DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment/remarks filed 6/10/2026. Claims 1, 2, 4-12, and 14-20 are pending. Claims 1 (software) and 11 (a method) are independent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-11, filed 6/10/2026, with respect to 112(b) rejection of claims 4, 6, 7, 14, 16, and 17 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(b) rejection of claims 4, 6, 7, 14, 16, and 17 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 6/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 10-11 of the remarks, relating to the 112(b) rejection, the noted claim amendments to claims 4 and 14 are not applicable to claims 5, 8, 9, 15, 18, and 19.
On page 12 of the remarks Applicant states: “Yaghmour discloses an email client plug-in for email authentication and signing – not for cyber threat detection or autonomous enforcement.” This argument is not persuasive.
As cited, Yaghmour discloses in ¶ 89 that: “recipients may be allowed to judge senders on the content they send. The software used by the recipients to talk to the authentication server may then query the server for the rating of the sender. Using this information, the recipient's software may then choose to either apply filtering to the received message or display messages differently according to the rating of the sender.”
A cyber threat is reasonably interpreted as undesirable sent or received emails and filtering said emails is reasonably interpreted as an autonomous action.
Furthermore, Applicant’s specification ¶¶ 43 and 75 discusses spam emails being a cyber threat and Applicant’s specification ¶¶ 39 and 47 discussing filtering emails as the autonomous action. As seen in the above disclosures in Applicant’s specification, the interpretation that Yaghmour ¶ 89 discloses autonomous actions to prevent cyber threats is consistent with Applicant’s specification.
Additionally, Yaghmour was not cited for the ‘cyber threat detection’ aspects of the claim as detailed by the ‘action module’ clause. Rather, Yaghmour was cited only for the concept that email filtering can be performed by a ‘plug in’. Treat discloses the cyber threat detection actions performed by the ‘action module’.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
On page 12 of the remarks, Applicant states: “There is no teaching in Yaghmour of the analyzing emails for data exfiltration threats, detecting malicious and anomalous behavior as compared to a user’s modeled email behavior,…”
This argument is not persuasive, Treat was cited for those aspects.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
On pages 12-13 of the remarks, Applicant states: “Even if Treat and Yaghmour were combined, Applicant respectfully submits that the combination fails to teach or suggest [the claim]”.
This argument is unpersuasive as Applicant does not articulate any particular features not shown by either Treat or Yaghmour. Examiner reiterates the rejection as detailed below.
On page 13 of the remarks, Applicant states: “Treat discloses network-level file transfer monitoring using a firewall and endpoint agents that monitor file transfer activities Yaghmour discloses an email authentication plug-in …. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have no motivation to combine Treat’s network-level file transfer monitoring system with Yaghmour’s email authentication”
This argument is not persuasive.
Both Treat and Yaghmour contemplate assessing email (e.g. Treat ¶ 74, Yaghmour ¶ 89) and both Treat and Yaghmour contemplate agents on endpoints performing monitoring (e.g. Treat ¶ 35 and Yaghmour ¶ 72). Additionally, Both Treat and Yaghmour contemplate analysis performed by a network entity (Treat ¶ 78 and Yaghmour ¶¶ 73-79). Thus, Treat and Yaghmour are analogous arts.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Treat with Yaghmour in order to provide an email handling interface that is compatible with existing infrastructure, Yaghmour ¶ 25, such as the email applications of Treat ¶ 4.
Examiner notes that Applicant’s claims require network level monitoring; see claim 4 “the cyber security appliance located in a network”.
In response to applicant's argument that the combination of Treat and Yaghmour are nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, both arts are directed to endpoint agents and central processing, just as in Applicant’s claims.
