Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and remarks, see pages 8 - 9, filed 07/01/2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 112 have been fully considered and are accepted. The 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection of 04/01/2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on all reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0022876 A1 to Akin et al. (hereinafter “Akin”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0245362 A1 to Lepage (hereinafter “Lepage”).
Regarding Claim 1, Akin teaches an engine inspection apparatus (see paragraphs [0001], [0003] – [0005] describing inspection using a robot inserted into an annular gap space in a generator, electric motor, or turbomachine etc.) comprising:
a remotely controlled inspection rover (see robotic crawler, 110, Fig. 1, see paragraph [0027]);
a rover deployment cart (see tether reel 130, Fig. 1, see paragraphs [0027], [0029] describing the tether reel 130 which can be an automated tether reel that may receive, release, and spool tether 132 to adjust tension as needed during operation of the robotic crawler 110); and
a stabilization tether (see tether 132, Fig. 1) having a first end attached to the inspection rover (see arrangement at Fig. 1 illustrating tether 132 being a cable connected to the robotic crawler 110 at one end, see paragraph [0027]) and a second end attached to the rover deployment cart (see arrangement at Fig. 1 illustrating the tether 132 connected to the tether reel at the other end, see paragraph [0027]).
Insofar as Akin may be construed as not explicitly stating the inspection apparatus as being an engine inspection apparatus, Akin teaches that the inspection apparatus can be inserted into an annular gap space in a generator, electric motor, or turbomachine etc. as described above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the inspection device in a variety of places including that of an engine, since Akin does teach the use of the inspection device in generators including the rotor and stator regions as well as turbomachines which include engines. Furthermore, Akin does not exclude use of the device in an engine, hence reading on the invention as claimed.
In addition, note that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the prior art structure of Akin is capable of being used in a variety of places including that of engine, hence it meets the claim.
Akin as modified above teaches the stabilization tether (132) configured to receive application of at least one of:
a tensioning force and a stiffening force (see paragraph [0027] which states “Tether reel 130 may be automated to adjust the tension and/or slack on tether 132 during operation of robotic crawler 110 within the annular gap, enabling robotic crawler 110 to navigate various navigation paths and perform inspection routines without a user manually managing the position of the tether” and paragraph [0029] stating “tether reel 130 is an automated tether reel that may receive, release, and spool tether 132 to adjust tension as needed during operation of robotic crawler 110. For example, tether reel 130 may include a servo motor 142 and tension management logic 144. For example, servo motor 142 operating in a torque/current control mode may detect changes in tension on tether 132 as it enters tether reel 130 and tension management logic 144 may provide an algorithm for maintaining an acceptable tension range using servo motor 142 to reel in or reel out tether 132 under closed loop control”, thus the tether 132 and the control unit 150 provides a tensioning force and a stiffening force during the inspection of the machine).
Even though Akin teaches the stabilization tether configured to receive application of at least one of a tensioning force and a stiffening force as described above, Akin is silent regarding the at least one of the tensioning force sufficient to prevent ingestion of the inspection rover by an engine while the engine is operating; and the stiffening force to prevent expulsion of the inspection rover by the engine while the engine is operating.
