Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 8, 10, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claims 5, 8, 10 and 12, the term “high-speed” in claims 5, 8, 10 and 12 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “high speed” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Due to claim dependency, claims 9 – 10 are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 9, 11, 12, 14 – 16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0022876 A1 to Akin et al. (hereinafter “Akin”).
Regarding Claim 1, Akin teaches an engine inspection apparatus (see paragraphs [0001], [0003] – [0005] describing inspection using a robot inserted into an annular gap space in a generator, electric motor, or turbomachine etc.) comprising:
a remotely controlled inspection rover (see robotic crawler, 110, Fig. 1, see paragraph [0027]);
a rover deployment cart (see tether reel 130, Fig. 1, see paragraphs [0027], [0029] describing the tether reel 130 which can be an automated tether reel that may receive, release, and spool tether 132 to adjust tension as needed during operation of the robotic crawler 110); and
a stabilization tether (see tether 132, Fig. 1) having a first end attached to the inspection rover (see arrangement at Fig. 1 illustrating tether 132 being a cable connected to the robotic crawler 110 at one end, see paragraph [0027]) and a second end attached to the rover deployment cart (see arrangement at Fig. 1 illustrating the tether 132 connected to the tether reel at the other end, see paragraph [0027]).
Insofar as Akin may be construed as not explicitly stating the inspection apparatus as being an engine inspection apparatus, Akin teaches that the inspection apparatus can be inserted into an annular gap space in a generator, electric motor, or turbomachine etc. as described above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the inspection device in a variety of places including that of an engine, since Akin does teach the use of the inspection device in generators including the rotor and stator regions as well as turbomachines which include engines. Furthermore, Akin does not exclude use of the device in an engine, hence reading on the invention as claimed.
In addition, note that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the prior art structure of Akin is capable of being used in a variety of places including that of engine, hence it meets the claim.
Regarding Claim 2, Akin as modified above teaches wherein the stabilization tether (132) is configured to prevent at least one of: ingestion of the inspection rover by an engine while the engine is operating; and expulsion of the inspection rover by the engine while the engine is operating (see paragraphs [0027], [0029] describing the tether 132 which provides a physical connection of the robotic crawler 110 to support test systems or robotic operation. See also paragraph [0029] which states “tether reel 130 is an automated tether reel that may receive, release, and spool tether 132 to adjust tension as needed during operation of robotic crawler 110. For example, tether reel 130 may include a servo motor 142 and tension management logic 144. For example, servo motor 142 operating in a torque/current control mode may detect changes in tension on tether 132 as it enters tether reel 130 and tension management logic 144 may provide an algorithm for maintaining an acceptable tension range using servo motor 142 to reel in or reel out tether 132 under closed loop control”, see also abstract and paragraphs [0006] – [0008], [0027] describing the robotic crawler used in in situ gap inspection of machines, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 3, Akin as modified above teaches wherein the stabilization tether (132) comprises at least one of: a power link configured to provide power to the inspection rover; a data reception link configured to receive control commands for operating the inspection rover; a data transmission link configured to transmit inspection data from the inspection rover; a coolant send line configured to provide a cooling medium to the inspection rover; a coolant return line configured to receive a cooling medium from the inspection rover; and a purge supply line configured to introduce a purging medium into an engine (see paragraph [0027] which states “In some embodiments, tether 132 may provide a physical connection from robotic crawler 110 for a wired communication channel and/or a remote power source and/or pneumatic or hydraulic lines to support test systems or robotic operation”, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 4, Akin as modified above teaches wherein the inspection rover (robotic crawler 110, Fig. 1) comprises:
a frame (see body frame such as an expandable body 112, Fig. 1, see paragraph [0028]);
a locomotion system disposed on the frame (see traction modules 114, 116, 118 arranged on frame 112 and which may be multi-directional traction modules capable of moving the robotic crawler 110 in multiple directions, see paragraph [0028]);
a stabilization locking mechanism (see tether connectors 124, 126, Fig. 1 which allows the frame 112 of crawler 110 to engage/lock to the component or surface being investigated, hence reading on the invention as claimed, see paragraph [0028]) configured to lock the frame (112) on to a component of an engine (see modification in claim 1 above); and
at least one inspection sensor extending from the frame (see sensor modules 120, 122 extending from the frame as illustrated at Fig. 1, see also paragraph [0028]).