On page 13 of the remarks Applicant states: “Neither Treat nor Yaghmour, alone or in combination, teaches a single plug-in or browser extension resident on the endpoint computing device that performs cyber threat analysis and autonomous enforcement actions on both inbound and outbound emails. Treat's endpoint agent monitors file transfer activities at the network level and does not integrate with an email client application as a plug-in or browser extension. Yaghmour's plug-in performs cryptographic signing and signature validation-not cyber threat detection or autonomous enforcement actions.”
This argument is not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant’s further remarks are based on those addressed and are not persuasive for the reasons noted above.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
On page 28 of the remarks filed 11/26/2025, the following portions of the specification were noted with respect 35 U.S.C. § 112(f):
"integration module" - [23], [25]
"action module" - [25], [39], [46]-[48], [70]
"cyber threat module" - [25], [37]-[38], [42], [49], [51]-[53], [73], [75], [77]
"secure communications module" [24], [30], [32], [35], [41]
"autonomous response module" [24], [32], [39], [46], [48], [59]-[60], [62]- [69]
"email module" [36]-[37], [39]-[40], [44], [56], [60]-[61], [83], [85], [87], [89]- [90]
These modules will be interpreted in correspondence therewith and the 112(b) rejection is withdrawn.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,962,552. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because presently presented claims 1 and 11 are anticipated by the corresponding claims of ‘552.
Presently presented claim
Corresponding anticipatory claim of ‘552
1, 11
3, 13
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 8, 9, 15, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5, 8, 9, 15, 18, and 19 require: “a cyber security appliance of the cyber defense system”
It is unclear whether the “cyber security appliance is a component of the claimed “cyber defense system, comprising: an endpoint agent” of claims 1 and 11. If the cyber security appliance is not part of the claimed machine/method, then acts attributed to the cyber security appliance are non-limiting, or external to the claim.
Note that while claim 19 does not explicitly comprise the appliance, the limitations are directed to network monitoring rather than endpoint monitoring.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-8, 10-12, and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Treat et al., US 2017/0264628 (published 2017), in view of Yaghmour, US 2006/0123476 (published 2006).
As to claims 1, 11, and 20, Treat discloses a software/method comprising:
A cyber defense system:
an endpoint agent extension for email that includes two or more modules and one or more machine learning models, (“behavior profile generator 730 can be implemented using various data mining techniques, such as using one or more machine learning techniques, for normal behavior state determination.” Treat ¶ 98) comprising: (“endpoint agents deployed on client devices for monitoring applications executed on the client devices for file transfer activities” Treat ¶ 35)
an integration module of the endpoint agent extension configured to integrate the endpoint agent extension (“endpoint agent is configured to monitor a file transfer application executed on the client device, and a system, process, and/or computer program product for automated insider threat prevention” Treat ¶ 40) with an email client application on an endpoint computing device to detect email cyber threats in emails in the email client application as well as regulate outbound emails; and (“a client device can access a service provided by a server via the Internet, such as a web-related service (e.g., web site, cloud-based services, streaming services, or email service such as web-posting applications, email applications, and/or other file transfer related applications” Treat ¶ 74)
an action module of the endpoint agent extension configured to interact with the email client application to direct autonomous actions, by the action module rather than a human taking an action, against at least an outbound email including its attached files and/or linked files under analysis (“assume that Alice typically uses Box and Gmail but does not typically use Yahoo mail or Dropbox, and assume that a behavior profile for Alice is configured to associate Yahoo mail and Dropbox as file transfer activity applications that are commonly used by Alice. In this case, a network device and/or endpoint agent can detect a file transfer activity that does not match the behavior profile for Alice (e.g., based on APP ID and user ID techniques as described below, it can be determined that Alice is sending a threshold amount of data in a predefined period of time using such a new FT service/application), and the network device and/or endpoint agent can then block/kill that file transfer activity” Treat ¶ 51. also Treat ¶ 41)
when a cyber threat module determines the outbound email including its attached files and/or linked files to be at least one of (a) to be a data exfiltration threat, (“detecting and preventing insider threats, unwanted user behavior and tactics used to exfiltrate protected and sensitive information from the enterprise.” Treat ¶ 53) (b) both malicious and anomalous behavior as compared to a user's modeled email behavior, (“transfer activity that does not match the behavior profile for Alice” Treat ¶ 51), where the autonomous actions, against at least the outbound email and the files, include one or more actions selected from a group consisting of i) logging a user off the email client application, ii) preventing the sending of the outbound email, iii) stripping the attached files and/or disabling the link to the files from the outbound email, and iv) sending a notification to cyber security personnel of an organization regarding the outbound email. (“throttling a connection associated with the anomalous activity, block the connection associated with the anomalous activity, kill a process associated with the anomalous activity, generate an alert based on the anomalous activity, log the anomalous activity, update the behavior profile for the user based on the anomalous activity, or any combination thereof.” Treat ¶ 41. Treat ¶¶ 51 and 91 discussing email examples.)