Lepage, in the field of mobile robot for inspecting a turbomachine, teaches the stabilization tether configured to receive application (see paragraph [0042] describing a motorized unwinder 50 positioned on the engine 30 and configured to unwind or wind the wired connection 40 based on control signals from the control module 21 of the monitoring unit 20, thus serving as the stabilization tether as claimed see Fig. 3, illustrating inspecting system 100 of an engine 30 using the mobile robot 10 inserted within the engine 30, and a wired connection 40 which interconnects the mobile robot 10 and the monitoring unit 20 as described at paragraph [0039]) of at least one of:
a tensioning force sufficient to prevent ingestion of the inspection rover by an engine while the engine is operating; and a stiffening force sufficient to prevent expulsion of the inspection rover by the engine while the engine is operating (see paragraph [0047] describing inspecting the blades of the rotors of the turbomachine by rotating the blades and the measuring device carried by the mobile robot inspecting the blades during the rotating steps as well as inspecting all the blades of the stator with the mobile robot and the mobile wheels bearing between the two blades and further states “Furthermore, during the rotation of the stator 220 and in case of use of a wired connection 40 (not present in the example illustrated), the monitoring unit 20 controls the unwinder 50 so as to unwind the connection in line with the rotation of the turbomachine 200, thus preventing any possible risk of motion of the mobile robot 10 and/or of jamming of the wired connection 40. The control of unwinding or winding of the wired connection 40 also comprises, as explained above, the management of its slack in order to prevent any tensile stress which might impact the movement of the mobile robot 10. The friction of the motorized wheels 13 on the surfaces of the blades also remains sufficient during the rotation of the rotors of the turbomachine to hold in place the robot between two blades. Furthermore, thanks to the guide system 17, the monitoring unit 20 can know at any time the position of the mobile robot 10 and can, depending on this position, authorize or prohibit the rotation of the rotors of the turbomachine 200 in order to prevent any improper handling by the operator. The possible risk of breakage of the mobile robot 10 is thus minimized”, see also paragraph [0049] stating “Advantageously, the low mass of the mobile robot 10 as well as the frictional forces of the motorized wheels 13 then allow said robot not to move despite the rotation of a rotor. The interior of an engine commonly includes blades that have large radii of curvature and twists. The mobile robot 10 described above advantageously allows, via tensioning the ball joints 12, adapting to the environment encountered without affecting its mobility”, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the stabilization tether and control mechanism of Lepage into Akin, in order to minimize possible damage to the mobile robot while inspecting interior of an engine.
Regarding Claim 2, Akin in view of Lepage as modified above teaches wherein the engine inspection apparatus is configured to:
apply the tensioning force to the stabilization tether when the inspection rover is deployed into an inlet of the engine; and apply the tensioning force to the stabilization tether when the inspection rover is deployed into an outlet of the engine (see modification above, see paragraph [0039] of Lepage describing the mobile robot being inserted into the engine 30 via an endoscopic hole 31, thus the hole 31 serves as the inlet or outlet of the engine as claimed, see Fig. 3 of Lepage, see also paragraphs [0042], [0047], [0049] of Lepage describing inspection of the blades of the engine and control of the unwinder/winder 50, hence reading on the invention as claimed)
Regarding Claim 3, Akin as modified above teaches wherein the stabilization tether (132 of Akin) comprises at least one of: a power link configured to provide power to the inspection rover; a data reception link configured to receive control commands for operating the inspection rover; a data transmission link configured to transmit inspection data from the inspection rover; a coolant send line configured to provide a cooling medium to the inspection rover; a coolant return line configured to receive a cooling medium from the inspection rover; and a purge supply line configured to introduce a purging medium into an engine (see paragraph [0027] of Akin which states “In some embodiments, tether 132 may provide a physical connection from robotic crawler 110 for a wired communication channel and/or a remote power source and/or pneumatic or hydraulic lines to support test systems or robotic operation”, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 4, Akin as modified above teaches wherein the inspection rover (robotic crawler 110, Fig. 1 of Akin) comprises:
a frame (see body frame such as an expandable body 112, Fig. 1, see paragraph [0028] of Akin);
a locomotion system disposed on the frame (see traction modules 114, 116, 118 of Akin arranged on frame 112 and which may be multi-directional traction modules capable of moving the robotic crawler 110 in multiple directions, see paragraph [0028] of Akin);
a stabilization locking mechanism (see tether connectors 124, 126, Fig. 1 of Akin which allows the frame 112 of crawler 110 to engage/lock to the component or surface being investigated, hence reading on the invention as claimed, see paragraph [0028] of Akin) configured to lock the frame (112) on to a component of an engine (see modification in claim 1 above); and
at least one inspection sensor extending from the frame (see sensor modules 120, 122 extending from the frame as illustrated at Fig. 1, see also paragraph [0028] of Akin).
