DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1, 5, 8-10, 12, 15 and 19 have been amended. Claims 4 and 16 have been canceled. Claims 1-3, 5-15 and 17-20 presented for the examination and remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 9, 12, 13, 15, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hollowbush et al. U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0219366 A1, (hereafter Hollowbush) in view of Vorobyov et al. U.S. Pub. No. 20140053223 A1, (hereinafter Vorobyov).
Regarding claim 1.
Hollowbush teaches a computerized method comprising: monitoring for changes in availability of output channels for a device (Hollowbush in Para. [0002] the test apparatus monitors plural channel outputs of a devices);
detecting an output channel change in the device providing for a multimedia content stream having an audio portion output via a speaker of the device and a video portion output via a display of the device (Hollowbush in Para. [0002] the test apparatus monitors plural channel outputs of a devices and determining audio/video lead or lag time from the timing of emergence of the video and audio data markers, and also detecting any audio channel mismatch as revealed by emergence of the audio mark data on a different channel from the channel marked at the input), wherein the output channel change is a change between video output and audio output (Hollowbush teaches in Para. [0016] accommodate auxiliary inputs and multiple selectable sources of video and/or audio, additional channels can be involved. And furthermore, the use of a number of audio speakers in surround sound…, and further Hollowbush teaches in Para. [0017] is needed is a way to deal with audio delays, audio coupling and other occurrences that are specific to digital audio channels…);
after detecting the output channel change, wherein the supplemental audio content is selected when the audio portion has a score that is higher compared to a score for the video portion and the supplemental video content is selected when the score for the video portion is higher compared to the score for the audio portion (Hollowbush teaches in Para. [0055] the detected video marker (i.e., a score) and audio marker data are noted and preferably measured by numerically timing the elapsed time between the earlier and later one to be detected in the output of the system under test. Detector portion 100 of test apparatus 50 determines a timing relationship of the data representing the audio marker for at least one of said audio channels versus the video marker, and further Hollowbush teaches in Para. [0061] comparing the video and the audio based on the marker result…, the detection portion of the apparatus monitors for the occurrence of the video marker "2" and the audio marker…, and further Hollowbush teaches in Para. [0064] selected one of the audio channels on which the audio marker was applied to the input for processing by the signal under test, so as to test for a channel change when necessary).
Hollowbush does not explicitly teach selecting supplemental content based on a supplemental content type comprising one of supplemental audio content and supplemental video content such that the supplemental content is playable by an available output channel of the device after the output channel change; and
providing a content stream comprising the multimedia content and the selected supplemental content having the supplemental content type.
However, Vorobyov teaches selecting supplemental content based on a supplemental content type comprising one of supplemental audio content and supplemental video content such that the supplemental content is playable by an available output channel of the device after the output channel change (Vorobyov teaches in Para. [0016] the user and/or the content provider may select how the supplemental content is displayed on the content display device, e.g., the image location, size, font, color, and so on, and may also select the size and arrangement of the video content on the content display device. The selection data may be stored as metadata associated with the supplemental content. It will be understood that the content receiver may receive and transmit content (e.g., video, audio, and metadata) and the supplemental content simultaneously and further Vorobyov teaches in Para. [0046] depending on its assigned PID. For one channel, the user 301C may select one or more sets of supplemental content for display or audio transmission, while for another channel, the user 301C may select a different one or more sets of supplemental content for display or audio transmission… Note that here the channel selection based on the supplemental content indicates the changes on a channels. Also, see Para. [0013], [0022] and [0044]); and
providing a content stream comprising the multimedia content and the selected supplemental content having the supplemental content type (Vorobyov teaches in Para. [0026] the supplemental content is supplied by the content provider 104, the supplemental content is generally additional data separate from a content stream (e.g., video content, audio content and metadata generally associated with a multimedia stream)).
Therefore, Hollowbush and Vorobyov are analogues arts and they are in the same field of endeavor as they both are directed to providing a content and supplemental content streaming in a translated format form through different channels.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of how the supplemental content is displayed on the content display device, e.g., the image location, size, font, color, and so on, and may also select the size and arrangement of the video content on the content display device and the supplemental content is generally additional data separate from a content stream (e.g., video content, audio content and metadata generally associated with a multimedia stream ([0016], [0046] & [0026]) as taught, by Vorobyov into the teachings of Hollowbush invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to the method enables the processing unit to execute instructions for the communications unit to check for updates to determine whether additional code is available for download, thus enabling the processing unit to convert the text data into audio signals effectively. The method enables the content receiver with ability to retrieve updates for the supplemental content, thus allowing the user to be provided with up-to-date, customized and user-defined supplemental content from variety of sources.
