DETAILED OFFICIAL ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and under consideration on the merits.
Examiner Note
It is noted that all references hereinafter to Applicant’s specification are to the published application US 2024/0222759 A1, unless stated otherwise. Further, it is noted that italicized text in parentheses recited in any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 35 U.S.C. 103 indicates the element of the claimed invention to which the preceding prior art element corresponds. Additionally, any italicized text utilized hereinafter is to be interpreted as emphasis placed thereupon.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informality:
Regarding claim 20, “wherein dimension of the battery cell satisfies at least one of the following conditions” constitutes awkward claim language, which hinders the readability of the claim. In order to overcome the objection, the following amendment is respectfully suggested: “wherein dimension conditions.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-8, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 6-8, claim 6 recites twice, and claims 7-8 each recite once, the term “close” in the phrase “…the first electrode assembly is close to the first wall” which renders each claim indefinite. The term “close" is not defined by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For purposes of examination, claims 6-8 are each interpreted as instead reciting “…the first electrode assembly is [[close]]closer than the second electrode assembly to the first wall.”
Regarding claims 17 and 19, each claim recites “…the multiple rows of battery cells” which renders each claim indefinite. Claim 12, of which both claim 17 and claim 19 directly depend upon, introduces/recites “a plurality of rows of battery cells”, therefore, it is unclear if the multiple rows of battery cells species is in reference to the plurality of rows of battery cells species, or whether it is a new element. For purposes of examination, claims 17 and 19 are each interpreted as instead reciting “the [[multiple]] plurality of rows of battery cells.”
Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al. (US 2014/0205879 A1; “Jang”).
Regarding claim 1, Jang discloses a battery cell [element 100a, 0055, FIG. 6] comprising a first electrode assembly and a second electrode assembly [0017, 0055-0056, 0063, FIG. 6] (see below for Figure 1. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jang), wherein the first electrode assembly and the second electrode assembly differ in size so as to have a downward sloping structure that corresponds with the battery case [0017-0019, 0021, 0057-0060, FIG. 6], thereby reducing dead volume between the battery case and the electrode assemblies [0020, 0057-0060, FIG. 6], and thereby, in totality, reading on the battery cell defined by each and every limitation of claim 1.
Figure 1. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jang
Regarding claim 4, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, Jang further discloses that the first electrode assembly and the second electrode assembly are a stacked/laminated structure (the first electrode assembly or the second electrode assembly is… a laminated structure) [0029, 0055, 0065-0066, FIG. 6].
Regarding claim 5, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, Jang further discloses the battery cell has a trapezoidal vertical cross section (is of a polyhedral structure) [0022, 0059, FIGs. 1 and 6] and is quadrangular in plane [0059]. The battery cell comprises a first wall and a second wall connected to each other, as they are both a part of a battery case [0020, 0055-0062, FIG. 6] (see above for Figure 1. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jang), the first wall being a largest wall of the battery cell [0055-0060, FIG. 6] (see above for Figure 1. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jang), and the first wall is disposed perpendicular to a first direction [0055-0060, FIG. 6] (see above for Figure 1. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jang). The second wall is inclined with respect to the first wall [0055-0060, FIG. 6] (see above for Figure 1. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jang), and a cross section of the battery cell on a plane perpendicular to the first wall and the second wall is a trapezoid [0022, 0055-0060, FIG. 6], thereby, in totality, reading on the battery cell defined by each and every limitation of claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, in view of the rejection of claim 5 above, Jang further discloses the first electrode assembly and the second electrode assembly are of laminated structures [0055-0056, 0063-0066, FIG. 6], the first electrode assembly is closer than the second electrode assembly to the first wall [0055-0066, FIG. 6] (see above for Figure 1. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jang). The first electrode assembly comprises an anode (a first anode electrode plate) and a cathode (a first cathode electrode plate) separated by a separator (a first separator) [0055-0056, 0063-0066, FIG. 6] (see above for Figure 1. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jang). The second electrode assembly comprises an anode (a second anode electrode plate) and a cathode (a second cathode electrode plate) separated by a separator (a second separator) [0055-0056, 0063-0066, FIG. 6] (see above for Figure 1. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jang). The first anode electrode plate and the second cathode electrode plate are opposite and separated by a third separator [0055-0056, 0063-0066, FIG. 6] (see above for Figure 1. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jang). The second anode electrode plate, the second separator, the second cathode electrode plate, the third separator, the first anode electrode plate, the first separator, and the first cathode electrode plate are stacked in sequence along the first direction [0055-0066, FIG. 6] (see above for Figure 1. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jang), and have progressively increased widths in a second direction [0055-0066, FIG. 6] (see above for Figure 1. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jang), the second direction being perpendicular to the first direction, thereby, in totality, reading on the battery cell directed towards laminated structures defined by each and every limitation of claim 6.
