DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The claims will be read under the broadest reasonable interpretation standard outlined in
MPEP § 2111.01.
In line with paragraph 73 of the claimed invention’s specification, the examiner interprets “geometry features” as recited by claim 3 to include sizes and locations of bounding boxes.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “3D objection detection model” should read “3D object detection model”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hung et. al “SoDA: Multi-Object Tracking with Soft Data Association” (Hereinafter, “Hung”, cited by Applicant).
As to claim 1, Hung discloses a method comprising:
receiving, at a current time step, a set of new object detections, each new object detection being data characterizing features of a respective object that has been detected in an environment at the current time step ([3.1]):
maintaining data that identifies one or more object tracks ([3.2]):
for each object track, selecting a subset of the new object detections as candidate object detections for the object track ([3.2]; [1]):
for each object track, processing an input derived from the candidate object detections for the object track and a track query feature representation for the object track using a track-detection interaction neural network to generate a respective association score for each candidate object detection; and ([3]; [A]):
determining, for each of the one or more object tracks, whether to associate any of the new object detections with the object track based on the respective association scores for the candidate object detections for the object tracks ([3]):
As to claim 3, Hung discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the features comprise geometry and appearance features of the respective object ([B]; [3.1]);
As to claim 4, Hung discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining, for each of the one or more object tracks, whether to associate any of the new object detections with the object track based on the respective association scores for the candidate object detections for the object tracks comprises:
applying a Hungarian algorithm to the respective association scores for the candidate object detections for the object tracks to assign each new object detection to one of the object tracks or to a new object track ([3.2]; [3.3]):
As to claim 5, Hung discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising:
in response to determining to assign a given new object detection to a new object track, adding the new object track to the maintained data ([3.3]; [3.2]):
As to claim 6, Hung discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
processing each new object detection using a detection encoder to generate an embedding of the new object detection ([3.1]):
As to claim 7, Hung discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the input derived from the candidate object detections for the object track and the track query feature representation for the object track comprises the embeddings of the candidate object detections for the object track and the track query feature representation for the object track (Fig. 6; [3]):
(As stated in paragraph 56 of the claimed invention’s specification, track query representation includes a numerical representation of the object’s position).
As to claim 8, Hung further discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising:
generating a new query feature for each object track by processing an input comprising respective embeddings of detections that have been associated with the object track using a temporal fusion neural network ([2]; [1]; [3]; Fig. 3; Fig. 6):
As to claim 9, Hung discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
processing the feature representation of each object track using a track state decoder neural network to generate a predicted state of the object track at the current time point ([3.1];
[3.2]; Fig. 3):
(This claim is read in line with paragraph 61 of the claimed invention’s specification, which states that a state decoder can be a feed forward neural network trained by optimizing a prediction loss for the initial state predictions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung in view of Caesar et. al “nuScenes: A multimodal dataset for autonomous driving (Hereinafter, “Caesar”, cited by Applicant).
With respect to claim 2, Hung teaches the method of claim 1 upon which claim 2 depends, Hung does not explicitly teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a laser sensor spin at the current time step; and applying a 3d objection detection model to the laser sensor spin to generate the set of one or more new object detections.
However, Caesar, in the same field of endeavor of object detection in autonomous vehicles, teaches the same ([2.1]; [3]; [4.1]):
(Bottom: PointPillars model as incorporated by Caesar).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hung to include the elements of lidar and 3d object detection modeling of Caesar. The motivation for doing so would be to implement a means to collect data in real-time, and construct a 3d model of surrounding objects in space for further analysis. Lidar and 3d object detection modeling is readily integrable into the system of Hung with predictable success, as Hung requires an undisclosed source of input data for its analysis.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung in view of Sun et. al “TransTrack: Multiple Object Tracking with Transformer” (Hereinafter, “Sun”, cited by Applicant).
With respect to claim 10, Hung teaches the elements of claims 1 and 9 upon which claim 10 depends.
It is the examiner’s position that Hung further discloses the additional elements of claim 10 as well: the method of claim 9, further comprising:
for each object track, using the predicted state of the object track to select the candidate detections for the object track ([3.1]):
Notwithstanding the above, Sun, in the same field endeavor of object tracking, also teaches the further limitation of claim 10 ([3.1]):
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hung to include the elements of object prediction as taught by Sun. Such a combination would allow for predictive updating of the detection boxes using information already collected by Hung, for the advantage of better stabilizing outputted results across frames. Like Hung, Sun also features a similar system of detection boxing and encoding/decoding, further facilitating the transfer of teachings.
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung in view of Narayanan et. al (US 20200086879 A1) (Hereinafter, “Narayanan”).
With respect to claim 11, it is functionally identical to claim 1, with the exception that the method is claimed “as a system comprising:
one or more computers; and
one or more storage devices storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more computers, cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising:”
These limitations are not expressly taught by Hung. However, Narayanan, in the same field of endeavor of object detection and autonomous driving, provides for the same ([181]; [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hung to include the elements of computer implementation as taught by Narayanan. While not explicitly disclosed, Hung implies that a computer is used for the implementation of its methods ([4.1.1]):
A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that computers and code are capable of performing the method of Hung, and would be motivated to combine Hung with Narayanan for increased execution efficiency.
With respect to claims 12-19, they are functionally identical to claims 2-9, with the exception of the underlying computer system of claim 11 (by which they depend). For the reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 11, it would have been obvious to combine Narayanan with Hung. The additional limitations do not dissuade from such a combination.
With respect to claim 20, it is functionally identical to claim 1, with the exception that the method is claimed as “one or more computer-readable storage media storing instructions that when executed by one or more computers cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising:”
These limitations are not expressly taught by Hung. However, Narayanan, in the same field of endeavor of object detection and autonomous driving, provides for the same ([0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hung to include the elements of code taught by Naranayan. While not explicitly disclosed, Hung implies that a computer and code is used for the implementation of its methods ([4.1.1]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that computers and code are capable of performing the method of Hung, and would be motivated to combine Hung with Narayanan for increased execution efficiency.
Additional References
Additionally cited references (see attached PTO-892) otherwise not relied upon above have been made of record in view of the manner in which they evidence the general state of the art.
Inquiry
/NOAH W BOYAR/Examiner, Art Unit 2669
/CHAN S PARK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2669