Regarding claim 2.
Hollowbush further teaches detecting frame changes at the device (Hollowbush teaches in Para. [0020] video and the audio are marked by codes having a predetermined timing relationship such as codes inserted at the same time in a video frame);
determining the video portion of the multimedia content stream is being provided at the device based on detection of the frame changes (Hollowbush teaches in Para. [0033] a test device 50 used to make marker in a video and audio and determines the digital input frame); and
Hollowbush in view of Vorobyov teaches selecting the supplemental video content based on determining the video portion of the multimedia content stream is being provided (Hollowbush teaches in Para. [0014] stream of digital data has a portion used for marking the start and stop of video, a portion for video data samples, and a portion for audio and auxiliary data and further, Vorobyov teaches in Para. [0038] the supplemental audio menu 311A provides the user the ability to select a percentage or ratio (e.g., equal to, higher or lower) of supplemental audio to the audio associated with the video content. The user may also select to turn off the audio associated with the video content).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of selecting equal to, higher or lower of supplemental audio to the audio associated with the video content([0038]) as taught, by Vorobyov into the teachings of Hollowbush invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to the method enables the content receiver with ability to retrieve updates for the supplemental content, thus allowing the user to be provided with up-to-date, customized and user-defined supplemental content from variety of sources.
Regarding claims 8 and 15.
Claims 8 and 15 incorporate substantively all the limitation of claim 1 a non-transitory storage medium and a device form and are rejected under the same rationale. Furthermore, regarding the limitations of non-transitory storage medium and device, the prior art of Hollowbush teaches in Para. [0018] about the device for the same reason and Vorobyov teaches in Para. [0050] about the non-transitory machine readable medium.
Regarding claim 3.
Hollowbush further teaches detecting no image changes at the device (Hollowbush teaches in Para. [0013] display screen can be controlled by a processor that stores color information in one or more image memories from which an image is read out by a display driver (i.e., note that here the image is stored without a change which clearly indicates that no image changes at the device)); and
determining the audio portion of the multimedia content stream is being provided at the device based on detecting no image changes (Hollowbush teaches in Para. [0041] instead of producing a signal for driving a raster scanning receiver, the data can be used to populate the contents of an image memory that is coupled to a display driver and further, Hollowbush teaches in Para. [0055] portion 100 of test apparatus 50 determines a timing relationship of the data representing the audio marker for at least one of said audio channels versus the video marker); and
Hollowbush in view of Vorobyov further teaches selecting the supplemental audio content based on determining the audio portion of the multimedia content stream is being provided (Hollowbush teaches in Para. [0014] stream of digital data has a portion used for marking the start and stop of video, a portion for video data samples, and a portion for audio and auxiliary data and further, Vorobyov teaches in Para. [0038] the supplemental audio menu 311A provides the user the ability to select a percentage or ratio (e.g., equal to, higher or lower) of supplemental audio to the audio associated with the video content. The user may also select to turn off the audio associated with the video content).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of selecting equal to, higher or lower of supplemental audio to the audio associated with the video content([0038]) as taught, by Vorobyov into the teachings of Hollowbush invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to the method enables the content receiver with ability to retrieve updates for the supplemental content, thus allowing the user to be provided with up-to-date, customized and user-defined supplemental content from variety of sources.
Regarding claim 5.
Hollowbush in view of Vorobyov further teaches based on detecting the change in the output device channel availability, selecting a same supplemental content having a different supplemental content type (Hollowbush teaches in Para. [0034] applying an input to one audio channel (or perhaps a subset of the available audio channels) and inserting a video marker at the same time and further Vorobyov teaches in Para. [0046] the audio content may be the same or different from the text content. That is, when different audio and text supplemental content are selected); and
changing the content stream to include the same supplemental content using the different supplemental content type (Hollowbush teaches in Para. [0014] the stream of digital data has a portion used for marking the start and stop of video, a portion for video data samples, and a portion for audio and auxiliary data and further Vorobyov teaches in Para. [0043] the additional supplemental content may be presented in the same or a different format compared to the supplemental content presented as scrolling content 321C…, multiple sets of supplemental content may be transmitted by the content receiver 302C to the content display device 304C, and for each set of supplemental content to be displayed, the user may select their preferences using the selections described above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the teachings of the additional supplemental content may be presented in the same or a different format compared to the supplemental content presented as scrolling content ([0043]) as taught, by Vorobyov into the teachings of Hollowbush invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to the format of the supplemental content may be controlled by the content provider or by the external source based on metadata associated with the supplemental content designating the presentation of the additional supplemental content (Vorobyov. [0043]).
