DETAILED ACTION
STATUS OF CLAIMS
This Non-Final action is in reply to the application 18/602,713 filed on 03/12/2024.
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/14/2025. was fully considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 6, 9 – 15, 17 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1)(a2) as being unpatentable by US PG Pubs 20200356088 – Schlacks et al . hereinafter as SCHLACKS
Regarding Claim 1
SCHLACKS discloses:
A power machine comprising:
a frame; ( para. 0039 – construction vehicle)
a power source and tractive assemblies supported by the frame; ( para. 0039 – construction vehicle)
a work element arranged to operate at a front side of the frame; ( para. 0094 – bucket)
a sensor system that includes a plurality of sensor groups, the plurality of sensor groups including one or more of:
a rear sensor group arranged at a rear side of the frame, including a rear radar system and a rear camera system; ( para. 0045 – rear camera sensor and para. 0132 – radar sensors)
a side sensor group arranged at a lateral side of the frame, including a side camera system; or ( para. 0045 – side sensors)
a front sensor group arranged at the front side of the frame, including a front radar system and a front camera system. ( para. 0045 – front camera sensors and para. 0132 – radar sensors)
Regarding Claim 2
SCHLACKS discloses:
The power machine of claim 1, wherein the power machine is a loader and the work element is an implement supported by a lift arm structure. ( para. 0005 – loader and para. 0094 - wherein the bucket would contain a structure to support the bucket)
Regarding Claim 3
SCHLACKS discloses:
The power machine of claim 1, wherein the rear radar system includes a first radar device spaced apart from a second radar device, each of the first and second radar devices having a detection axis that is angled away from a front-to-rear direction between the front side and the rear side of the frame. ( fig. 2C – where in sensor direction are angled away from a front and rear and side of the vehicle)
Regarding Claim 4
SCHLACKS discloses:
The power machine of claim 3, wherein the rear sensor group further includes a third sensor having overlapped spatial coverage with the first and second radar devices. ( fig. 2c and para. 0053 - Where in spatial coverage of the detection is overlapping field of view)
Regarding Claim 6
SCHLACKS discloses:
The power machine of claim 1, wherein the side sensor group includes a radar system. ( para. 0312 -radar sensors )
Regarding Claim 9
SCHLACKS discloses:
The power machine of claim 1, wherein a camera of the front camera system is arranged to acquire images of the work element or a load carried by the work element. Para. 0091 – where in image data determining the operating zone and boundary)
Regarding Claim 10
SCHLACKS discloses:
The power machine of claim 1, wherein the rear sensor group, the side sensor group, and the front sensor group collectively provide sensing over: first, second, and third overlapped front-facing detection fields; first and second opposing side-facing detection fields; and first and second overlapped rear-facing detection fields. ( fig. 2C where in the sensors have over lapping detection field of view. For the side sensors, front sensors and rear sensors)
Regarding Claim 11
SCHLACKS discloses:
The power machine of claim 1, further comprising: a control system that includes one or more computing devices configured to implement an autonomous mode(para. 0055 - autonomous mode) and an operator-controlled mode;( para. 0074 – manual control) wherein in the autonomous mode the one or more computing devices control the tractive assemblies or the work element based on signals from a first sensor set that includes the rear radar system and the front radar system; ( fig. 2 C – para. 0053 – 0054 – autonomous mode with computing devices) and wherein in the operator-controlled mode, the one or more computing devices transmit visual data from the rear camera system, the side camera system, and the front camera system for display to an operator, and control the tractive assemblies or the work element based on command signals received from the operator in response to the transmitted visual data. ( para. 0074 – manual control)
Regarding Claim 12
SCHLACKS discloses:
The power machine of claim 11, wherein, in the operator-controlled mode, the control system is further configured to control the tractive assemblies or the work element based on signals from the first sensor set. ( para. 0074 – 0075 – manual control based on the sensor signals)
Regarding Claim 13
SCHLACKS discloses:
The power machine of claim 1, wherein the rear sensor group, the side sensor group, and the front sensor group are included in a sensor kit to equip the power machine for autonomous operation. ( fig. 2 C and fig. 15A – and para. 0132 - sensor mast)
Regarding Claim 14
SCHLACKS discloses:
A method for equipping a power machine for autonomous operation, the method comprising:
installing, as part of a sensor kit, (para. 0039 - retrofitted to enable autonomous operations) a rear sensor group that is configured to be secured at a rear end of a frame of the power machine and includes a rear radar system and a rear camera system; ( para. 0045 – rear camera sensor and para. 0132 – radar sensors)
installing, as part of the sensor kit, (para. 0039 - retrofitted to enable autonomous operations) a side sensor group that is configured to be secured at a lateral side of the frame and includes a side camera system; and ( para. 0045 – side camera sensor and para. 0132 – radar sensors)
installing, as part of the sensor kit, (para. 0039 - retrofitted to enable autonomous operations) a front sensor group that is configured to be secured at a front end of the frame and includes a front radar system and a front camera system. ( para. 0045 – front camera sensor and para. 0132 – radar sensors)
Regarding Claim 15
SCHLACKS discloses:
The method of claim 14, further comprising:
providing, with the rear sensor group, the side sensor group, and the front sensor group collectively, sensing over: overlapped front-facing detection fields; non-overlapped opposing side-facing detection fields; and overlapped rear-facing detection fields. ( Fig. 2C – where in detection field of view has overlapping and non overlapping detection field of view.)
