CTNF 18/601,944 CTNF 73834 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This Office Action is in response to the application filed March 11, 2024. Priority 02-27 AIA Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 14/446,746 , filed on 07/30/2014 . Drawings 06-36 AIA The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the quantum dot must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. 06-11-01 AIA The following title is suggested: ORGANIC LIGHT EMITTING DISPLAY APPARATUS INCLUDING QUANTUM EFFICIENT LIGHT EMITTING LAYERS . 07-44 AIA The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: plurality of main light emitting layers , plurality of sub light emitting layers , first one of the plurality of sub light emitting layers , second one of the plurality of sub light emitting layers and third one of the plurality of sub light emitting layers . Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 14-15 are objected to because of the following informalities: “ thin transistor ” should have been thin film transistor in lines 2-3 of claim 14 and lines 1-2 of claim 15 . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 3-4 and 13-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al. (US 8,018,152 B2) . In regard to claim 1, Yamazaki et al. teach a display apparatus (Figure 3B), comprising: a substrate 405; a device/line layer (at 412) on the substrate 405; a first electrode 102 on the device/line layer (at 412); a second electrode 107 on the first electrode 102; an intermediate layer 105 between the first electrode 102 and the second electrode 107; a plurality of main light emitting layers 103 between the first electrode 102 and the second electrode 107; and a plurality of sub light emitting layers 105 on the plurality of main light emitting layers 103, respectively, wherein the plurality of main light emitting layers 103 comprises a material to emit a first light, wherein the plurality of sub light emitting layers 105 comprises a quantum dot 104, wherein the first light emitted from the plurality of main light emitting layers 103 is to be incident on at least one of the plurality of sub light emitting layers 105 (Figures 3B and 4B, columns 11-17, lines 9-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67 and 1-20, respectively). However, Yamazaki et al. fail to teach the plurality of sub light emitting layers having a quantum efficiency that compensates for a color shift caused by a side viewing angle. In regard to the plurality of sub light emitting layers having a quantum efficiency that compensates for a color shift caused by a side viewing angle, claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function, In re Danly, 263, F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the display apparatus structure as taught by Yamazaki et al. to be capable of having the plurality of sub light emitting layers with a quantum efficiency that compensates for a color shift caused by a side viewing angle to provide a high-luminance organic EL element (column 2, lines 12-29). In regard to claim 3, Yamazaki et al. teach the plurality of sub light emitting layers 105 comprising a first sub light emitting layer 105(left), a second sub light emitting layer 105(center) and a third sub light emitting layer 105(right), wherein the first to third sub light emitting layers 105(left)/105(center)/105(right) have different quantum efficiencies from each other (Figures 3B and 4B, columns 2 and 11-17, lines 12-29, 9-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67 and 1-20, respectively). In regard to the first to third sub light emitting layers to emit a second light having a longer wavelength band than a wavelength band of the first light, claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function, In re Danly, 263, F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In regard to claim 4, Yamazaki et al. teach the second light G having no directivity (Figures 3B and 4B, columns 11-17, lines 9-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67 and 1-20, respectively). In regard to claim 13, Yamazaki et al. teach the second electrode 107 comprising Li, Ca, LiF/Ca, LiF/Al, Al, Ag, Mg, or a compound thereof (Figures 3B and 4B, columns 11-17, lines 9-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67 and 1-20, respectively). In regard to claim 14, Yamazaki et al. teach the device/line layer (at 412) comprises a driving thin transistor 312 connected to the first electrode 102, a switching thin transistor 410, a capacitor 316, and lines 407 (Figures 3B-4B, columns 11-17, lines 9-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67 and 1-20, respectively). In regard to claim 15, Yamazaki et al. teach the driving thin transistor 312 comprising an active layer (semiconductor layer), a gate electrode (top gate), a source electrode 414(left), and a drain electrode 414(right) (Figures 3B and 4B, columns 11-17, lines 9-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67 and 1-20, respectively). In regard to claim 16, Yamazaki et al. teach the gate electrode (top gate) on the active layer (semiconductor layer) (Figures 3B and 4B, columns 11-17, lines 9-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67 and 1-20, respectively). In regard to claim 17, it is within the level of ordinary skill to interchange between top gate thin film transistors and bottom gate electrode thin film transistors. In regard to claim 18, Yamazaki e al. teach a barrier layer (the layer right above and in contact with substrate 405) located between the substrate 405 and the device/line layer (at 412) (Figures 3B and 4B, columns 11-17, lines 9-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67 and 1-20, respectively). In regard to claim 19, Yamazaki et al. teach the plurality of main light emitting layers 103 comprising a material to emit a blue light B having blue color as the first light (Figures 3B and 4B, columns 11-17, lines 9-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67 and 1-20, respectively). In regard to claim 20, Yamazaki et al. teach a sealing layer 418 on the plurality of sub light emitting layers 105, wherein the sealing layer 418 seals the second electrode 107, the plurality of sub light emitting layers 105, and the plurality of main light emitting layers 103 (Figures 3B and 4B, columns 11-17, lines 9-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67 and 1-20, respectively). In regard to claim 21, Yamazaki et al. teach the intermediate layer 106 comprising at least one of a hole transport layer, a hole injection layer, an electron transport layer, or an electron injection layer (Figures 3B and 4B, columns 11-17, lines 9-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67 and 1-20, respectively) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al. (US 8,018,152 B2) as applied to claim s 1, 3-4 and 13-23 above, and further in view of Yu et al. (CN 101937975 A) . Yamazaki et al. teach all mentioned in the rejection above. However, Yamazaki et al. fail to teach the quantum dot comprising at least one of a CdSe core/ZnS shell, a CdSe core/CdS shell, or an InP core/ZnS shell. Yu et al. teach a quantum dot comprising at least one of a CdSe core/ZnS shell, a CdSe core/CdS shell, or an InP core/ZnS shell (Figures 1-2 and 5-7, page 21, paragraph [0138]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display apparatus structure as taught by Yamazaki et al with the display apparatus having a quantum dot comprising at least one of a CdSe core/ZnS shell, a CdSe core/CdS shell, or an InP core/ZnS shell as taught by Yu et al. to improve light emission efficiency and service life of the device (Abstract) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al. (US 8,018,152 B2) . In regard to claim 22, Yamazaki et al. teach a display apparatus (Figure 3B), comprising: a substrate 405 including a plurality of pixel areas (at 313); a first electrode 102 on the substrate 405; a second electrode 107 on the first electrode 102; an intermediate layer 106 between the first electrode 102 and the second electrode 107; a plurality of main light emitting layers 103 between the first electrode 102 and the second electrode 107; and a plurality of sub light emitting layers 105 on the plurality of main light emitting layers 103, respectively, wherein the plurality of main light emitting layers 103 comprises a material to emit a first light RGB having a first wavelength (Figures 3B and 4B, columns 11-17, lines 9-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67 and 1-20, respectively). However, Yamazaki et al. fail to teach a first one of the plurality of sub light emitting layers comprising a material to absorb a portion of the first light and to emit a second light having a second wavelength different from the first wavelength, and wherein a second one of the plurality of sub light emitting layers comprises a material to absorb a portion of the first light and to emit a third light having a third wavelength different from the first wavelength and the second wavelength. In regard to a first one of the plurality of sub light emitting layers comprising a material to absorb a portion of the first light and to emit a second light having a second wavelength different from the first wavelength, and wherein a second one of the plurality of sub light emitting layers comprises a material to absorb a portion of the first light and to emit a third light having a third wavelength different from the first wavelength and the second wavelength, claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function, In re Danly, 263, F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the display apparatus structure as taught by Yamazaki et al. to be capable of having a first one of the plurality of sub light emitting layers comprising a material to absorb a portion of the first light and to emit a second light having a second wavelength different from the first wavelength, and wherein a second one of the plurality of sub light emitting layers comprises a material to absorb a portion of the first light and to emit a third light having a third wavelength different from the first wavelength and the second wavelength to provide efficient light emission (ABSTRACT) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al. (US 8,018,152 B2) . In regard to claim 23, Yamazaki et al. teach a display apparatus, comprising: a substrate including a plurality of pixel areas; a plurality of first electrodes on the plurality of pixel areas of the substrate, respectively; a second electrode on the first electrodes; an intermediate layer between the first electrode and the second electrode; a plurality of main light emitting layers between the first electrodes and the second electrode; a plurality of sub light emitting layers on the second electrode to correspond to the plurality of main light emitting layers, respectively; and a sealing layer on the plurality of main light emitting layers, wherein the plurality of main light emitting layers 103 comprises a material to emit a first light RGB having a first wavelength (Figures 3B and 4B, columns 11-17, lines 9-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67, 1-67 and 1-20, respectively). However, Yamazaki et al. fail to teach the plurality of the sub light emitting layers comprising: a first one of the plurality of sub light emitting layers comprising a material to absorb a portion of the first light and to emit a second light having a second wavelength different from the first wavelength; a second one of the plurality of sub light emitting layers comprising a material to absorb a portion of the first light and to emit a third light having a third wavelength different from the first wavelength and the second wavelength; and a third one of the plurality of sub light emitting layers comprising a material to absorb a portion of the first light and to emit a fourth light having the first wavelength. In regard to the plurality of the sub light emitting layers comprising: a first one of the plurality of sub light emitting layers comprising a material to absorb a portion of the first light and to emit a second light having a second wavelength different from the first wavelength; a second one of the plurality of sub light emitting layers comprising a material to absorb a portion of the first light and to emit a third light having a third wavelength different from the first wavelength and the second wavelength; and a third one of the plurality of sub light emitting layers comprising a material to absorb a portion of the first light and to emit a fourth light having the first wavelength, claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function, In re Danly, 263, F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the display apparatus structure as taught by Yamazaki et al. to be capable of having a plurality of the sub light emitting layers comprising: a first one of the plurality of sub light emitting layers comprising a material to absorb a portion of the first light and to emit a second light having a second wavelength different from the first wavelength; a second one of the plurality of sub light emitting layers comprising a material to absorb a portion of the first light and to emit a third light having a third wavelength different from the first wavelength and the second wavelength; and a third one of the plurality of sub light emitting layers comprising a material to absorb a portion of the first light and to emit a fourth light having the first wavelength to provide a light emitting element with high reliability (ABSTRACT) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 5, 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 6-9 are objected to as being dependent upon objected claim 5. Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon objected claim 11. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to display devices: Ito et al. (US 2007/0029941 A1) Ko et al. (US 2011/0140138 A1) Ko et al. (US 8,513,652 B2) Suh (US 2011/0031500 A1). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to IDA M SOWARD whose telephone number is (571)272-1845. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Thursday, 7am to 5:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Leonard Chang can be reached at 571-270-3691. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. IMS April 21, 2026 /IDA M SOWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/601,944 Page 2 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/601,944 Page 3 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/601,944 Page 4 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/601,944 Page 5 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/601,944 Page 6 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/601,944 Page 7 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/601,944 Page 8 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/601,944 Page 9 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/601,944 Page 10 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/601,944 Page 11 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/601,944 Page 12 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/601,944 Page 13 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/601,944 Page 14 Art Unit: 2898