DETAILED ACTION
In response to communication filed on 12 January 2026, claims 1 and 12 are amended. Claim 8 is canceled. Claims 1-7 and 9-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Claim Objection” filed 12 January 2026, have been carefully considered and based on the amendments the claim objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see “Rejection Under 35 U.S.C § 101” filed 12 January 2026, have been carefully considered. Based on remarks filed on pages 15-20, the claim rejections are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see “Rejection Under 35 U.S.C § 103” filed 12 January 2026, have been carefully considered but are not considered to be persuasive:
APPLICANT’S ARGUMENT: Applicant argues that the cited references are non-analogous art and address disparate technical problems.
EXAMINER’S RESPONSE: Examiner has carefully considered the argument but respectfully disagrees. Chor and Gauthier are both related to data analysis and they appear to be relevant with each other. According to MPEP [2141.01 (a)] “A reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention). Note that "same field of endeavor" and "reasonably pertinent" are two separate tests for establishing analogous art; it is not necessary for a reference to fulfill both tests in order to qualify as analogous art. See Bigio, 381 F.3d at 1325, 72 USPQ2d at 1212. The examiner must determine whether a reference is analogous art to the claimed invention when analyzing the obviousness of the subject matter under examination. When more than one prior art reference is used as the basis of an obviousness rejection, it is not required that the references be analogous art to each other”. However, both Chor and Gauthier are relevant references. As a result the above argument cannot be considered to be persuasive.
APPLICANT’S ARGUMENT: Applicant also argues that the proposed combination lacks an articulated rationale and would not have been pursued with a reasonable expectation of success.
EXAMINER’S RESPONSE: Examiner has carefully considered the argument but respectfully disagrees. According to MPEP [2131.05] “A reference may be directed to an entirely different problem than the one addressed by the inventor, or may be from an entirely different field of endeavor than that of the claimed invention, yet the reference is still anticipatory if it explicitly or inherently discloses every limitation recited in the claims”. Similarly a combination of Smith, Chor and Gauthier discloses all the claim limitations as explained in the rejection below. As a result the above argument cannot be considered to be persuasive.
APPLICANT’S ARGUMENT: Applicant further argues that Lazier does not teach or suggest Applicant's suppression/marker-based mechanism used to control inclusion/exclusion of data elements during aggregation/report generation, nor does Lazier supply a reasoned basis to modify Smith, Chor, or Gauthier to include such suppression parsing and marker storage in the claimed workflow.
EXAMINER’S RESPONSE: Examiner has carefully considered the argument but respectfully disagrees. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Similarly, the arguments are generic and do not specifically point out how the language claim limitations distinguish from Lazier reference. As a result the above arguments are not considered to be persuasive.
The other arguments are related to newly added limitations and are addressed in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 9-12 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US 10,009,391 B1, hereinafter “Smith”) in view of Chor et al. (US 2021/0027458 A1, hereinafter “Chor”) further in view of Gauthier et al. (US 2008/0005182 A1, hereinafter “Gauthier”).
Regarding claim 1, Smith teaches
A method for tracking data in a computer network, the method comprising: (see Smith, [col1 lines39-40] “computer-implemented method of acquiring and managing web-based time series data”; [col34 line3] “the ability to track data users”).
receiving, from a user device, a request to aggregate a first set of a first data, wherein the first request includes first information; (see Smith, [col 35 lines 6-20] “If the data source of interest to the user comprises a collection of transactions, such as from a user's bank debit card, each transaction typified by a date/time… offer up to the user menus of data attributes such as “Vendor” and “Location”, (3) invite the user to select some or all of the desired dimensions along which to summarize the data (eg. by Vendor), including the ability to include/exclude specific alternatives among the class of Vendors found, (4) allow the user to choose a data frequency for aggregation (eg., weekly, monthly, daily, quarterly annually or no aggregation)”).
aggregating, based on the first information, a first set of a first data; (see Smith, [col27 lines19-21] “in that they may be subsequently utilized as a basis for searching, selecting, aggregating or statistically distributing a collection of data”; [col35 lines3-5] “Data, Allowing Aggregation by Multiple Attribute Dimensions of the Raw Transaction Data, and Delivery of Data into Enabled Applications”; [col6 lines41-43] “a collection of time series and performing an action on the defined collection, wherein the time series are subject to being updated” – the aggregated collection of time series has been interpreted as first set of the first data).
receiving, from a user interface associated with a user device, a first input or a first selection comprising one or more content information of the first set of the first data; (see Smith, [col 5 lines 35-57] “the time series server causes display in the client browser, after the set of time series has been graphically selected by the user… responsive to user selection, the time series server causes display in the client browser of: times series that are descendants of a selected time series, time series that are ancestors of a selected series of the selected time series, time series that are immediate parents of the selected time series, and time series that are immediate children of the selected time series… method for providing a user interface for displaying, on a client computer by a given user, a selected grouped set of time series, wherein the time series are subject to being updated”).
analyzing, based on the first input or the first selection, the one or more content information of the first set of the first data to determine the one or more content information of the first set of the first data is in accordance with the first information; (see Smith, [col 5 lines 35-57] “the time series server causes display in the client browser, after the set of time series has been graphically selected by the user… responsive to user selection, the time series server causes display in the client browser of: times series that are descendants of a selected time series, time series that are ancestors of a selected series of the selected time series, time series that are immediate parents of the selected time series, and time series that are immediate children of the selected time series… method for providing a user interface for displaying, on a client computer by a given user, a selected grouped set of time series, wherein the time series are subject to being updated”; [col51 lines 6-11] “obtained an analysis to identify all ancestor and descendant series and the calculations defined with respect to them including the evaluation order of the calculations utilized in both the ancestral and descendant calculation chains”).
