DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (KR 20060078948 A) in view of Chen (CN 115274507 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Cho teaches:
A substrate processing apparatus comprising:
a load lock chamber (1) comprising:
an opening (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3) through which a substrate (2) among a plurality of substrates (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3) is capable of being loaded into or unloaded from the load lock chamber [15 & 19]; and
an upper region and a lower region with the opening interposed therebetween (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3);
a substrate support (10) provided in the load lock chamber (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3) and capable of supporting the plurality of substrates in a multistage manner at predetermined intervals (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3) [15 & 18];
an elevator (30) capable of elevating and lowering the substrate support [14];
a plurality of sensors (100 & 110 & 120) respectively provided on outer peripheral portions of the upper region and the lower region in the load lock chamber and configured to check a state of the substrate supported by the substrate support [18 & 19]; and
a controller (400) comprising an abnormality determinator and configured to be capable of controlling the abnormality determinator configured to perform an abnormality determination on the substrate based on data respectively sent from the plurality of sensors and a predetermined threshold value [14 & 18 & 20].
Cho does not teach:
a plurality of windows respectively provided at the outer peripheral wall of the upper region and the lower region in the load lock chamber in a manner corresponding to optical paths of the plurality of sensors.
Chen teaches:
A substrate processing apparatus (100 & 200 & 300 & 400) comprising:
a load lock chamber (100) comprising:
an opening (G) through which a substrate (W) among a plurality of substrates (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 6) is capable of being loaded into or unloaded from the load lock chamber [0004]; and
an upper region and a lower region with the opening interposed therebetween (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3);
a substrate support (103) provided in the load lock chamber (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3) and capable of supporting the plurality of substrates in a multistage manner at predetermined intervals (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3);
an elevator (107) capable of elevating and lowering the substrate support [0004];
a sensor (501) respectively provided on an exterior of an outer peripheral wall of the upper region and the lower region in the load lock chamber and configured to check a state of the substrate supported by the substrate support [0051 & 0052 & 0053];
a window (109) respectively provided at the outer peripheral wall of the load lock chamber in a manner corresponding to optical paths of the sensor (Fig. 3 & Fig. 6) [0056]; and
a controller (505) configured to be capable of controlling the load lock based on data respectively sent from the plurality of sensors and a predetermined threshold value [0003 & 0008 & 0011 & 0026 & 0037 & 0052 & 0053 & 0054 & 0055 & 0056 & 0057].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate processing system with a load lock chamber for facilitating transfer of a plurality of substrates having plurality of sensors inside the load lock chamber configured to check a state of the substrate supported by the substrate support taught by Cho with the substrate processing system with a load lock chamber for facilitating transfer of a plurality of substrates having plurality of sensors outside the load lock chamber configured to check a state of the substrate supported by the substrate support and a plurality of windows respectively provided at the outer peripheral wall of the upper region and the lower region in the load lock chamber in a manner corresponding to optical paths of the sensor taught by Chen in order to provide a means of assessing the condition of the substrates which isolates the sensors from a post-processing atmosphere positions the sensors in a position which allows easier access to the substrates thereby reducing contamination of the sensors and reducing the effort required to maintain the sensors.
Regarding Claim 2, Cho teaches:
each of the plurality of sensors comprises a transmission type optical sensor [18 & 19].
Regarding Claim 3, Cho teaches:
each of the plurality of sensors comprises a transmitter (110) and a receiver (120) provided on the outer peripheral portions of the load lock chamber at mutually opposing positions in a radial direction of the substrate supported by the substrate support (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 4, Cho teaches:
each of the plurality of sensors is arranged so as to divide the substrate support into an upper range corresponding to the upper region and a lower range corresponding to the lower region (Fig. 3), and to check the state of the substrate supported by the substrate support (Fig. 3) [14 & 18 & 19 & 20].
Regarding Claim 5, Cho teaches:
the plurality of sensors comprise a first sensor located in the upper region (Fig. 3), and
the elevator is configured to elevate and lower the substrate support such that a detection position by the first sensor is located at a first measurement position where the state of the substrate accommodated in the upper region is capable of being checked (Fig. 3) [15 & 18 & 19].
Regarding Claim 6, Cho teaches:
the elevator is configured to lower the substrate support such that the detection position by the first sensor is changed from the first measurement position to a second measurement position where the substrate supported at an upper end of the substrate support is capable of being checked (Fig. 3) [15 & 18 & 19].