…
and outbound emails; and (“associate Yahoo mail and Dropbox as file transfer activity applications that are commonly used by Alice…. endpoint agent can detect a file transfer activity that does not match the behavior profile for Alice (e.g., based on APP ID and user ID techniques as described below, it can be determined that Alice is sending a threshold amount of data in a predefined period of time using such a new FT service/application), and the network device and/or endpoint agent can then block/kill that file transfer activity” Treat ¶ 51. also Treat ¶ 41)
wherein the integration module, the cyber threat module, and the endpoint agent extension are configured to cooperate with one or more processors and one or more non- transitory computer readable mediums such that software instructions of the integration module, the cyber threat module, and the endpoint agent extension are stored in an executable format on the one or more non-transitory computer readable mediums and are configured to be executed by the one or more processors. (“an endpoint agent executed on the laptop computer)” Treat ¶ 52. “Endpoint Security Manager (ESM) 454 (e.g., ESM 454 can be implemented in software and executed on a hardware processor of prevention controller 450 to facilitate deployment and management of the host agents (endpoint security agents) executed on the client devices,” Treat ¶ 78)
Treat does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the endpoint agent extension is implemented as one of i) a plug-in integration for the email client application and ii) a browser extension for integration with a browser-based email client application, where the endpoint agent extension is resident on the endpoint computing device to interface with the email client application resident in that endpoint computing device to perform actions of monitoring and enforcement on both inbound emails and outbound emails
Yaghmour discloses:
wherein the endpoint agent extension is implemented as one of i) a plug-in integration for the email client application (“A sender module 4, such as an email client plug-in, is integrated in the sender station 2 and interfaces with the sender's existing email client application.” Yaghmour ¶ 72. “The recipient module 24 may be an email client plug-in interfacing with the recipient's existing email client application. The recipient module 24, which may be the same plug-in used for contacting the authentication server 8 and getting emails signed as described earlier, is activated when an email is received by the recipient as part of the normal email retrieval.” Yaghmour ¶ 79)
and ii) a browser extension for integration with a browser-based email client application, (alternate embodiment)
where the endpoint agent extension is resident on the endpoint computing device to interface with the email client application resident in that endpoint computing device to perform actions of monitoring and enforcement on both inbound emails (“Using this information, the recipient's software may then choose to either apply filtering to the received message or display messages differently according to the rating of the sender.” Yaghmour ¶ 89. See also ¶ 79) and outbound emails (“The sender module 4 is activated when the sender attempts to send an email that is to be signed to the recipient station 14.” Yaghmour ¶ 72)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Treat with Yaghmour by utilizing the client email plug-in of Yaghmour to perform special processing for sent and received emails in the process of Treat. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Treat with Yaghmour in order to provide an email handling interface that is compatible with existing infrastructure, Yaghmour ¶ 25, such as the email applications of Treat ¶ 4.