Regarding Claim 17
SCHLACKS discloses:
The method of claim 14, wherein installing the side sensor group includes installing, (para. 0039 - retrofitted to enable autonomous operations) as part of the side camera system, a front-facing camera. ( fig. 2 C and fig. 15A – and para. 0132 - sensor mast)
Regarding Claim 18
SCHLACKS discloses:
A method of controlling operations of a power machine that includes a tractive system and a work element, the method comprising:
receiving, with one or more electronic control devices, a selection of an autonomous mode or an operator-controlled mode; and ( para. 0139 – autonomous mode, para. 0074 – manual mode)
with the one or more electronic control devices, receiving data from a sensor system that includes a plurality of sensor groups including one or more of: ( para. 0074 controller and para. 0075 - sensors)
a rear sensor group arranged at a rear side of a frame of the power machine, a side sensor group arranged at a lateral side of the frame, or a front sensor group arranged at a front side of the frame; and (fig. 2C - para. 0045 – rear camera sensor and para. 0132 – radar sensors)
controlling the tractive system or the work element according to the received selection; ( para. 0055 – activate autonomous mode)
wherein, in the autonomous mode, the one or more electronic control devices determine commands to control the tractive system or the work element based on signals from a first sensor set of the sensor system that includes a rear radar system of the rear sensor group and a front radar system of the front sensor group; and ( para. 0053 sensors from front and rear and figure 2C, autonomous mode – para. 0055)
wherein, in the operator-controlled mode, the one or more electronic control devices: ( para. 0074 – manual mode)
transmit visual data from a second sensor set of the sensor system that includes camera systems for display to an operator; and (para. 0090 - AR – visual boundaries with virtual boundaries)
determine commands to control the tractive system or the work element based on command signals received from the operator in response to the transmitted visual data. Para. 0088 – interface)
Regarding Claim 19
SCHLACKS discloses:
The method of claim 18, wherein, in the operator-controlled mode, the one or more electronic control devices determine the commands to control the tractive system or the work element further based on signals from the first sensor set. ( para. 0074 – manual control )
Regarding Claim 20
SCHLACKS discloses:
20. The method of claim 19, wherein, in the operator-controlled mode, in response to the signals from the first sensor set, the one or more electronic control devices automatically slow, stop, or divert the power machine to avoid a detected obstacle. ( para. 0094 – obstacle avoidance)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5,7, 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by US PG Pubs 20200356088 – Schlacks et al. hereinafter as SCHLACKS in view of US PG Pub 20210148083 – Taylor et al. hereinafter as TAYLOR
Regarding Claim 5
SCHLACKS discloses:
The power machine of claim 1, wherein the side camera system includes a front-facing camera and a side-facing camera. (fig. 2C – and para. 0053 – where in the sensors and camera can be mounted in any number of sensors or arrangements that may be used for different implementations, para. 0094 - where in the work element can be a bucket)
SCHLACKS discloses that the cameras / sensors that can be mounted in any arrangement, TAYLOR discloses of wherein the front-facing camera is supported on a lift arm of the power machine that supports the work element, TAYLOR further discloses:
wherein the front-facing camera is supported on a lift arm of the power machine that supports the work element (para. 0067 – where in sensors can be disposed on the bucket, or bucket arms)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for SCHLACKS disclosing the teachings that it is known to move cameras to where they are needed, TAYLOR discloses that the sensors can be located on the arms as a known location to provide a desired location. The rearrangement of parts has been held to be an obvious design choice provided that the rearrangement does not meaningfully change the operation of the device, wherein TAYLOR further supports the placement being a design choice (MPEP 2144.04, Subsection VI, C).