Regarding claim 8, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, Jang further discloses a third wall (a third wall) connected to the first wall, as they are both a part of the battery case [0057-0062, FIG. 6] (see below for Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jang – Third Wall), wherein the third wall is disposed opposite the second wall [0057-0060, FIG. 6] (see below for Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jang – Third Wall). The first electrode assembly and the second electrode assembly are of laminated structures [0055-0056, 0063-0066, FIG. 6] (see below for Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jang – Third Wall), and the first electrode assembly is closer than the second electrode assembly to the first wall [0055-0066, FIG. 6] (see below for Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jang – Third Wall). The first electrode assembly comprises a first anode electrode plate and a first cathode electrode plate separated by a first separator [0055-0056, 0063-0066, FIG. 6] (see below for Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jang – Third Wall). The second electrode assembly comprises a second anode electrode plate and a second cathode electrode plate separated by a second separator [0055-0056, 0063-0066, FIG. 6] (see below for Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jang – Third Wall). The first anode electrode plate and the second cathode electrode plate are opposite and separated by a third separator [0055-0056, 0063-0066, FIG. 6] (see below for Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jang – Third Wall). The second anode electrode plate, the second separator, the second cathode electrode plate, the third separator, the first anode electrode plate, the first separator, and the first cathode electrode plate are stacked in sequence along the first direction [0055-0066, FIG. 6] (see below for Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jang – Third Wall), and have progressively increased widths in a second direction [0055-0056, 0063-0066, FIG. 6] (see below for Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jang – Third Wall), wherein the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction [0055-0066, FIG. 6] (see below for Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jang – Third Wall). A plane on which edges, facing the second wall, of the second anode electrode plate, the second separator, the second cathode electrode plate, the third separator, the first anode electrode plate, the first separator, and the first cathode electrode plate are located is parallel to the second wall [0055-0066, FIG. 6] (see below for Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jang – Third Wall). A plane on which edges, facing the third wall, of the second anode electrode plate, the second separator, the second cathode electrode plate, the third separator, the first anode electrode plate, the first separator, and the first cathode electrode plate are located is parallel to the third wall [0055-0066, FIG. 6] (see below for Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jang – Third Wall), thereby, in totality, reading on the battery cell defined by each and every limitation of claim 8.----
Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jang – Third Wall
Regarding claim 9, in view of the rejection of claim 5 above, Jang further discloses electrode terminals, corresponding to a cathode terminal and an anode terminal (a first electrode terminal and a second electrode terminal) [0055, 0063] protrude outward from the battery case [0055] and are formed on two sides of the battery cell (disposed on two different walls of the battery cell) [0024] or on one side of the battery cell (disposed on a same wall of the battery cell) [0024, 0060].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang as applied to claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) above, in view of Lim et al. (US 2015/0004473 A1; “Lim”).
Regarding claim 2, Jang discloses the battery cell set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Jang remains silent regarding the first electrode assembly and the second electrode assembly are made of different materials.
Lim is directed to a secondary battery including a plurality of electrode assemblies [0011, 0051, 0104-0105], specifically a first electrode assembly including a first positive electrode active material; and a second electrode assembly including a second positive electrode active material [0011, 0052, 0076]. Lim teaches that the first positive electrode active material is different from the second positive electrode active material [0076, 0079-0099].
