DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “transmit … a command to one or more devices based on the weather characteristic” on in claims 1, 13 and 20 is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder “device” that is coupled with functional language “transmit” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
In light of the specification, the claim limitation “one or more devices” is interpreted to cover the corresponding structure “user interfaces” as described in paragraph 0041.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 11-14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 11,369,817 B1).
With regard to claim 1, Kim discloses a fire apparatus system (“watchtower vehicle 100”) comprising: a fire apparatus (Fig. 1) including: an aerial ladder (300); and an environment sensor (500/600) positioned along the aerial ladder (Fig. 1), the environment sensor (500) configured to collect data regarding a weather characteristic at a location (forest fire) of the fire apparatus (collection by weather sensor 520); and one or more processing circuits (transmitter and server, Col. 6 lines 24-29) configured to: acquire the data collected by the environment sensor; monitor the weather characteristic at the location based on the data (“The present disclosure relates to a watchtower vehicle; and more particularly, to the watchtower vehicle capable of monitoring a surrounding situation and measuring directions and strengths of wind from different heights.” Col. 1 lines 13-16); and transmit a notification or a command to one or more devices based on the weather characteristic (“In addition, the watchtower vehicle may further include a transmission device (not illustrated) for transmitting measured data to a server located outside, etc., and a signal amplifier (not illustrated) or a wireless communication repeater (not illustrated) for communicating smoothly with the server located outside.” Col. 6 lines 24-29).
With regard to claim 2, the fire apparatus system of Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Kim further discloses that the one or more processing circuits (transmitter) include at least one of a first processing circuit positioned on the fire apparatus or a second processing circuit positioned remote from the fire apparatus (“In addition, the watchtower vehicle may further include a transmission device (not illustrated) for transmitting measured data to a server located outside, etc., and a signal amplifier (not illustrated) or a wireless communication repeater (not illustrated) for communicating smoothly with the server located outside.” Col. 6 lines 24-29).
With regard to claim 3, the fire apparatus system of Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 2 above. Kim further discloses that the one or more processing circuits include the first processing circuit (transmitter).
With regard to claim 4, the fire apparatus system of Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 2 above. Kim further discloses that the one or more processing circuits include the second processing circuit (“server located outside”, see Col. 6 line 29).
With regard to claim 5, the fire apparatus system of Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Kim further discloses that the weather characteristic includes a characteristic regarding at least one of wind speed, wind direction, temperature, humidity, precipitation, presence of lightning, or atmospheric or barometric pressure (see Col. 7 lines 31-32).
With regard to claim 7, the fire apparatus system of Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Kim further discloses that the one or more processing circuits are configured to transmit the command, wherein the one or more devices include the aerial ladder (300), and wherein the command limits an operation of the aerial ladder based on the weather characteristic (“the control module may control or support another module to control the extendable boom 300 to be inclined at a specific angle within the first angle range by referring to the wind direction and the wind speed measured by the first weather sensor 520. That is, there is a danger of the extendable boom 300 being overturned in an opposite direction of the wind because of significant wind load received when the extendable boom 300 is vertically erected and the wind is blowing strongly. Therefore, in order to reduce such a risk and measure the wind stably and continuously without changing a position of the first weather sensor 520 and the second weather sensor, the control module may incline the extendable boom 300 towards a direction of the wind blowing by referring to the wind direction and the wind speed, to thereby decrease the risk of the extendable boom 300 being overturned.” see Col. 9 lines 1-14).
With regard to claim 8, the fire apparatus system of Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 7 above. Kim further discloses that the operation of the aerial ladder includes at least one of a horizontal reach, a vertical reach, or a payload capacity (“the control module may control or support another module to control the extendable boom 300 to be inclined at a specific angle within the first angle range by referring to the wind direction and the wind speed measured by the first weather sensor 520. That is, there is a danger of the extendable boom 300 being overturned in an opposite direction of the wind because of significant wind load received when the extendable boom 300 is vertically erected and the wind is blowing strongly. Therefore, in order to reduce such a risk and measure the wind stably and continuously without changing a position of the first weather sensor 520 and the second weather sensor, the control module may incline the extendable boom 300 towards a direction of the wind blowing by referring to the wind direction and the wind speed, to thereby decrease the risk of the extendable boom 300 being overturned.” see Col. 9 lines 1-14).
