DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-21 are currently pending in the present application, with claims 1, 8, 15, and 21 being independent.
Response to Amendments / Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the remaining arguments: Applicant argues with respect to the amended claim language, which is fully addressed in the prior art rejections set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-9, 11-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fix et al. (US 20170161951), hereinafter referred to as “Fix”, in view of Zhou (US 20210373339 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fix discloses a mapping function extraction system (FIG. 1) comprising:
a scanner (Par. 0074; FIG. 10, optical calibration system 1000 includes image capture automation module. Examiner’s note: a scanner could reasonably include device that captures data to characterize the lens, by rapidly taking multiple overlapping images that are merged to create a single, high-resolution final image) configured to scan a multi-channel lens (Par. 0026; Optics block 104 directs light from electronic display 102…such as Fresnel lenses…)to generate appearance data including appearance information of the recessed part (Fig. 13A-13B and Par. 0005; To model distortion caused by the optics block, a calibration image is displayed by the virtual reality headset and a camera captures multiple images of the displayed calibration image from different positions relative to the exit pupil…Capturing images from multiple positions relative to the exit pupil enables the calibration system to measure optical properties of the optics block (e.g., the focal length(s), how the focal length(s) vary as a function of angle, higher-order aberrations of the optics block, etc.) by emulating a wavefront sensor. Par. 0078-0080; displacements, or "tilts"),
a comparator (Par. 0080; distortion correction module 1004) configured to generate correction data (Par. 0080; the wavefront is generated for each state of optics block 104…wavefronts 1402, 1404, 1406, 1408, 1410 corresponding to different positions or focal lengths of optics block 104 have different shapes, corresponding to different levels of distortion) by comparing the appearance data with pre-stored standard appearance data (Par. 0078-0080; Displacements, or “tilts,” between one or more points in the distorted calibration image and in the calibration image are determined by comparing the distorted calibration image to the calibration image (or other data identifying expected locations of the one or more points) for each camera position. Accordingly, the different camera positions allow determination of a wavefront)…Referring to FIGS. 12A and 12B, each box of the checkerboard pattern of distorted calibration image 1200B can be compared to the ideal or theoretical positions of the boxes in calibration image 1200A to determine the displacements, as the distorted calibration image 1200B…distortion correction module 1004 receives the images of distorted calibration image as it appears through the other end of optics block 104 and determines differences between the expected locations of points of the calibration image the pattern relative to observed locations of the corresponding points of the distorted calibration image. Based on the differences, distortion correction module 1004 estimates changes to the wavefront of light from electronic display 102 as the wavefront passes though optics block 104. and an extractor configured to generate a mapping function by applying the correction data to a pre-stored standard mapping function…),
a control circuit (Par. 0081; distortion correction module 1004) configured to apply the correction data to a pre-stored standard mapping function (Par. 0067; different states of optics block 104 correspond to various focal lengths, provide accommodation for a range of vergence depths, and are associated with a lens shape or other adjustable property affecting focal length. Accordingly, vergence depths can be mapped to lens shapes or properties and stored in a lookup table. Thus, when a vergence depth is received from vergence processing module 112, varifocal actuation block 106 identifies a lens shape corresponding to the vergence depth from the lookup table and changes the shape of one or more lenses in optics block 104 to the identified lens shape corresponding to the new vergence depth. As described above in conjunction with FIG. 1, varifocal actuation block 106 may include one or more components to change the shape or other property affecting the focal length of one or more lenses of optics block 104) to generate a mapping function to compensate for optical distortion caused by the multi-channel lens (Par. 0074; generates distortion correction maps to correct for optical error introduced by different states of optics block 104, which accounts for different focal lengths caused by optics block 104. Par. 0081; distortion correction module 1004 generates 1110 a distortion correction map for a state of optics block based on the wavefront (e.g., based on a wavefront at the exit pupil after image light passes through optics block 104) and determined differences between the expected locations of points of the calibration image relative to observed locations of the corresponding points in the distorted calibration image captured as light from electronic display 102 passes through optics block 104).
Fix does not appear to explicitly disclose a plurality of sub-lenses all mutually intersecting at a single recessed part, and wherein the recessed part is disposed at a center of the multi-channel lens.
In the same art of multi-element optical systems for HMDs, Zhou discloses a plurality of sub-lenses all mutually intersecting at a single recessed part, and wherein the recessed part is disposed at a center of the multi-channel lens (Fig. 7A-7C and Par. 0004; a plurality of sub lenses around an optical center of the curved lens and connected with each other)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Fix’s optical distortion mapping system to incorporate Zhou’s multiple curved sub-lens structure. The motivation lies in the advantage of controlled light-transmission geometry for various optical references in multi-lens structures, further improving distortion modeling accuracy and consistency of image correction in VR display systems. The combination yields predictable results of reliable mapping-function generation for correcting optical distortion caused by complex multi-channel lens geometries, thereby enhancing visual fidelity.