in response to (see Smith, [col24 line31] “it sends information in response to the requesting process”) the one or more content information of the first set of the first data being in accordance with the first information, (see Smith, [col51 lines6-11] “obtained an analysis to identify all ancestor and descendant series and the calculations defined with respect to them including the evaluation order of the calculations utilized in both the ancestral and descendant calculation chains”) analyzing (see Smith, [col23 lines25-28] “The DataZephyr application 143 provides charting and analysis of data, and is particularly suited to charting and analyzing time series data, among other things”; [col30 lines49-52] “underlying data, being viewed in the browser of client computer 14 may be imported into the DataZephyr charting and analysis application 143. In this example a calculation is performed on the time series data using DataZephyr”) one or more first fields of the first set of the first data to determine (see Smith, [col51 lines6-11] “obtained an analysis to identify all ancestor and descendant series and the calculations defined with respect to them including the evaluation order of the calculations utilized in both the ancestral and descendant calculation chains”; [col63 lines45-18] “where each row represents a portion of a requested series and each column aligns the data observation appropriate for a given time period” – there are plurality of columns and the columns related to series are interpreted as fields”) one or more first data elements of the first set include a first parameter; (see Smith, [col23 line66 – col24 line] “The DataZoa server 17, depending on configuration of the user account and parameters associated with the server 17, will update on a period or other basis the data stored in Normalized Data storage 171, so that the user may access periodically updated data each time the user seeks data from storage 171”).
in response to (see Smith, [col24 line31] “it sends information in response to the requesting process”) determining the one or more first data elements of the first set include the first parameter,… (see Smith, [col23 line66 – col24 line] “The DataZoa server 17, depending on configuration of the user account and parameters associated with the server 17, will update on a period or other basis the data stored in Normalized Data storage 171, so that the user may access periodically updated data each time the user seeks data from storage 171”).
generating or determining a second set of the first data, wherein the second set of the first data includes one or more second data elements in the first set of the first data… (see Smith, [col9 lines41-49] “a collection of time series and performing an action on the defined collection, wherein the time series are subject to being updated. In addition to maintaining, and repeatedly updating, in normative formats, on a time series server, each member of a set of time series.. serving by the time series server a distinct time series name for each member of the set of time series in a first web page over a wide area network to the client computer” – there is a distinct time series related information specific to each member so information related to each member has been interpreted as the second set of the first data; [col66 lines24-29] “the time series server being a web server configured to store and serve time series data for a plurality of users, wherein each user has a separate user account by which such user can store and access time series data using web pages, each member of the set of time series”).
aggregating, based on the first information, (see Smith, [col27 lines19-21] “in that they may be subsequently utilized as a basis for searching, selecting, aggregating or statistically distributing a collection of data”; [col35 lines3-5] “Data, Allowing Aggregation by Multiple Attribute Dimensions of the Raw Transaction Data, and Delivery of Data into Enabled Applications”; [col6 lines41-43] “a collection of time series and performing an action on the defined collection, wherein the time series are subject to being updated”) the second set of the first data; (see Smith, [col9 lines41-49] “a collection of time series and performing an action on the defined collection, wherein the time series are subject to being updated. In addition to maintaining, and repeatedly updating, in normative formats, on a time series server, each member of a set of time series.. serving by the time series server a distinct time series name for each member of the set of time series in a first web page over a wide area network to the client computer” – there is a distinct time series related information specific to each member so information related to each member has been interpreted as the second set of the first data; [col66 lines24-29] “the time series server being a web server configured to store and serve time series data for a plurality of users, wherein each user has a separate user account by which such user can store and access time series data using web pages, each member of the set of time series”).
receiving, from the user interface associated with the user device, (see Smith, [col 34 lines 45-49] “The user may select via check-boxes, the series desired to be placed in the table, and then choose various options and controls such as number of time periods, and whether the table should always go to the "Latest" date, which means that it would roll forward”) a second input comprising a second parameter, a third parameter, a fourth parameter, and a fifth parameter, wherein the second parameter comprises a date period start, the third parameter comprises a date period end, the fourth parameter comprises a filtering parameter, and the fifth parameter comprises first state information; (see Smith, [col 46 lines 41-45] “The I< control presents to the user the very beginning date range of the series, starting with the very first date, while the >I icon presents to the user the ending date range of the series, including the very last date available”; [col 46 lines 56-58] “Additionally, the user can enter text in a "Filter" box 3912 which will cause only series matching that text to appear”; [col 58 lines 26-32] “representation of a display of a web page of a user's account… showing use of filtering of the displayed series on the basis of the series names including text matching the text entered in the box entitled: "Show only titles like:"… to locate specific series based on elements of the series title”; [col 58 lines 49-54] “the user has clicked upon the blue info icon (shown in FIG. 60) which action exposes a panel containing a full range of information about that data series, including its frequency 6101, time span 6102, date of latest update 6103, unique series key 6104 in DataZoa, footnotes associated with the series”).
