DETAILED ACTION
Claim Cancellation
The cancellation of claims 13, 14, 19, 20 have been made of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. US 20190173232 A1 in view of ZHAO US 20170346232 A1.
In reference to claim 1, Lu teaches an electrical connector (1’; fig. 8), comprising: an insulating body (11’) comprising a mating surface (see fig. 8) and a slot (214) extending through the mating surface along a first direction, the slot being configured to receive a part of a mating connector (3; fig. 9) along a second direction opposite to the first direction; a plurality of conductive terminals (13), each conductive terminal comprising a contact portion extending into the slot (see fig. 9, 12); and a shielding shell (25) shielded on the insulating body, a receiving groove (near lead line 253; fig. 9) for receiving a part (33) of the mating connector being formed between the shielding shell and the insulating body (see fig. 9), the receiving groove being located outside the slot along a third direction which is perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (see fig. 9); wherein the shielding shell comprises a first shell portion, the first shell portion comprises a first outer surface (near lead line 25; fig. 8, 12), a first end surface (A; shown in the illustration below) located adjacent to the mating surface along the first direction; the first outer surface and the receiving groove are located on opposite sides of the slot, respectively.
However Lu does not teach a fool-proof protrusion protruding beyond the first outer surface along a fourth direction which is opposite to the third direction; the fool-proof protrusion is located adjacent to the mating surface, the fool-proof protrusion has a first end edge located at a most end along the first direction; the first end surface and the first end edge are disposed one behind the other along the second direction; and the first end edge of the fool-proof protrusion is configured to prevent the mating connector from being inserted into the electrical connector at a wrong angle; wherein the fool-proof protrusion comprises a first curved portion, a second curved portion, and a middle portion connecting the first curved portion and the second curved portion; the first curved portion is located on one side of the middle portion and connected with the first shell portion; and the second curved portion is located on another side of the middle portion and connected with the first shell portion; wherein the first curved portion comprises a first are segment connected to the first shell portion and a second are segment connected to the first are segment; the first are segment has a first center located outside the first curved portion; the second are segment has a second center located inside the first curved portion; and wherein the second curved portion comprises a third are segment connected to the first shell portion and a fourth are segment connected to the third are segment; the middle portion is connected between the second are segment and the fourth are segment; the third are segment has a third center located outside the second curved portion; the fourth are segment has a fourth center located inside the second curved portion.
ZHAO teaches a fool-proof protrusion (911; fig. 1) protruding beyond the first outer surface (near lead line 90; fig. 1) along a fourth direction which is opposite to the third direction; the fool-proof protrusion is located adjacent to the mating surface (i.e. the front distal end of connector 600), the fool-proof protrusion has a first end edge (Z; shown in the illustration below) located at a most end along the first direction (see fig. 1, 9); the first end surface and the first end edge are disposed one behind the other along the second direction (see fig. 9); and the first end edge of the fool-proof protrusion is configured to prevent the mating connector (200) from being mated to the electrical connector (600) at a wrong angle; wherein the fool-proof protrusion (911) comprises a first curved portion, a second curved portion, and a middle portion connecting the first curved portion and the second curved portion (observe the curved shape of 911 in figure 9); the first curved portion is located on one side of the middle portion and connected with the first shell portion (observe the curved shape of 911 in figure 9); and the second curved portion is located on another side of the middle portion and connected with the first shell portion (observe the curved shape of 911 in figure 9); wherein the first curved portion comprises a first are segment connected to the first shell portion and a second are segment connected to the first are segment (observe the curved shape of 911 in figure 9); the first are segment has a first center located outside the first curved portion (observe the curved shape of 911 in figure 9); the second are segment has a second center located inside the first curved portion (observe the curved shape of 911 in figure 9); and wherein the second curved portion comprises a third are segment connected to the first shell portion and a fourth are segment connected to the third are segment (observe the curved shape of 911 in figure 9); the middle portion is connected between the second are segment and the fourth are segment (observe the curved shape of 911 in figure 9); the third are segment has a third center located outside the second curved portion (observe the curved shape of 911 in figure 9); the fourth are segment has a fourth center located inside the second curved portion (observe the curved shape of 911 in figure 9). The metal shell of Lu and ZHAO are both stamped and formed sheets of metal. The fool-proof protrusion (911; fig. 1) of ZHAO abuts a segment of the mating connector (200) and prevents the two connectors from mating when the mating connector (200) is misoriented. With a reasonable expectation of success, using the teachings of ZHAO to modify Lu so that a first end edge of a fool-proof protrusion is configured to prevent the mating connector from being mated to the electrical connector at a wrong angle and to arrive at the results of the remainder of claim 1 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of ZHAO to modify Lu in order to improve mating of the connectors by preventing the mating connector from being inserted into the electrical connector at a wrong angle.