Jang and Lim each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – a battery cell with a plurality of electrode assemblies. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery cell of Jang so that the first electrode assembly and the second electrode assembly have different positive electrode active materials, in order to realize different improvements, where one has excellent stability of structure and high-rate characteristics and the other improves the capacity per volume [Lim, 0076, 0079-0092].
In accordance with the aforesaid modifications, the battery cell of modified Jang would have the first electrode assembly and the second electrode assembly comprising different positive electrode active materials (the first electrode assembly and the second electrode assembly are made of different materials).
Regarding claim 3, Jang discloses the battery cell set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Jang remains silent regarding the first electrode assembly or the second electrode assembly contains one of lithium cobaltate, lithium iron phosphate, ternary lithium, or lithium manganate as an active material, and an active material in the first electrode assembly differs from an active material in the second electrode assembly.
Lim is directed to a secondary battery including a plurality of electrode assemblies [0011, 0051, 0104-0105], specifically a first electrode assembly including a first positive electrode active material; and a second electrode assembly including a second positive electrode active material [0011, 0052, 0076]. Lim teaches that the first positive electrode active material is different from the second positive electrode active material [0076, 0079-0099]. The first positive electrode active material includes a compound represented by the following formula LiaCO1-bM”cO2-dX’d, wherein 0.5≤a≤1.5, 0≤b≤0.5, 0≤c≤0.5, and 0≤d≤0.5; M’ is selected from the group consisting of Mg, Al, Co, Ni, K, Na, Ca, Si, Fe, Cu, Zn, Ti, Sn, V, Ge, Ga, B, P, Se, Bi, As, Zr, Mn, Cr, Ge, Sr, V, Sc, Y, rare earth elements, and combinations thereof; and X' is selected from the group consisting of F, S, P and combinations thereof [0022-0026, 0087-0091]. The first positive electrode active material may include, e.g. a lithium cobalt oxide or a lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide, e.g. LiCoO2 or Li[(Ni0.33Cu0.33Mn0.33)]O2 [0092].
Lim further discloses that the second positive electrode active material includes a compound represented by the following formula LixMyM’zPO4-wXw, wherein 0.5≤x≤1.5, 0≤y≤1, 0≤z≤1, and 0≤w≤0.2; M is selected from the group consisting of Fe, Mn, Ni, Co, and combinations thereof; M’ is selected from the group consisting of Mg, Ca, Sr, Ba, Ti, Zr, Nb, Mo, W, Zn, Al, Si, and combinations thereof; and X is selected from the group consisting of S, F, and a combination thereof [0016-0021, 0080-0086]. The second positive electrode active material may include, e.g. an oxide having an olivine structure, e.g. LiFePO4 [0086].
Jang and Lim each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – a battery cell with a plurality of electrode assemblies. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery cell of Jang so that the first electrode assembly and the second electrode assembly have different positive electrode active materials, wherein one includes a lithium cobalt oxide or a lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide and the other includes LiFePO4 in order to realize different improvements, where lithium cobalt oxide and lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide exhibit high intrinsic density and pressure density, leading to excellent capacity per volume; and LiFePO4 has excellent stability of structure, thereby leading to excellent high-rate characteristics [Lim, 0086, 0092].
In accordance with the aforesaid modifications, the battery cell of modified Jang would have the first electrode assembly and the second electrode assembly comprising different positive electrode active materials (an active material in the first electrode assembly differs from an active material in the second electrode assembly), wherein one would include (the first electrode assembly or the second electrode assembly contains) lithium cobalt oxide (lithium cobaltate) or lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide (ternary lithium), and the other would include LiFePO4 (lithium iron phosphate).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang as applied to claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) above, in view of Lim (cited to above) and Kwon (US 2014/0072850 A1; “Kwon”).
Regarding claim 7, in view of the rejection of claim 5 above, Jang further discloses the first electrode assembly and the second electrode assembly are of a jelly-roll type (elliptic wound) [element 320a, 0068, FIG. 8] (see below for Figure 3. Annotated FIG. 8 of Jang). The first electrode assembly and the second electrode assembly are stacked along the first direction [FIG. 8], the first electrode assembly is close to the first wall [0068, FIGs. 6 and 8], and a width of the first electrode assembly along a second direction is greater than a width of the second electrode assembly along the second direction [FIG. 8], the second direction being perpendicular to the first direction.