retrieving, based on the second input, (see Smith, [col 46 lines 41-45] “The I< control presents to the user the very beginning date range of the series, starting with the very first date, while the >I icon presents to the user the ending date range of the series, including the very last date available”; [col 46 lines 56-58] “Additionally, the user can enter text in a "Filter" box 3912 which will cause only series matching that text to appear”; [col 58 lines 26-32] “representation of a display of a web page of a user's account… showing use of filtering of the displayed series on the basis of the series names including text matching the text entered in the box entitled: "Show only titles like:"… to locate specific series based on elements of the series title”; [col 58 lines 49-54] “the user has clicked upon the blue info icon (shown in FIG. 60) which action exposes a panel containing a full range of information about that data series, including its frequency 6101, time span 6102, date of latest update 6103, unique series key 6104 in DataZoa, footnotes associated with the series”) information associated with the aggregating the second set of the first data (see Smith, [col9 lines41-49] “a collection of time series and performing an action on the defined collection, wherein the time series are subject to being updated. In addition to maintaining, and repeatedly updating, in normative formats, on a time series server, each member of a set of time series.. serving by the time series server a distinct time series name for each member of the set of time series in a first web page over a wide area network to the client computer” – there is a distinct time series related information specific to each member so information related to each member has been interpreted as the second set of the first data; [col66 lines24-29] “the time series server being a web server configured to store and serve time series data for a plurality of users, wherein each user has a separate user account by which such user can store and access time series data using web pages, each member of the set of time series”) from one or more… servers, (see Smith, [col3 lines25-26] “wherein the time series data is stored on the server”; [col22 lines35-39] “A series of servers, each independently… there may be multiple instances of each of these servers”) thereby generating retrieved information, wherein the retrieved information comprises (see Smith, [col 46 lines 27 - 31] “a representation of a display of a web page of a user's account illustrating the dataBlocks… when the Dropzone tab is active, whereby there is presented a scrollable panning view of data that include a fixed date”) the second parameter, the third parameter, the fourth parameter, and the fifth parameter; (see Smith, [col 46 lines 41-45] “The I< control presents to the user the very beginning date range of the series, starting with the very first date, while the >I icon presents to the user the ending date range of the series, including the very last date available”; [col 46 lines 56-58] “Additionally, the user can enter text in a "Filter" box 3912 which will cause only series matching that text to appear”; [col 58 lines 26-32] “representation of a display of a web page of a user's account… showing use of filtering of the displayed series on the basis of the series names including text matching the text entered in the box entitled: "Show only titles like:"… to locate specific series based on elements of the series title”; [col 58 lines 49-54] “the user has clicked upon the blue info icon (shown in FIG. 60) which action exposes a panel containing a full range of information about that data series, including its frequency 6101, time span 6102, date of latest update 6103, unique series key 6104 in DataZoa, footnotes associated with the series”).
… based on the retrieved information associated with the aggregating the second set of the first data; (see Smith, [col9 lines41-49] “a collection of time series and performing an action on the defined collection, wherein the time series are subject to being updated. In addition to maintaining, and repeatedly updating, in normative formats, on a time series server, each member of a set of time series.. serving by the time series server a distinct time series name for each member of the set of time series in a first web page over a wide area network to the client computer” – there is a distinct time series related information specific to each member so information related to each member has been interpreted as the second set of the first data; [col66 lines24-29] “the time series server being a web server configured to store and serve time series data for a plurality of users, wherein each user has a separate user account by which such user can store and access time series data using web pages, each member of the set of time series”).
updating the first information… (see Smith, [col 35 lines 24-28] “where the data originates in raw transaction format, and the User is given the opportunity to place their own interpretive rules upon the raw transaction data, which rules become part of the subsequent Automatic Data Update Cycle”).
Smith does not explicitly teach establishing a secure communication connection with the user device; removing the one or more first data elements from the first set of the first data; data that do not include the first parameter; from one or more data cloud servers, generating one or more reports; updating first information comprised in or associated with the one or more reports, determining a first lifecycle state of the one or more reports, wherein the first lifecycle state of the one or more reports comprises a pending state; determining a first change from the first lifecycle state of the one or more reports to a second lifecycle state of the one or more reports, wherein the second lifecycle state of the one or more reports comprises an authorship or first submission state; and determining a second change from the second lifecycle state of the one or more reports to a third lifecycle state of the one or more reports, wherein the third lifecycle state of the one or more reports comprises a first completion state.
However, Chor discloses cloud-based data system and teaches
establishing a secure communication connection with the user device; (see Chor, [0392] “secure, bidirectional communications may be established between client device 404 and data intake and query system 108”).
removing the one or more first data elements from the first set of the first data; (see Chor, [0256] “the search command can allow events to be filtered by keyword as well as field value criteria. For example, a search command can filter out all events containing the word "warning" or filter out all events where a field value associated with a field "clientip" is "10.0.1.2."; [0382] “Examples of client devices 404 may include… servers… device 404 may include, without limitation, a processor 1802”).
data that do not include the first parameter; (see Chor, [0210] “if the filter criteria includes a criterion for source S1 and the "sessionID" field is found in source S2, the source S2 can replace S1 in the filter criteria, be appended such that the filter criteria includes source S1 and source S2, or be excluded based on the presence of the filter criterion source S1”).
one or more data cloud environment (see Chor, [0389] “cloud-based data intake and query system 306 executing in cloud environment 1850”).
generating one or more reports (see Chor, [0298] “It encodes the domain knowledge used to build a variety of specialized searches of those datasets. Those searches, in turn, can be used to generate reports”).