In reference to claim 2, Lu substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Lu does not teach wherein the mating surface and the first end edge are arranged in sequence along the second direction.
ZHAO teaches the mating surface and the first end edge are arranged in sequence along the second direction.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of ZHAO to modify Lu in order to improve mating of the connectors by preventing the mating connector from being inserted into the electrical connector at a wrong angle.
In reference to claim 3, Lu substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Lu does not teach wherein the fool-proof protrusion and the shielding shell are integrally formed.
ZHAO teaches wherein the fool-proof protrusion and the shielding shell are integrally formed.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of ZHAO to modify Lu in order to improve mating of the connectors by preventing the mating connector from being inserted into the electrical connector at a wrong angle.
In reference to claim 4, Lu substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Lu does not teach the fool-proof protrusion is integrally stamped from the first shell portion.
ZHAO teaches the fool-proof protrusion (911) is integrally stamped from the first shell portion.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of ZHAO to modify Lu in order to improve mating of the connectors by preventing the mating connector from being inserted into the electrical connector at a wrong angle.
In reference to claim 5, Lu substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Lu does not teach wherein the first shell portion comprises a beam which is located closer to the mating surface than the fool-proof protrusion along the first direction.
ZHAO teaches wherein the first shell portion comprises a beam (Y; shown in the illustration below) which is located closer to the mating surface than the fool-proof protrusion along the first direction (see fig. 9).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of ZHAO to modify Lu in order to improve mating of the connectors by preventing the mating connector from being inserted into the electrical connector at a wrong angle.
In reference to claim 6, Lu substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Lu does not teach wherein the beam has a front end surface located at a most end thereof along the first direction; and the front end surface is flush with the first end surface.
ZHAO teaches wherein the beam (Y; shown in the illustration below). Using the teachings of ZHAO to modify Lu in order to form the beam that has a front end surface located at a most end thereof along the first direction; and the front end surface is flush with the first end surface is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of ZHAO to modify Lu in order to improve mating of the connectors by preventing the mating connector from being inserted into the electrical connector at a wrong angle.
In reference to claim 7, Lu substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Lu does not teach the fool-proof protrusion is integrally stamped from the first shell portion; the first shell portion defines an opening located behind the beam along the second direction, and the opening is formed by stamping the fool-proof protrusion on the first shell portion.
ZHAO teaches the fool-proof protrusion (911) is integrally stamped from the first shell portion; the first shell portion defines an opening (Z; shown in the illustration below) located behind the beam along the second direction, and the opening is formed by stamping the fool-proof protrusion on the first shell portion.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of ZHAO to modify Lu in order to improve mating of the connectors by preventing the mating connector from being inserted into the electrical connector at a wrong angle.
In reference to claim 8, Lu substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Lu does not teach wherein only one fool-proof protrusion is provided, and the fool-proof protrusion is disposed in a middle of the first shell portion along a width direction of the first shell portion; or two fool-proof protrusions are provided, and the two fool-proof protrusions are disposed on two sides of the first shell portion along a width direction of the first shell portion.
ZHAO teaches of a fool-proof protrusion (911; fig. 9). Using the teachings of ZHAO to modify Lu to arrive at the results of claim 8 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of ZHAO to modify Lu in order to improve mating of the connectors by preventing the mating connector from being inserted into the electrical connector at a wrong angle.
In reference to claim 9, Lu teaches the electrical connector according to claim 1, wherein the insulating body comprises a first wall portion and a second wall portion opposite to the first wall portion (see fig. 8), the slot is located between the first wall portion and the second wall portion (see fig. 8); the shielding shell comprises a second shell portion opposite to the first shell portion (see fig. 8), the first shell portion shields the first wall portion (see fig. 8), the second shell portion shields the second wall portion (see fig. 8), the receiving groove is located between the second wall portion and the second shell portion (see fig. 9), the second shell portion defines at least one locking hole (251; fig. 9) in communication with the receiving groove (see fig. 9), the at least one locking hole is adapted to lock with the mating connector (see fig. 10); the second shell portion protrudes beyond the first shell portion along the first direction (see fig. 8, 9); the second shell portion comprises a second end surface located at a most end of the second shell portion along the first direction (see fig. 8, 9); and the second end surface is located in front of the mating surface along the first direction (see fig. 9).
