DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show all the structure as described in the specification (Fig. 5). Paragraphs [0048] and [0049] state that “[d]etailed here is the relationship between the lift plate 102, fixed plate 101, and the first and second arms 103A and 103B with respect to the existing accessible lift mechanism 400 and the pressure plate 410”. However, Fig. 5 appears to only show a side view partially detailing only 1 arm (103) and part of the existing lift. The description in paragraphs [0048] and [0049] are difficult to follow as they describe positions, connections, and operations that cannot be ascertained from Fig. 5 (or any of the other Figures). Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include numerous reference signs mentioned in the description. The examiner herein lists many of the missing reference signs. However, it should be noted that this list may not be all inclusive as the reference signs can be confusing. Missing reference signs include: 100, 101_E1, E1a, E1b, E1c, _E2, E2a, E2b, E2c, 101_m, W1, W2, W3, W4, and 101_H.
Further, it is not understood what is meant by the “legend” that appears on the left hand side (when oriented horizontally) of Fig. 1 below the drawing. For example, the “legend” appears to indicate that 101_ M includes two parts (i.e. M1, M2). However, such is not clear from the drawings or the specification.
Applicant is encouraged to carefully review the drawings and specifications for any other missing reference signs.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
1) it is a single run-on sentence and thus not in narrative form; and
2) it does not seem to be a description of the instant disclosure or claimed invention.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
It appears that in paragraph [0005], the statement “and wherein each of the first and second arms comprises a first vertical arm portion, a second vertical arm portion, and a contact arm portion” is incorrect as based on the remaining parts of the specification and drawings that the first arm has only the first vertical arm portion and the second arm has only a second vertical portion.
It appears that in paragraph [0033], “beveled edge 101_BE may have a sixth width W6 between the bend line 102_BL” should be “beveled edge 102_BE may have a sixth width W6 between the bend line 102_BL”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 6-7 recite that “each of the first and second arms comprises a first vertical arm portion, a second vertical arm portion, and a contact arm portion”. This claim is indefinite as it is not clear how many portions are part of each of the first and second arms (i.e. it appears, from the description, that the first arm has only the first vertical arm portion and the second arm has only a second vertical portion).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goodrich (US 6837670).
Regarding claim 1: Goodrich discloses a lift safety apparatus 10 (Figs. 1, 2; abstr.; col. 4, lines 13-27). Goodrich discloses a fixed plate 34 configured to be removably attached within a vehicle (Fig 3; col. 5, lines 7-8). Goodrich discloses a lift plate 36 adjacent to the fixed plate (Fig 3; col. 5, lines 28-45). Goodrich discloses a hinge connecting the lift plate to the fixed plate (Fig. 3 illustrates several hinge assemblies that meet the recited limitation). Goodrich discloses that the lift plate comprises first and second arms (Fig. 3 illustrates several arm structures/assemblies that meet the recited limitation). Goodrich discloses that each of the first and second arms comprises a first vertical arm portion, a second vertical arm portion, and a contact arm portion (Figs. 3-6 illustrate several arm structures/assemblies that meet the recited limitation).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. DeLeo et al. (US 6042327), Taylor (US 6024528), Czech et al. (US 5180275), O’Leary et al. (US 20070183881), Ablabutyan et al. (US 20050238471), and Kameda (US 6379102). These references, alone or in combination disclose many if not all of the recited limitations.
/Taras P Bemko/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672
3/4/2026