… comprised in or associated with the one or more reports, (see Chor, [0361] “In addition to the creation of the summaries, the summarization engine schedules the periodic updating of the report… the results returned by this query on the additional events, along with the partial results obtained from the intermediate summaries, can be combined to generate the updated report”)
… the one or more reports,... (see Chor, [0298] “It encodes the domain knowledge used to build a variety of specialized searches of those datasets. Those searches, in turn, can be used to generate reports”) the one or more reports… (see Chor, [0298] “It encodes the domain knowledge used to build a variety of specialized searches of those datasets. Those searches, in turn, can be used to generate reports”).
… the one or more reports,... (see Chor, [0298] “It encodes the domain knowledge used to build a variety of specialized searches of those datasets. Those searches, in turn, can be used to generate reports”) the one or more reports,… (see Chor, [0298] “It encodes the domain knowledge used to build a variety of specialized searches of those datasets. Those searches, in turn, can be used to generate reports”) the one or more reports… (see Chor, [0298] “It encodes the domain knowledge used to build a variety of specialized searches of those datasets. Those searches, in turn, can be used to generate reports”).
… the one or more reports,... (see Chor, [0298] “It encodes the domain knowledge used to build a variety of specialized searches of those datasets. Those searches, in turn, can be used to generate reports”) the one or more reports,… (see Chor, [0298] “It encodes the domain knowledge used to build a variety of specialized searches of those datasets. Those searches, in turn, can be used to generate reports”) the one or more reports (see Chor, [0298] “It encodes the domain knowledge used to build a variety of specialized searches of those datasets. Those searches, in turn, can be used to generate reports”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the functionality of removing data, excluding parameter, parsing data, data cloud, generating reports related to the data, parsing fields to determine if fields are suppressed, suppressing fields, storing marker, storing other information, accessing reports based on specific criteria, reports being viewed based on interface, as being taught and disclosed by Chor, in the system taught by the proposed combination of Smith and Gauthier to yield the predictable results of effectively identifying one or more machines in an operating environment and accessing information associated with those machines (see Chor, [0007] “what is needed in the art are more effective ways for identifying one or more machines in an operating environment and accessing information associated with those machines”).
The proposed combination of Smith and Chor does not explicitly teach determining a first lifecycle state of the one or more reports, wherein the first lifecycle state of the one or more reports comprises a pending state; determining a first change from the first lifecycle state of the one or more reports to a second lifecycle state of the one or more reports, wherein the second lifecycle state of the one or more reports comprises an authorship or a first submission state; and determining a second change from the second lifecycle state of the one or more reports to a third lifecycle state of the one or more reports, wherein the third lifecycle state of the one or more reports comprises a first completion state.
However, Gauthier discloses lifecycle state and also teaches
determining a first lifecycle state of the instances of documents wherein the first lifecycle state of the instances of documents comprises a pending state; (see Gauthier, [0021] “within a document lifecycle definition (e.g. changes are only allowed to document instances that are in the draft lifecycle state”; Fig. 5; [0048] “Example lifecycle states 205-3 include a draft state (the initial lifecycle state)”; [0070]-[0071] “The mutability rule field 530 specifies whether the document instance 160 may be modified while the document instance 160 is in the corresponding lifecycle state 525 (has a lifecycle state 205-3 that equals the value in the lifecycle state 525) and the portions of the document instance 160 that may be modified… the record 505 specifies that while the document instance 160 contains a lifecycle state 205-3 of "draft," all of the document content 220 and all attributes 205 are mutable (capable of being changed)” – draft state from Gauthier has been interpreted as pending state).
determining a first change from the first lifecycle state of instances of documents to a second lifecycle state of instances of documents wherein the second lifecycle state of instances of documents comprises a first submission state; and (see Gauthier, [0048] “Example lifecycle states 205-3 include a draft state (the initial lifecycle state)” a reviewed state, and approved state, and an effective state (the final lifecycles state)… The document instance 160 moves through the various lifecycle states (from the initial lifecycle state to the final lifecycle state by the controller 170 changing the lifecycle state 205-3) during the lifecycle of the document instance 160 as the content 220 of the document instance 160 is edited. The various lifecycle states 205-3 and the movement of the document instance 160 between the lifecycle states 205-3 as the content 220 of the document instance 160 is changed, modified, amended, or edited constitutes the lifecycle of the document instance 160”; Fig. 5; [0071] “The record 510 specifies that while the document instance 160 contains a lifecycle state 205-3 of "reviewed," all of the document content 220 and a subset of the attributes 205 are mutable” – draft state from Gauthier has been interpreted as first submission state).
determining a second change from the second lifecycle state of instances of documents to a third lifecycle state of instances of documents wherein the third lifecycle state of instances of documents… comprises a first completion state (see Gauthier, [0048] “Example lifecycle states 205-3 include a draft state (the initial lifecycle state), a reviewed state, and approved state, and an effective state (the final lifecycles state)… The document instance 160 moves through the various lifecycle states (from the initial lifecycle state to the final lifecycle state by the controller 170 changing the lifecycle state 205-3) during the lifecycle of the document instance 160 as the content 220 of the document instance 160 is edited. The various lifecycle states 205-3 and the movement of the document instance 160 between the lifecycle states 205-3 as the content 220 of the document instance 160 is changed, modified, amended, or edited constitutes the lifecycle of the document instance 160”; Fig. 5; [0071] “The record 515 specifies that while the document instance 160 has a lifecycle state 205-3 of "approved," all of the document content 220 and a subset of the attributes 205 are mutable.” – approved state from Gauthier has been interpreted a first completion state).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the functionality of plurality of lifecycle states as being taught and disclosed by Gauthier, in the system taught by the proposed combination of Smith and Chor to yield the predictable results of effectively managing changes to configuration sets in support of instances of documents (see Gauthier, [0017] “provides a lifecycle for managing changes to configurations sets in support of instances of documents, themselves of which are being driven through a lifecycle within a content management system. In an embodiment, the configuration set changes are implemented into the document instances automatically based on upgrade rules in response to a "promotion" action, which deploys a pending configuration change into the operational environment of the content management system”).
