DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that Chen discloses using a ruthenium seed layer and that selectivity is conveyed by this seed layer. However, Chen teaches the limitations as set forth in claim 1, and claim 1 does not eliminate the use of the ruthenium seed layer. Though the applicant claims that this feature is important to the claims, the language to indicate this in the claim is not present. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The applicant argues that Chen does not teach the combination of a copper containing compound and a hydrazine. However, though Chen does not have a working example in its disclosure for every combination it discloses, Chen does disclose hydrazine as a reducing agent to copper precursors. FIG. 6 c is thus an illustration of the selective deposition of Metal 2 onto "Metal 1" in a highly selective fashion; para 0032- For the various copper precursors, the vapor deposition temperatures are generally about 40 C. to about 200 C; para 0040- Copper precursors such as copper (I) amidinates and copper (I) guanidate precursors such as copper (I) 2-methoxy-1,3- diisopropylamidinate; para 0023 Exemplary reducing gases include hydrogen, ammonia, hydrazine, methyl hydrazine; para 0052-0057- Cu is deposited selectively onto the Ru layer.) Thus, as a whole, one of ordinary skill in the art could use Chen to perform claim 1 under its broadest reasonable interpretation.
The applicant argues that Chen does not provide a working example of the claimed temperature range in Claim 22. However, though Chen does not have a working example in its disclosure for every combination it discloses, Chen does disclose the temperature range. Chen, when taken as a whole, teaches the temperature.
The applicant argues that Chen differs in mechanism, precursor chemistry and process architecture. However, the claims are not specific to these assertions. The claims do not require a specific in mechanism, precursor chemistry and process architecture as currently written. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Regarding the 103 rejection, the applicant argues that Chen’s selectivity is achieved via a ruthenium seed layer and that the selectivity ratios could not be achieved without the seed layer. As discussed above, the instant claims do not eliminate the use of a seed layer. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Therefore, for at least these reasons, the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 10-15, 21-23, 28-30, 32, 36, 38 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2023/0245894 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Chen et al. discloses a method for depositing a copper metal coating, the method comprising: providing a substrate that includes a first face and a second face, the first face having at least one exposed surface composed of a metallic material and at least one exposed surface composed of a non-metallic material (Fig. 6c shows a substrate includes a first face and a second face; para 0007- the conducting portions of the microelectronic device substrate...the insulating surfaces of the microelectronic device substrate; para 0019- a process for depositing a metal-containing film onto a microelectronic device substrate, wherein the metal is chosen from...copper); and contacting the substrate with a vapor of a copper-containing compound and hydrazine vapor or an alkyl-substituted hydrazine at a sufficient temperature to preferentially form the copper metal coating on the at least one exposed surface composed of a metallic material as compared to the at least one exposed surface composed of a non-metallic material (FIG. 6 c is thus an illustration of the selective deposition of Metal 2 onto "Metal 1" in a highly selective fashion; para 0032- For the various copper precursors, the vapor deposition temperatures are generally about 40 C. to about 200 C; para 0040- Copper precursors such as copper (I) amidinates and copper (I) guanidate precursors such as copper (I) 2-methoxy-1,3- diisopropylamidinate; para 0023 Exemplary reducing gases include hydrogen, ammonia, hydrazine, mcthyl hydrazine; para 0052-0057- Cu is deposited selectively onto the Ru layer.)
As to claims 2-3, the first face such as in Figure 6c labeled as Metal 2 defines a plurality of nanofeatures or nanostructures as the feature is illustrated in the figure and the drawings on are on the scale of a nm (para 0042) and comprise devices that would have many nanostructures or nanofeatures as broadly claimed in para 0045.
Regarding claim 4, Chen et al. further discloses wherein the first face defines a plurality of dimples of metallic material that are part of electrically conductive vias (para 0006- the conductive vias that connect layers; para 0015- enabling a bottom-up filling of the via with Metal 2).
Regarding claim 6, Chen et al. further discloses wherein the substrate is part of a first microelectronic device (para 0019).
Regarding claim 10, Chen et al. further discloses wherein the metallic material is selected from the group consisting of copper, cobalt, TiN, TaN, and ruthenium (para 0019-0020).
