DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I, claims 1-13, in the reply filed on 6/3/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/3/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lille (US 2021/0408114).
Regarding claim 1, Lille discloses, in FIG. 10C and in related text, a magnetic memory device comprising:
a switching element (134) (see Lille, [0051], [0084]);
a magnetoresistive effect element (15) (see Lille, [0076], [0087]); and
an electrode provided between the switching element and the magnetoresistive effect element, wherein the electrode includes
a first sub-electrode (136, 142) in (electrical) contact with the switching element (134),
a second sub-electrode (146) in contact with the magnetoresistive effect element (15), and
a third sub-electrode (144) provided between the first sub-electrode and the second sub-electrode, wherein
the first sub-electrode (136: amorphous carbon; 142: TaC) and the second sub-electrode (146: amorphous carbon) include at least one element or one compound selected from carbon (C) and carbon nitride (CN) (see Lille, [0051], [0057]-[0059], [0078]-[0079], [0081], [0084]) and wherein
the third sub-electrode (144: ruthenium) includes at least one element or one compound selected from a high melting point metal element and a compound of the high melting point metal element (see Lille, [0079]). Here, ruthenium has a higher melting point (2334 °C) than that of iron (1538 °C) and cobalt (1495 °C) and is considered as having a high melting point. See page 16 of Specification of the instant Application. See also, Wikipedia, Melting points of the elements (data page), archived on 6 October 2022.
Regarding claim 3, Lille discloses the device of claim 1.
Lille discloses wherein each of the first sub-electrode (136: amorphous carbon; 142: TaC) and the second sub-electrode (146: amorphous carbon) has an amorphous structure (see discussion on claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 5, Lille discloses the device of claim 1.
Lille discloses wherein a height (3 nm) from an upper surface to a lower surface of the first sub-electrode (136, 142) is from 2 nanometers (nm) to 20 nanometers (nm) (see Lille, [0051], [0057]).
Regarding claim 7, Lille discloses the device of claim 1.
Lille discloses wherein a height (2 nm) from an upper surface to a lower surface of the third sub-electrode (144) is from 0.1 nanometers (nm) to 3 nanometers (nm) (see Lille, [0058]).
Regarding claim 8, Lille discloses the device of claim 1.
Lille discloses wherein the magnetoresistive effect element (15) is provided opposite to a substrate (18) with respect to the switching element (134) (see Lille, FIG. 10C, [0043], and discussion on claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 13, Lille discloses the device of claim 1.
Lille discloses wherein the switching element (134) is a two-terminal switching element (between first sub-electrode 136, 142, and conductive line 12) (see Lille, FIG. 10C, [0049], and discussion on claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lille in view of Nagase (US 2020/0083285).
Regarding claim 9, Lille discloses the device of claim 1.
Lille discloses wherein the magnetoresistive effect element includes
a first ferromagnetic layer (free layer 156),
a second ferromagnetic layer (reference layer 152),
a first nonmagnetic layer (154) provided between the first ferromagnetic layer and the second ferromagnetic layer wherein the first nonmagnetic layer includes an oxide of magnesium (Mg) (see Lille, [0060]-[0061], [0063]-[0064], [0076]).
Lille does not explicitly disclose a third ferromagnetic layer provided opposite to the first ferromagnetic layer with respect to the second ferromagnetic layer, a second nonmagnetic layer provided between the second ferromagnetic layer and the third ferromagnetic layer.
Nagase teaches a third ferromagnetic layer (45) provided opposite to the first ferromagnetic layer (41) with respect to the second ferromagnetic layer (43), a second nonmagnetic layer (44) provided between the second ferromagnetic layer (43) and the third ferromagnetic layer (45) (see Nagase, FIG. 5, [0069]).
Lille and Nagase are analogous art because they both are directed to magnetic memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Lille with the features of Nagase because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lille to include a third ferromagnetic layer provided opposite to the first ferromagnetic layer with respect to the second ferromagnetic layer, a second nonmagnetic layer provided between the second ferromagnetic layer and the third ferromagnetic layer, as taught by Nagase, to provide a synthetic anti-ferromagnetic structure to cancel influence of stray magnetic field (see Nagase, [0078]).
Regarding claim 10, Lille in view of Nagase teaches the device of claim 9.
Nagase teaches wherein the second nonmagnetic layer (44) includes at least one element selected from ruthenium (Ru), osmium (Os), rhodium (Rh), iridium (Ir), vanadium (V), and chromium (Cr) (see Nagase, [0075]), with the same analogous prior art and field of endeavor statement and the same motivation as provided for in claim 9.
Regarding claim 11, Lille in view of Nagase teaches the device of claim 9.
Lille discloses that magnetoresistive element (15) is positioned above the switching element (134) and a substrate (8) with the first ferromagnetic layer (156) most distant from the substrate (see Lille, FIG. 10C, [0043], and discussion on claim 1 above). Nagase teaches the magnetoresistive element including the first nonmagnetic layer (42), the second ferromagnetic layer (43) and the third ferromagnetic layer (45) stacked in sequence, thus Nagase together with Lille teaches the third ferromagnetic layer is provided between a substrate and the second ferromagnetic layer, with the same analogous prior art and field of endeavor statement and the same motivation as provided for in claim 9.
Regarding claim 12, Lille in view of Nagase teaches the device of claim 9.
Nagase teaches wherein the second ferromagnetic layer (43) and the third ferromagnetic layer (45) are antiferromagnetically coupled (see Nagase, [0078]), with the same analogous prior art and field of endeavor statement and the same motivation as provided for in claim 9.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of records, individually or in combination, do not disclose nor teach “wherein the high melting point metal element and the compound of the high melting point metal element include titanium (Ti), tantalum (Ta), tungsten (W), titanium nitride (TiN), tantalum nitride (TaN), and tungsten nitride (WN)” in combination with other limitations as recited in claim 2.
The prior art of record, Lille, discloses wherein a height from a lower surface to an upper surface of the first sub-electrode is less than a height from a lower surface to an upper surface of the electrode. The prior art of records, individually or in combination, do not disclose nor teach “wherein a height from a lower surface to an upper surface of the first sub-electrode is half or more of a height from a lower surface to an upper surface of the electrode” in combination with other limitations as recited in claim 4.
The prior art of record, Lille, discloses wherein a height from an upper surface to a lower surface of the second sub-electrode is from 20 nanometers (nm) to 50 nanometers (nm). The prior art of records, individually or in combination, do not disclose nor teach “wherein a height from an upper surface to a lower surface of the second sub-electrode is from 0.1 nanometers (nm) to 3 nanometers (nm)” in combination with other limitations as recited in claim 6.
Conclusion
/SHIH TSUN A CHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811