DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. DE10 2023 202 325.3 filed on (3/15/23).
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on (3/11/24) is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Perlo US 9649923).
[CLAIM 1] Regarding claim 1, Perlo discloses a drive arrangement for a motor vehicle (100), the drive arrangement comprising: a first drive axle device (Perlo, FIG 1) configured for driving with a first axle ratio, the first drive axle device comprising a first drive module (Perlo, FIG 1) with a first electric drive machine (motors 40); and a second drive axle device (Perlo, FIG 1) configured for driving with a second axle ratio (Column 2, Lines 20-25 discloses gear ratios of the combined differential transmission) second drive axle device comprising a second drive module with a second electric drive machine (motors 40).
[CLAIM 2] Regarding claim 2, Perlo discloses the drive arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the first drive module comprises a first transmission system (55) with a plurality of shiftable gear ratio levels (Column 2, Lines 20-25 discloses gear ratios) and the second drive module comprises a second transmission system (55) with a plurality of shiftable gear ratio levels (Column 2, Lines 20-25 discloses gear ratios and inherently shift).
[CLAIM 3] Regarding claim 3, Perlo discloses the drive arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the first drive module is identical to the second drive module (Perlo, FIG 1).
[CLAIM 4] Regarding claim 4, Perlo discloses the drive arrangement according to claim 1, wherein each of the first drive axle device and the second drive axle device has a standardized drive module interface (Perlo, FIG 1).
[CLAIM 5] Regarding claim 5, Perlo discloses the drive arrangement according to claim 4, wherein each of the first drive module and the second drive module has an interface that is compatible with a respective drive module interface (Perlo, FIG 1).
[CLAIM 6] Regarding claim 6, Perlo discloses the drive arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the first drive axle device comprises first end transmissions (differential transmission 55 has ends).
[CLAIM 7] Regarding claim 7, Perlo discloses the drive arrangement according to claim 6, the first drive axle device has a standardized end transmission (differential transmission 55 has ends) interface.
[CLAIM 8] Regarding claim 8, Perlo discloses the drive arrangement according to claim 7, wherein the first end transmissions has an interface that is compatible with the end transmission interface (The differential transmission ends inherently interface via gearing and a center shaft to transmit power).
[CLAIM 10] Regarding claim 10, Perlo discloses a motor vehicle comprising the drive arrangement according to claim 1 (Perlo, FIG 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perlo US 9649923) in view of Minegishi (US PG PUB 2002/0111243).
[CLAIM 9] Regarding claim 9, drive arrangement according to claim 6.
-However, it fails to disclose wherein the first end transmission is adapted as external planetary gears.
-Nevertheless, Minegishi discloses in para [0011] external planetary gears 15a-15b.
-Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Perlo as taught by Minegishi with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide additional transmission speeds and shifting
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be found on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JAMES J TRIGGS/Examiner, Art Unit 3614B
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614