Regarding claim 11, Chen et al. further discloses wherein the nonmetallic material is selected from the group consisting of high-K materials, low K-materials, ultra-low-K materials, and combinations thereof in para 0007.
Regarding claim 12, Chen et al. further discloses wherein the nonmetallic material is selected from the group consisting of silicon with a native oxide, silicon with surface Si-H bonds, silicon oxide, low K-materials, and combinations thereof in para 0007.
Regarding claim 13, Chen et al. further discloses comprising an atomic layer deposition cycle (para 0024- vapor deposition conditions comprise...atomic layer deposition) including: a) contacting the substrate with or without a coating thereon with the hydrazine vapor; and b) contacting the substrate with or without a coating thereon with the vapor of the copper-containing compound, wherein steps a) and b) are repeated for a sufficient number of cycles to form a predetermined thickness of the copper metal coating (para 0040 Copper precursors such as copper (1) amidinates and copper (I) guanidate precursors such as copper (1) 2-methoxy-1,3-diisopropylamidinate; para 0023-0024 Exemplary reducing gases include hydrogen, ammonia, hydrazine, methyl hydrazine...a series of alternating pulses of the precursor composition and co-reactant(s), either with or without an intermediate (inert gas) purge step para 0052 After 550 cycles, the film is 230 A thick; para 0061- copper metal containing precursor is introduced into the reaction zone under atomic layer deposition).
Regarding claim 14, Chen et al. further discloses where the atomic layer deposition cycle further includes a first purging step with an inert gas after step a) and a second purging step with an inert gas after step b) (para 0024- a series of alternating pulses of the precursor composition and co-reactant(s), either with or without an intermediate (inert gas) purge step).
Regarding claim 15, Chen et al. further discloses wherein the sufficient temperature is from 150 to 300 °C (para 0032- For the various copper precursors, the vapor deposition temperatures are generally about 40° C. to about 200° C).
Regarding claim 21, Chen et al. further discloses wherein the copper-containing compound and the hydrazine vapor or an alkyl-substituted hydrazine are used in a chemical vapor deposition (CVD) reactor (para 0024- vapor deposition conditions comprise reaction conditions known as chemical vapor deposition, pulsed-chemical vapor deposition, and atomic layer deposition).
Regarding claim 22, Chen et al. teaches limitations regarding claim 1 above and Chen et al. further discloses comprising an atomic layer deposition cycle (para 0024- vapor deposition conditions comprise...atomic layer deposition) including: a) contacting the substrate with or without a coating thereon with the hydrazine vapor; and b) contacting the substrate with or without a coating thereon with the vapor of the copper-containing compound, wherein steps a) and b) are repeated for a sufficient number of cycles to form a predetermined thickness of the copper metal coating (para 0040 Copper precursors such as copper (1) amidinates and copper (I) guanidate precursors such as copper (1) 2-methoxy-1,3-diisopropylamidinate; para 0023-0024 Exemplary reducing gases include hydrogen, ammonia, hydrazine, methyl hydrazine...a series of alternating pulses of the precursor composition and co-reactant(s), either with or without an intermediate (inert gas) purge step para 0052 After 550 cycles, the film is 230 A thick; para 0061- copper metal containing precursor is introduced into the reaction zone under atomic layer deposition).
Regarding claim 23, Chen et al. further discloses where the atomic layer deposition cycle further includes a first purging step with an inert gas after step a) and a second purging step with an inert gas after step b) (para 0024- a series of alternating pulses of the precursor composition and co-reactant(s), either with or without an intermediate (inert gas) purge step).
As to claims 28-29, the first face such as in Figure 6c labeled as Metal 2 defines a plurality of nanofeatures or nanostructures as the feature is illustrated in the figure and the drawings on are on the scale of a nm (para 0042) and comprise devices that would have many nanostructures or nanofeatures as broadly claimed in para 0045.
Regarding claim 30, Chen et al. further discloses wherein the first face defines a plurality of dimples of metallic material that are part of electrically conductive vias (para 0006- the conductive vias that connect layers; para 0015- enabling a bottom-up filling of the via with Metal 2).