In reference to claim 10, Lu teaches the electrical connector according to claim 9, wherein the electrical connector comprises a first terminal module and a second terminal module which are assembled to the insulating body (see fig. 12), the first terminal module comprises a first insulating block and a plurality of first conductive terminals fixed to the first insulating block (see fig. 12), the second terminal module comprises a second insulating block and a plurality of second conductive terminals fixed to the second insulating block (see fig. 12), the first conductive terminals comprise a plurality of first elastic arms protruding beyond the first wall portion and extending into the slot (see fig. 12), and the second conductive terminals comprise a plurality of second elastic arms protruding beyond the second wall portion and extending into the slot (see fig. 12).
In reference to claim 15, Lu teaches an electrical connector (fig. 8), comprising: an insulating body (11’) comprising a mating surface (see fig. 8) and a slot (214) extending through the mating surface along a first direction, the slot being configured to receive a part of a mating connector (3; fig. 9) along a second direction opposite to the first direction; a plurality of conductive terminals (13), each conductive terminal comprising an elastic contact portion extending into the slot (see fig. 9, 12); and a shielding shell (25) made of a metal material and shielded on the insulating body, a receiving groove (near lead line 253; fig. 9) for receiving a part of the mating connector being formed between the shielding shell and the insulating body (see fig. 9), the receiving groove being located outside the slot along a third direction which is perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (see fig. 9); wherein the shielding shell comprises a first shell portion, the first shell portion comprises a first outer surface (near lead line 25; fig. 8, 12), a first end surface (A; shown in the illustration below) located adjacent to the mating surface along the first direction, the first outer surface and the receiving groove are located on opposite sides of the slot, respectively.
However Lu does not teach a fool-proof protrusion protruding beyond the first outer surface along a fourth direction which is opposite to the third direction; the fool-proof protrusion is integrally stamped from the first shell portion and located adjacent to the mating surface; the first outer surface and the receiving groove are located on opposite sides of the slot, respectively; the fool-proof protrusion has a first end edge located at a most end along the first direction; the first end surface and the first end edge are located on different planes; and the first end edge of the fool-proof protrusion is configured to prevent the mating connector from being inserted into the electrical connector at a wrong angle; wherein the fool-proof protrusion comprises a first curved portion, a second curved portion, and a middle portion connecting the first curved portion and the second curved portion; the first curved portion is located on one side of the middle portion and connected with the first shell portion; and the second curved portion is located on another side of the middle portion and connected with the first shell portion; wherein the first curved portion comprises a first arc segment connected to the first shell portion and a second arc segment connected to the first arc segment; the first arc segment has a first center located outside the first curved portion; the second arc segment has a second center located inside the first curved portion; and wherein the second curved portion comprises a third arc segment connected to the first shell portion and a fourth arc segment connected to the third arc segment; the middle portion is connected between the second arc segment and the fourth arc segment; the third arc segment has a third center located outside the second curved portion; the fourth arc segment has a fourth center located inside the second curved portion.