Regarding Claim 5, Akin as modified above teaches wherein the at least one inspection sensor (120, 122 of Akin) is at least one of: a high-speed camera; an acoustical sensor; and a LIDAR (see paragraph [0028] of Akin stating the sensor modules being cameras, see also paragraph [0037] of Akin, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 6, Akin as modified above teaches an inspection sensor positioning arm (see arrangement at Fig. 1 of Akin illustrating attachment of the sensor modules 120, 122 to the frame 112 through structures of an arm, see paragraphs [0028], [0031] of Akin), disposed between the at least one inspection sensor and the frame (see arrangement at Fig. 1 of Akin), configured to position the at least one inspection sensor for performing an inspection operation (see paragraph [0031] of Akin which states “In some embodiments, a plurality of cameras with varying facings and/or positionable cameras may be present in one or more sensor modules and a visual inspection module may include selective activation and positioning of robotic crawler 110 and its various cameras”, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 7, Akin as modified above teaches wherein the rover deployment cart (tether reel 130, Fig. 1 of Akin) comprises:
a base (see the support region of tether reel 130 that supports the reel (cylindrical part) at Fig. 1 of Akin, in other words the frame that supports the real can be considered as the claimed base));
a locomotion system disposed on the base (see leg portion of the frame/base of Akin that supports the reel, which can be movable by sliding, hence reading on the invention as claimed); and
a rover deployment platform extending from the base, wherein the rover deployment platform is configured to deploy the inspection rover into an engine housing while the engine is operating (see the tether reel 130 that can be an automated tether reel that may receive, release, and spool tether 132 to adjust tension as needed during operation of the robotic crawler 110, see paragraph [0029] of Akin, see modification in claim 1 above, see also abstract and paragraphs [0006] – [0008], [0027] of Akin describing the robotic crawler used in in situ gap inspection of machines, see also paragraph [0047] of Lepage describing deploying the mobile rotor 10 during rotation of the rotors of the engine/turbomachine, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 8, Akin teaches a remotely controlled inspection rover (see robotic crawler, 110, Fig. 1, see paragraph [0027]) comprising:
a frame (see body frame such as an expandable body 112, Fig. 1, see paragraph [0028]);
a locomotion system disposed on the frame (see traction modules 114, 116, 118 arranged on frame 112 and which may be multi-directional traction modules capable of moving the robotic crawler 110 in multiple directions, see paragraph [0028]);
a high-speed camera (see sensor modules 120, 122 such as cameras extending from the frame as illustrated at Fig. 1, see also paragraphs [0028], [0031]) extending from the frame (112); and
a stabilization tether (see tether 132, Fig. 1) having a first end attached to the inspection rover (see arrangement at Fig. 1 illustrating tether 132 being a cable connected to the robotic crawler 110 at one end, see paragraph [0027]) and a second end configured to be attached to a support apparatus (see arrangement at Fig. 1 illustrating the tether 132 connected to the tether reel 130 at the other end which can be considered as the support apparatus as claimed, see paragraph [0027]).
Even though Akin teaches sensor modules such as cameras as described above, Akin is silent regarding the cameras being high-speed camera. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use high-speed camera, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). The modification allows capturing fast-moving events, hence improving overall efficiency of the system.
Akin as modified above teaches the stabilization tether (132) configured to receive application of at least one of:
a tensioning force and a stiffening force (see paragraph [0027] which states “Tether reel 130 may be automated to adjust the tension and/or slack on tether 132 during operation of robotic crawler 110 within the annular gap, enabling robotic crawler 110 to navigate various navigation paths and perform inspection routines without a user manually managing the position of the tether” and paragraph [0029] stating “tether reel 130 is an automated tether reel that may receive, release, and spool tether 132 to adjust tension as needed during operation of robotic crawler 110. For example, tether reel 130 may include a servo motor 142 and tension management logic 144. For example, servo motor 142 operating in a torque/current control mode may detect changes in tension on tether 132 as it enters tether reel 130 and tension management logic 144 may provide an algorithm for maintaining an acceptable tension range using servo motor 142 to reel in or reel out tether 132 under closed loop control”, thus the tether 132 and the control unit 150 provides a tensioning force and a stiffening force during the inspection of the machine).