As to claims 2 and 12, Treat discloses the software/method of claims 1 and 11 and further discloses:
an attachment analyzer of the endpoint agent extension that is configured to scan a file i) attached to and/or ii) linked to the (“endpoint agent can detect a file transfer activity that does not match the behavior profile for Alice (e.g., based on APP ID and user ID techniques as described below, it can be determined that Alice is sending a threshold amount of data in a predefined period of time using such a new FT service/application), and the network device and/or endpoint agent can then block/kill that file transfer activity or perform another responsive action based on this example ITP policy” Treat ¶ 51) outbound email that is about to be sent in an outbox, (“insider threat prevention (ITP) policy) caps file transfers to 10 megabytes (MB) within a predefined period of time to an offsite site (e.g., Box, Gmail” Treat ¶ 50) in order to analyze content and meta data of the file via investigation of the file structure, (“in which the content ID component can provide real-time content scanning, such as for monitoring and/or controlling file transfer activities (including data limits on file transfers and/or destination-based restrictions on such file transfers), such as further described below), and/or other information to match signatures (e.g., file-based, protocol-based, and/or other types/forms of signatures for detecting malware or suspicious behavior).” Treat ¶ 59, note Applicant’s specification ¶ 28) a meta data analysis tool, (threshold amount of data Treat ¶ 51) and machine learning analysis (“behavior profile generator 730 can be implemented using various data mining techniques, such as using one or more machine learning techniques, for normal behavior state determination.” Treat ¶ 98) to gather information about the file itself and the content in the file. (see above).
As to claims 4 and 14, Treat discloses the software/method of claims 1 and 11 and further discloses:
a secure communications module (“receive and transmit communications to and from the prevention controller can be encrypted using a standard encryption protocol (e.g., SSL or another standard encryption protocol).” Treat ¶ 94) in the endpoint agent extension configured to securely communicate with one or more modules in a cyber security appliance of the cyber defense system located in a network connected to the endpoint computing device, (“enterprise network 420 includes a prevention controller 450. In one embodiment, prevention controller 450 includes a data appliance (e.g., a security management appliance), a gateway/server (e.g., a security management server), and/or some other network/security management device” Treat ¶ 78. “behavior profile generator 730 can be implemented using various data mining techniques, such as using one or more machine learning techniques, for normal behavior state determination.” Treat ¶ 98) where the modules of the endpoint agent extension are configured to receive and factor in, (“endpoint security agent 706 can provide endpoint inputs (e.g., based on monitored endpoint activities on a client device associated with an enterprise network) and execute actions on the endpoint/client device based on the monitored endpoint activities and a policy (e.g., a firewall/ITP policy).” Treat ¶ 90) both knowledge outside an email domain as well as metrics and other information from the email domain, collected by the one or more modules of the cyber defense appliance located on the network, (“endpoint agent can detect a file transfer activity that does not match the behavior profile for Alice (e.g., based on APP ID and user ID techniques as described below, it can be determined that Alice is sending a threshold amount of data in a predefined period of time using such a new FT service/application), and the network device and/or endpoint agent can then block/kill that file transfer activity or perform another responsive action based on this example ITP policy” Treat ¶ 51) where the modules of the endpoint agent extension also are configured to use the computing power of the one or more modules of the cyber defense appliance for one or more of the machine learning models, where the endpoint agent extension uses both the external computing power and additional knowledge collected outside the email domain (“behavior profile generator 730 can be implemented using various data mining techniques, such as using one or more machine learning techniques, for normal behavior state determination.” Treat ¶ 98)
in order to analyze contextual information about the outbound email under analysis, about user behavior of the user generating the outbound email, and/or about a particular file i) attached to or ii) linked to the outbound email. (“that does not match the behavior profile for Alice (e.g., based on APP ID and user ID techniques as described below… endpoint agent can then block/kill that file transfer activity” Treat ¶ 51)
As to claims 5 and 15, Treat discloses the software/method of claims 1 and 11 and further discloses:
