DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Election
Claims #5-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 5, 2026.
IDS
The IDS document(s) filed on March 12, 2024 and September 5, 2025 have been considered. Copies of the PTO-1449 documents are herewith enclosed with this office action.
Specifications
The title is objected to because a more descriptive title is requested.
Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1)
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyake et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0172474 A1), hereafter “Miyake”.
Miyake, Annotated FIG. 1 with outlined “recess” region
As to claim 1, Miyake teaches:
A semiconductor device including a substrate S, a channel layer CH formed on the substrate and made of Group III nitride semiconductor, and a barrier layer BA formed on and in contact with the channel layer and made of Group III nitride semiconductor having an Al composition (AlGaN) higher than an Al composition of the channel layer (GaN). See Miyake, FIG. 1, ¶¶ [0089], [0091].
The semiconductor device further comprising: a recess formed in a partial region of a surface of the barrier layer and having a depth reaching the channel layer. Refer to Miyake, Annotated FIG. 1 above.
An electrode GE formed to cover along the recess.
Wherein the recess has a first side surface (right vertical side of the recess, forming part of a vertical edge of BA) being an exposed surface of the barrier layer and having an angle (90°) with respect to a main surface of the substrate.
A terrace (right horizontal sides of the recess, forming parts of DB, SB) continuing to the first side surface and being an exposed surface of the channel layer. The part of DB comprising Miyake’s terrace as an exposed surface of the channel layer.
A second side surface (right angled portion of the recess between DB and SB) continuing to the terrace, being an exposed surface of the channel layer, and having an inclination angle smaller than the angle of the first side surface with respect to the main surface of the substrate. Miyake teaches the second side surface, the right angled portion of the recess between DB and SB, forms an exposed surface/acutely angled edge of the channel layer CH. An acute angle necessarily has a smaller angle than a right angle.
As to claim 3, Miyake teaches a right angle. Refer to Miyake, Annotated FIG. 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake as applied to claim 1.
As to claim 2, Miyake does not teach a width of the terrace is 100 nm or more.
On the other hand, shape, size, and dimension differences are considered obvious design choices and are not patentable unless unobvious or unexpected results are obtained from these changes. It appears that these changes produce no functional differences and therefore would have been obvious. Note In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Ohki (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0280110 A1), hereafter “Ohki”.
As to claim 4, Miyake does not teach the first side surface is a m-plane of the barrier layer.
On the other hand, Ohki teaches an m-plane barrier layer. See Ohki, ¶ [0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the m-plane barrier layer as taught by Ohki with the transistor device as taught by Miyake, in order to yield the predictable benefit of suppressing leakage current. Id.
Conclusion
/SUBERR L CHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893