Even though Akin teaches the stabilization tether configured to receive application of at least one of a tensioning force and a stiffening force as described above, Akin is silent regarding the at least one of the tensioning force sufficient to prevent ingestion of the inspection rover by an engine while the engine is operating; and the stiffening force to prevent expulsion of the inspection rover by the engine while the engine is operating.
Lepage, in the field of mobile robot for inspecting a turbomachine, teaches the stabilization tether configured to receive application (see paragraph [0042] describing a motorized unwinder 50 positioned on the engine 30 and configured to unwind or wind the wired connection 40 based on control signals from the control module 21 of the monitoring unit 20, thus serving as the stabilization tether as claimed see Fig. 3, illustrating inspecting system 100 of an engine 30 using the mobile robot 10 inserted within the engine 30, and a wired connection 40 which interconnects the mobile robot 10 and the monitoring unit 20 as described at paragraph [0039]) of at least one of:
a tensioning force sufficient to prevent ingestion of the inspection rover by an engine while the engine is operating; and a stiffening force sufficient to prevent expulsion of the inspection rover by the engine while the engine is operating (see paragraph [0047] describing inspecting the blades of the rotors of the turbomachine by rotating the blades and the measuring device carried by the mobile robot inspecting the blades during the rotating steps as well as inspecting all the blades of the stator with the mobile robot and the mobile wheels bearing between the two blades and further states “Furthermore, during the rotation of the stator 220 and in case of use of a wired connection 40 (not present in the example illustrated), the monitoring unit 20 controls the unwinder 50 so as to unwind the connection in line with the rotation of the turbomachine 200, thus preventing any possible risk of motion of the mobile robot 10 and/or of jamming of the wired connection 40. The control of unwinding or winding of the wired connection 40 also comprises, as explained above, the management of its slack in order to prevent any tensile stress which might impact the movement of the mobile robot 10. The friction of the motorized wheels 13 on the surfaces of the blades also remains sufficient during the rotation of the rotors of the turbomachine to hold in place the robot between two blades. Furthermore, thanks to the guide system 17, the monitoring unit 20 can know at any time the position of the mobile robot 10 and can, depending on this position, authorize or prohibit the rotation of the rotors of the turbomachine 200 in order to prevent any improper handling by the operator. The possible risk of breakage of the mobile robot 10 is thus minimized”, see also paragraph [0049] stating “Advantageously, the low mass of the mobile robot 10 as well as the frictional forces of the motorized wheels 13 then allow said robot not to move despite the rotation of a rotor. The interior of an engine commonly includes blades that have large radii of curvature and twists. The mobile robot 10 described above advantageously allows, via tensioning the ball joints 12, adapting to the environment encountered without affecting its mobility”, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the stabilization tether and control mechanism of Lepage into Akin, in order to minimize possible damage to the mobile robot while inspecting interior of an engine.
