DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the "circuit board", "a positive electrode terminal joined to an outer surface of the exterior body closer to the positive electrode layer", and "a negative electrode terminal joined to an outer surface of the exterior body closer to the negative electrode layer" of claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 6 it is unclear what the "closer" language is referring to. In order for a positive or negative electrode terminal to be "closer" to a positive or negative electrode layer there must be a direct comparison of distance between two different objects. The claim language fails to set forth what the positive or negative electrode terminals are closer than.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yura et al. (WO2019/221139A1) (hereafter Yura) in view of Tutorial: Soldering Li-ion Battery Cells (hereafter Liang). Note that citations to Yura have been made with respect to US2021/0043919A1, which is the English equivalent of WO2019/221139A1.
With respect to claim 1, Yura teaches a method for producing a circuit board assembly, comprising connecting a lithium ion secondary battery to a circuit board by reflow soldering, wherein the lithium ion secondary battery comprises: a positive electrode layer (12); a negative electrode layer (16); a separator (20) interposed between the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer; an electrolyte (20); and an exterior body (24) having a closed space accommodating the positive electrode layer, the negative electrode layer, the separator and the electrolyte (paragraph 57; and figure 1).
With respect to claims 1-3, Yura does not teach the lithium-ion secondary battery has a state of charge (SOC) of 30 to 100%, 35 to 100%, or 70 to 100% during the reflow soldering.
However, Liang teaches discharging an initially charged 18650 lithium-ion secondary battery (Li-Ion battery) to 3V before soldering to reduce danger while maintaining the life span of the battery (page 3). Since the voltage of a 18650 Li-Ion battery is 3.7-4.2V, the SOC during soldering is intrinsically 30 to 100%, 35 to 100%, or 70 to 100%.
Thus, at the time of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the process of discharging the battery to a state of charge (SOC) of 30 to 100%, 35 to 100%, or 70 to 100% before soldering as taught by Liang with the process of Yura in order to significantly reduce the danger of the soldering process and maintain the lifespan of the battery while allowing the battery to reach full charge quickly after the soldering process.
With respect to claim 4, Yura teaches wherein reflow heating in the reflow soldering is performed at 180 to 270° C (paragraphs 12 and 31).
With respect to claim 5, Yura teaches the exterior body comprises a positive electrode can (24a); a negative electrode can (24b); and a gasket (24c), wherein the positive electrode can and the negative electrode can are crimped with the gasket interposed therebetween to form the closed space (figure 1; and paragraph 57).
With respect to claim 7, Yura teaches wherein the positive electrode layer is a ceramic positive electrode plate (paragraphs 33, 36, and 60; and claim 1).
With respect to claim 8, Yura teaches wherein the ceramic positive electrode plate is a lithium complex oxide sintered plate (paragraphs 33, 36, and 60; and claim 1).
With respect to claim 9, Yura teaches wherein the lithium complex oxide is lithium cobaltate (paragraphs 33, 36, and 60; and claim 1).
With respect to claim 10, Yura teaches wherein the negative electrode layer is a ceramic negative electrode plate (paragraphs 30, 46, and 48).
With respect to claim 11, Yura teaches wherein the ceramic negative electrode plate is a titanium-containing sintered plate (paragraphs 30, 46, and 48).
With respect to claim 12, Yura teaches wherein the titanium-containing sintered plate comprises lithium titanate or niobium titanium complex oxide (paragraph 46; and claim 11).
With respect to claim 13, Yura teaches wherein the separator is made of cellulose, polyimide, polyester, or ceramics selected from the group consisting of MgO, Al.sub.2O.sub.3, ZrO.sub.2, SiC, Si.sub.3N.sub.4, AlN, and cordierite (paragraph 54; and claim 14).
With respect to claim 14, Yura teaches the electrolyte is provided in the form of an electrolytic solution, and the electrolytic solution is a solution containing lithium borofluoride (LiBF.sub.4) in a non-aqueous solvent consisting of at least one selected from the group consisting of γ-butyrolactone (GBL), ethylene carbonate (EC) and propylene carbonate (PC) (paragraphs 54-55; and claim 15).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yura and Liang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US2016/0072115A1) (hereafter Kim).
With respect to claim 6, Yura and Liang do not teach a positive electrode terminal joined to an outer surface of the exterior body proximate to the positive electrode layer; and a negative electrode terminal joined to an outer surface of the exterior body proximate to the negative electrode layer, wherein the positive electrode terminal and/or the negative electrode terminal is connected to the circuit board by the reflow solder.
However, Kim teaches a positive electrode terminal joined to an outer surface of the exterior body closer to the positive electrode layer; and a negative electrode terminal joined to an outer surface of the exterior body closer to the negative electrode layer, wherein the positive electrode terminal and/or the negative electrode terminal is connected to the circuit board by the reflow solder (figures 7A-8B; paragraphs 6, 21, and 22; and claim 1).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the process of soldering the positive and negative electrode terminals to a circuit board as taught by Kim in the collective process of Yura and Liang in order to include circuit protection and increase the service life of the battery.
Conclusion
/KILEY S STONER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735