Regarding claim 9.
Hollowbush in view of Vorobyov determining whether the first output device channel or the second output device channel is providing the multimedia content based on frame changes at a display of the device (Hollowbush teaches in Para. [0033] a test device 50 used to make marker in a video and audio and determines the digital input frame and further, Hollowbush teaches in Para. [0014] stream of digital data has a portion used for marking the start and stop of video, a portion for video data samples, and a portion for audio and auxiliary data and Vorobyov also teaches in Para. [0038] the supplemental audio menu 311A provides the user the ability to select a percentage or ratio (e.g., equal to, higher or lower) of supplemental audio to the audio associated with the video content. The user may also select to turn off the audio associated with the video content).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of selecting equal to, higher or lower of supplemental audio to the audio associated with the video content([0038]) as taught, by Vorobyov into the teachings of Hollowbush invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to the method enables the content receiver with ability to retrieve updates for the supplemental content, thus allowing the user to be provided with up-to-date, customized and user-defined supplemental content from variety of sources.
Regarding claim 12.
Claim 12 incorporate substantively all the limitation of claim 5 in a non-transitory storage medium and is rejected under the same rationale. Furthermore, regarding the limitation of a non-transitory storage medium, the prior art of record Vorobyov teaches in Para. [0050] about the non-transitory machine readable medium.
Regarding claim 17.
Claim 17 incorporate substantively all the limitation of claim 9 in a non-transitory storage medium and is rejected under the same rationale. Furthermore, regarding the limitation of a non-transitory storage medium, the prior art of record Vorobyov teaches in Para. [0050] about the non-transitory machine readable medium.
Regarding claim 19.
Hollowbush in view of Vorobyov teaches providing an indication of the output channel change (Hollowbush teaches in Para. [0051] the output of the system under test may be affected by any processing steps that are undertaken so as to differentially delay one of the associated audio and video parts of the signal, or by steps that change or mix audio channel designations further Vorobyov teaches in Para. [0046] depending on its assigned PID. For one channel,…, the user 301C may select a different one or more sets of supplemental content for display or audio transmission… Note that here the channel selection based on the supplemental content indicates the changes on a channels. Also, see Para. [0013], [0022] and [0044]);
responsive to the indication, receiving a same supplemental content having a different supplemental content type (Hollowbush teaches in Para. [0014] the stream of digital data has a portion used for marking the start and stop of video, a portion for video data samples, and a portion for audio and auxiliary data and further Vorobyov teaches in Para. [0043] the additional supplemental content may be presented in the same or a different format compared to the supplemental content presented as scrolling content 321C…, multiple sets of supplemental content may be transmitted by the content receiver 302C to the content display device 304C, and for each set of supplemental content to be displayed, the user may select their preferences using the selections described above); and
providing the content stream that includes the same supplemental content using a different device output channel selected from one of the speaker and the display (Hollowbush teaches in Para. [0014] the stream of digital data has a portion used for marking the start and stop of video, a portion for video data samples, and a portion for audio and auxiliary data and further in Para. [0016] teaches about the use of the speakers and further Vorobyov also teaches in Para. [0043] the additional supplemental content may be presented in the same or a different format compared to the supplemental content presented as scrolling content 321C…, multiple sets of supplemental content may be transmitted by the content receiver 302C to the content display device 304C, and for each set of supplemental content to be displayed, the user may select their preferences using the selections described above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the teachings of the additional supplemental content may be presented in the same or a different format compared to the supplemental content presented as scrolling content ([0043]) as taught, by Vorobyov into the teachings of Hollowbush invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to the format of the supplemental content may be controlled by the content provider or by the external source based on metadata associated with the supplemental content designating the presentation of the additional supplemental content (Vorobyov. [0043]).
Regarding claim 20.