Regarding Claim 9, Akin in view of Lepage as modified above teaches wherein the support apparatus is a rover deployment cart (see arrangement at Fig. 1 of Akin illustrating the tether 132 connected to the tether reel 130 at the other end which can be considered as the claimed rover deployment cart since, see paragraph [0027] of Akin) configured to deploy the inspection rover (110) into an engine housing while the engine is operating (see abstract paragraphs [0001], [0003] – [0008], [0027] of Akin describing inspection using a robot inserted into an annular gap space in a generator, electric motor, or turbomachine etc. note that the robotic crawler is used in in situ gap inspection of machines, see also paragraph [0047] of Lepage describing deploying the mobile rotor 10 during rotation of the rotors of the engine/turbomachine, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 10, Akin in view of Lepage as modified above teaches a stabilization locking mechanism configured to lock the frame on to a component of an engine (see the wheels 13 of the mobile robot 10 that are arranged on the surfaces of the blades 221a, 221b and which “guarantees the adhesion of the robot to the blades during its movement” as described at paragraph [0046] of Lepage, thus providing locking mechanism as claimed); and
an inspection sensor positioning arm arranged between the high-speed camera and the frame configured to position the high-speed camera while performing an inspection operation (see paragraph [0028] of Akin describing attaching sensor modules 120, 122 via sensor interfaces on the forward and rear sides of middle traction module 116 and/or see paragraph [0036] and measuring device 14 of Lepage which can comprise a camera, see arrangement at Figs. 2, 4 – 5 of Lepage, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 11, Akin teaches a method of operating an engine inspection apparatus see paragraphs [0001], [0003] – [0005] describing inspection using a robot inserted into an annular gap space in a generator, electric motor, or turbomachine etc.) comprising:
deploying a remotely controlled inspection rover (see robotic crawler, 110, Fig. 1, see paragraph [0027]) from a rover deployment cart (see tether reel 130, Fig. 1, see paragraphs [0027], [0029] describing the tether reel 130 which can be an automated tether reel that may receive, release, and spool tether 132 to adjust tension as needed during operation of the robotic crawler 110) into an engine housing, while the engine is operating (see paragraphs [0001], [0003] – [0005] describing inspection using a robot inserted into an annular gap space in a generator, electric motor, or turbomachine etc., see also abstract and paragraphs [0006] – [0008], [0027] describing the robotic crawler used in in situ gap inspection of machines);
maintaining force on a stabilization tether (see tether reel 130, Fig. 1, see paragraphs [0027], [0029] describing the tether reel 130 which can be an automated tether reel that may receive, release, and spool tether 132 to adjust tension as needed during operation of the robotic crawler 110) disposed between the inspection rover (110) and the rover deployment cart (130) while the inspection rover is deployed in the engine housing (see [0001], [0003] – [0008] describing inspection using a robot inserted into an annular gap space in a generator, electric motor, or turbomachine etc.); and
performing an inspection operation with the inspection rover (110) on a component of the engine, via an inspection sensor, while the engine is operating (see sensor modules 120, 122 extending from the frame as illustrated at Fig. 1, see also paragraph [0028], see also abstract and paragraphs [0003] – [0008] describing inspection using a robot inserted into an annular gap space in a generator, electric motor, or turbomachine etc. and inspection being in in situ gap inspection, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Insofar as Akin may be construed as not explicitly stating the method of operating the inspection apparatus as being on an engine inspection apparatus and the operating being while the engine is operating, Akin teaches that the inspection apparatus and a method for an end region inspection using an in situ gap inspection robot which can be inserted into an annular gap space in a generator, electric motor, or turbomachine etc. as described above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the inspection device in a variety of places including that of an engine, since Akin does teach the use of the inspection device in generators including the rotor and stator regions as well as turbomachines which include engines. Furthermore, Akin does not exclude use of the device in an engine as well as use of the device while operating the turbomachines or generators, hence depending on user’s desire, one of ordinary skill in the art can use the inspection device as per user’s need including that of an operating engine, hence reading on the invention as claimed.
Akin as modified above teaches the stabilization tether (132) configured to receive application of at least one of:
a tensioning force and a stiffening force (see paragraph [0027] which states “Tether reel 130 may be automated to adjust the tension and/or slack on tether 132 during operation of robotic crawler 110 within the annular gap, enabling robotic crawler 110 to navigate various navigation paths and perform inspection routines without a user manually managing the position of the tether” and paragraph [0029] stating “tether reel 130 is an automated tether reel that may receive, release, and spool tether 132 to adjust tension as needed during operation of robotic crawler 110. For example, tether reel 130 may include a servo motor 142 and tension management logic 144. For example, servo motor 142 operating in a torque/current control mode may detect changes in tension on tether 132 as it enters tether reel 130 and tension management logic 144 may provide an algorithm for maintaining an acceptable tension range using servo motor 142 to reel in or reel out tether 132 under closed loop control”, thus the tether 132 and the control unit 150 provides a tensioning force and a stiffening force during the inspection of the machine).
