DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/30/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-12, 15-16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kuo et al. (US 2020/0314681 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kuo.
Regarding claim 1, Kuo teaches a processor (Kuo – Fig. 4b; Paragraph [0111], note apparatus 20 may be a UE (user equipment); Paragraph [0113], note apparatus 20 may include or be coupled to a processor 22 for processing information and executing instructions or operations) comprising:
one or more circuits to cause a user equipment (UE) device to autonomously adjust priority of information to be transmitted (Kuo – Fig. 1a; Paragraph [0060], note autonomous LCP (logical channel prioritization) adaptation upon collision, the UE may automatically modify the at least one LCP parameter and/or LCH (logical channel) mapping restrictions; Paragraph [0063], note the parameters relating to LCP and LCH mapping restrictions may include LCH priority, Prioritized Bit Rate (PBR), Bucket Size Duration (BSD), and LCH Mapping Restriction rule(s); Paragraph [0064], note as an example, if the traffic from a LCH has been delayed for a certain amount of time exceeding a threshold, then the modifying 140 may include the UE temporarily increasing the priority level of this LCH; Paragraph [0120], note processor 22 and memory 24 may be included in or may form a part of processing circuitry or control circuitry).
Regarding claim 2, Kuo teaches wherein the UE device is to autonomously adjust one or more logical channel priority parameters to adjust priority of information to be transmitted (Kuo – Fig. 1a; Paragraph [0060], note autonomous LCP (logical channel prioritization) adaptation upon collision, the UE may automatically modify the at least one LCP parameter and/or LCH (logical channel) mapping restrictions; Paragraph [0063], note the parameters relating to LCP and LCH mapping restrictions may include LCH priority, Prioritized Bit Rate (PBR), Bucket Size Duration (BSD), and LCH Mapping Restriction rule(s); Paragraph [0064], note as an example, if the traffic from a LCH has been delayed for a certain amount of time exceeding a threshold, then the modifying 140 may include the UE temporarily increasing the priority level of this LCH).
Regarding claim 3, Kuo teaches wherein the UE device is to autonomously adjust priority of information to be transmitted based, at least in part, on one or more packet statistics (Kuo – Paragraph [0060], note when the medium access control (MAC) service data units (SDUs) (such as URLLC packets, see Paragraph [0072]) from a LCH have failed in transmission due to resource collision of its transmission opportunity with other data or control consecutively for at least N>1 times, the UE may automatically modify the at least one LCP parameter and/or LCH mapping restrictions).
Regarding claim 4, Kuo teaches wherein the UE device is to autonomously adjust one or more bit rates to adjust priority of information to be transmitted (Kuo – Paragraph [0060], note autonomous LCP (logical channel prioritization) adaptation upon collision, the UE may automatically modify the at least one LCP parameter and/or LCH (logical channel) mapping restrictions; Paragraph [0063], note the parameters relating to LCP and LCH mapping restrictions may include Prioritized Bit Rate (PBR); Paragraph [0064], note the modifying 140 may include the UE temporarily increasing the prioritized bit rate (PBR) of this LCH).
Regarding claim 5, Kuo teaches wherein the UE device is to autonomously adjust one or more logical channel priority parameters based, at least in part, on a timer (Kuo – Fig. 1a; Paragraph [0066], note the modifying 140 may include starting a timer when the LCH is switched to a modified LCP setting, upon the timer expiration, the LCH may fall back to the original LCP setting (including both LCP parameters and LCH mapping restriction)).