Claim 12 incorporates substantively all the limitations of claim 1 in a system form (see Smith, [col21 lines3] “A "server" includes a server system”; [col1 lines39-40] “computer-implemented method of acquiring and managing web-based time series data”; Fig. 1; [col19 line66 - col20 line2] “a computer using computer hardware (such as a processor, field-programmable gate array or other electronic combinatorial logic, or similar device)”; [col1lines43-44] “receiving over a network, from a requesting process running on one of a client computer and a server”) and is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 4, the proposed combination of Smith, Chor and Gauthier teaches
further comprising receiving, from the user interacting with the user interface, a third input or a second selection, wherein the third input or the second selection (see Smith, [col 6 lines 39-42] “for providing a user interface on a client computer for defining, by a given user having a user account, a collection of time series and performing an action on the defined collection”) initiates the analyzing the one or more content information (see Smith, [col51 lines6-11] “obtained an analysis to identify all ancestor and descendant series and the calculations defined with respect to them including the evaluation order of the calculations utilized in both the ancestral and descendant calculation chains”) of the first set of the first data (see Smith, [col27 lines19-21] “in that they may be subsequently utilized as a basis for searching, selecting, aggregating or statistically distributing a collection of data”; [col35 lines3-5] “Data, Allowing Aggregation by Multiple Attribute Dimensions of the Raw Transaction Data, and Delivery of Data into Enabled Applications”; [col6 lines41-43] “a collection of time series and performing an action on the defined collection, wherein the time series are subject to being updated” – the aggregated collection of time series has been interpreted as first set of the first data)..
Regarding claim 5, the proposed combination of Smith, Chor and Gauthier teaches
wherein the one or more content information (see Smith, [col51 lines6-11] “obtained an analysis to identify all ancestor and descendant series and the calculations defined with respect to them including the evaluation order of the calculations utilized in both the ancestral and descendant calculation chains”) of the first set of the first data comprises (see Smith, [col27 lines19-21] “in that they may be subsequently utilized as a basis for searching, selecting, aggregating or statistically distributing a collection of data”; [col35 lines3-5] “Data, Allowing Aggregation by Multiple Attribute Dimensions of the Raw Transaction Data, and Delivery of Data into Enabled Applications”; [col6 lines41-43] “a collection of time series and performing an action on the defined collection, wherein the time series are subject to being updated” – the aggregated collection of time series has been interpreted as first set of the first data) a version (see Smith, [col4 lines41-43] “Any user accessing data via a "follow" is guaranteed to see the latest version of that data”) of the first set of the first data (see Smith, [col27 lines19-21] “in that they may be subsequently utilized as a basis for searching, selecting, aggregating or statistically distributing a collection of data”; [col35 lines3-5] “Data, Allowing Aggregation by Multiple Attribute Dimensions of the Raw Transaction Data, and Delivery of Data into Enabled Applications”; [col6 lines41-43] “a collection of time series and performing an action on the defined collection, wherein the time series are subject to being updated” – the aggregated collection of time series has been interpreted as first set of the first data).
Regarding claim 6, the proposed combination of Smith, Chor and Gauthier teaches
further comprising parsing one or more fields (see Chor, [0170] “receives data blocks from a forwarder and parses the data to organize the data into events”) of the first data (see Smith, [col27 lines19-21] “in that they may be subsequently utilized as a basis for searching, selecting, aggregating or statistically distributing a collection of data” – collection of data has been interpreted as the first data) to determine (see Chor, [0170] “receives data blocks from a forwarder and parses the data to organize the data into events”) if a suppress submission field is present (see Chor, [0262] “the results of the prior stage can be pipelined to another stage where further filtering or processing of the data can be performed, e.g., preparing the data for display purposes, filtering the data based on a condition… removes the column that shows the percentage, thereby, leaving a final results table 628 without a percentage column”; [0266] “Extraction rules can be applied to all the events in a data store or to a subset of the events that have been filtered based on some criteria (e.g., event time stamp values, etc.)”). The motivation for the proposed combination is combination.
Regarding claim 7, the proposed combination of Smith, Chor and Gauthier teaches
further comprising storing (see Chor, [0127] “store the data in one or more data stores 208”) the one or more content information (see Smith, [col51 lines6-11] “obtained an analysis to identify all ancestor and descendant series and the calculations defined with respect to them including the evaluation order of the calculations utilized in both the ancestral and descendant calculation chains”) of the first set of the first data (see Smith, [col27 lines19-21] “in that they may be subsequently utilized as a basis for searching, selecting, aggregating or statistically distributing a collection of data”; [col35 lines3-5] “Data, Allowing Aggregation by Multiple Attribute Dimensions of the Raw Transaction Data, and Delivery of Data into Enabled Applications”; [col6 lines41-43] “a collection of time series and performing an action on the defined collection, wherein the time series are subject to being updated” – the aggregated collection of time series has been interpreted as first set of the first data). The motivation for the proposed combination is combination.