Hollowbush teaches providing a request to change the supplemental content type for the supplemental content (Hollowbush teaches in Para. [0053] the audio marker code may entail a pattern of audio signals inserted during muting of the audio channels such that the appearance of any audio signal on the output is the operable detection event); and
Hollowbush in view of Vorobyov teaches responsive to the request, providing a same supplemental content using a different device output channel selected from one of the speaker and the display (Hollowbush teaches in Para. [0029] the speakers 83 are separately controllable so that audio signals inserted into the input signal can be addressed via distinct channels to corresponding speakers as output devices..., further, Vorobyov teaches in Para. [0036] whether or not the text data is supplemental content, is utilized by the processing unit 124 to execute instructions for generating audible signals capable of being transmitted to an audio source (e.g., speakers integrated with or coupled to the content display device 106)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the teachings of execute instructions for generating audible signals capable of being transmitted to an audio source ([0036]) as taught, by Vorobyov into the teachings of Hollowbush invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order for generating audible signals capable of being transmitted to an audio source by using speakers integrated with or coupled to the content display device in an efficient manner.
Claims 6, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hollowbush in view of Vorobyov further in view of Tai et al. U.S. Pub. No. 2002/0105598A1, (hereinafter Tai).
Regarding claim 6. Hollowbush in view of Vorobyov teaches the method of claim 1.
Hollowbush in view of Vorobyov does not explicitly teach receiving a request from the device to change the supplemental content type; and responsive to receiving the request, providing a same supplemental content having a different supplemental content type.
However, Tai teaches receiving a request from the device to change the supplemental content type (Tai teaches in Para. [0020] a video auto-selector 40 receives an audio input from each microphone A1, A2, and A3. A video switch 50 receives a video input from each camera C1, C2, C3. Video auto-selector 40 produces an audio output and a switch command. Video switch 50 uses the switch command to switch video from one of video sources C1, C2, C3 to a video output); and
responsive to receiving the request, providing a same supplemental content having a different supplemental content type (Tai teaches in Claim 6. “a video switcher to accept video signals from the video sources corresponding to the audio inputs, and to switch one of those video sources onto a video output in response to the current video source selection of the switching logic.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the teachings of using the audio streams (and selection time-history) to select which video stream to supply to each conferencing point ([0052]) as taught, by Tai into the teachings of Hollowbush in view of Vorobyov invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to a temporary video segment is selected because the preceding regular segment has reached a length where additional measures are taken to increase the probability that a switch to a different camera view will occur. (Tai. [0034]).
Regarding claim 13.
Claim 13 incorporate substantively all the limitation of claim 6 in a non-transitory storage medium and is rejected under the same rationale. Furthermore, regarding the limitation of a non-transitory storage medium, the prior art of record Vorobyov teaches in Para. [0050] about the non-transitory machine readable medium.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hollowbush in view of Vorobyov further in view of Pearce et al. U.S. Pat. No. 6,804,254 B1, (hereinafter Pearce).
Regarding claim 7. Hollowbush in view of Vorobyov teaches the method of claim 1.
Hollowbush in view of Vorobyov does not explicitly teach determining that no output device channels are available to provide the audio portion and the video portion; and based on determining no output device channels are available, stopping the content stream.
However, Pearce teaches determining that no output device channels are available to provide the audio portion and the video portion (Pearce teaches in [Col. 11, lines 24-30] when the hold feature is initiated from telephony device 22, media streaming (i.e., content stream) channels 118 between IP telephony device 22 and MTP 28 are terminated or "torn down."(i.e., Stop or determines that no output device channels are available)…); and
based on determining no output device channels are available, stopping the content stream (Pearce teaches in [Col. 11, lines 27-41] because MTP 28 has been implemented, media streaming channels 116 between MTP 28 and telephony device 44 may be maintained while still effectively terminating the media streaming between telephony device 44 and telephony device 22... Thus, the connection between telephony device 44 and telephony device 22 is maintained. Any media streaming received by MTP 28 from telephony device 44 may then be discarded (i.e., the media streaming is discarded which indicates that the stopping of the content streaming process). Once the hold feature is discontinued at telephony device 22, media streaming channels 118 can then be re-established between telephony device 22 and MTP 28 through signaling over control channels 114, as shown in FIG. 4.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of terminating or "torn down” the using of channels for media streaming based on effectively terminating the media streaming if necessary ([Col. 11, lines 27-41] and [Col. 11, lines 27-41]) as taught, by Pearce into the teachings of Hollowbush in view of Vorobyov invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to the method allows telephony features to be extended to telephony devices that are incompatible with the media streaming termination.
Regarding claim 14.
Claim 14 incorporate substantively all the limitation of claim 7 in a non-transitory storage medium and is rejected under the same rationale. Furthermore, regarding the limitation of a non-transitory storage medium, the prior art of record Vorobyov teaches in Para. [0050] about the non-transitory machine readable medium.
