DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendment filed on June 29, 2026. Claims 1, 6,-13, and 15-20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “transmit … a command to one or more devices based on the weather characteristic” on in claims 1, 13 and 20 is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder “device” that is coupled with functional language “transmit” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
In light of the specification, the claim limitation “one or more devices” is interpreted to cover the corresponding structure “user interfaces” as described in paragraph 0041.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 11-14, 16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenz, JR. et al. (US 2015/0273255 A1) in view of Kim (US 11,369,817 B1).
With regard to claims 1 and 13, Lenz discloses a fire apparatus system (10) comprising: a fire apparatus including: an aerial ladder (50); and a sensor (“loading sensor”) positioned along the aerial ladder (Par. [0005]), the sensor configured to collect data; and one or more processing circuits configured to: acquire the data collected by the sensor; monitor the data; and transmit a command to the aerial ladder based on the data, the command configured to limit a payload capacity of the aerial ladder (“provide visual output to a user on or about to enter the ladder regarding the status of the load on the ladder. The user can then take action to address the loading situation on the ladder, and potentially prevent overloading thereof.” see Par. [0005, 0105,0114, 0115] and Claim 1).
Lenz does not disclose that the sensor is an environment sensor, and the environment sensor configured to collect data regarding a weather characteristic at a location of the fire apparatus; and one or more processing circuits configured to: acquire the data collected by the environment sensor; monitor the weather characteristic at the location based on the data.
However, Kim discloses a fire apparatus system (“watchtower vehicle 100”) in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention that comprising: a fire apparatus (Fig. 1) including: an aerial ladder (300); and an environment sensor (500/600) positioned along the aerial ladder (Fig. 1), the environment sensor (500) configured to collect data regarding a weather characteristic at a location (forest fire) of the fire apparatus (collection by weather sensor 520); and one or more processing circuits (transmitter and server, Col. 6 lines 24-29) configured to: acquire the data collected by the environment sensor; monitor the weather characteristic at the location based on the data (“The present disclosure relates to a watchtower vehicle; and more particularly, to the watchtower vehicle capable of monitoring a surrounding situation and measuring directions and strengths of wind from different heights.” Col. 1 lines 13-16); and transmit a command to one or more devices based on the weather characteristic (“In addition, the watchtower vehicle may further include a transmission device (not illustrated) for transmitting measured data to a server located outside, etc., and a signal amplifier (not illustrated) or a wireless communication repeater (not illustrated) for communicating smoothly with the server located outside.” Col. 6 lines 24-29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the fire fighting apparatus of Lenz, by incorporating the environment sensor along with the processing circuits as taught by Kim in communication with the command configured to limit a payload capacity of the aerial ladder of Lenz, for the benefit of providing a weather sensor to maintain its level in order to accurately measure the directions and the strengths of wind (Col. 11 lines 10-12).
With regard to claim 2, the fire apparatus system of Lenz as modified by Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Kim further discloses that the one or more processing circuits (transmitter) include at least one of a first processing circuit positioned on the fire apparatus or a second processing circuit positioned remote from the fire apparatus (“In addition, the watchtower vehicle may further include a transmission device (not illustrated) for transmitting measured data to a server located outside, etc., and a signal amplifier (not illustrated) or a wireless communication repeater (not illustrated) for communicating smoothly with the server located outside.” Col. 6 lines 24-29).
With regard to claim 3, the fire apparatus system of Lenz as modified by Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 2 above. Kim further discloses that the one or more processing circuits include the first processing circuit (transmitter).
With regard to claim 4, the fire apparatus system of Lenz as modified by Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 2 above. Kim further discloses that the one or more processing circuits include the second processing circuit (“server located outside”, see Col. 6 line 29).
With regard to claim 5, the fire apparatus system of Lenz as modified by Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Kim further discloses that the weather characteristic includes a characteristic regarding at least one of wind speed, wind direction, temperature, humidity, precipitation, presence of lightning, or atmospheric or barometric pressure (see Col. 7 lines 31-32).
With regard to claim 7, the fire apparatus system of Lenz as modified by Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Lenz further discloses that the command is configured to limit the payload capacity of the aerial ladder and a vertical reach of the aerial ladder (“provide visual output to a user on or about to enter the ladder regarding the status of the load on the ladder. The user can then take action to address the loading situation on the ladder, and potentially prevent overloading thereof.” See Par. [0105]).