ZHAO teaches a fool-proof protrusion (911; fig. 1) protruding beyond the first outer surface (near lead line 90; fig. 1) along a fourth direction which is opposite to the third direction; the fool-proof protrusion is integrally stamped from the first shell portion and located adjacent to the mating surface (i.e. the front distal end of connector 600); the fool-proof protrusion has a first end edge (Z; shown in the illustration below) located at a most end along the first direction (see fig. 1, 9); the first end surface and the first end edge are located on different planes (see fig. 9); and the first end edge of the fool-proof protrusion is configured to prevent the mating connector (200) from being inserted into the electrical connector (600) at a wrong angle; wherein the fool-proof protrusion (911) comprises a first curved portion, a second curved portion, and a middle portion connecting the first curved portion and the second curved portion (observe the curved shape of 911 in figure 9); the first curved portion is located on one side of the middle portion and connected with the first shell portion (observe the curved shape of 911 in figure 9); and the second curved portion is located on another side of the middle portion and connected with the first shell portion (observe the curved shape of 911 in figure 9); wherein the first curved portion comprises a first arc segment connected to the first shell portion and a second arc segment connected to the first arc segment (observe the curved shape of 911 in figure 9); the first arc segment has a first center located outside the first curved portion (observe the curved shape of 911 in figure 9); the second arc segment has a second center located inside the first curved portion (observe the curved shape of 911 in figure 9); and wherein the second curved portion comprises a third arc segment connected to the first shell portion and a fourth arc segment connected to the third arc segment (observe the curved shape of 911 in figure 9); the middle portion is connected between the second arc segment and the fourth arc segment (observe the curved shape of 911 in figure 9); the third arc segment has a third center located outside the second curved portion (observe the curved shape of 911 in figure 9); the fourth arc segment has a fourth center located inside the second curved portion (observe the curved shape of 911 in figure 9). The metal shell of Lu and ZHAO are both stamped and formed sheets of metal. The fool-proof protrusion (911; fig. 1) of ZHAO abuts a segment of the mating connector (200) and prevents the two connectors from mating when the mating connector (200) is misoriented. With a reasonable expectation of success, using the teachings of ZHAO to modify Lu so that a first end edge of a fool-proof protrusion is configured to prevent the mating connector from being mated to the electrical connector at a wrong angle and to arrive at the results of the remainder of claim 15 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of ZHAO to modify Lu in order to improve mating of the connectors by preventing the mating connector from being inserted into the electrical connector at a wrong angle.
In reference to claim 16, Lu substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Lu does not teach wherein the first shell portion comprises a beam which is located closer to the mating surface than the fool-proof protrusion along the first direction.
ZHAO teaches wherein the first shell portion comprises a beam (Y; shown in the illustration below) which is located closer to the mating surface than the fool-proof protrusion along the first direction (see fig. 9).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of ZHAO to modify Lu in order to improve mating of the connectors by preventing the mating connector from being inserted into the electrical connector at a wrong angle.
In reference to claim 17, Lu substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Lu does not teach wherein the beam has a front end surface located at a most end thereof along the first direction; and the front end surface is flush with the first end surface.
ZHAO teaches wherein the beam (Y; shown in the illustration below). Using the teachings of ZHAO to modify Lu in order to form the beam that has a front end surface located at a most end thereof along the first direction; and the front end surface is flush with the first end surface is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of ZHAO to modify Lu in order to improve mating of the connectors by preventing the mating connector from being inserted into the electrical connector at a wrong angle.
In reference to claim 18, Lu substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Lu does not teach the first shell portion defines an opening located behind the beam along the second direction, and the opening is formed by stamping the fool-proof protrusion on the first shell portion.
ZHAO teaches the first shell portion defines an opening (Z; shown in the illustration below) located behind the beam along the second direction, and the opening is formed by stamping the fool-proof protrusion on the first shell portion.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of ZHAO to modify Lu in order to improve mating of the connectors by preventing the mating connector from being inserted into the electrical connector at a wrong angle.
Claims 11 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. US 20190173232 A1 in view of ZHAO US 20170346232 A1 as applied to claim 10 above, further in view of CHEN US 20220077632 A1.
In reference to claim 11, Lu substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Lu does not teach wherein a spacing groove is formed between the first insulating block and the second insulating block; and wherein the electrical connector further comprises a grounding member installed in the spacing groove.
CHEN teaches a spacing groove is formed between the first insulating block and the second insulating block (see fig. 9, 10); and wherein the electrical connector further comprises a grounding member (4; fig. 8) installed in the spacing groove.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of CHEN in order to improve extending contact between the ground terminals.
In reference to claim 12, Lu substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Lu does not teach wherein the grounding member has a U-shaped cross-section and defines a positioning slot; and wherein the electrical connector further comprises a positioning block clamped in the positioning slot.
CHEN teaches the grounding member has a U-shaped cross-section (See fig 8) and defines a positioning slot; and wherein the electrical connector further comprises a positioning block (5; fig 8) clamped in the positioning slot.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of CHEN in order to surely secure the grounding member to the connector.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 3, the excerpt from Paragraph [0038] through page 4, lines 1-7, filed in the Remarks dated 07/13/2026, with respect to the 103 Rejection of Claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 103 of Claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 3, the excerpt from Paragraph [0038] through page 4, lines 1-7, filed in the Remarks dated 07/13/2026, with respect to the 103 Rejection of Claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 103 of Claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
/TRAVIS S CHAMBERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831 08/13/2026