Regarding claim 9, the proposed combination of Smith, Chor and Gauthier teaches
wherein the first information comprises (see Smith, [col27 lines19-21] “in that they may be subsequently utilized as a basis for searching, selecting, aggregating or statistically distributing a collection of data”; [col35 lines3-5] “Data, Allowing Aggregation by Multiple Attribute Dimensions of the Raw Transaction Data, and Delivery of Data into Enabled Applications”) second information determining which of the first data generates the one or more reports (see Chor, [0306] “When a model is selected, the fields with available extraction rules are made available for use in the report… select some fields for organizing the report and select other fields for providing detail according to the report organization”). The motivation for the proposed combination is combination.
Regarding claim 10, the proposed combination of Smith, Chor and Gauthier teaches
wherein the analyzing the one or more content information (see Smith, [col51 lines6-11] “obtained an analysis to identify all ancestor and descendant series and the calculations defined with respect to them including the evaluation order of the calculations utilized in both the ancestral and descendant calculation chains”) of the first set of the first data comprises (see Smith, [col27 lines19-21] “in that they may be subsequently utilized as a basis for searching, selecting, aggregating or statistically distributing a collection of data”; [col35 lines3-5] “Data, Allowing Aggregation by Multiple Attribute Dimensions of the Raw Transaction Data, and Delivery of Data into Enabled Applications”; [col6 lines41-43] “a collection of time series and performing an action on the defined collection, wherein the time series are subject to being updated” – the aggregated collection of time series has been interpreted as first set of the first data) parsing (see Chor, [0170] “receives data blocks from a forwarder and parses the data to organize the data into events”) the one or more content information (see Smith, [col51 lines6-11] “obtained an analysis to identify all ancestor and descendant series and the calculations defined with respect to them including the evaluation order of the calculations utilized in both the ancestral and descendant calculation chains”) of the first set of the first data (see Smith, [col27 lines19-21] “in that they may be subsequently utilized as a basis for searching, selecting, aggregating or statistically distributing a collection of data”; [col35 lines3-5] “Data, Allowing Aggregation by Multiple Attribute Dimensions of the Raw Transaction Data, and Delivery of Data into Enabled Applications”; [col6 lines41-43] “a collection of time series and performing an action on the defined collection, wherein the time series are subject to being updated” – the aggregated collection of time series has been interpreted as first set of the first data). The motivation for the proposed combination is combination.
Regarding claim 11, the proposed combination of Smith, Chor and Gauthier teaches
further comprising providing a drop-down table (see Smith, [col 34 lines 17-21] “Any DataZoa table can carry (i) data from any external source supported by the DZ Dot processes described above via drag and drop or menu selection of sending the data to a user's DataZoa account”; [col 47 lines 33-34] “to define a collection of series to be operated upon by other choices in the drop-down menu”) for accessing the one or more reports (see Chor, [0311] “The screen may display interactive elements for defining various elements of a report”; [0269] “query results can be returned to a client, a search head… a report containing the values, a visualization (e.g., a graph or chart) generated from the values”) based on at least one of a name field, (see Chor, [0274] “Fields are searchable by the field name”). The motivation for the proposed combination is combination.
Regarding claim 15, the proposed combination of Smith, Chor and Gauthier teaches
wherein the instructions are further configured to provide the user interface for displaying at least a portion (see Smith, [col30 line66 – col31 line] “FIG. 15 illustrates an aspect of the user interface of an embodiment of the present invention by which time series data appearing in a table of a web page being viewed in the browser of client computer 14”) of the first data (see Smith, [col27 lines19-21] “in that they may be subsequently utilized as a basis for searching, selecting, aggregating or statistically distributing a collection of data” – collection of data has been interpreted as the first data).
Regarding claim 16, the proposed combination of Smith, Chor and Gauthier teaches
wherein the instructions are further configured to provide the user interface for updating the one or more content information (see Smith, [col5 lines54-57] “for providing a user interface for displaying, on a client computer by a given user, a selected grouped set of time series, wherein the time series are subject to being updated”) of the first set of the first data (see Smith, [col27 lines19-21] “in that they may be subsequently utilized as a basis for searching, selecting, aggregating or statistically distributing a collection of data”; [col35 lines3-5] “Data, Allowing Aggregation by Multiple Attribute Dimensions of the Raw Transaction Data, and Delivery of Data into Enabled Applications”; [col6 lines41-43] “a collection of time series and performing an action on the defined collection, wherein the time series are subject to being updated” – the aggregated collection of time series has been interpreted as first set of the first data).
Regarding claim 17, the proposed combination of Smith, Chor and Gauthier teaches
wherein the instructions are further configured to provide the user interface for updating the first information (see Smith, [col5 lines54-57] “for providing a user interface for displaying, on a client computer by a given user, a selected grouped set of time series, wherein the time series are subject to being updated”).
Regarding claim 18, the proposed combination of Smith, Chor and Gauthier teaches
wherein the instructions are further configured to determine when the one or more reports are available for viewing by the user (see Chor, [0311] “graphical user interface screen 1105 displaying the reporting application's “Report Editor” page. The screen may display interactive elements for defining various elements of a report. For example, the page includes a “Filters” element 1106, a “Split Rows” element 1107, a “Split Columns” element 1108, and a “Column Values” element 1109. The page may include a list of search results 1111. In this example, the Split Rows element 1107 is expanded, revealing a listing of fields 1110 that can be used to define additional criteria (e.g., reporting criteria). The listing of fields 1110 may correspond to the selected fields. That is, the listing of fields 1110 may list only the fields previously selected, either automatically and/or manually by a user. FIG. 11C illustrates a formatting dialogue 1112 that may be displayed upon selecting a field from the listing of fields 1110. The dialogue can be used to format the display of the results of the selection (e.g., label the column for the selected field to be displayed as “component”)”; [0303] “Data models and their objects can be designed by knowledge managers in an organization, and they can enable downstream users to quickly focus on a specific set of data”). The motivation for the proposed combination is combination.