Regarding Claim 7, Cho teaches:
the abnormality determinator is configured to perform the abnormality determination on the substrate supported by the substrate support located within a range from the first measurement position to the second measurement position based on the data sent from the first sensor (Fig. 3) [14 & 18 & 19 & 20].
Regarding Claim 8, Cho teaches:
the plurality of sensors comprise a second sensor located in the lower region (Fig. 3), and
the elevator is configured to elevate and lower the substrate support such that a detection position by the second sensor is located at a third measurement position where the state of the substrate accommodated in the lower region is capable of being checked and where the substrate supported at a lower end of the substrate support is capable of being measured (Fig. 3) [15 & 18 & 19].
Regarding Claim 9, Cho teaches:
the elevator is configured to lower the substrate support such that the detection position by the second sensor is changed from the third measurement position to a fourth measurement position where the substrate supported above the third measurement position is capable of being measured (Fig. 3) [15 & 18 & 19].
Regarding Claim 10, Cho teaches:
the abnormality determinator is configured to perform the abnormality determination on the substrate supported by the substrate support located within a range from the third measurement position to the fourth measurement position based on the data sent from the second sensor (Fig. 3) [14 & 18 & 19 & 20].
Regarding Claim 11, Cho teaches:
the plurality of sensors comprise a first sensor located in the upper region (Fig. 3), and
the second sensor is configured to be capable of checking the state of the substrate located at a support position where the state of the substrate is incapable of being checked by the first sensor even when the first sensor is operating within an operation range of the elevator (Fig. 3) [14 & 18 & 19 & 20].
Regarding Claim 12, Cho teaches:
the controller is configured to be capable of controlling a checking of the state of the substrate supported by the substrate support without duplication [14 & 18 & 19 & 20].
Regarding Claim 13, Cho teaches:
the abnormality determinator is configured to be capable of checking a presence or absence of the substrate based on a change in an amount of a light from each sensor according to a movement of the substrate due to an elevating and lowering operation of the elevator [14 & 18 & 19 & 20].
Regarding Claim 14, Cho teaches:
a manipulator (70) configured to be capable of presenting the state of the substrate [15 & 16 & 19],
wherein, when it is determined that there is an abnormality in the substrate based on a determination result from the abnormality determinator, the controller notifies the manipulator of the abnormality [15 & 16 & 19].
Regarding Claim 15, Cho teaches:
the controller is configured to be capable of controlling a checking of the state of the substrate in the lower region after checking the state of the substrate in the upper region [14 & 18 & 19 & 20].
Regarding Claim 16, Cho teaches:
A substrate checking method comprising:
(a) supporting a plurality of substrates (2) by a substrate support (10), wherein the substrate support is provided in a load lock chamber (1) and is capable of supporting the plurality of substrates in a multistage manner at predetermined intervals substrate (Fig. 3), and wherein the load lock chamber comprises an opening through which a substrate among the plurality of substrates is capable of being loaded into or unloaded from the load lock chamber and an upper region and a lower region with the opening interposed therebetween (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3);
(b) elevating and lowering the substrate support [15 & 16 & 18];
(c) checking a state of the substrate supported by the substrate support by a plurality of sensors (100 & 110 & 120) respectively provided on outer peripheral wall of the upper region and the lower region in the load lock chamber [14 & 18 & 19 & 20]; and
(d) performing an abnormality determination on the substrate based on data respectively sent from the plurality of sensors and a predetermined threshold value [14 & 18 & 19 & 20].
Cho does not teach:
a plurality of windows respectively provided at the outer peripheral wall of the upper region and the lower region in the load lock chamber in a manner corresponding to optical paths of the plurality of sensors.