With regard to claim 11, the fire apparatus system of Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Kim further discloses that the one or more devices include a device of a person or organization monitoring or containing a forest fire proximate the location of the fire apparatus (Col. 1 lines 36-42).
With regard to claim 12, the fire apparatus system of Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 11 above. Kim further discloses that the one or more processing circuits are configured to provide a recommended course of action to mitigate further spread of the forest fire based on the weather characteristic (“The present disclosure has still yet another effect of transmitting the acquired images and the acquired meteorological data to a control room, etc. to better inform what is happening on-site, to thereby support decision in wildfire extinguishment, etc., and apply the decision to a predictive program such as a wildfire spread predictive program.” Col. 11 lines 23-28).
With regard to claim 13, Kim discloses fire apparatus system (“watchtower vehicle 100”) comprising: an environment sensor (500) configured to be coupled to an aerial ladder of a fire apparatus (300), the environment sensor (500) configured to collect data regarding a weather characteristic at a location of the fire apparatus (Collected by weather sensor 520); and one or more processing circuits (server and transmitter, Col. 6 lines 24-29) configured to: acquire the data collected by the environment sensor (500); monitor the weather characteristic at the location based on the data; and transmit a notification or a command to one or more devices based on the weather characteristic (“In addition, the watchtower vehicle may further include a transmission device (not illustrated) for transmitting measured data to a server located outside, etc., and a signal amplifier (not illustrated) or a wireless communication repeater (not illustrated) for communicating smoothly with the server located outside.” Col. 6 lines 24-29).
With regard to claim 14, the fire apparatus system of Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 13 above. Kim further discloses that the one or more processing circuits (transmitter) include at least one of a first processing circuit configured to be positioned on the fire apparatus or a second processing circuit configured to be positioned remote from the fire apparatus (“In addition, the watchtower vehicle may further include a transmission device (not illustrated) for transmitting measured data to a server located outside, etc., and a signal amplifier (not illustrated) or a wireless communication repeater (not illustrated) for communicating smoothly with the server located outside.” Col. 6 lines 24-29).
With regard to claim 18, the fire apparatus system of Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 13 above. Kim further discloses that the one or more processing circuits are configured to transmit the notification, wherein the one or more devices include a device of a person or organization monitoring or containing a forest fire proximate the location of the fire apparatus (Col. 11 lines 19-28).
With regard to claim 19, the fire apparatus system of Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 18 above. Kim further discloses that the one or more processing circuits are configured to provide a recommended course of action to mitigate further spread of the forest fire based on the weather characteristic (“The present disclosure has still yet another effect of transmitting the acquired images and the acquired meteorological data to a control room, etc. to better inform what is happening on-site, to thereby support decision in wildfire extinguishment, etc., and apply the decision to a predictive program such as a wildfire spread predictive program.” Col. 11 lines 23-28).
With regard to claim 20, Kim discloses a fire apparatus system (“watchtower vehicle 100”) comprising: one or more processing circuits (server and transmitter) configured to: acquire data collected by an environment sensor coupled to an aerial ladder of a fire apparatus, the data including a weather characteristic at a location of the fire apparatus; monitor the weather characteristic at the location based on the data; and transmit a notification or a command to one or more devices based on the weather characteristic (“In addition, the watchtower vehicle may further include a transmission device (not illustrated) for transmitting measured data to a server located outside, etc., and a signal amplifier (not illustrated) or a wireless communication repeater (not illustrated) for communicating smoothly with the server located outside.” Col. 6 lines 24-29).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 9, 10, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Linsmeier et al. (US 2022/0024425 A1).