Regarding claim 8, Kuo teaches a system (Kuo – Fig. 4b; Paragraph [0113], note apparatus 20 may include two or more processors that may form a multiprocessor system, the multiprocessor system may be tightly coupled or loosely coupled (e.g., to form a computer cluster)), comprising:
one or more processors to cause a user equipment (UE) device to autonomously adjust priority of information to be transmitted (Kuo – Fig. 1a, 4b; Paragraph [0060], note autonomous LCP (logical channel prioritization) adaptation upon collision, the UE may automatically modify the at least one LCP parameter and/or LCH (logical channel) mapping restrictions; Paragraph [0063], note the parameters relating to LCP and LCH mapping restrictions may include LCH priority, Prioritized Bit Rate (PBR), Bucket Size Duration (BSD), and LCH Mapping Restriction rule(s); Paragraph [0064], note as an example, if the traffic from a LCH has been delayed for a certain amount of time exceeding a threshold, then the modifying 140 may include the UE temporarily increasing the priority level of this LCH; Paragraph [0111], note apparatus 20 may be a UE (user equipment); Paragraph [0113], note apparatus 20 may include or be coupled to a processor 22 for processing information and executing instructions or operations).
Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 1 above, except the claim is written in a method claim format.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 3 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo in view of Kanamarlapudi et al. (US 2023/0379241 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kanamarlapudi.
Regarding claim 6, Kuo teaches wherein the UE device is to autonomously adjust one or more logical channel priority parameters based, at least in part, on a packet error (Kuo – Paragraph [0060], note when the medium access control (MAC) service data units (SDUs) (such as URLLC packets, see Paragraph [0072]) from a LCH have failed in transmission due to resource collision of its transmission opportunity with other data or control consecutively for at least N>1 times, the UE may automatically modify the at least one LCP parameter and/or LCH mapping restrictions).
Kuo does not teach adjusting one or more logical channel priority parameters based, at least in part, on a packet error rate.
In an analogous art, Kanamarlapudi teaches adjusting one or more logical channel priority parameters based, at least in part, on a packet error rate (Kanamarlapudi – Paragraph [0076], note QoS identifier (which may also be referred to as “5QI”) parameters may be configured by a network to provide a mapping of QoS flows to data radio bearers (DRBs), a set of 5QI parameters may be associated with an 5QI which may be a pointer to a set of QoS characteristics such as packet error rate, each DRB may be mapped to a logical channel with an associated priority to be able to transmit based on per logical channel prioritization (LCP) rules).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kanamarlapudi into Kuo in order to perform QoS rule matching to map packets from a flow to a DRB associated with LCP (Kanamarlapudi – Paragraph [0076]).
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 6 above.
Claims 7, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo in view of WIPO publication WO 2022/086984 A1, hereinafter referred to as Deenoo.
Regarding claim 7, Kuo teaches wherein the UE device is to autonomously adjust priority of information to be transmitted based, at least in part, by a prediction (Kuo – Paragraph [0065], note in some cases the UE may predict the resource collision based on knowledge relating to traffic patterns and uplink resource allocation, thus, the UE may also change the LCP parameters and/or LCH mapping restrictions of a LCH based on the prediction prior to actual occurrence of such collision).
Kuo does not teach adjusting priority of information to be transmitted based, at least in part, a neural network predicting one or more logical channel priority parameters.
In an analogous art, Deenoo teaches adjusting priority of information to be transmitted based, at least in part, a neural network predicting one or more logical channel priority parameters (Deenoo – Fig. 3; Paragraph [0139], note the AI filter 320 may include a neural network; Paragraph [0140], note the WTRU 102 may perform AI-based Logical Channel Prioritization (LCP) using the AI filter 320, and may generate the AI-processed packet data unit in accordance with the AI-based LCP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Deenoo into Kuo in order to utilize AI filters for LCP to dynamically track per-packet prioritization for one or more services as a function of changing radio conditions, data rates, jitter, latency, and/or contents of a PDU or the like (Deenoo – Paragraph [0119]).
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 7 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kang et al. (US 11,425,543 B2) discloses 5QI including packet error rate, and SLRB configuration information including logical channel priority.
Rao et al. (US 2019/0239112 A1) discloses UE autonomous resource selection and QoS handling including LCP.
Kung et al. (US 2021/0227465 A1) discloses a Tx UE performing autonomous resource selection and logical channel prioritization to select and/or determine a logical channel with a highest priority among logical channels with sidelink data available for transmission.
/BAILOR C HSU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461