Regarding Claim 5, Akin as modified above teaches wherein the at least one inspection sensor (120, 122) is at least one of: a high-speed camera; an acoustical sensor; and a LIDAR (see paragraph [0028] stating the sensor modules being cameras, see also paragraph [0037], hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 6, Akin as modified above teaches an inspection sensor positioning arm (see arrangement at Fig. 1 illustrating attachment of the sensor modules 120, 122 to the frame 112 through structures of an arm, see paragraphs [0028], [0031]), disposed between the at least one inspection sensor and the frame (see arrangement at Fig. 1), configured to position the at least one inspection sensor for performing an inspection operation (see paragraph [0031] which states “In some embodiments, a plurality of cameras with varying facings and/or positionable cameras may be present in one or more sensor modules and a visual inspection module may include selective activation and positioning of robotic crawler 110 and its various cameras”, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 7, Akin as modified above teaches wherein the rover deployment cart (tether reel 130, Fig. 1) comprises:
a base (see the support region of tether reel 130 that supports the reel (cylindrical part) at Fig. 1, in other words the frame that supports the real can be considered as the claimed base));
a locomotion system disposed on the base (see leg portion of the frame/base that supports the reel, which can be movable by sliding, hence reading on the invention as claimed); and
a rover deployment platform extending from the base, wherein the rover deployment platform is configured to deploy the inspection rover into an engine housing while the engine is operating (see the tether reel 130 that can be an automated tether reel that may receive, release, and spool tether 132 to adjust tension as needed during operation of the robotic crawler 110, see paragraph [0029], see modification in claim 1 above, see also abstract and paragraphs [0006] – [0008], [0027] describing the robotic crawler used in in situ gap inspection of machines, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 8, Akin teaches a remotely controlled inspection rover (see robotic crawler, 110, Fig. 1, see paragraph [0027]) comprising:
a frame (see body frame such as an expandable body 112, Fig. 1, see paragraph [0028]);
a locomotion system disposed on the frame (see traction modules 114, 116, 118 arranged on frame 112 and which may be multi-directional traction modules capable of moving the robotic crawler 110 in multiple directions, see paragraph [0028]);
a high-speed camera (see sensor modules 120, 122 such as cameras extending from the frame as illustrated at Fig. 1, see also paragraphs [0028], [0031]) extending from the frame (112); and
a stabilization tether (see tether 132, Fig. 1) having a first end attached to the inspection rover (see arrangement at Fig. 1 illustrating tether 132 being a cable connected to the robotic crawler 110 at one end, see paragraph [0027]) and a second end configured to be attached to a support apparatus (see arrangement at Fig. 1 illustrating the tether 132 connected to the tether reel 130 at the other end which can be considered as the support apparatus as claimed, see paragraph [0027]).
Even though Akin teaches sensor modules such as cameras as described above, Akin is silent regarding the cameras being high-speed camera. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use high-speed camera, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). The modification allows capturing fast-moving events, hence improving overall efficiency of the system.
Regarding Claim 9, Akin as modified above teaches wherein the support apparatus is a rover deployment cart (see arrangement at Fig. 1 illustrating the tether 132 connected to the tether reel 130 at the other end which can be considered as the claimed rover deployment cart since, see paragraph [0027]) configured to deploy the inspection rover (110) into an engine housing while the engine is operating (see abstract paragraphs [0001], [0003] – [0008], [0027] describing inspection using a robot inserted into an annular gap space in a generator, electric motor, or turbomachine etc. note that the robotic crawler is used in in situ gap inspection of machines, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Insofar as Akin may be construed as not explicitly stating the inspection apparatus as being an engine inspection apparatus, Akin teaches that the inspection apparatus can be inserted into an annular gap space in a generator, electric motor, or turbomachine etc. as described above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the inspection device in a variety of places including that of an engine, since Akin does teach the use of the inspection device in generators including the rotor and stator regions as well as turbomachines which include engines. Furthermore, Akin does not exclude use of the device in an engine, hence reading on the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 11, Akin teaches a method of operating an engine inspection apparatus see paragraphs [0001], [0003] – [0005] describing inspection using a robot inserted into an annular gap space in a generator, electric motor, or turbomachine etc.) comprising:
deploying a remotely controlled inspection rover (see robotic crawler, 110, Fig. 1, see paragraph [0027]) from a rover deployment cart (see tether reel 130, Fig. 1, see paragraphs [0027], [0029] describing the tether reel 130 which can be an automated tether reel that may receive, release, and spool tether 132 to adjust tension as needed during operation of the robotic crawler 110) into an engine housing, while the engine is operating (see paragraphs [0001], [0003] – [0005] describing inspection using a robot inserted into an annular gap space in a generator, electric motor, or turbomachine etc., see also abstract and paragraphs [0006] – [0008], [0027] describing the robotic crawler used in in situ gap inspection of machines);
maintaining force on a stabilization tether (see tether reel 130, Fig. 1, see paragraphs [0027], [0029] describing the tether reel 130 which can be an automated tether reel that may receive, release, and spool tether 132 to adjust tension as needed during operation of the robotic crawler 110) disposed between the inspection rover (110) and the rover deployment cart (130) while the inspection rover is deployed in the engine housing (see [0001], [0003] – [0008] describing inspection using a robot inserted into an annular gap space in a generator, electric motor, or turbomachine etc.); and