Regarding claim 2, Fix discloses the mapping function extraction system of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the multi-channel lens includes the plurality of sub-lenses through which light emitted from a display passes, wherein the plurality of sub-lenses is at least three.
In the same art of multi-element optical systems for HMDs, Zhou discloses wherein the multi-channel lens includes the plurality of sub-lenses through which light emitted from a display passes, wherein the plurality of sub-lenses is at least three (Fig. 7A-7C and Par. 0004; a plurality of sub lenses around an optical center of the curved lens and connected with each other…a plurality of first curved surfaces are connected to form a light exit surface of the curved lens, and plurality of second curved surfaces are connected with each other to form a light incident surface of the curved lens. Par. 0117; As illustrated in Fig. 7A, FIG. 7B, FIG. 8A and Fig. 8B, the curved lens 330 include three sub lenses 331 arranged around…the optical center 382 of the curved lens 330 and connected with each other…).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Fix’s optical distortion mapping system to incorporate Zhou’s multi-sub lens structure having a plurality of sub-lenses that is at least three. The motivation lies in the advantage of increasing spatial sampling and wavefront measurement across the optical aperture, further allowing accurate characterization of optical distortion and improving distortion-correction mapping in VR display systems. The combination yields predictable results of enhanced distortion modeling accuracy and improved visual fidelity.
Regarding claim 4, Fix in view of Zhou discloses the mapping function extraction system of claim 1, and Fix further discloses wherein the standard appearance data includes appearance information of the multi-channel lens having a pre-derived initial design (Par. 0005; The calibration image includes a pattern, such as a checkerboard pattern or an array of points, and features of the calibration image, such as the actual, ideal, or theoretical location of features. FIG. 12A and Par. 0079; each box of the checkerboard pattern of distorted calibration image…can be compared to ideal or theoretical positions of the boxes in calibration image 1200A to determine displacements).
Fix and Zhou are combined for the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Fix in view of Zhou discloses the mapping function extraction system of claim 1, and Fix further discloses wherein the correction data is derived based on a difference between the standard appearance data and the appearance data (Par. 0080; distortion correction module 1004 receives the images of distorted calibration image as it appears through the other end of optics block 104 and determines differences between the expected locations of points of the calibration image the pattern relative to observed locations of the corresponding points of the distorted calibration image. Based on the differences, distortion correction module 1004 estimates changes to the wavefront of light from electronic display 102 as the wavefront passes though optics block 104. For example, wavefront slopes for each state are computed from the displacements for a least-squares fitting with derivatives of Zernike polynomials).
Fix and Zhou are combined for the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Fix in view of Zhou discloses the mapping function extraction system of claim 1, and Fix further discloses wherein the standard mapping function (Par. 0081-0082; distortion correction map) is to calculate position information of pixels (Par. 0078-0079; Displacements, or “tilts,” between one or more points in the distorted calibration image and in the calibration image are determined by comparing the distorted calibration image to the calibration image (or other data identifying expected locations of the one or more points)…wavefront sensors allows the camera 1010 to measure higher pixel displacement at an angular displacement…multiple camera positions provide multiple points for determining displacements, or “tilts,” between one or more points in the distorted calibration image and in the calibration image) corresponding to a virtual reality image (Par. 0072; Display of a scene by VR headset 100 is modified to mitigate distortion introduced by optical errors of optics block 104 included in VR headset 100 that directs image light from electronic display element 102 presenting the scene to an eye of a use…calibration images) to be provided through the multi-channel lens that has a pre-derived initial design (Par. 0080; optics block 104…expected locations of points of the calibration image).
Fix and Zhou are combined for the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Fix in view of Zhou discloses the mapping function extraction system of claim 1, and Fix further discloses wherein the mapping function is extracted based on a change in the appearance data (Par. 0005-0006; emulating a wavefront sensor providing better correction of distortion caused by the optics block, as the distortion is generally non-linear and changes based on a state of the optics block…is modified or changed as the pupil location or the state of the optics block changes (e.g., as a varifocal element changes the position or the shape of the optics block) to correct for optical errors caused by different pupil locations relative to the optics block states of the optics block)
Fix and Zhou are combined for the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 is the method claim of system claim 1, and is accordingly rejected using substantially similar rationale as to that which is set for with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 has similar limitations as of claim 2, except it is a method claim, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 has similar limitations as of claim 4, except it is a method claim, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 4.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 has similar limitations as of claim 5, except it is a method claim, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 has similar limitations as of claim 6, except it is a method claim, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 has similar limitations as of claim 7, except it is a method claim, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 7.