Chen teaches:
A substrate checking method comprising:
(a) supporting a plurality of substrates (W) by a substrate support (103), wherein the substrate support is provided in a load lock chamber (100) and is capable of supporting the plurality of substrates in a multistage manner at predetermined intervals substrate (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3), and wherein the load lock chamber comprises an opening (G) through which a substrate (W) among the plurality of substrates (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 6) is capable of being loaded into or unloaded from the load lock chamber [0004] and an upper region and a lower region with the opening interposed therebetween (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3);
(b) elevating and lowering the substrate support [0004];
(c) checking a state of the substrate supported by the substrate support by a sensor (501) respectively provided on an outer peripheral wall (Fig. 3) of the load lock chamber, wherein a window (109) respectively provided at the outer peripheral wall of the load lock chamber in a manner corresponding to optical paths of the plurality of sensors (Fig. 3 & Fig. 6) [0056]; and
(d) controlling the load lock based on data respectively sent from the plurality of sensors [0003 & 0008 & 0011 & 0026 & 0037 & 0052 & 0053 & 0054 & 0055 & 0056 & 0057].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of processing substrates using a substrate processing system with a load lock chamber for facilitating transfer of a plurality of substrates having plurality of sensors inside the load lock chamber configured to check a state of the substrate supported by the substrate support taught by Cho with the method of processing substrates using a substrate processing system with a load lock chamber for facilitating transfer of a plurality of substrates having a sensor outside the load lock chamber configured to check a state of the substrate supported by the substrate support and a window respectively provided at the outer peripheral wall of the load lock chamber in a manner corresponding to optical paths of the sensor taught by Chen in order to provide a means of assessing the condition of the substrates which isolates the sensors from a post-processing atmosphere positions the sensors in a position which allows easier access to the substrates thereby reducing contamination of the sensors and reducing the effort required to maintain the sensors.
Regarding Claim 17, Cho teaches:
A method of manufacturing a semiconductor device [14], comprising the substrate checking method of claim 16 [see rejection of Claim 16 above].
Regarding Claim 18, Cho teaches:
A controller (400) that causes a substrate processing apparatus, by a computer, to perform:
(a) supporting a plurality of substrates (2) by a substrate support (10), wherein the substrate support is provided in a load lock chamber (1) and is capable of supporting the plurality of substrates in a multistage manner at predetermined intervals substrate (Fig. 3), and wherein the load lock chamber comprises an opening through which a substrate among the plurality of substrates is capable of being loaded into or unloaded from the load lock chamber and an upper region and a lower region with the opening interposed therebetween (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 4);
(b) elevating and lowering the substrate support [15 & 16 & 18];
(c) checking a state of the substrate supported by the substrate support by a plurality of sensors (100 & 110 & 120) respectively provided on outer peripheral portions of the upper region and the lower region in the load lock chamber [14 & 18 & 19 & 20]; and
(d) performing an abnormality determination on the substrate based on data respectively sent from the plurality of sensors and a predetermined threshold value [14 & 18 & 19 & 20].
Cho does not teach:
A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program that causes a substrate processing apparatus, by a computer, to perform a process;
a plurality of windows respectively provided at the outer peripheral wall of the upper region and the lower region in the load lock chamber in a manner corresponding to optical paths of the plurality of sensors.
Chen teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program that causes a substrate processing apparatus, by a computer (505), to perform a process [0003]:
(a) supporting a plurality of substrates (W) by a substrate support (103), wherein the substrate support is provided in a load lock chamber (100) and is capable of supporting the plurality of substrates in a multistage manner at predetermined intervals substrate (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3), and wherein the load lock chamber comprises an opening (G) through which a substrate (W) among the plurality of substrates (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 6) is capable of being loaded into or unloaded from the load lock chamber [0004] and an upper region and a lower region with the opening interposed therebetween (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3);
(b) elevating and lowering the substrate support [0004];
(c) checking a state of the substrate supported by substrate support by a sensor (501) respectively provided on an outer peripheral wall (Fig. 3) of the load lock chamber, wherein a window (109) respectively provided at the outer peripheral wall of the load lock chamber in a manner corresponding to optical paths of the plurality of sensors (Fig. 3 & Fig. 6) [0056]; and
(d) controlling the load lock based on data respectively sent from the plurality of sensors [0003 & 0008 & 0011 & 0026 & 0037 & 0052 & 0053 & 0054 & 0055 & 0056 & 0057].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate processing system with a load lock chamber for facilitating transfer of a plurality of substrates having plurality of sensors inside the load lock chamber configured to check a state of the substrate supported by the substrate support taught by Cho with the substrate processing system with a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program that causes a substrate processing apparatus, by a computer, to perform a process, a load lock chamber for facilitating transfer of a plurality of substrates having a sensor outside the load lock chamber configured to check a state of the substrate supported by the substrate support and a window respectively provided at the outer peripheral wall of the upper region and the lower region in the load lock chamber in a manner corresponding to optical paths of the sensor taught by Chen in order to provide a means of assessing the condition of the substrates which isolates the sensors from a post-processing atmosphere positions the sensors in a position which allows easier access to the substrates thereby reducing contamination of the sensors and reducing the effort required to maintain the sensors.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652