Jang remains silent regarding the first electrode assembly and the second electrode assembly are made of different materials, a thickness of the first electrode assembly along the first direction is less than or equal to a thickness of the second electrode assembly along the first direction.
Lim is directed to a secondary battery including a plurality of elliptic wound electrode assemblies [0011, 0051, 0104-0105], specifically a first electrode assembly including a first positive electrode active material; and a second electrode assembly including a second positive electrode active material [0011, 0052, 0076]. Lim teaches that the first positive electrode active material is different from the second positive electrode active material [0076, 0079-0099].
Kwon is directed towards an electrode assembly including jelly roll-type unit cells [0055-0059, 0125, FIG. 2]. Kwon teaches that the jelly roll-type unit cells comprise a first unit cell [FIG. 2] with a large area/width [0056, 0074, 0125] and a second unit cell [FIG. 2] stacked on top of the first unit cell with a small area [0055-0059, 0074, 0125]. The thickness of the unit cells may be the same or different [0071], wherein, e.g. the first unit cell may have a thickness smaller than that of the second unit cell [0071].
Jang, Lim, and Kwon each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------a battery cell with elliptic wound structures. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery cell of Jang so that the first electrode assembly and the second electrode assembly are made of different materials, in order to realize different improvements, where one has excellent stability of structure and high-rate characteristics and the other improves the capacity per volume [Lim, 0076, 0079-0092], and to additionally have the thickness of the first electrode assembly along the first direction less than or equal to the thickness of the second electrode assembly along the first direction, so as to ensure excellent power efficiency and battery stability, as well as, to control capacitance/reversible capacitance [Kwon, 0074-0075, 0117-0119, 0122].
Figure 3. Annotated FIG. 8 of Jang
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang as applied to claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) above, in view of Osamu et al. (JP 2004/111219 A, herein English machine translation is utilized for all citations, “Osamu”).
Regarding claim 10, in view of the rejection of claim 5 above, Jang further discloses electrode terminals, corresponding to a cathode terminal and an anode terminal (a first electrode terminal and a second electrode terminal) [0055, 0063] protrude outward from the battery case [0055] on a third wall [FIG. 1] and may be formed on two sides of the battery cell [0024], excluding downward sloping walls of the battery cell [0023]. The third wall is connected to the first wall and the second wall [FIGs. 1 and 6] (see below for Figure 4. Annotated FIGs. 1 and 6 of Jang). Additionally, the battery cell has a fourth wall disposed opposite the third wall, as it is a 3-dimensional structure (a third wall and a fourth wall disposed opposite each other) [FIGs. 1 and 6] (see below for Figure 4. Annotated FIGs. 1 and 6 of Jang), wherein the third wall and fourth wall are each connected to both the first wall and the second wall (the third wall is connected to the first wall and the second wall, and the fourth wall is connected to the first wall and the second wall) [FIGs. 1 and 6] (see below for Figure 4. Annotated FIGs. 1 and 6 of Jang).
Jang remains silent regarding the first electrode terminal is disposed on the third wall and the second electrode terminal is disposed on the fourth wall.
Osamu is directed towards a laminated secondary battery with an A-A trapezoidal cross-section [0010, 0015-0016, 0032, FIG. 1], wherein a bottom electrode layer has a larger area and an electrode layer on top has a smaller area [0020, FIGs 2-4]. Osamu teaches a positive electrode terminal and a negative electrode terminal [0018] may be disposed on opposite sides [0018, 0046], wherein the opposite sides are each connected to a first wall and a second wall, with the first wall being a long side wall and the second wall is connected to the first wall [0018, 0046, FIG. 1] (see below for FIG. 5. Annotated FIG. 1 of Osamu) in order to correspond with their respective electrode layer [0019, 0032, 0050].