performing an inspection operation with the inspection rover (110) on a component of the engine, via an inspection sensor, while the engine is operating (see sensor modules 120, 122 extending from the frame as illustrated at Fig. 1, see also paragraph [0028], see also abstract and paragraphs [0003] – [0008] describing inspection using a robot inserted into an annular gap space in a generator, electric motor, or turbomachine etc. and inspection being in in situ gap inspection, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Insofar as Akin may be construed as not explicitly stating the method of operating the inspection apparatus as being on an engine inspection apparatus and the operating being while the engine is operating, Akin teaches that the inspection apparatus and a method for an end region inspection using an in situ gap inspection robot which can be inserted into an annular gap space in a generator, electric motor, or turbomachine etc. as described above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the inspection device in a variety of places including that of an engine, since Akin does teach the use of the inspection device in generators including the rotor and stator regions as well as turbomachines which include engines. Furthermore, Akin does not exclude use of the device in an engine as well as use of the device while operating the turbomachines or generators, hence depending on user’s desire, one of ordinary skill in the art can use the inspection device as per user’s need including that of an operating engine, hence reading on the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 12, Akin as modified above teaches wherein inspecting the component of the engine comprises at least one of: performing high speed photography of the component while the component is in motion; performing an acoustical analysis of the component while the component is in motion; and performing a LIDAR analysis of the component while the component is in motion (see paragraph [0028] stating the sensor modules being cameras, see also paragraph [0037], hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 14, Akin as modified above teaches wherein the inspection rover is deployed into an inlet of the engine housing, and maintaining force on the stabilization tether prevents the engine from ingesting the inspection rover (see modification above, see paragraphs [0027], [0029] describing the tether 132 which provides a physical connection of the robotic crawler 110 to support test systems or robotic operation. See also paragraph [0029] which states “tether reel 130 is an automated tether reel that may receive, release, and spool tether 132 to adjust tension as needed during operation of robotic crawler 110. For example, tether reel 130 may include a servo motor 142 and tension management logic 144. For example, servo motor 142 operating in a torque/current control mode may detect changes in tension on tether 132 as it enters tether reel 130 and tension management logic 144 may provide an algorithm for maintaining an acceptable tension range using servo motor 142 to reel in or reel out tether 132 under closed loop control”, see also abstract and paragraphs [0006] – [0008], [0027] describing the robotic crawler used in in situ gap inspection of machines, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 15, Akin as modified above teaches wherein the inspection rover is deployed into an exhaust of the engine housing, and maintaining force on the stabilization tether prevents the engine from expelling the inspection rover (see modification above, see paragraphs [0027], [0029] describing the tether 132 which provides a physical connection of the robotic crawler 110 to support test systems or robotic operation. See also paragraph [0029] which states “tether reel 130 is an automated tether reel that may receive, release, and spool tether 132 to adjust tension as needed during operation of robotic crawler 110. For example, tether reel 130 may include a servo motor 142 and tension management logic 144. For example, servo motor 142 operating in a torque/current control mode may detect changes in tension on tether 132 as it enters tether reel 130 and tension management logic 144 may provide an algorithm for maintaining an acceptable tension range using servo motor 142 to reel in or reel out tether 132 under closed loop control”, see also abstract and paragraphs [0006] – [0008], [0027] describing the robotic crawler used in in situ gap inspection of machines, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 16, Akin as modified above teaches further comprising regulating a temperature of the inspection rover via a cooling medium transported by the stabilization tether (see paragraph [0033] describing “additional features or obstacles may reduce annular gap width 228, such entrance baffles used to direct cooling air flow, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 19, Akin as modified above teaches further wherein the inspection rover (110) is remotely controlled by receiving operation commands via the stabilization tether (see arrangement at Fig. 1, which includes the control unit 150, see paragraph [0027] which states “Control unit 150 may be in communication with robotic crawler 110 to provide control signals to robotic crawler 110 and receive sensor, navigation, and/or other operational data from robotic crawler 110. In some embodiments, control unit 150 may be electrically connected to tether 132 directly or through tether reel 130 and the electrical connection may include one or both of a power channel and a communication channel. Control unit 150 may provide a user interface for a user to monitor, evaluate, supplement, and/or control robotic crawler 110 during an inspection deployment within the annular gap of the machine”, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 20, Akin as modified above teaches transmitting inspection data related to the inspection operation from the inspection rover, wherein the inspection data is transmitted via the stabilization tether (see paragraph [0027] which states “Control unit 150 may be in communication with robotic crawler 110 to provide control signals to robotic crawler 110 and receive sensor, navigation, and/or other operational data from robotic crawler 110. In some embodiments, control unit 150 may be electrically connected to tether 132 directly or through tether reel 130 and the electrical connection may include one or both of a power channel and a communication channel. Control unit 150 may provide a user interface for a user to monitor, evaluate, supplement, and/or control robotic crawler 110 during an inspection deployment within the annular gap of the machine”, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Claim(s) 10, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akin in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0318242 A1 to Jacobsen et al. (hereinafter “Jacobsen”).