Even though Akin teaches the stabilization tether configured to receive application of at least one of a tensioning force and a stiffening force as described above, Akin is silent regarding the at least one of the tensioning force sufficient to prevent ingestion of the inspection rover by an engine while the engine is operating; and the stiffening force to prevent expulsion of the inspection rover by the engine while the engine is operating.
Lepage, in the field of mobile robot for inspecting a turbomachine, teaches the stabilization tether configured to receive application (see paragraph [0042] describing a motorized unwinder 50 positioned on the engine 30 and configured to unwind or wind the wired connection 40 based on control signals from the control module 21 of the monitoring unit 20, thus serving as the stabilization tether as claimed see Fig. 3, illustrating inspecting system 100 of an engine 30 using the mobile robot 10 inserted within the engine 30, and a wired connection 40 which interconnects the mobile robot 10 and the monitoring unit 20 as described at paragraph [0039]) of at least one of:
a tensioning force sufficient to prevent ingestion of the inspection rover by an engine while the engine is operating; and a stiffening force sufficient to prevent expulsion of the inspection rover by the engine while the engine is operating (see paragraph [0047] describing inspecting the blades of the rotors of the turbomachine by rotating the blades and the measuring device carried by the mobile robot inspecting the blades during the rotating steps as well as inspecting all the blades of the stator with the mobile robot and the mobile wheels bearing between the two blades and further states “Furthermore, during the rotation of the stator 220 and in case of use of a wired connection 40 (not present in the example illustrated), the monitoring unit 20 controls the unwinder 50 so as to unwind the connection in line with the rotation of the turbomachine 200, thus preventing any possible risk of motion of the mobile robot 10 and/or of jamming of the wired connection 40. The control of unwinding or winding of the wired connection 40 also comprises, as explained above, the management of its slack in order to prevent any tensile stress which might impact the movement of the mobile robot 10. The friction of the motorized wheels 13 on the surfaces of the blades also remains sufficient during the rotation of the rotors of the turbomachine to hold in place the robot between two blades. Furthermore, thanks to the guide system 17, the monitoring unit 20 can know at any time the position of the mobile robot 10 and can, depending on this position, authorize or prohibit the rotation of the rotors of the turbomachine 200 in order to prevent any improper handling by the operator. The possible risk of breakage of the mobile robot 10 is thus minimized”, see also paragraph [0049] stating “Advantageously, the low mass of the mobile robot 10 as well as the frictional forces of the motorized wheels 13 then allow said robot not to move despite the rotation of a rotor. The interior of an engine commonly includes blades that have large radii of curvature and twists. The mobile robot 10 described above advantageously allows, via tensioning the ball joints 12, adapting to the environment encountered without affecting its mobility”, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the stabilization tether and control mechanism of Lepage into Akin, in order to minimize possible damage to the mobile robot while inspecting interior of an engine.