Regarding claim 19, the proposed combination of Smith, Chor and Gauthier teaches
wherein the instructions are further configured to provide the user interface for displaying (see Chor, [0313] “graphical user interface screen 1200 that allows the user to filter search results and to perform statistical analysis on values extracted from specific fields in the set of events”) the one or more second data elements comprised in the second set of the first data (see Smith, [col9 lines41-49] “a collection of time series and performing an action on the defined collection, wherein the time series are subject to being updated. In addition to maintaining, and repeatedly updating, in normative formats, on a time series server, each member of a set of time series.. serving by the time series server a distinct time series name for each member of the set of time series in a first web page over a wide area network to the client computer” – there is a distinct time series related information specific to each member so information related to each member has been interpreted as the second set of the first data; [col66 lines24-29] “the time series server being a web server configured to store and serve time series data for a plurality of users, wherein each user has a separate user account by which such user can store and access time series data using web pages, each member of the set of time series”). The motivation for the proposed combination is combination.
Regarding claim 20, the proposed combination of Smith, Chor and Gauthier teaches
wherein the instructions are further configured to parse one or more fields (see Chor, [0170] “receives data blocks from a forwarder and parses the data to organize the data into events”) of the first data (see Smith, [col27 lines19-21] “in that they may be subsequently utilized as a basis for searching, selecting, aggregating or statistically distributing a collection of data” – collection of data has been interpreted as the first data) to determine (see Chor, [0170] “receives data blocks from a forwarder and parses the data to organize the data into events”) if a suppress submission field is present (see Chor, [0262] “the results of the prior stage can be pipelined to another stage where further filtering or processing of the data can be performed, e.g., preparing the data for display purposes, filtering the data based on a condition… removes the column that shows the percentage, thereby, leaving a final results table 628 without a percentage column”; [0266] “Extraction rules can be applied to all the events in a data store or to a subset of the events that have been filtered based on some criteria (e.g., event time stamp values, etc.)”). The motivation for the proposed combination is combination.
Claims 2-3 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith, Chor and Gauthier in view of Lazier et al. (US 10,459,647 B1, hereinafter “Lazier”).
Regarding claim 2, the proposed combination of Smith, Chor and Gauthier teaches
determining a fourth lifecycle state of the first data, wherein the fourth lifecycle state of the first data is based on (see Gauthier, [0048] “Example lifecycle states 205-3 include a draft state (the initial lifecycle state), a reviewed state, and approved state, and an effective state (the final lifecycles state)… The document instance 160 moves through the various lifecycle states (from the initial lifecycle state to the final lifecycle state by the controller 170 changing the lifecycle state 205-3) during the lifecycle of the document instance 160 as the content 220 of the document instance 160 is edited. The various lifecycle states 205-3 and the movement of the document instance 160 between the lifecycle states 205-3 as the content 220 of the document instance 160 is changed, modified, amended, or edited constitutes the lifecycle of the document instance 160”; Fig. 5; [0071] “The record 520 specifies that while the document instance 160 has a lifecycle state 205-3 of "effective," all of the document content 220 and a subset of the attributes 205 are immutable (not permitted to be changed)”) the first state information (see Smith, [col 58 lines 49-54] “the user has clicked upon the blue info icon (shown in FIG. 60) which action exposes a panel containing a full range of information about that data series, including its frequency 6101, time span 6102, date of latest update 6103, unique series key 6104 in DataZoa, footnotes associated with the series”) and wherein the fourth lifecycle state of the first data comprises… (see Gauthier, [0048] “Example lifecycle states 205-3 include a draft state (the initial lifecycle state), a reviewed state, and approved state, and an effective state (the final lifecycles state)… The document instance 160 moves through the various lifecycle states (from the initial lifecycle state to the final lifecycle state by the controller 170 changing the lifecycle state 205-3) during the lifecycle of the document instance 160 as the content 220 of the document instance 160 is edited. The various lifecycle states 205-3 and the movement of the document instance 160 between the lifecycle states 205-3 as the content 220 of the document instance 160 is changed, modified, amended, or edited constitutes the lifecycle of the document instance 160”; Fig. 5; [0071] “The record 520 specifies that while the document instance 160 has a lifecycle state 205-3 of "effective," all of the document content 220 and a subset of the attributes 205 are immutable (not permitted to be changed)”).
The proposed combination of Smith, Chor and Gauthier does not explicitly teach an intake state; determining a third change from the fourth lifecycle state of the first data to a fifth lifecycle state of the first data, wherein the fifth lifecycle state of the first data comprises an entry state; and determining a fourth change from the fifth lifecycle state of the first data to a sixth lifecycle state of the first data, wherein the sixth lifecycle state of the first data comprises a second submission state.