With regard to claim 8, the fire apparatus system of Lenz as modified by Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 7 above. Lenz further discloses that the command is configured to limit the payload capacity of the aerial ladder, the vertical reach of the aerial ladder, and a horizontal reach of the aerial ladder (“provide visual output to a user on or about to enter the ladder regarding the status of the load on the ladder. The user can then take action to address the loading situation on the ladder, and potentially prevent overloading thereof.” Action includes lowering and raising aerial ladder to prevent overloading, see Par. [0105]).
With regard to claim 11, the fire apparatus system of Lenz as modified by Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Kim further discloses that the one or more processing circuits are configured to transmit a notification based on the weather characteristic to a device associated with a person or organization monitoring or containing a forest fire proximate the location of the fire apparatus (Col. 1 lines 36-42).
With regard to claim 12, the fire apparatus system of Lenz as modified by Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 11 above. Kim further discloses that the one or more processing circuits are configured to provide a recommended course of action to mitigate further spread of the forest fire based on the weather characteristic to the device (“The present disclosure has still yet another effect of transmitting the acquired images and the acquired meteorological data to a control room, etc. to better inform what is happening on-site, to thereby support decision in wildfire extinguishment, etc., and apply the decision to a predictive program such as a wildfire spread predictive program.” Col. 11 lines 23-28).
With regard to claim 14, the fire apparatus system of Lenz as modified by Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 13 above. Kim further discloses that the one or more processing circuits (transmitter) include at least one of a first processing circuit configured to be positioned on the fire apparatus or a second processing circuit configured to be positioned remote from the fire apparatus (“In addition, the watchtower vehicle may further include a transmission device (not illustrated) for transmitting measured data to a server located outside, etc., and a signal amplifier (not illustrated) or a wireless communication repeater (not illustrated) for communicating smoothly with the server located outside.” Col. 6 lines 24-29).
With regard to claim 16, the fire apparatus system of Lenz as modified by Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 13 above. Lenz further discloses that the command is configured to limit the payload capacity of the aerial ladder, a vertical reach of the aerial ladder, and a horizontal reach of the aerial ladder (“provide visual output to a user on or about to enter the ladder regarding the status of the load on the ladder. The user can then take action to address the loading situation on the ladder, and potentially prevent overloading thereof.” Action includes lowering and raising aerial ladder to prevent overloading, see Par. [0105]).
With regard to claim 18, the fire apparatus system of Lenz as modified by Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 13 above. Kim further discloses that the one or more processing circuits are configured to transmit a notification based on the weather characteristic to a user device remote from the location of the fire apparatus, wherein the user device is associated with a person or organization monitoring or containing a forest fire proximate the location of the fire apparatus (Col. 11 lines 19-28).
With regard to claim 19, the fire apparatus system of Lenz as modified by Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 18 above. Kim further discloses that the one or more processing circuits are configured to provide a recommended course of action to mitigate further spread of the forest fire based on the weather characteristic to the device (“The present disclosure has still yet another effect of transmitting the acquired images and the acquired meteorological data to a control room, etc. to better inform what is happening on-site, to thereby support decision in wildfire extinguishment, etc., and apply the decision to a predictive program such as a wildfire spread predictive program.” Col. 11 lines 23-28).
Claims 6, 9, 10, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenz in view of Kim as applied in claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Linsmeier et al. (US 2022/0024425 A1).
With regard to claim 6, the fire apparatus system of Lenz as modified by Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Kim does not disclose that the one or more processing circuits are configured to transmit a notification based on the weather characteristic to a display of the fire apparatus or a user device associated with an operator of the fire apparatus, and wherein the notification includes a warning to limit an operation of the aerial ladder based on the weather characteristic.