Jang and Osamu each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------a battery cell with a trapezoid cross section. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the third wall where the cathode terminal and anode terminal are disposed in Jang FIG. 1 be the same third wall that is in front of the plane in Jang FIG. 6, so that the third wall may still be connected to the first wall and the second wall, like that in Jang FIG. 1, and so that the terminals are not disposed on downward sloping walls as disclosed by Jang [Jang, 0023], and to have modified the battery cell of Jang so that the terminals formed on two sides of the battery cell are explicitly on opposite sides, like that of Osamu, in order to correspond with their respective electrode layer [Osamu, 0019, 0032, 0050].
In accordance with the aforesaid modifications, the battery cell of modified Jang would have the cathode terminal and anode terminal that are formed on two sides of the battery cell explicitly on opposite sides, wherein one of the sides is the third wall still and the other is the fourth wall (wherein the first electrode terminal is disposed on the third wall and the second electrode terminal is disposed on the fourth wall).
Figure 4. Annotated FIGs. 1 and 6 of Jang
Figure 5. Annotated FIG. 1 of Osamu
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang as applied to claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) above.
Regarding claim 11, in view of the rejection of claim 5 above, Jang further discloses electrode terminals, corresponding to a cathode terminal and an anode terminal (a first electrode terminal and a second electrode terminal) [0008, 0055, 0063] protrude outward from the battery case [0055] on a third wall [0008, 0024, 0060, FIG. 1], excluding downward sloping walls of the battery cell [0023]. The third wall is connected to the first wall and the second wall [FIGs. 1 and 6] (see below for Figure 6. Annotated FIGs. 1 and 6 of Jang), wherein the third wall is connected to both the first wall and the second wall [FIGs. 1 and 6] (see below for Figure 6. Annotated FIGs. 1 and 6 of Jang).
Jang FIG. 1 depicts a conventional pouch-shaped secondary battery [0005], therefore, Jang does not explicitly teach the location of the third wall for the vertical sectional embodiments, e.g. the trapezoidal shaped cross sectional embodiment.
However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the third wall where the cathode terminal and anode terminal are disposed in Jang FIG. 1 be the same third wall that is in front of the plane in Jang FIG. 6, so that the third wall may still be connected to the first wall and the second wall, like that in Jang FIG. 1, and in order to still exclude downward sloping walls of the battery cell, thereby ensuring similar terminal placement as depicted in Jang FIG. 1 [Jang, 0008, 0023].
Therefore, Jang’s trapezoidal cross section embodiment would have the third wall be connected to the first wall and the second wall, wherein the cathode terminal and anode terminal are disposed on the third wall (the first electrode terminal and the second electrode terminal are disposed on a wall connected to both the first wall and the second wall of the battery cell) (see below for Figure 6. Annotated FIGs. 1 and 6 of Jang).
Figure 6. Annotated FIGs. 1 and 6 of Jang
Claims 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ginsberg et al. (DE 102010033806 A1, herein English machine translation is utilized for all citations; “Ginsberg”), in view of Jang.
Regarding claim 12, the rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) above is incorporated herein, not repeated for sake of brevity. Ginsberg discloses a battery pack [0010], including a common/outer housing (a box) [0036-0037, 0083-0084], and a plurality of rows of battery elements (battery cells) accommodated in packaging units within the common housing [0036, 0038, 0043-0047, 0050, 0054, 0077-0078, FIGs. 2A and 2B]. The plurality of rows of battery elements are arranged along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction/packing layer [0039, 0041, 0050, 0070-0071], the first direction being parallel to a direction of gravity [0031, 0041, 0048, FIGs. 2A and 2B]. The plurality of rows of battery elements comprise a first row of battery elements and a second row of battery elements disposed adjacent to each other along the second direction [FIGs. 2A and 2B], and the first row of battery elements and the second row of battery elements are attached to each other so as to form electrical connection between contacts of adjacent battery elements [0054-0055, 0071]. Adjacent packaging units are rotated 180 degrees in order to provide a very high packing density [0038, 0047-0048, 0070-0071, 0077, 0080].