With regard to claim 6, the fire apparatus system of Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Kim does not disclose that the one or more processing circuits are configured to transmit the notification, wherein the one or more devices include a display of the fire apparatus or a user device associated with an operator of the fire apparatus, and wherein the notification includes a warning to limit an operation of the aerial ladder based on the weather characteristic.
Linsmeier teaches a fire apparatus comprising one or more processing circuits (controller) are configured to transmit the notification, wherein the one or more devices include a display of the fire apparatus (120) or a user device associated with an operator of the fire apparatus, and wherein the notification includes a warning to limit an operation of the aerial ladder based on characteristic (“The controller 110 may be configured to provide an indication (e.g., a notification, a warning, etc.) on the display of the user interface 120 that the stabilization system 50 of the fire apparatus 10 is capable of reconfiguring the fire apparatus 10 such that the fire apparatus 10 (e.g., the aerial ladder assembly 70, the implement 80, etc.) may be operated with at least partially restricted or limited operation. In one example, limiting the operation of the fire apparatus 10 may include indicating and/or actively preventing use of the aerial ladder assembly beyond various thresholds.” Col.16 lines 8-18).
It is noted by the Examiner that the prior art to Linsmeier and the instant invention are directed to provide warnings indicating unsafe operation and instruction to limit or avoid operation. In accordance with MPEP 2141.01(1), a reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention). In this instant case, the prior art to Linsmeier is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire apparatus system of Kim, by incorporating a display or a user device associated with an operator to provide a notification and a warning as taught by Linsmeier to monitor the weather characteristic, for the benefit of preventing use of the aerial ladder beyond safe thresholds (Col.16 line 18).
With regard to claim 9, the fire apparatus system of Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Kim does not disclose that the one or more processing circuits are configured to transmit the notification, wherein the one or more devices include a user device of a person that will be affected by an incident proximate the location of the fire apparatus based on the weather characteristic, and wherein the notification includes a warning regarding the incident.
Linsmeier teaches a fire apparatus comprising one or more processing circuits are configured to transmit the notification, wherein the one or more devices include a user device of a person that will be affected by an incident proximate the location of the fire apparatus based on characteristic, and wherein the notification includes a warning regarding the incident (“The controller 110 may be configured to provide an indication (e.g., a notification, a warning, etc.) on the display of the user interface 120 that the stabilization system 50 of the fire apparatus 10 is capable of reconfiguring the fire apparatus 10 such that the fire apparatus 10 (e.g., the aerial ladder assembly 70, the implement 80, etc.) may be operated with at least partially restricted or limited operation. In one example, limiting the operation of the fire apparatus 10 may include indicating and/or actively preventing use of the aerial ladder assembly beyond various thresholds.” Col. 16 lines 8-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire apparatus system of Kim, by incorporating a display or a user device associated with an operator to provide a notification and a warning as taught by Linsmeier to monitor the weather characteristic, for the benefit of preventing use of the aerial ladder beyond safe thresholds (Col.16 line 18).
With regard to claim 10, the fire apparatus system of Kim as modified by Linsmeier discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 9 above. Kim further discloses that the incident includes a fire or a chemical spill, and wherein the person is determined to be in the path of the fire, smoke from the fire, or chemical from the chemical spill based on the weather characteristic (the fire apparatus of Kim is capable of monitoring the recited incident).
With regard to claim 15, the fire apparatus system of Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 13 above. Kim does not disclose that the one or more processing circuits are configured to transmit the notification, wherein the one or more devices include a display of the fire apparatus or a user device associated with an operator of the fire apparatus, and wherein the notification includes a warning to limit an operation of the aerial ladder based on the weather characteristic.
Linsmeier teaches a fire apparatus comprising one or more processing circuits are configured to transmit the notification, wherein the one or more devices include a display of the fire apparatus (120) or a user device associated with an operator of the fire apparatus, and wherein the notification includes a warning to limit an operation of the aerial ladder based on the characteristic (“The controller 110 may be configured to provide an indication (e.g., a notification, a warning, etc.) on the display of the user interface 120 that the stabilization system 50 of the fire apparatus 10 is capable of reconfiguring the fire apparatus 10 such that the fire apparatus 10 (e.g., the aerial ladder assembly 70, the implement 80, etc.) may be operated with at least partially restricted or limited operation. In one example, limiting the operation of the fire apparatus 10 may include indicating and/or actively preventing use of the aerial ladder assembly beyond various thresholds.” Col.16 lines 8-18).