Regarding claim 32, Chen et al. further discloses wherein the substrate is part of a first microelectronic device (para 0019).
Regarding claims 36 and 38, Chen et al. further discloses wherein the metallic material is selected from the group consisting of copper, cobalt, TiN, TaN, and ruthenium (para 0019-0020).
Regarding claim 39, Chen et al. discloses a method for depositing a copper metal coating, the method comprising: providing a substrate that includes a first face and a second face, the first face having at least one exposed surface composed of a metallic material and at least one exposed surface composed of a non-metallic material (Fig. 6c shows a substrate includes a first face and a second face; para 0007- the conducting portions of the microelectronic device substrate...the insulating surfaces of the microelectronic device substrate; para 0019- a process for depositing a metal-containing film onto a microelectronic device substrate, wherein the metal is chosen from...copper); and contacting the substrate with a vapor of a copper-containing compound and an alkyl amine and/or ammonia vapor and/or an alkyl-substituted hydrazine at a sufficient temperature to preferentially form the copper metal coating on the at least one exposed surface composed of a metallic material as compared to the at least one exposed surface composed of a non-metallic material (para 0007- The ruthenium seed layer deposition is highly selective for the conducting portions of the microelectronic device substrate while minimizing deposition onto the insulating surfaces of the microelectronic device substrate; para 0015- FIG. 6 c is thus an illustration of the selective deposition of Metal 2 onto "Metal 1” in a highly selective fashion; para 0032- For the various copper precursors, the vapor deposition temperatures are generally about 40 C. to about 200 C; para 0040- Copper precursors such as copper (I) amidinates and copper (I) guanidate precursors such as copper (I) 2-methoxy-1,3-diisopropylamidinate; para 0023- Exemplary reducing gases include hydrogen, ammonia, hydrazine, methyl hydrazine; para 0052- Cu is deposited selectively onto the Ru layer; para 0056- 0057).
As to claim 40, these limitations are taught as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9, 34-35 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2023/0245894 A1)
As to claims 8 and 34, although Entegris does not specifically disclose wherein a ratio of copper metal thickness on the at least one exposed surface composed of a metallic material to copper metal thickness on the at least one exposed surface composed of a non-metallic material is greater than 10:1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a ratio of copper metal thickness on the at least one exposed surface composed of a metallic material to copper metal thickness on the at least one exposed surface composed of a non-metallic material is greater than 10:1, for when the general conditions of a claim are disclosed by the prior art it is not inventive to discover an optimum or workable range by routine experimentation In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223 (CCPA 1955). (Fig. 6; para 0015- the selective deposition of Metal 2 onto "Metal I” in a highly selective fashion, thus enabling a bottom-up filling of the via with Metal 2).
Regarding claims 9, 35 and 37, although Chen et al. does not specifically disclose wherein a ratio of copper metal thickness on the at least one exposed surface composed of a metallic material to copper metal thickness on the at least one exposed surface composed of a non-metallic material is greater than 4:1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a ratio of copper metal thickness on the at least one exposed surface composed of a metallic material to copper metal thickness on the at least one exposed surface composed of a non-metallic material is greater than 4:1, for when the general conditions of a claim are disclosed by the prior art it is not inventive to discover an optimum or workable range by routine experimentation In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223 (CCPA 1955). (Fig. 6; para 0015- the selective deposition of Metal 2 onto "Metal 1" in a highly selective fashion, thus enabling a bottom-up filling of the via with Metal 2).
Claim(s) 5, 7, 31 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2023/0245894 A1) in view of Or-Bach et al. (US 2021/0134646 A1)
Regarding claims 5 and 31, Chen et al. discloses the method of claim 4 as discussed above. Chen et al. further discloses comprising to form the plurality of dimples before contacting the substrate with a vapor of a copper-containing compound and hydrazine (para 0006- the conductive vias that connect layers; para 0015- enabling a bottom-up filling of the via with Metal 2), but fails to disclose polishing the first face. However, Or-Bach et al., drawn to microelectronics, discloses polishing the first face (para 0323- An oxide layer 9206 may be deposited and polished with CMP. FIG. 33E shows the next step of the process...Via holes 9210 may be masked and may be etched to word-lines and source and drain connections... Via holes may then be filled with a metal). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the polishing disclosed by Or-Bach et al. to the method disclosed by Chen et al. to facilitate processing of the method (See Or-Bach et al., para 0323).