Regarding Claim 7
SCHLACKS discloses:
The power machine of claim 1, wherein one or more of a radar device of the front radar system or a camera of the front camera system (fig. 2C – and para. 0053 – where in the sensors and camera can be mounted in any number of sensors or arrangements that may be used for different implementations, para. 0094 - where in the work element can be a bucket)
SCHLACKS discloses that the cameras / sensors wherein one or more of a radar device of the front radar system or a camera of the front camera system that can be mounted in any arrangement, TAYLOR discloses of wherein the front-facing camera is supported on a lift arm of the power machine that supports the work element, TAYLOR further discloses:
wherein one or more of a radar device of the front radar system or a camera of the front camera system are supported on a lift arm of the power machine that supports the work element (para. 0067 – where in sensors can be disposed on the bucket, or bucket arms, where in the radar device, para. 0005)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for SCHLACKS disclosing the teachings that it is known to move cameras to where they are needed, TAYLOR discloses that the sensors can be located on the arms as a known location to provide a desired location. The rearrangement of parts has been held to be an obvious design choice provided that the rearrangement does not meaningfully change the operation of the device, wherein TAYLOR further supports the placement being a design choice (MPEP 2144.04, Subsection VI, C).
Regarding Claim 8
SCHLACKS discloses:
The power machine of claim 7, wherein the radar device and the camera (fig. 2C – and para. 0053 – where in the sensors and camera can be mounted in any number of sensors or arrangements that may be used for different implementations, para. 0094 - where in the work element can be a bucket)
SCHLACKS discloses that the cameras / sensors wherein one or more of a radar device of the front radar system or a camera of the front camera system that can be mounted in any arrangement, TAYLOR discloses of wherein the front-facing camera is supported on a lift arm of the power machine that supports the work element, TAYLOR further discloses:
wherein one or more of a radar device of the front radar system or a camera of the front camera system are supported on a lift arm of the power machine that supports the work element (para. 0067 – where in sensors can be disposed on the bucket, or bucket arms, where in the radar device, para. 0005)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for SCHLACKS disclosing the teachings that it is known to move cameras to where they are needed, TAYLOR discloses that the sensors can be located on the arms as a known location to provide a desired location. The rearrangement of parts has been held to be an obvious design choice provided that the rearrangement does not meaningfully change the operation of the device, wherein TAYLOR further supports the placement being a design choice (MPEP 2144.04, Subsection VI, C).
Regarding Claim 16
SCHLACKS discloses:
The method of claim 14, wherein installing the side sensor group includes securing one or more sensor devices of the side sensor group (para. 0039 - retrofitted to enable autonomous operations) and installing the front sensor group includes securing one or more sensor devices of the front sensor group (fig. 2C – and para. 0053 – where in the sensors and camera can be mounted in any number of sensors or arrangements that may be used for different implementations, para. 0094 - where in the work element can be a bucket)
SCHLACKS discloses of installing the side sensor group includes securing one or more sensor devices of the side sensor group and installing the front sensor group includes securing one of more sensor devices of the front sensor group that can be mounted in any arrangement, TAYLOR discloses of wherein the front-facing camera is supported on a lift arm of the power machine that supports the work element, TAYLOR further discloses:
one or more sensor devices of the side sensor group and one or more sensor devices of the front sensor group to a lift arm of the power machine (para. 0067 – where in sensors can be disposed on the bucket, or bucket arms, where in the radar device, para. 0005)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for SCHLACKS disclosing the teachings that it is known to move cameras to where they are needed, TAYLOR discloses that the sensors can be located on the arms as a known location to provide a desired location. The rearrangement of parts has been held to be an obvious design choice provided that the rearrangement does not meaningfully change the operation of the device, wherein TAYLOR further supports the placement being a design choice (MPEP 2144.04, Subsection VI, C).
Conclusion
/A.H.T/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671