DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I and species A in the reply filed on 4/29/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 12 and 15 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 19 recites the limitation "the light guide." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim will be interpreted as though it depended from claim 15.
Claims 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 23 depends from cancelled claim 22. As such, it is indefinite. The claim will be interpreted as though it depended from claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 9, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2012/0241609 A1 [Kuramoto].
Regarding Claim 1:
Kuramoto discloses a particle beam microscope, comprising:
a particle beam source configured to generate a particle beam (Fig. 2 (1));
an objective lens configured to focus the particle beam in an object plane (Fig. 2 (8));
a first scintillator configured to generate light via electrons arriving from the object plane (see annotated Fig. 2 below);
a second scintillator configured to generate light via electrons arriving from the object plane (see annotated Fig. 2 below); and
a first light detector configured to detect light generated by the first scintillator and/or the second scintillator (Fig. 2 (7a));
wherein:
a shortest distance of the second scintillator from the object plane is greater than a shortest distance of the first scintillator from the object plane (in annotated Fig. 2, note that the first scintillator is between the second scintillator and the object plane, thus meeting the above limitation);
a first beam path and a second beam path overlap one another in a cross-sectional area between the first scintillator and the second scintillator and across a beam direction of the particle beam (see further annotated Fig. 2 below);
the first beam path is a beam path of electrons arriving from the object plane by which the second scintillator generates light (see further annotated Fig. 2 below); and
the second beam path is a beam path of light generated by the first scintillator and detected by the first light detector (as demonstrated by Fig. 2 (22a)).
Regarding Claim 2:
Kuramoto discloses the particle beam microscope of claim 1, further comprising a mirror surface (Fig. 2 (6a), para 43),
wherein:
the first light detector is configured to detect the light generated by the first scintillator (para 52); and
the mirror surface is in a beam path between the first scintillator and the first light detector to reflect the light generated by the first scintillator (Fig. 2, paras 43, 52).
Regarding Claim 7:
Kuramoto discloses the particle beam microscope of claim 2, further comprising a second light detector (Fig. 2 (7b), wherein the second light detector is configured to detect the light generated by the second scintillator (paras 57-58).
Regarding Claim 8:
Kuramoto discloses the particle beam microscope of claim 7, further comprising a light guide between the second scintillator and the second light detector in a beam path of the light generated by the second scintillator. Para 58.
Regarding Claim 9:
Kuramoto discloses the particle beam microscope of claim 8, wherein the second scintillator comprises a surface optically coupled to a first surface region of the light guide. Para 58.
Regarding Claim 20:
Kuramoto discloses the particle beam microscope of claim 1, wherein the second scintillator comprises a hole, and a portion of a beam path of the particle beam extends through the hole. As shown in Fig. 2 (5)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 11, 21, 24, 32-34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 19 and 23 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881