Regarding claims 7 and 33, Chen et al. fails to disclose further comprising attaching the first microelectronic device to a second microelectronic device such that copper metal coating aligns with an electrically conductive layer in the second microelectronic device wherein the copper metal coating is configured to mitigate slight misalignments between layers. However, Or-Bach et al., drawn to microelectronics, discloses attaching the first microelectronic device to a second microelectronic device such that metal coating aligns with an electrically conductive layer in the second microelectronic device wherein the metal coating is configured to mitigate slight misalignments between layers (Fig. 33E, Fig, 33F; para 0323- second Partial Depleted Silicon On Insulator (PD-SOI) transistor layer 9209 may be formed atop the first PD-SOI transistor layer using steps similar to...Via holes 9210 may be masked and may be etched to word-lines and source and drain connections...Via holes may then be filled with a metal). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the steps disclosed by Or-Bach et al to the method disclosed by Chen et al. to broaden the application of method (See Or-Bach et al, para 0323).
Claim(s) 16-18 and 24-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2023/0245894 A1) in view of Xu et al. (US 2006/0178006 A1).
Chen et al. does not teach the claimed precursors of claims 16-18 and 24-28. However, Xu, drawn to vapor deposition, discloses Cu(I) or Cu(II) diketonate (para 0084 metal beta-diketonate precursors, such as (hfac)Cu (I); para 0134- Cu (II) (ẞ-diketonato)2 species, such as Cu (II) (acac)2). Xu additionally discloses the copper-containing compound is selected from the group consisting of Cu(II) 2,6-dimethylheptane-3,5-dionate (para 0084 metal beta-diketonate precursors, such as (hfac)Cu (I); para [0134- Cu (II) (ẞ-diketonato)2 species, such as Cu (II) (acac)2; para 0094-0127- Cu(dibm)2...dibm=2,6-dimethylheptane-3,5-dionate). Also, in Xu, the copper-containing compound is selected from the group consisting of Cu(I) 2,6-dimethylheptane-3,5- dionate (para 0084 metal beta-diketonate precursors, such as (hfac)Cu (I); para 0134- Cu (II) (B-diketonato)2 species, such as Cu (II) (acac)2; para 0094-0127- Cu(dibm)2...dibm=2,6- dimethylheptanc-3,5-dionatc). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the copper-containing compound disclosed by Xu to the copper-containing compound disclosed by Chen et al. to facilitate deposition of copper (See Xu, para [0027]).
Claim(s) 19-20 and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2023/0245894 A1) in view of Yuan et al. (Can. J. Chem. Vol 72, 1994)
As to claims 19 and 26, Chen et al. discloses wherein the copper-containing compound is a Cu(I) compound (para [0040]- Copper precursors such as copper (I) amidinates and copper (I) guanidate precursors such as copper (I) 2-methoxy-1,3-diisopropylamidinate), but fails to disclose Cu diketonate that includes a stabilizing ligand. However, Yuan, drawn to vapor deposition, discloses Cu diketonate that includes a stabilizing ligand (pg. 1605, col 1-There are excellent precursors for CVD of copper having the formula [Cu(hfac)L] or [Cu(hfac)L,] (6), hfac = 1,1,1,5,5,5- hexafluoropentanedionato... [Cu(hfac)(CH2=CHSiMe3)]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the copper-containing compound disclosed by Yuan to the copper-containing compound disclosed by Chen et al. to facilitate deposition of copper (See Yuan, pg. 1605, col 1).
Regarding claims 20 and 27, Yuan further discloses wherein the stabilizing ligand is CH2=CHSiMe3 (pg. 1605, col 1-There are excellent precursors for CVD of copper having the formula [Cu(hfac)L] or [Cu(hfac)L,] (6), hfac = 1,1,1,5,5,5- hexafluoropentanedionato... [Cu(hfac)(CH2=CHSiMe3)]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1718
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718