Ginsberg remains silent regarding explicitly teaching each of the battery elements is the battery cell according to claim 5, and that the first row of battery elements and the second row of battery elements are attached to each other through the second walls of the battery cells, so as to form interaction forces in the first direction between the first row of battery cells and the second row of battery cells.
However, Ginsberg does disclose that the battery elements may have a trapezoidal cross section [0043-0047, 0050, 0072], wherein adjacent battery elements are in a form-fitting manner and abut each other [0046].
Jang is directed towards a battery cell [0016-0018, 0034, FIGs. 1, 6 and 8]. Jang teaches the battery cell has an upward and downward sloping structure, which forms a trapezoidal cross section [0016-0018, 0034, FIGs. 1, 6 and 8]. Jang teaches the battery cell set forth in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Ginsberg and Jang each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------a battery. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery pack of Ginsberg, so that each of the trapezoidal battery elements is explicitly the battery cell of Jang set forth in the rejection of claim 5 above, in order to provide a very high packing density, thereby minimizing unnecessary dead space in the battery element, and maximizing battery capacity of the battery element [Jang, 0040, 0047-0048].
In accordance with the aforesaid modifications, the battery pack of modified Ginsberg would have each of the trapezoidal battery elements be the battery cell of Jang set forth in the rejection of claim 5 above (each of the battery cells is the battery cell according to claim 5), wherein adjacent battery elements are still in a form-fitting manner and abut each other. In view thereof, the first row of battery elements and the second row of battery elements would be attached to each other through the second walls of the battery elements, so as to form electrical connection between contacts of adjacent battery elements (the first row of battery cells and the second row of battery cells are attached to each other through the second walls of the battery cells, so as to form interaction forces in the first direction between the first row of battery cells and the second row of battery cells).
Regarding claim 13, in view of the rejection of claim 12 above, modified Ginsberg further teaches that each of the battery elements further comprises a third wall connected to the first wall, wherein the third wall and the second wall are disposed opposite each other and unparallel to each other [Jang, 0016-0018, 0034, FIG. 6]. Ginsberg further discloses the plurality of rows of battery elements further comprise a third row of battery elements [Ginsberg, FIGs. 2A and 2B], and the third row of battery elements and the second row of battery elements are disposed adjacent to each other along the second direction [Ginsberg, 0050, FIGs. 2A and 2B], as adjacent battery elements are in a form-fitting manner and abut each other [Ginsberg, 0046]. In view thereof, and in view of the modification set forth in ¶60 above, modified Ginsberg would further have the third row of battery elements and the second row of battery elements attached to each other through the third walls, as adjacent battery elements are in a form-fitting manner and abut each other.
Regarding claim 14, in view of the rejection of claim 13 above, modified Ginsberg further teaches the third wall is disposed perpendicularly or inclined with respect to the first wall [Jang, 0016-0018, 0034, FIG. 6].
Regarding claim 15, in view of the rejection of claim 13 above, modified Ginsberg further teaches that the upward sloping structure and the downward sloping structure may have a slope angle of more than 1 degree and less than 90 degrees to a plane parallel to the upward direction and the downward direction (and/or an included angle between the second wall and the first wall is greater than or equal to 30° and less than 90°; and/or an included angle between the third wall and the first wall is greater than or equal to 30° and less than 150°) [Jang, 0018].
Regarding claim 16, in view of the rejection of claim 12 above, modified Ginsberg further teaches the battery element further comprises a third wall parallel to the first wall [Jang, 0016-0018, 0034, FIG. 6], wherein the third wall is connected to the second wall [Jang, 0016-0018, 0034, FIG. 6]; battery elements in each of the plurality of rows of battery elements are stacked along the first direction [Ginsberg, FIGs. 2A and 2B], and in view of the modification set forth in ¶60 above, each of the plurality of rows of battery elements, adjacent battery elements would be attached to each other through the first walls and/or the third walls.
Regarding claim 17, in view of the rejection of claim 12 above, modified Ginsberg further teaches that the battery element further comprises a third wall connected to the first wall [Jang, 0016-0018, 0034, FIG. 6], wherein the third wall is disposed opposite the second wall [Jang, 0016-0018, 0034, FIG. 6], the battery element in each of the plurality of rows of battery element are stacked along the first direction [Ginsberg, FIGs. 2A and 2B], and in view of the modification set forth in ¶60 above, in each row of the battery element, the third walls of any two of the battery element are on a same plane.