Claims 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hollowbush in view of Vorobyov further in view of Lindahl et al. U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0037777 A1, (hereinafter Lindahl).
Regarding claim 10. Hollowbush in view of Vorobyov teaches the media of claim 8.
Hollowbush in view of Vorobyov does not explicitly teach determining whether the first output device channel or the second output device channel is providing the multimedia content based on no identified image changes at a display of the device.
However, Lindahl teaches determining whether the first output device channel or the second output device channel is providing the multimedia content based on no identified image changes at a display of the device (Lindahl teaches in Para. [0027], [0033], [0036], [0038], [0041] and [0054] a random image alteration effect may be selected and applied to image data upon the detection of a particular device operation event and image data output to display).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the teachings of the first and second image alteration effects may be applied separately or concurrently by the image processing logic without the need for additional user inputs and a random image alteration ([0100] and [0027]) as taught, by Tai into the teachings of Hollowbush in view of Vorobyov invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to the altered image data is displayed on the electronic device, the user experience is improved when interacting with electronic devices.
Regarding claim 18. Hollowbush in view of Vorobyov teaches the device of claim 15.
Hollowbush in view of Vorobyov does not explicitly teach determining the audio portion of the multimedia content stream is being provided based on detecting no image changes at the display.
However, Lindahl teaches determining the audio portion of the multimedia content stream is being provided based on detecting no image changes at the display (Lindahl teaches in Para. [0027] upon the times at which the events are detected, the first and second image alteration effects may be applied separately or concurrently by the image processing logic without the need for additional user inputs…, and further Lindahl teaches in Para. [0100] image alteration settings may include one or more image alteration rules which define the type or types of image alteration effect(s) that are to be applied in response to certain device operation events… Once user preferences 92 have been determined, method 360 may continue from step 364 to decision block 366, in which a determination is made as to whether a device operation event that triggers image alteration, such as an audio, motion, location, or image capture event, is presently occurring).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the teachings of the first and second image alteration effects may be applied separately or concurrently by the image processing logic without the need for additional user inputs and a random image alteration ([0100] and [0027]) as taught, by Tai into the teachings of Hollowbush in view of Vorobyov invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to the altered image data is displayed on the electronic device, the user experience is improved when interacting with electronic devices.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hollowbush in view of Vorobyov further in view of Chaudhuri et al. U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0026825 A1, (hereinafter Chaudhuri).
Regarding claim 11. Hollowbush in view of Vorobyov teaches the media of claim 8.
Hollowbush in view of Vorobyov does not explicitly teach scoring the supplemental content, and selecting the supplemental content based on a score for the supplemental content.
However, Chaudhuri teaches scoring the supplemental content, and selecting the supplemental content based on a score for the supplemental content (Chaudhuri teaches in Para. [0062] the video frames selection engine 108 outputs the selected frames (or indices of the selected frames) to the video capsule creation engine 110, which collects the selected high quality score video frames and..., and further teaches in Para. [0063] a location for high quality frames give the temporal marking around which the desired video clips are to be selected, along with the audio).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the teachings of a method of selection a supplemental video and audio based on score ([0062]-[0063]) as taught, by Chaudhuri into the teachings of Hollowbush in view of Vorobyov invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to select a number of high quality content frames, and forming a video clip including the selected content frames and a portion of frames surrounding in the content frame sequence (Chaudhuri.[0006]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant argues that the prior art of record Rahman in view of Tai do not render obvious at least these elements of claims 1, 8, and 15.
In response to the above mentioned Applicant’s arguments, the Examiner considered the argument but is moot because the argument does not apply to the combination of the references being used in the current rejection as set forth above in the 103 rejection.
Citation of pertinent prior Arts.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schwartz. (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0320545 A1) the System and method for providing audio-visual programming with alternative content.
Mallinson et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0247042 A1) which discloses how video, audio and supplemental contents managed and distributed to different devices.
Krikorian et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0234213 A1) which discloses how the channel is the delivery pathway through which the context system transmits the media content and the supplemental content to the destination system.
Furthermore, see PTO-892 Notice of References Cited.
ConclusionAny inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BERHANU SHITAYEWOLDETSADIK whose telephone number is (571)270-7142. The examiner can normally be reached M-F.
/BERHANU SHITAYEWOLDETADIK/Examiner, Art Unit 2455