a secure communications module in the endpoint agent extension configured to securely communicate with one or more modules in a cyber security appliance (“receive and transmit communications to and from the prevention controller can be encrypted using a standard encryption protocol (e.g., SSL or another standard encryption protocol).” Treat ¶ 94) of the cyber defense system located in a network connected to the endpoint computing device in order to receive contextual information (“endpoint security agent 706 can provide endpoint inputs (e.g., based on monitored endpoint activities on a client device associated with an enterprise network) and execute actions on the endpoint/client device based on the monitored endpoint activities and a policy (e.g., a firewall/ITP policy).” Treat ¶ 90) outside an email domain about the outbound email under analysis, (Treat ¶¶ 41 and 51) as well as take instructions or receive additional information from an autonomous response module of the cyber security appliance regarding what autonomous action to take against the outbound email to mitigate a threat posed by the outbound email and its attachments and/or links. (“process the input to make a determination/decision, execute an action/response (e.g., which can utilize a network device/firewall to perform a network action and/or an endpoint security agent to perform an endpoint action, as also shown in FIG. 7)” Treat ¶ 88)
As to claims 6 and 16, Treat discloses the software/method of claims 1 and 11 and further discloses:
where the cyber defense appliance of the cyber threat defense system is located in an IT network, an OT network, a SaaS environment, a cloud network, and/or any combination of these networks, (any network?) to exchange secure communications with the endpoint agent extension (“receive and transmit communications to and from the prevention controller can be encrypted using a standard encryption protocol (e.g., SSL or another standard encryption protocol).” Treat ¶ 94) to provide additional contextual information about user behavior outside the email domain, contextual information about attached files to the email under analysis (“endpoint security agent 706 can provide endpoint inputs (e.g., based on monitored endpoint activities on a client device associated with an enterprise network) and execute actions on the endpoint/client device based on the monitored endpoint activities and a policy (e.g., a firewall/ITP policy).” Treat ¶ 90) to determine whether the outbound email under analysis and its attachments and/or links either i) are unusual or ii) are not unusual in context of a current user's behavior under analysis, to prevent incidents of data loss as well as wrongly addressed recipients. (endpoint action of Treat ¶ 88. “The disclosed techniques can also provide a greater efficiency and control over user file transfer activities for an enterprise. The disclosed techniques can also improve decisions and preventative actions performed in response to network traffic that exceeds a threshold metric (e.g., based on a behavior profile associated with a user). The disclosed techniques can also identify and prevent attackers using compromised credentials to exfiltrate data from an enterprise (e.g., steal data from the enterprise).” Treat ¶ 53)
As to claims 7 and 17, Treat discloses the software/method of claims 1 and 11 and further discloses:
an email module of the cyber security appliance cooperating with the one or more machine learning models in the cyber security appliance to perform machine learning analysis (“a behavior profile generator is provided using prevention controller 450 as shown with behavior profile generator 730 in FIG. 7, using a cloud security service” Treat ¶ 98) on all inbound and outbound email flow for an organization (“(e.g., web site, cloud-based services, streaming services, or email service such as web-posting applications, email applications, and/or other file transfer related applications and/or components of applications/web services that perform such web-posting applications, email applications,” Treat ¶ 74) to develop an awareness of a pattern-of-life for i) each individual user, (“the behavior profile for the user can include a plurality of metrics based on one or more file transfer application activities associated with the user,” Treat ¶ 36)
ii) the organization as a whole, and iii) clustered groups of users the machine learning identifies as being closely associated with a given user,
(“a static default value can be utilized for thresholds for metrics to provide a baseline user behavior profile. These thresholds and/or metrics can be updated (e.g., trained) based on monitored activities for one or more users (e.g., a specific user and/or a group of users, such as based on job/role of the group of users, such as executive group, engineering group, marketing group, finance group, sales group, legal group, etc.). A” Treat ¶ 46. Also ¶ 101, groups of users training the model.),
where the email module is configured to convey this information to the modules in the endpoint agent extension through the secure communications module. (“to perform an endpoint action, as also shown in FIG. 7)” Treat ¶ 88)
As to claims 8 and 18, Treat discloses the software/method of claims 1 and 11 and further discloses:
where the endpoint agent extension and a cyber security appliance on a network cooperate to track and maintain a dynamic profile modeled for each email user in a domain who compose emails, (“a behavior profile generator is provided using prevention controller 450 as shown with behavior profile generator 730 in FIG. 7, using a cloud security service” Treat ¶ 98)
which is 1) derived from a pattern-of-life for i) a corresponding email user in the email domain, (“the behavior profile for the user can include a plurality of metrics based on one or more file transfer application activities associated with the user,” Treat ¶ 36)
ii) an organization that the individual user of the email domain is a part of, and iii) smaller clustered peer groups who have close associations with a given user on a per user basis, as well as (“a static default value can be utilized for thresholds for metrics to provide a baseline user behavior profile. These thresholds and/or metrics can be updated (e.g., trained) based on monitored activities for one or more users (e.g., a specific user and/or a group of users, such as based on job/role of the group of users, such as executive group, engineering group, marketing group, finance group, sales group, legal group, etc.). A” Treat ¶ 46. Also ¶ 101, groups of users training the model.),
2) factor in network metrics with email domain metrics to make a decision that the behavior is deviating from the pattern-of-life for the email under analysis and any of its files attached or linked, (Treat ¶¶ 41 and 51) where the cyber security appliance is configured to convey this information to the modules in the endpoint agent extension through the secure communications module. (“receive and transmit communications to and from the prevention controller can be encrypted using a standard encryption protocol (e.g., SSL or another standard encryption protocol).” Treat ¶ 94).
As to claim 19, Treat discloses the software/method of claims 1 and 11 and further discloses:
tracking and maintaining a dynamic profile modeled in a user model for each email user in the domain who compose emails, (“the behavior profile for the user can include a plurality of metrics based on one or more file transfer application activities associated with the user,” Treat ¶ 36) as well as cooperate with a model of email and network activities of each peer group in an organization as well as a model of an organization's email activity in general, (“a static default value can be utilized for thresholds for metrics to provide a baseline user behavior profile. These thresholds and/or metrics can be updated (e.g., trained) based on monitored activities for one or more users (e.g., a specific user and/or a group of users, such as based on job/role of the group of users, such as executive group, engineering group, marketing group, finance group, sales group, legal group, etc.). A” Treat ¶ 46. Also ¶ 101, groups of users training the model.) where the inputs from all three of these different modeled insights is factored into the dynamic profile (“These thresholds and/or metrics can be updated (e.g., trained) based on monitored activities for one or more users” Treat ¶ 46) when making a decision whether the outbound email by the user is unusual and triggers a further analysis. (“network device and/or endpoint agent can detect a file transfer activity that does not match the behavior profile for Alice (e.g., based on APP ID and user ID techniques as described below, it can be determined that Alice is sending a threshold amount of data in a predefined period of time using such a new FT service/application), and the network device and/or endpoint agent can then block/kill that file transfer activity or perform another responsive action based on this example ITP policy” Treat ¶ 51. Behavior of app ID/user ID triggers further analysis of threshold amount of data. Also the notification of ¶ 97)
As to claims 10, Treat discloses the software/method of claims 1 and 11 and further discloses:
where, in addition to directing actions to prevent (a) the data exfiltration threat, (b) the malicious and anomalous behavior threat, and (c) any combination of these two determinations, (Treat ¶¶ 41 and 51 as cited above)
the action module of the endpoint agent extension is further configured to direct the autonomous actions against the outbound email and its files when additional determinations are made including (d) sending a notification to the user on whether they intend to send the outbound email to a deemed errant email recipient address, (“For example, ACME Company can prohibit enterprise users from utilizing example-site.com for any file transfer activities.” Treat ¶ 126. Notification based on recipient, see below.) as well as (e) sending a notification to the user when the email under analysis including any attached or linked files is determined to violate an email policy implemented by an organization that contains the user. (“generate an alert warning the user that such is a disallowed file transfer application/activity).” Treat ¶ 126)
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Treat et al., US 2017/0264628 (published 2017), in view of Yaghmour, US 2006/0123476 (published 2006), and Jaiswal, US 2015/0143518 (published 2015).
