CV, ¶0071) is formed in a central region of the color filter(CF2, ¶0046).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches the image sensing device of claim 2, wherein a photodiode(PD, ¶0032) is disposed below the first grid(LS, CV, ¶0071).
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches the image sensing device of claim 2, wherein a second grid(WG, ¶0050) is disposed over at least one region of the first isolation region(DT1-1, ¶0047).
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches the image sensing device of claim 2.
The embodiment of Fig. 8C of Lee is not relied on to teach the first grid(LS, CV, ¶0071) has an inclined portion disposed in an upper portion of the first grid(LS, CV, ¶0071) that is closer to the microlens(ML, ¶0046) as compared to a lower portion of the first grid(LS, CV, ¶0071).
The embodiment of Fig. 8B of Lee teaches a image sensing device wherein the first grid(LS, CV, ¶0070) has an inclined portion disposed in an upper portion of the first grid(LS, CV, ¶0070) that is closer to the microlens(ML, ¶0046) as compared to a lower portion of the first grid(LS, CV, ¶0070). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embodiment of Fig. 8C of Lee, so that the first grid has an inclined portion disposed in an upper portion of the first grid that is closer to the microlens as compared to a lower portion of the first grid as taught by the embodiment of Fig. 8B of Lee, in order to adjust an optical path and prevent light incidence on second isolation region positioned at a center of a pixel group to thereby improve quantum efficiency and achieve a sharp image(¶0099).
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches the image sensing device of claim 4, wherein the first grid(LS, CV, ¶0071) is disposed between one side of the second grid(WG, ¶0050) and another side of the second grid(WG, ¶0050).
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches the image sensing device of claim 2, wherein at least one region of the first grid(LS, CV, ¶0071) is disposed to overlap an upper region of the first inner isolation region and an upper region of the second inner isolation region(Fig. 6C).
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches the image sensing device of claim 1, wherein the air layer(CV, ¶0071) is a region that is free of light absorbing material that absorbs visible light(¶0071), further comprising a substrate(1) , wherein the substrate(1) is disposed between the first inner isolation region and the second inner isolation region, and disposed below the first grid(LS, CV, ¶0071).
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches an image sensing device(Fig. 8C), comprising:
a pixel array(Fig. 3A) that includes a plurality of unit pixels(Fig. 6C),
wherein a unit pixel in the pixel array(Fig. 3A) includes a plurality of sub-pixels(PX, ¶0047), wherein a first isolation region(DT1-1, ¶0047) is disposed in an edge region of a sub-pixel(PX, ¶0047),
wherein a second isolation region(DT1-2, ¶0047) extends from the first isolation region(DT1-1, ¶0047) to a central portion of the sub-pixel(PX, ¶0047),
wherein the second isolation region(DT1-2, ¶0047) comprises:
a first inner isolation region(please see examiner annotated Fig. 6C) protruding in a first direction from the first isolation region(DT1-1, ¶0047) to the central portion of the sub-pixel(PX, ¶0047), and
a second inner isolation region(please see examiner annotated Fig. 6C) formed on a same straight line as the first inner isolation region and protruding in a second direction from the first isolation region(DT1-1, ¶0047) to the central portion of the sub-pixel(PX, ¶0047), the second inner isolation region disposed to face the first inner isolation region,
a third inner isolation region(please see examiner annotated Fig. 6C) protruding in a third direction from the first isolation region(DT1-1, ¶0047) to the central portion of the sub-pixel(PX, ¶0047), the third direction being perpendicular to the first direction; and
a fourth inner isolation region(please see examiner annotated Fig. 6C) formed on a same straight line as the third inner isolation region and protruding in a fourth direction from the first isolation region(DT1-1, ¶0047) to the central portion of the sub-pixel(PX, ¶0047), the fourth inner isolation region disposed to face the third inner isolation region,
and
wherein a first grid(LS, CV, ¶0071) comprises an air layer(CV, ¶0071).
Lee is not relied on to teach the first inner isolation region and the second inner isolation region are spaced apart from each other by a first gap at the central portion of the sub-pixel, and the third inner isolation region and the fourth inner isolation region are spaced apart from each other by a second gap at the central portion of the sub-pixel, wherein a first grid(LS, CV, ¶0071) is disposed to vertically overlap the first gap and the second gap.
Joung teaches a image sensing device(Fig. 5) wherein the first inner isolation region(upper 120PA, ¶0083) and the second inner isolation region(lower 120PA, ¶0083) are spaced apart from each other by a first gap at the central portion of the sub-pixel(PR, ¶0083), and the third inner isolation region and the fourth inner isolation region are spaced apart from each other by a second gap at the central portion of the sub-pixel. Since the first grid of Lee overlaps the central portion of the sub-pixel, modifying the first inner isolation region and the second inner isolation region of and the third inner isolation region and the fourth inner isolation region of Lee so that they are spaced apart from each other by a first gap and a second gap at the central portion of the sub-pixel would result in the first grid of Lee being disposed to vertically overlap the first gap and the second gap. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee so that the first inner isolation region and the second inner isolation region are spaced apart from each other by a first gap at the central portion of the sub-pixel, and the third inner isolation region and the fourth inner isolation region are spaced apart from each other by a second gap at the central portion of the sub-pixel, wherein a first grid is disposed to vertically overlap the first gap and the second gap, as taught by Joung, in order to prevent a junction from being degraded between the photoelectric conversion regions inside the plurality of sub pixel regions, physically reflect incident light at edges of each of pixel regions and reduce crosstalk between the plurality of photoelectric conversion regions(¶0084).
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches the image sensing device of claim 10, wherein the sub-pixel(PX, ¶0047) comprises:
the first inner isolation region;
the second inner isolation region;
the third inner isolation region;
the fourth inner isolation region;
a color filter(CF2, ¶0046) formed over the first inner isolation region, the second inner isolation region, the third inner isolation region, and the fourth inner isolation region; and
a microlens(ML, ¶0046) formed over the color filter(CF2, ¶0046), and
wherein the first grid(LS, CV, ¶0071) is formed in a central portion of the color filter(CF2, ¶0046).
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches the image sensing device of claim 11, wherein a photodiode(PD, ¶0032) is formed below the first grid(LS, CV, ¶0071).
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches the image sensing device of claim 11, further comprising:
a second grid(WG, ¶0050) disposed over at least one region of the first isolation region(DT1-1, ¶0047).
Regarding claim 16, Lee teaches the image sensing device of claim 11, further comprising: second grids(WG, ¶0050) formed at both sides of the first grid(LS, CV, ¶0071).
Regarding claim 17, Lee teaches the image sensing device of claim 16, wherein the first grid(LS, CV, ¶0071) is formed in a shape of a cross by having four portions extending in four different directions(Fig. 6C).
Regarding claim 18, Lee teaches the image sensing device of claim 11, wherein at least one region of the first grid(LS, CV, ¶0071) is formed to overlap the first inner isolation region, the second inner isolation region, the third inner isolation region, and the fourth inner isolation region(Fig. 6C).
Regarding claim 19, Lee teaches the image sensing device of claim 11, wherein the air layer(CV, ¶0071) is free of light absorbing material that absorbs visible light(¶0071).
Regarding claim 20, Lee teaches the image sensing device of claim 10, further comprising a substrate(1), wherein the substrate(1) is disposed between the first inner isolation region and the second inner isolation region, disposed between the third inner isolation region and the fourth inner isolation region, and disposed below the first grid(LS, CV, ¶0071).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA M DYKES/Examiner, Art Unit 2892