DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 4-7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, line 2, “the hydrofluorocarbon” should read “the chain hydrofluorocarbon”.
Claim 4, lines 3-4, “the hydrofluorocarbon” should read “the chain hydrofluorocarbon”.
Claim 5, lines 4 and 7, the parentheses should be removed.
Claim 6, line 7, the parentheses should be removed.
Claim 7, line 2, “the hydrofluorocarbon” should read “the chain hydrofluorocarbon”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwaya (US 20110020700 A1) in view of Kurihara et al. (US 20170133660 A1).
Regarding claim 1 and 5-7:
Iwaya teaches a secondary cell comprising a nonaqueous electrolyte wherein the nonaqueous electrolyte comprises a lithium salt, a hydrofluoroether and an ether compound (0040). The secondary cell using the nonaqueous electrolyte has a negative electrode and a positive electrode, and the nonaqueous electrolyte (0104).
Iwaya also teaches an ether not having a fluorine which is preferably monoglyme, diglyme, triglyme, tetraglyme, pentaglyme, hexaglyme, diethylene glycol diethyl ether, triethylene glycol diethyl ether, tetraethylene glycol diethyl ether, pentaethylene glycol diethyl ether or hexaethylene glycol diethyl ether (0069).
Iwaya also teaches in Formula (2-A1) above, a hydrofluoroether HFE347pc-f (CF3CH2OCF2CF2H) (0055, 0143), i.e. 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl-2,2,2-trifluoroethyl ether and a chain hydrofluorocarbon AC6000 (CF3CF2CF2CF2CF2CF2CH2CH3) (0159) which has a ratio (F/(F + H)) of (13/(13+5) = 0.72.
However, Iwaya does not teach a negative electrode not having a negative-electrode active material.
Kurihara et al. teaches a negative electrode without providing an active material layer can be used in a lithium-ion secondary battery; thus, the secondary battery can be fabricated without increasing facility, temporal and financial costs accompanied by steps of forming the active material layer (0024).
In light of the motivation for using a negative electrode without providing an active material layer disclosed by Kurihara et al. as set forth above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a negative electrode without providing an active material layer in the secondary cell of Iwaya in order to avoid increasing facility, temporal and financial costs.
Regarding claim 2:
Iwaya in view of Kurihara et al. teaches a secondary cell as set forth above.
Further, given that Iwaya teaches a chain hydrofluorocarbon AC6000 (CF3CF2CF2CF2CF2CF2CH2CH3) (0159), it is therefore calculated that the molecular weight of AC6000 is 348, meeting the claimed range.
Regarding claim 3:
Given that Iwaya in view of Kurihara et al. disclose an ether not having a fluorine atom, a hydrofluoroether, a chain hydrofluorocarbon, and a lithium salt as presently claimed, the boiling point of the electrolyte solution would necessarily inherently be 74°C or higher.
Regarding claim 4:
Iwaya in view of Kurihara et al. teach a secondary cell as set forth above.
Further, Iwaya teaches a volume of AC6000 is 1.5 mL and a volume of HFE347pc is 28.5 mL (Table 7). Therefore, a content of AC6000 is 5.0% by volume with respect to a total amount of AC6000 and HFE347pc.
Iwaya also teaches a volume of AC6000 is 1.5 mL and a volume of HFE347pc is 28.5 mL (Table 7). Therefore, a content of AC6000 is 15.0% with respect to a total amount of AC6000 and HFE347pc.
Regarding claim 8:
Iwaya in view of Kurihara et al. teach a secondary cell as set forth above.
Further, Iwaya teaches a lithium salt comprising LiPF6 and FSO2N(Li)SO2F, i.e. LiN(SO2F)2 (0042).
Regarding claim 9-10:
Iwaya in view of Kurihara et al. teach a secondary cell as set forth above.
Iwaya also teaches 8.05 g of diglyme is used. Further, Iwaya teaches a volume of AC6000 is 1.5 mL and a volume of HFE347pc is 28.5 mL (Table 7).
Using the density of diglyme at 25°C (0.939 g/ml, Sigma Aldrich), the volume of diglyme is 8.57 ml. Therefore, the content of diglyme is 22.1% by volume with respect to a total amount of solvent components in the electrolyte solution, and the total content of HFE347pc and AC6000 is 77.9% by volume with respect to a total amount of solvent components in the electrolyte solution.
Conclusion
/MADISON ELIZABETH BROWN/Examiner, Art Unit 1787
/CALLIE E SHOSHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1787