Linsmeier teaches a fire apparatus comprising one or more processing circuits (controller) are configured to transmit a notification based on the weather characteristic to a display of the fire apparatus (120) or a user device associated with an operator of the fire apparatus, and wherein the notification includes a warning to limit an operation of the aerial ladder based on characteristic (“The controller 110 may be configured to provide an indication (e.g., a notification, a warning, etc.) on the display of the user interface 120 that the stabilization system 50 of the fire apparatus 10 is capable of reconfiguring the fire apparatus 10 such that the fire apparatus 10 (e.g., the aerial ladder assembly 70, the implement 80, etc.) may be operated with at least partially restricted or limited operation. In one example, limiting the operation of the fire apparatus 10 may include indicating and/or actively preventing use of the aerial ladder assembly beyond various thresholds.” Col.16 lines 8-18).
It is noted by the Examiner that the prior art to Linsmeier and the instant invention are directed to provide warnings indicating unsafe operation and instruction to limit or avoid operation. In accordance with MPEP 2141.01(1), a reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention). In this instant case, the prior art to Linsmeier is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire apparatus system of Lenz, by incorporating a display or a user device associated with an operator to provide a notification and a warning as taught by Linsmeier to monitor the weather characteristic, for the benefit of preventing use of the aerial ladder beyond safe thresholds (Col.16 line 18).
With regard to claim 9, the fire apparatus system of Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Kim does not disclose that the one or more processing circuits are configured to transmit the notification based on the weather characteristic to a user device remote from the location of the fire apparatus, wherein the user device is associated with a person that will be affected by an incident proximate the location of the fire apparatus based on the weather characteristic, and wherein the notification includes a warning regarding the incident.
Linsmeier teaches a fire apparatus comprising he one or more processing circuits are configured to transmit the notification based on the weather characteristic to a user device remote from the location of the fire apparatus, wherein the user device is associated with a person that will be affected by an incident proximate the location of the fire apparatus based on characteristic, and wherein the notification includes a warning regarding the incident (“The controller 110 may be configured to provide an indication (e.g., a notification, a warning, etc.) on the display of the user interface 120 that the stabilization system 50 of the fire apparatus 10 is capable of reconfiguring the fire apparatus 10 such that the fire apparatus 10 (e.g., the aerial ladder assembly 70, the implement 80, etc.) may be operated with at least partially restricted or limited operation. In one example, limiting the operation of the fire apparatus 10 may include indicating and/or actively preventing use of the aerial ladder assembly beyond various thresholds.” Col. 16 lines 8-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire apparatus system of Lenz, by incorporating a display or a user device associated with an operator to provide a notification and a warning as taught by Linsmeier to monitor the weather characteristic, for the benefit of preventing use of the aerial ladder beyond safe thresholds (Col.16 line 18).
With regard to claim 10, the fire apparatus system of Lenz as modified by Kim and Linsmeier discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 9 above. Kim further discloses that the incident includes a fire or a chemical spill, and wherein the one or more processing circuits are configured to determine that the person is in a path of the fire, smoke from the fire, or chemical from the chemical spill based on the weather characteristic (the fire apparatus of Kim is capable of monitoring the recited incident).
With regard to claim 15, the fire apparatus system of Lenz as modified by Kim and discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 13 above. Kim does not disclose that the one or more processing circuits are configured to transmit a notification based on the weather characteristic to a display of the fire apparatus or a user device associated with an operator of the fire apparatus, and wherein the notification includes a warning to limit an operation of the aerial ladder based on the weather characteristic.
Linsmeier teaches a fire apparatus comprising one or more processing circuits are configured to transmit a notification a notification based on the weather characteristic to a display of the fire apparatus (120) or a user device associated with an operator of the fire apparatus, and wherein the notification includes a warning to limit an operation of the aerial ladder based on the characteristic (“The controller 110 may be configured to provide an indication (e.g., a notification, a warning, etc.) on the display of the user interface 120 that the stabilization system 50 of the fire apparatus 10 is capable of reconfiguring the fire apparatus 10 such that the fire apparatus 10 (e.g., the aerial ladder assembly 70, the implement 80, etc.) may be operated with at least partially restricted or limited operation. In one example, limiting the operation of the fire apparatus 10 may include indicating and/or actively preventing use of the aerial ladder assembly beyond various thresholds.” Col.16 lines 8-18).
It is noted by the Examiner that the prior art to Linsmeier and the instant invention are directed to provide warnings indicating unsafe operation and instruction to limit or avoid operation. In accordance with MPEP 2141.01(1), a reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention). In this instant case, the prior art to Linsmeier is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire apparatus system of Lenz, by incorporating a display or a user device associated with an operator to provide a notification and a warning as taught by Linsmeier to monitor the weather characteristic, for the benefit of preventing use of the aerial ladder beyond safe thresholds (Col.16 line 18).