Regarding Claims 10, 17 and 18, Akin as modified above teaches the claimed invention except for a stabilization locking mechanism configured to lock the frame on to a component of an engine.
Jacobsen, in the field of method and system for surveillance using mobile robotic devices, teaches a stabilization locking mechanism configured to lock the frame on to a component of an engine (see articulating arms 18a-18d and/or an active actuated linkage arm 30 that are used to couple/lock the mobile robotic device 10 having a frame 12 to a structure being inspected, see paragraphs [0031] – [0038], see Figs. 1 – 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the coupling or locking mechanism of Jacobsen into Akin, in order to provide controllable coupling of the robotic device on the surface being examined. The modification allows for flexibility of the inspection device to be used on a variety of surfaces.
Akin in view of Jacobsen as modified above further teaches;
an inspection sensor positioning arm arranged between the high-speed camera and the frame configured to position the high-speed camera while performing an inspection operation (see paragraph [0028] of Akin describing attaching sensor modules 120, 122 via sensor interfaces on the forward and rear sides of middle traction module 116, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akin in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0283821 A1 to Georgeson et al. (hereinafter “Georgeson”).
Regarding Claim 13, Akin teaches the claimed invention except for wherein the component comprises a plurality of fan blades.
Georgeson, in the field of an automated apparatus and method for performing inspection on wind turbine blades or other structures, teaches wherein the component comprises a plurality of fan blades (see turbine blade 108 being inspected by the automated apparatus 80 including a cart 18 as illustrated at Fig. 2 and described at paragraphs [0038] – [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a component comprising a plurality of fan blades of Georgeson into Akin, in order to efficiently and accurately inspect a component such as a blade. See additional advantages at paragraph [0007] of Georgeson.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form accompanying this office action which includes the following relevant arts:
Tralshawala et al. (U.S. 2014/0067185 A1) teaches in-situ robotic inspection of components within an assembled turbomachines.
Sahni et al. (U.S. 2020/0362827 A1) teaches automated wind turbine servicing system that includes a rover, and uses an active electro-mechanical gripping roller system to attach to the horizontally positioned airfoil and navigate along it in order to clean, inspect, service (paint, remove material or repair), or otherwise maintain the wind turbine airfoil.
Danko et al. (U.S. 11,408,401 B2) teaches a robotic fan crawler includes one or more fans to adhere the robotic fan crawler to the surface of the wind turbine, one or more driving components to drive the robotic fan crawler along the surface of the wind turbine, one or more omnidirectional cameras and one or more steering components. The one or more omnidirectional cameras are operable to capture images of the surface from multiple perspectives during an inspection activity and data collection period.
Sorenson (U.S. 2003/0043964 A1) teaches an inspection method for inspecting a structure and identifying particularities, such as defects, in the structure. The inspection method includes: positioning two inspection devices at a pre-determined distance from each other, one of the inspection devices inside of the structure and the other inspection device outside of the structure, wherein the two inspection devices comprise a detector inspection device and a source inspection device; collecting data, such as images, of a portion of the structure located between the source and the detector; moving the inspection devices on the inside and the outside of subsequent portions of the structure to be inspected while maintaining an approximate distance between the inspection devices without reliance on a physical or optical link between the inspection devices; and collecting data of the additional portions of the structure located between the inspection devices.
/MARRIT EYASSU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855