Regarding claim 18, in view of the rejection of claim 12 above, Ginsberg further discloses the battery pack comprises n rows of battery elements [0028-0030, FIGs 2A and 2B], and each n rows of battery elements comprises a plurality of battery elements, wherein the n rows and the plurality of battery elements are positive integers greater than or equal to 1 [0029-0030, FIGs 2A and 2B], and n is greater than the plurality of battery elements that constitutes a row [FIGs 2A and 2B], thereby, in totality, reading on the battery comprises N rows of battery cells, and each of the N rows of battery cells comprises M battery cells, wherein N and M are positive integers greater than 1 and N is greater than or equal to M, as claimed.
Regarding claim 19, in view of the rejection of claim 12 above, Ginsberg further discloses an element which is suitable for absorbing energy/forces, in particular the energy/forces occurring in an accident, by deformation (separation parts) [0011, 0024-0025] comprises deformation elements, of which, e.g. have a follow profile (a cross beam) [element 2, 0010-0012, 0016-0017, FIGs. 2A and 2B], which are perpendicular to the first direction and are provided between the plurality of rows of battery cells [0010, 0012, 0028-0036, 0048], thereby, in totality, reading on separation parts perpendicular to the first direction are provided between the plurality of rows of battery cells, and the separation part is… a cross beam, as claimed (see 112(b) claim rejection above for claim interpretation).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ginsberg in view of Jang as applied to claim 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 above, further in view of Kwon (cited to above).
Regarding claim 20, Ginsberg in view of Jang teaches the battery set forth in the rejection of claim 12 above.
Ginsberg in view of Jang remains silent regarding the dimension of the battery cell satisfies at least one of the following conditions: thickness T of the battery cell in the first direction satisfying 6 mm≤T≤150 mm; and length W of the battery cell in a third direction satisfying 100 mm≤W≤1200 mm.
Kwon is directed towards an electrode assembly including a plurality of different sized unit cells [0007, 0055-0059, 0125, FIGs. 1-5]. Kwon teaches that the unit cells comprise a first unit cell [FIG. 2] with a large area/width [0005, 0056, 0074, 0125] and a second unit cell [FIG. 2] stacked on top of the first unit cell with a small area [0005, 0055-0059, 0074, 0125]. The thickness of the unit cells may be the same or different [0071], wherein, e.g. the first unit cell may have a thickness smaller than that of the second unit cell [0071]. The width and length of the unit cell may vary, in order to realize excellent capacitance and durability characteristics [0005-0008, 0039]. Kwon exemplifies widths of 80 mm and 100 mm [0161-0162], and lengths of 120 mm and 150 mm [0161-0162]. Kwon, does not state which direction the width and length directions are in, however, 100 mm, 120 mm, and 150 mm are all within the claimed length W range, 100 mm≤W≤1200 mm.
Ginsberg, Jang, and Kwon each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------a battery cell with elliptic wound structures. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery element of Ginsberg in view of Jang so that the length in a third direction is 100 mm, 120 mm, or 150 mm, so as to ensure excellent power efficiency and battery stability, as well as, to control capacitance/reversible capacitance [Kwon, 0074-0075, 0117-0119, 0122]. The three aforementioned length values are all within the claimed length W range, 100 mm≤W≤1200 mm, thereby rendering the range obvious (MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Pertinent Prior Art
The following constitutes a list of prior art which are not relied upon herein, but are considered pertinent to the claimed invention and/or written description thereof. The prior art are purposely made of record hereinafter to facilitate compact/expedient prosecution, and consideration thereof is respectfully suggested.
Maleki et al., US 2015/0349372 A1 – teaches the diameter or width of a first jellyroll assembly is different from the diameter of a second jellyroll assembly [0027].
Conclusion
/JENNA X. COLTON/Examiner, Art Unit 1782
/AARON AUSTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1782