Regarding claim 15, Fix discloses a display device (FIG. 1 and Par. 0025; VR headset 100 is a Head-Mounted Display) comprising:
a display including pixels (FIG. 1 and Par. 0025; electronic display 102),
and a controller (FIG. 10-11 and Par. 0081-0082; distortion correction module 1004 and scene renderer module 120) configured to generate mapping data including position information of the pixels (Par. 0078-0079; Displacements, or “tilts,” between one or more points in the distorted calibration image and in the calibration image are determined by comparing the distorted calibration image to the calibration image (or other data identifying expected locations of the one or more points)…wavefront sensors allows the camera 1010 to measure higher pixel displacement at an angular displacement…multiple camera positions provide multiple points for determining displacements, or “tilts,” between one or more points in the distorted calibration image and in the calibration image) corresponding to the VR image, based on a pre-stored mapping function and VR image data (Par. 0081-0082; distortion correction module 1004 generates 1110 a distortion correction map…distortion correction maps corresponding to various states of optics block 104 are provided 1112 to scene render module 120 to modify information displayed on electronic display 102 to compensate for distortion caused by optics block 104),
wherein a difference value between standard appearance data of the multi-channel lens and appearance data of the multi-channel lens including appearance information of the recessed part (Par. 0078-0080; displacements, or "tilts") is applied to the mapping function (Par. 0081; distortion correction module 1004 generates 1110 a distortion correction map for a state of optics block based on the wavefront (e.g., based on a wavefront at the exit pupil after image light passes through optics block 104) and determined differences between the expected locations of points of the calibration image relative to observed locations of the corresponding points in the distorted calibration image captured as light from electronic display 102 passes through optics block 104).
Fix does not appear to explicitly disclose a lens arrangement including at least one multi-channel lens having a plurality of sub-lenses all mutually intersecting at a single recessed part and configure dot provide a virtual reality (VR) image by refracting and reflecting an image displayed on the display, and wherein the recessed part is disposed at a center of the multi-channel lens.
In the same art of multi-element optical systems for HMDs, Zhou discloses a lens arrangement including at least one multi-channel lens having a plurality of sub-lenses all mutually intersecting at a single recessed part and configure dot provide a virtual reality (VR) image by refracting and reflecting an image displayed on the display (Par. 0067; As illustrated in Fig. 1A and FIG. 1B, the display device 500 includes a plurality of display channels, and a plurality of display screens, and further includes a plurality of splicing lenses…the plurality of display screens respectively display a plurality of initial sub-images…and the plurality of display sub-images that are connected with each other form the image displayed by the display device. Par. 0077; the curved lens can be used in a near-eye display device or a head-mounted display device. For example, the curved lens can be used in a virtual reality display device or an augmented reality display device. For example, the curved lens can be used as part component of a single lens of virtual reality glasses), and wherein the recessed part is disposed at a center of the multi-channel lens (Fig. 7A-7C and Par. 0004; a plurality of sub lenses around an optical center of the curved lens and connected with each other).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Fix’s optical distortion mapping system to incorporate Zhou’s multi-channel lens structure. The motivation lies in the advantage of controlled light-transmission geometry for various optical references in multi-lens structures, further improving distortion modeling accuracy and consistency of image correction in VR display systems. The combination yields predictable results of reliable mapping-function generation for correcting optical distortion caused by complex multi-channel lens geometries, thereby enhancing visual fidelity.
Regarding claim 16, Fix discloses the display device of claim 15, and further discloses wherein the mapping function is extracted based on a change in the appearance data (Par. 0005-0006; emulating a wavefront sensor providing better correction of distortion caused by the optics block, as the distortion is generally non-linear and changes based on a state of the optics block…is modified or changed as the pupil location or the state of the optics block changes (e.g., as a varifocal element changes the position or the shape of the optics block) to correct for optical errors caused by different pupil locations relative to the optics block states of the optics block).
Fix does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of sub-lenses is at least three.
In the same art of multi-element optical systems for HMDs, Zhou discloses wherein the plurality of sub-lenses is at least three (Fig. 7A-7C and Par. 0004; a plurality of sub lenses around an optical center of the curved lens and connected with each other…a plurality of first curved surfaces are connected to form a light exit surface of the curved lens, and plurality of second curved surfaces are connected with each other to form a light incident surface of the curved lens. Par. 0117; As illustrated in Fig. 7A, FIG. 7B, FIG. 8A and Fig. 8B, the curved lens 330 include three sub lenses 331 arranged around…the optical center 382 of the curved lens 330 and connected with each other…).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Fix’s optical distortion mapping system to incorporate Zhou’s multi-sub lens structure having a plurality of sub-lenses that is at least three. The motivation lies in the advantage of increasing spatial sampling and wavefront measurement across the optical aperture, further allowing accurate characterization of optical distortion and improving distortion-correction mapping in VR display systems. The combination yields predictable results of enhanced distortion modeling accuracy and improved visual fidelity.