It is noted by the Examiner that the prior art to Linsmeier and the instant invention are directed to provide warnings indicating unsafe operation and instruction to limit or avoid operation. In accordance with MPEP 2141.01(1), a reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention). In this instant case, the prior art to Linsmeier is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire apparatus system of Kim, by incorporating a display or a user device associated with an operator to provide a notification and a warning as taught by Linsmeier to monitor the weather characteristic, for the benefit of preventing use of the aerial ladder beyond safe thresholds (Col.16 line 18).
With regard to claim 16, the fire apparatus system of Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 13 above. Kim does not disclose that the one or more processing circuits are configured to transmit the command, wherein the one or more devices include the aerial ladder, and wherein the command limits an operation of the aerial ladder based on the weather characteristic.
Linsmeier teaches a fire apparatus comprising one or more processing circuits are configured to transmit the command, wherein the one or more devices include the aerial ladder, and wherein the command limits an operation of the aerial ladder based on the characteristic (“The controller 110 may be configured to provide an indication (e.g., a notification, a warning, etc.) on the display of the user interface 120 that the stabilization system 50 of the fire apparatus 10 is capable of reconfiguring the fire apparatus 10 such that the fire apparatus 10 (e.g., the aerial ladder assembly 70, the implement 80, etc.) may be operated with at least partially restricted or limited operation. In one example, limiting the operation of the fire apparatus 10 may include indicating and/or actively preventing use of the aerial ladder assembly beyond various thresholds.” Col.16 lines 8-18).
It is noted by the Examiner that the prior art to Linsmeier and the instant invention are directed to provide warnings indicating unsafe operation and instruction to limit or avoid operation. In accordance with MPEP 2141.01(1), a reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention). In this instant case, the prior art to Linsmeier is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire apparatus system of Kim, by incorporating the command of limiting an operation of the aerial ladder based on the characteristic as taught by Linsmeier, for the benefit of preventing use of the aerial ladder beyond safe thresholds (Col. 16 line 18).
With regard to claim 17, the fire apparatus system of Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 13 above. Kim does not disclose that the one or more processing circuits are configured to transmit the notification, wherein the one or more devices include a user device of a person that will be affected by an incident proximate the location of the fire apparatus based on the weather characteristic, and wherein the notification includes a warning regarding the incident.
Linsmeier teaches a fire apparatus comprising one or more processing circuits are configured to transmit the notification, wherein the one or more devices include a user device of a person that will be affected by an incident proximate the location of the fire apparatus based on the characteristic, and wherein the notification includes a warning regarding the incident (“The controller 110 may be configured to provide an indication (e.g., a notification, a warning, etc.) on the display of the user interface 120 that the stabilization system 50 of the fire apparatus 10 is capable of reconfiguring the fire apparatus 10 such that the fire apparatus 10 (e.g., the aerial ladder assembly 70, the implement 80, etc.) may be operated with at least partially restricted or limited operation. In one example, limiting the operation of the fire apparatus 10 may include indicating and/or actively preventing use of the aerial ladder assembly beyond various thresholds.” Col.16 lines 8-18).
It is noted by the Examiner that the prior art to Linsmeier and the instant invention are directed to provide warnings indicating unsafe operation and instruction to limit or avoid operation. In accordance with MPEP 2141.01(1), a reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention). In this instant case, the prior art to Linsmeier is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire apparatus system of Kim, by incorporating a display or a user device associated with an operator to provide a notification and a warning as taught by Linsmeier to monitor the weather characteristic, for the benefit of preventing use of the aerial ladder beyond safe thresholds (Col.16 line 18).
Conclusion
JOEL . ZHOU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/QINGZHANG ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752