DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-17, in the reply filed on 11/7/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 18-21 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/7/2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “first holding unit” in claims 1, 3, and 8; “second holding unit” in claims 1, 3, and 8; “deformation mechanism” in claims 1, 4, 9-10, and 15; “first drive unit” in claim 8.
The limitation “first holding unit” recites the generic placeholder “unit” coupled with the functional modifier “holding” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 8, shown in figure 1A, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “second holding unit” recites the generic placeholder “unit” coupled with the functional modifier “holding” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 2, shown in figure 1A, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “deformation mechanism” recites the generic placeholder “mechanism” coupled with the functional modifier “deformation” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 10, shown in figure 3A, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “first drive unit” recites the generic placeholder “unit” coupled with the functional modifier “drive” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 3, shown in figure 1A, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by RIES et al. (US 2013/0062020).
Regarding claim 1, RIES teaches a delamination apparatus comprising a first holding unit 324 and second holding unit 344 capable of suction holding opposite sides of a laminate via flexible members 322 and 342, and a deformation mechanism 302 (fig. 10; paras. 62 and 64).
Regarding claim 2, the apparatus of RIES is capable of working upon the materials claimed. An apparatus limitation directed to a material worked upon does not limit the claim. “[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935).
Regarding claim 3, RIES teaches the first holding unit and second holding unit suction hold a bottom surface and a top surface of a laminate, respectively (fig. 10; para. 62).
Regarding claim 4, the apparatus of RIES is capable of performing the functions claimed.
Regarding claim 5, RIES teaches a porous flexible member on each holding unit (fig. 10; para. 62), and is capable of performing the functions claimed.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, the deformation of RIES is capable of performing the function claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RIES, as applied to claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 8, RIES teaches that the first and second holding units are moveable orthogonally relative to each other, but does not teach a drive to provide the relative movement or a control. RIES teaches actuators 302 and 304 that can exert upward or downward forces on the laminate and to provide the forces in conjunction with movement of other apparatus components (paras. 64 and 66-67). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide a drive and controller in order to automate the actuation and its dependent movement.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 11-17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest an apparatus as claimed wherein suction holes a suction hole in the flexible member is positioned to annularly surround the deformation mechanism; wherein at least one region of the flexible member is more easily deformed, thinner, or comprises a different material than another region; wherein at least one region of the flexible member is cut out; or wherein the deformation mechanism comprises a set of an electromagnet and a ferromagnetic material.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: KERDILES et al. (US 2004/0166653) and EBATA et al. (US 2011/0198040).
/NICKOLAS R HARM/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745