Regarding claim 17, Fix in view of Zhou discloses the display device of claim 15, and Fix further discloses wherein the standard appearance data includes appearance information of the multi-channel lens having an initial design (Par. 0005; The calibration image includes a pattern, such as a checkerboard pattern or an array of points, and features of the calibration image, such as the actual, ideal, or theoretical location of features. FIG. 12A and Par. 0079; each box of the checkerboard pattern of distorted calibration image…can be compared to ideal or theoretical positions of the boxes in calibration image 1200A to determine displacements).
Fix and Zhou are combined for the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 15.
Regarding claim 18, Fix in view of Zhou discloses the display device of claim 15, and Fix further discloses wherein the appearance data (Par. 0075; FIG. 12B shows an example distorted calibration image 1202B…optics block 104 is included in VR headset 100 to show how distortion caused by optics block 104 distorts calibration image) includes appearance information of the multi-channel lens through scanning (Par. 0005; To model distortion caused by the optics block, a calibration image is displayed by the virtual reality headset and a camera captures multiple images of the displayed calibration image from different positions relative to the exit pupil…Capturing images from multiple positions relative to the exit pupil enables the calibration system to measure optical properties of the optics block (e.g., the focal length(s), how the focal length(s) vary as a function of angle, higher-order aberrations of the optics block, etc.) by emulating a wavefront sensor) the multi-channel lens including the recessed part (Par. 0026; Optics block 104 directs light from electronic display 102 to an exit pupil for viewing by a user using one or more optical elements, such as…Fresnel lenses. Examiner’s note: Fresnel lenses comprise multiple rings with concentric grooves, each ring is a sub-lens and each concentric groove is where the sub-lens intersects at a recessed part).
Fix and Zhou are combined for the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 15.
Regarding claim 19, Fix in view of Zhou discloses the display device of claim 15, and Fix further discloses wherein the appearance data includes appearance information of the recessed part (Par. 0078-0080; displacements, or "tilts") formed by the plurality of sub-lenses (Par. 0073; A wavefront sensor, such as a Shack-Hartmann sensor, may be used to measure the wavefront. A Shack-Hartmann sensor comprises an array of lenses, each focused onto a sensor, such as a CCD or CMOS array, based on a focal location on the sensor, a local tilt (or deviation of a beam of light) of the wavefront across each lens is calculated and the local tilts are combined to approximate a wavefront) included in the multi-channel lens (Par. 0026; Optics block 104 directs light from electronic display 102 to an exit pupil for viewing by a user using one or more optical elements, such as…Fresnel lenses).
Fix and Zhou are combined for the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 15.
Regarding claim 20, Fix in view of Zhou discloses the display device of claim 15, and Fix further discloses wherein: the controller is configured to provide the mapping data to the display, and the display is configured to display the image based on the mapping data (Par. 0081-0082; distortion correction module 1004 generates 1110 a distortion correction map…distortion correction maps corresponding to various states of optics block 104 are provided 1112 to scene render module 120 to modify information displayed on electronic display 102 to compensate for distortion caused by optics block 104).
Fix and Zhou are combined for the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 15.
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 is the CRM claim (Par. 0042-0043; application store 152) of system claim 1, and is accordingly rejected using substantially similar rationale as to that which is set for with respect to claim 1.
Claim(s) 3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fix et al. (US 20170161951), hereinafter referred to as “Fix”, in view of Zhou (US 20210373339 A1), and in further view of He et al. (CN 110941092 A), hereinafter referred to as “He”.
Regarding claim 3, Fix in view of Zhou discloses the mapping function extraction system of claim 2, and further discloses wherein the appearance data includes appearance information of the recessed part (Par. 0078-0080; displacements, or "tilts") formed by the plurality of sub-lenses (Par. 0078-0081; wavefront sensors).
Fix in view of Zhou does not disclose wherein a quantity of the plurality of sub-lenses intersecting at the recessed part is a positive multiple of four.
In the same art of optical systems for AR/VR display devices, He discloses wherein a quantity of the plurality of sub-lenses intersecting at the recessed part is a positive multiple of four (Fig. 4, Fig. 8 and Par. 0012; lens array may comprise a first lens, a second lens, a third lens and a fourth lens).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the optical lens arrangement of Fix and Zhou to incorporate He’s sub-lens arrangement in which there are four lenses. The motivation lies in the advantage of improving optical uniformity and imaging performance of near-eye optical systems by utilizing a symmetric sub-lens having a positive multiple of four intersecting sub-lenses, yielding predictable results efficient light distribution and improved optical performance in multi-lens systems.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 has similar limitations as of claim 3, except it is a method claim, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
Conclusion
/JENNY N TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2615
/ALICIA M HARRINGTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2615