Regarding Claim 12, Akin as modified above teaches wherein inspecting the component of the engine comprises at least one of: performing high speed photography of the component while the component is in motion; performing an acoustical analysis of the component while the component is in motion; and performing a LIDAR analysis of the component while the component is in motion (see paragraph [0028] of Akin stating the sensor modules being cameras, see also paragraph [0037] of Akin, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 13, Akin in view of Lepage as modified above teaches wherein the component comprises a plurality of fan blades (see plurality of blades at Figs. 4, 5 and described at paragraphs [0044] - [0047] of Lepage, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 14, Akin in view of Lepage as modified above teaches wherein the inspection rover is deployed into an inlet of the engine housing (see modification above, see paragraph [0039] of Lepage stating “a system for inspecting 100 an engine 30 using the mobile robot 10. The mobile robot has here been inserted into the engine 30 via an endoscopic hole 31”, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 15, Akin in view of Lepage as modified above teaches wherein the inspection rover is deployed into an exhaust of the engine housing (see modification above, see paragraph [0039] of Lepage describing the mobile robot being inserted into the engine 30 via an endoscopic hole 31, thus the hole 31 serves as the inlet or outlet of the engine as claimed, see Fig. 3 of Lepage and/or see paragraphs [0027], [0029] of Akin describing the tether 132 which provides a physical connection of the robotic crawler 110 to support test systems or robotic operation. See also paragraph [0029] of Akin which states “tether reel 130 is an automated tether reel that may receive, release, and spool tether 132 to adjust tension as needed during operation of robotic crawler 110. For example, tether reel 130 may include a servo motor 142 and tension management logic 144. For example, servo motor 142 operating in a torque/current control mode may detect changes in tension on tether 132 as it enters tether reel 130 and tension management logic 144 may provide an algorithm for maintaining an acceptable tension range using servo motor 142 to reel in or reel out tether 132 under closed loop control”, see also abstract and paragraphs [0006] – [0008], [0027] of Akin describing the robotic crawler used in in situ gap inspection of machines, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 16, Akin as modified above teaches further comprising regulating a temperature of the inspection rover via a cooling medium transported by the stabilization tether (see paragraph [0033] of Akin describing “additional features or obstacles may reduce annular gap width 228, such entrance baffles used to direct cooling air flow, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 17, Akin in view of Lepage as modified above teaches locking the inspection rover to a component comprised by the engine prior to performing the inspection operation (see the wheels 13 of the mobile robot 10 of Lepage that are arranged on the surfaces of the blades 221a, 221b and which “guarantees the adhesion of the robot to the blades during its movement” as described at paragraph [0046] of Lepage, thus providing locking mechanism as claimed).
Regarding Claim 18, Akin in view of Lepage as modified above teaches positioning the inspection sensor via an inspection sensor positioning arm prior to performing the inspection operation (see paragraph [0028] of Akin describing attaching sensor modules 120, 122 via sensor interfaces on the forward and rear sides of middle traction module 116 and/or see paragraph [0036] and measuring device 14 of Lepage which can comprise a camera, see arrangement at Figs. 2, 4 – 5 of Lepage, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 19, Akin as modified above teaches further wherein the inspection rover (110 of Akin) is remotely controlled by receiving operation commands via the stabilization tether (see arrangement at Fig. 1 of Akin, which includes the control unit 150, see paragraph [0027] of Akin which states “Control unit 150 may be in communication with robotic crawler 110 to provide control signals to robotic crawler 110 and receive sensor, navigation, and/or other operational data from robotic crawler 110. In some embodiments, control unit 150 may be electrically connected to tether 132 directly or through tether reel 130 and the electrical connection may include one or both of a power channel and a communication channel. Control unit 150 may provide a user interface for a user to monitor, evaluate, supplement, and/or control robotic crawler 110 during an inspection deployment within the annular gap of the machine”, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 20, Akin as modified above teaches transmitting inspection data related to the inspection operation from the inspection rover, wherein the inspection data is transmitted via the stabilization tether (see paragraph [0027] of Akin which states “Control unit 150 may be in communication with robotic crawler 110 to provide control signals to robotic crawler 110 and receive sensor, navigation, and/or other operational data from robotic crawler 110. In some embodiments, control unit 150 may be electrically connected to tether 132 directly or through tether reel 130 and the electrical connection may include one or both of a power channel and a communication channel. Control unit 150 may provide a user interface for a user to monitor, evaluate, supplement, and/or control robotic crawler 110 during an inspection deployment within the annular gap of the machine”, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form accompanying this office action which includes the following relevant prior art:
Yi, Huan et al. (CN 114486266 A) teaches a space heat-proof structure for aviation engine outdoor posture test vehicle, comprising a test carriage frame and a pair of flame guide protection plates; the test carriage is set on the flat open ground, comprising a movable transverse frame and a pair of upright posts, a pair of upright posts are vertically set on the ground. The invention can avoid the aircraft engine tail flame reverse influence engine suction characteristic, and solves the air engine high temperature tail flame discharge outdoor posture test platform space heat-proof problem.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARRIT EYASSU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855