With regard to claim 17, the fire apparatus system of Lenz as modified by Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 13 above. Lenz does not disclose that the one or more processing circuits are configured to transmit the notification based on the weather characteristic to a user device remote from the location of the fire apparatus, wherein the user device is associated with a person that will be affected by an incident proximate the location of the fire apparatus based on the weather characteristic, and wherein the notification includes a warning regarding the incident.
Linsmeier teaches a fire apparatus comprising one or more processing circuits are configured to transmit the notification based on the weather characteristic to a user device remote from the location of the fire apparatus, wherein the user device is associated with a person that will be affected by an incident proximate the location of the fire apparatus based on the characteristic, and wherein the notification includes a warning regarding the incident (“The controller 110 may be configured to provide an indication (e.g., a notification, a warning, etc.) on the display of the user interface 120 that the stabilization system 50 of the fire apparatus 10 is capable of reconfiguring the fire apparatus 10 such that the fire apparatus 10 (e.g., the aerial ladder assembly 70, the implement 80, etc.) may be operated with at least partially restricted or limited operation. In one example, limiting the operation of the fire apparatus 10 may include indicating and/or actively preventing use of the aerial ladder assembly beyond various thresholds.” Col.16 lines 8-18).
It is noted by the Examiner that the prior art to Linsmeier and the instant invention are directed to provide warnings indicating unsafe operation and instruction to limit or avoid operation. In accordance with MPEP 2141.01(1), a reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention). In this instant case, the prior art to Linsmeier is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire apparatus system of Lenz, by incorporating a display or a user device associated with an operator to provide a notification and a warning as taught by Linsmeier to monitor the weather characteristic, for the benefit of preventing use of the aerial ladder beyond safe thresholds (Col.16 line 18).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 11,369,817 B1) in view of Raucher (US 2021/0283439 A1).
With regard to claim 20, Kim discloses a fire apparatus system (“watchtower vehicle 100”) comprising: one or more processing circuits (server and transmitter) configured to: acquire data collected by an environment sensor coupled to an aerial ladder of a fire apparatus, the data including a weather characteristic at a location of the fire apparatus; monitor the weather characteristic at the location based on the data (“The present disclosure relates to a watchtower vehicle; and more particularly, to the watchtower vehicle capable of monitoring a surrounding situation and measuring directions and strengths of wind from different heights.” Col. 1 lines 13-16); and transmit a command to one or more devices based on the weather characteristic (“In addition, the watchtower vehicle may further include a transmission device (not illustrated) for transmitting measured data to a server located outside, etc., and a signal amplifier (not illustrated) or a wireless communication repeater (not illustrated) for communicating smoothly with the server located outside.” Col. 6 lines 24-29).
Kim is silent to disclose that the circuits configured to determine an incident is proximate the location of the fire apparatus, the incident including at least one of a fire or a chemical spill; determine that a person remote from the location of the fire apparatus is in a path of at least one of the fire, smoke from the fire, or a chemical from the chemical spill based on the incident and the weather characteristic; and in response to determining that the person is in the path, transmit a notification to a user device associated with the person, the notification including a warning regarding the incident.
Raucher teaches a fire apparatus system (types of apparatuses to dispatch (e.g., engines, ladders, air tankers, helicopters, etc.) as seen in Par. [0073])comprising one or more processing circuits configured to determine an incident is proximate the location of the fire apparatus, the incident including at least one of a fire or a chemical spill; determine that a person remote from the location of the fire apparatus is in a path of at least one of the fire, smoke from the fire, or a chemical from the chemical spill based on the incident and the weather characteristic; and in response to determining that the person is in the path, transmit a notification to a user device associated with the person, the notification including a warning regarding the incident (Figs. 3 and 4 and Par. [0080-0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire apparatus system of Kim, by incorporating the method for detecting and responding to a wildfire as taught by Raucher, for the benefit of providing dispatching the fire apparatus system to fight wildfire timely (Par. [0085]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOEL . ZHOU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/QINGZHANG ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752