However, Lazier discloses versioned storage and teaches
an intake state; (see Lazier, [col 17 line 50] “node 402 represents data version zero 310 of the data object”).
determining a third change from the fourth lifecycle state of the first data to a fifth lifecycle state of the first data, wherein the fifth lifecycle state of the first data comprises an entry state; and (see Lazier, [col 17 lines 54-56] “node 410 represents data version four 318 of the data object, node 412 represents data version five 320 of the data object,”; Fig. 4; V4 to V5; [col 3 lines 21-24] “when a first version of a data object is updated or altered, a second version of the data object is created from the first version of the data object and the second version of the data object is updated or altered”).
determining a fourth change from the fifth lifecycle state of the first data to a sixth lifecycle state of the first data, wherein the sixth lifecycle state of the first data comprises (see Lazier, [col 17 lines 55-57] “node 412 represents data version five 320 of the data object, node 414 represents data version six 322 of the data object”) a second submission state (see Lazier, [col 14 lines 29-31] “a version-changing operation is an operation that results in a change to a version identifier of the data object (i.e., operations that update a version identifier)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the functionality of plurality of lifecycles, as being taught and disclosed by Lazier, in the system taught by the proposed combination of Smith, Chor and Gauthier to yield the predictable results of effectively maintaining multiple versions of the data objects (see Lazier, [col 4 lines 65-67] “multiple versions of the data object can be maintained in multiple data storage classes as well as within the same data storage class”).
Claim 13 incorporates substantively all the limitations of claim 2 in a system form and is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 3, the proposed combination of Smith, Chor, Gauthier and Lazier teaches
further comprising: analyzing one or more second fields of the first data to determine (see Smith, [col23 lines25-28] “The DataZephyr application 143 provides charting and analysis of data, and is particularly suited to charting and analyzing time series data, among other things”; [col30 lines49-52] “underlying data, being viewed in the browser of client computer 14 may be imported into the DataZephyr charting and analysis application 143. In this example a calculation is performed on the time series data using DataZephyr”; [col63 lines45-18] “where each row represents a portion of a requested series and each column aligns the data observation appropriate for a given time period” – there are plurality of columns and the columns related to series are interpreted as fields”) if the first data includes the first parameter, (see Smith, [col23 line66 – col24 line] “The DataZoa server 17, depending on configuration of the user account and parameters associated with the server 17, will update on a period or other basis the data stored in Normalized Data storage 171, so that the user may access periodically updated data each time the user seeks data from storage 171”) wherein analyzing the one or more second fields of the first data comprises (see Smith, [col23 lines25-28] “The DataZephyr application 143 provides charting and analysis of data, and is particularly suited to charting and analyzing time series data, among other things”; [col30 lines49-52] “underlying data, being viewed in the browser of client computer 14 may be imported into the DataZephyr charting and analysis application 143. In this example a calculation is performed on the time series data using DataZephyr”; [col63 lines45-18] “where each row represents a portion of a requested series and each column aligns the data observation appropriate for a given time period” – there are plurality of columns and the columns related to series are interpreted as fields”) parsing the one or more second fields to determine (see Chor, [0170] “receives data blocks from a forwarder and parses the data to organize the data into events”) if a first field of the one or more second fields is suppressed; (see Chor, [0262] “the results of the prior stage can be pipelined to another stage where further filtering or processing of the data can be performed, e.g., preparing the data for display purposes, filtering the data based on a condition… removes the column that shows the percentage, thereby, leaving a final results table 628 without a percentage column”; [0266] “Extraction rules can be applied to all the events in a data store or to a subset of the events that have been filtered based on some criteria (e.g., event time stamp values, etc.)”).
in response to (see Smith, [col24 line31] “it sends information in response to the requesting process”) determining the first data includes the first parameter, (see Smith, [col23 line66 – col24 line] “The DataZoa server 17, depending on configuration of the user account and parameters associated with the server 17, will update on a period or other basis the data stored in Normalized Data storage 171, so that the user may access periodically updated data each time the user seeks data from storage 171”; [col2 lines5-11] “marker indicating the presence of time series data available via the web page, and located on the displayed web page adjacent to the time series data, so that, when the active marker is graphically invoked on the client computer… invoke the processes of receiving, resolving, and transmitting”) storing a first marker in the one or more data cloud (see Chor, [0380] “data stored in association with an optical data marker may be used to overlay relevant information onto the machine”; [0382] “Examples of client devices 404 may include… servers”; [0389] “cloud-based data intake and query system 306 executing in cloud environment 1850”) servers (see Smith, [col3 lines25-26] “wherein the time series data is stored on the server”; [col22 lines35-39] “A series of servers, each independently… there may be multiple instances of each of these servers”) indicating the first data includes the first parameter; and (see Smith, [col23 line66 – col24 line] “The DataZoa server 17, depending on configuration of the user account and parameters associated with the server 17, will update on a period or other basis the data stored in Normalized Data storage 171, so that the user may access periodically updated data each time the user seeks data from storage 171”).
determining a fifth change from the sixth lifecycle state of the first data to a seventh lifecycle state of the first data, wherein the seventh lifecycle state of the first data comprises (see Lazier, [col 17 lines 56-58] “node 414 represents data version six 322 of the data object, node 416 represents data version seven 324 of the data object”) a second completion state (see Gauthier, [0071] “The record 520 specifies that while the document instance 160 has a lifecycle state 205-3 of "effective," all of the document content 220 and a subset of the attributes 205 are immutable (not permitted to be changed)” – effective state from Gauthier has been interpreted a completion state). The motivation for the proposed combination is maintained.
Claim 14 incorporates substantively all the limitations of claim 3 in a system form and is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VAISHALI SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2156