As to claims 9, Treat in view of Yaghmour discloses the software/method of claims 1 and 11 and further discloses:
where an email module in the network cyber security appliance is configured to track and maintain a dynamic profile modeled in a user model for each email user in the domain who compose emails, (“the behavior profile for the user can include a plurality of metrics based on one or more file transfer application activities associated with the user,” Treat ¶ 36) as well as cooperate with a model of email and network activities of each peer group in an organization as well as a model of an organization's email activity in general, (“a static default value can be utilized for thresholds for metrics to provide a baseline user behavior profile. These thresholds and/or metrics can be updated (e.g., trained) based on monitored activities for one or more users (e.g., a specific user and/or a group of users, such as based on job/role of the group of users, such as executive group, engineering group, marketing group, finance group, sales group, legal group, etc.). A” Treat ¶ 46. Also ¶ 101, groups of users training the model.), where the inputs from all three of these different modeled insights is factored into the dynamic profile (“These thresholds and/or metrics can be updated (e.g., trained) based on monitored activities for one or more users” Treat ¶ 46) when making a decision whether the outbound email by the user is unusual and triggers a further analysis, (“network device and/or endpoint agent can detect a file transfer activity that does not match the behavior profile for Alice (e.g., based on APP ID and user ID techniques as described below, it can be determined that Alice is sending a threshold amount of data in a predefined period of time using such a new FT service/application), and the network device and/or endpoint agent can then block/kill that file transfer activity or perform another responsive action based on this example ITP policy” Treat ¶ 51. Behavior of app ID/user ID triggers further analysis of threshold amount of data. Also the notification of ¶ 97) and wherein a secure communications module in the endpoint agent extension is configured to securely receive (“receive and transmit communications to and from the prevention controller can be encrypted using a standard encryption protocol (e.g., SSL or another standard encryption protocol).” Treat ¶ 94)
for each email user in the domain who composes emails, (Treat ¶ 51)…
where the email module is configured to generate the dynamic profiles sent to the secure communications module. (“executed on the prevention controller and/or the cloud security service to generate, train, and update/enhance behavior profiles for automated insider threat prevention,” Treat ¶ 113)
Treat in view of Yaghmour does not disclose:
Receive an instance of a dynamic profile, … as well as a memory to store the instances of dynamic profiles for each of the users on the end point device for quicker processing of each outbound mail under analysis,
Jaiswal discloses:
Receive an instance of a dynamic profile, … as well as a memory to store the instances of dynamic profiles for each of the users on the end point device for quicker processing of each outbound mail under analysis,
(“the training phase is implemented in the structure analyzer 122 on the server computing system 106, as part of the DLP system 108, and the detection phase is implemented in the structure analyzer 122 on the client computing system 102.” Jaiswal ¶ 28. See Jaiswal Figure 3)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have implemented the machine learning trainer on the server side (network device) of Treat and provided the model for endpoint (endpoint agent) to detect threats. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Treat in view of Yaghmour with Jaiswal in order to train the model (Jaiswal ¶ 28) using data from a plurality of entities/endpoints (Jaiswal ¶ 26) and therefore trained on a broader spectrum of training data (e.g. Treat ¶¶ 46 and 101).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892, particularly:
Jakobsson et al., US 12,689,631, disclosing using message context to evaluate security of data requests.
Hayes et al., US 12,598,205, discloses browser plug-in detection of data exfiltration.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL W CHAO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2492