DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-21 are currently pending in the present application, with claims 1, 8, 15, and 21 being independent.
Response to Amendments / Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 9-10, filed 12/09/2025, with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. § 112f of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 10, filed 12/09/2025, with respect to claims 4, 6, 11, 13, and 17 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. § 112b rejection of claims 4, 6, 11, 13, and 17 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the remaining arguments: Applicant argues with respect to the amended claim language, which is fully addressed in the prior art rejections set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fix et al. (US 20170161951), hereinafter referred to as “Fix”, in view of Huang et al. (CN 216209998), hereinafter referred to as “Huang”.
Regarding claim 1, Fix discloses a mapping function extraction system (FIG. 1) comprising:
a scanner (Par. 0074; FIG. 10, optical calibration system 1000 includes image capture automation module. Examiner’s note: a scanner could reasonably include device that captures data to characterize the lens, by rapidly taking multiple overlapping images that are merged to create a single, high-resolution final image) configured to scan (Fig. 13A-13B and Par. 0005; To model distortion caused by the optics block, a calibration image is displayed by the virtual reality headset and a camera captures multiple images of the displayed calibration image from different positions relative to the exit pupil…Capturing images from multiple positions relative to the exit pupil enables the calibration system to measure optical properties of the optics block (e.g., the focal length(s), how the focal length(s) vary as a function of angle, higher-order aberrations of the optics block, etc.) by emulating a wavefront sensor) a multi-channel lens (Par. 0026; Optics block 104 directs light from electronic display 102…such as Fresnel lenses…) having a plurality of sub-lenses intersecting at a recessed part to generate appearance data (Par. 0026; Optics block 104 directs light from electronic display 102 to an exit pupil for viewing by a user using one or more optical elements, such as…Fresnel lenses. Examiner’s note: Fresnel lenses comprise multiple rings with concentric grooves, each ring is a sub-lens and each concentric groove is where the sub-lens intersects at a recessed part), including appearance information of the recessed part (Par. 0078-0080; displacements, or "tilts"),
a comparator (Par. 0080; distortion correction module 1004) configured to generate correction data (Par. 0080; the wavefront is generated for each state of optics block 104…wavefronts 1402, 1404, 1406, 1408, 1410 corresponding to different positions or focal lengths of optics block 104 have different shapes, corresponding to different levels of distortion) by comparing the appearance data with pre-stored standard appearance data (Par. 0078-0080; Displacements, or “tilts,” between one or more points in the distorted calibration image and in the calibration image are determined by comparing the distorted calibration image to the calibration image (or other data identifying expected locations of the one or more points) for each camera position. Accordingly, the different camera positions allow determination of a wavefront)…Referring to FIGS. 12A and 12B, each box of the checkerboard pattern of distorted calibration image 1200B can be compared to the ideal or theoretical positions of the boxes in calibration image 1200A to determine the displacements, as the distorted calibration image 1200B…distortion correction module 1004 receives the images of distorted calibration image as it appears through the other end of optics block 104 and determines differences between the expected locations of points of the calibration image the pattern relative to observed locations of the corresponding points of the distorted calibration image. Based on the differences, distortion correction module 1004 estimates changes to the wavefront of light from electronic display 102 as the wavefront passes though optics block 104. and an extractor configured to generate a mapping function by applying the correction data to a pre-stored standard mapping function…),
a control circuit (Par. 0081; distortion correction module 1004) configured to apply the correction data to a pre-stored standard mapping function (Par. 0067; different states of optics block 104 correspond to various focal lengths, provide accommodation for a range of vergence depths, and are associated with a lens shape or other adjustable property affecting focal length. Accordingly, vergence depths can be mapped to lens shapes or properties and stored in a lookup table. Thus, when a vergence depth is received from vergence processing module 112, varifocal actuation block 106 identifies a lens shape corresponding to the vergence depth from the lookup table and changes the shape of one or more lenses in optics block 104 to the identified lens shape corresponding to the new vergence depth. As described above in conjunction with FIG. 1, varifocal actuation block 106 may include one or more components to change the shape or other property affecting the focal length of one or more lenses of optics block 104) to generate a mapping function to compensate for optical distortion caused by the multi-channel lens (Par. 0074; generates distortion correction maps to correct for optical error introduced by different states of optics block 104, which accounts for different focal lengths caused by optics block 104. Par. 0081; distortion correction module 1004 generates 1110 a distortion correction map for a state of optics block based on the wavefront (e.g., based on a wavefront at the exit pupil after image light passes through optics block 104) and determined differences between the expected locations of points of the calibration image relative to observed locations of the corresponding points in the distorted calibration image captured as light from electronic display 102 passes through optics block 104).
Fix does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the recessed part is disposed at a center of the multi-channel lens.
In the same art of multi-channel lens, Huang discloses wherein the recessed part is disposed at a center of the multi-channel lens (Par. 0044-0045; fly-eye lens 100 comprises a substrate 10, one side of the substrate 10 is provided with a plurality of sub-lens 20, each sub-lens 20 is provided with a plurality of randomly distributed transparent structure 30. The light-transmitting structure 30 is a light-transmitting protrusion 31 protruding outwards from the sub-lens 20 or a light-transmitting groove 32 recessed inwards lens 20. As shown in FIG. 1 to FIG. 9…).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Fix’s optical distortion mapping system to incorporate Huang’s multi-channel lens structure. The motivation lies in the advantage of controlled light-transmission geometry for various optical references in multi-lens structures, further improving distortion modeling accuracy and consistency of image correction in VR display systems. The combination yields predictable results of reliable mapping-function generation for correcting optical distortion caused by complex multi-channel lens geometries, thereby enhancing visual fidelity.
Regarding claim 2, Fix discloses the mapping function extraction system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the multi-channel lens (Par. 0026; Optics block 104 directs light from electronic display 102 to an exit pupil for viewing by a user using one or more optical elements, such as…Fresnel lenses) includes the plurality of sub-lenses through which light emitted from a display passes (Par. 0073; A wavefront sensor, such as a Shack-Hartmann sensor, may be used to measure the wavefront. A Shack-Hartmann sensor comprises an array of lenses, each focused onto a sensor, such as a CCD or CMOS array, based on a focal location on the sensor, a local tilt (or deviation of a beam of light) of the wavefront across each lens is calculated and the local tilts are combined to approximate a wavefront).
Fix does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of sub-lenses is at least three.
In the same art of multi-channel lens, Huang discloses wherein the plurality of sub-lenses is at least three (Fig. 1-9 and Par. 0044-0045; plurality of sub-lens 20)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Fix’s optical distortion mapping system to incorporate Huang’s multi-channel lens structure having a plurality of sub-lenses that is at least three. The motivation lies in the advantage of increasing spatial sampling and wavefront measurement across the optical aperture, further allowing accurate characterization of optical distortion and improving distortion-correction mapping in VR display systems. The combination yields predictable results of enhanced distortion modeling accuracy and improved visual fidelity.
Regarding claim 3, Fix discloses the mapping function extraction system of claim 2, and further discloses wherein the appearance data includes appearance information of the recessed part (Par. 0078-0080; displacements, or "tilts") formed by the plurality of sub-lenses (Par. 0078-0081; wavefront sensors).
Regarding claim 4, Fix discloses the mapping function extraction system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the standard appearance data includes appearance information of the multi-channel lens having a pre-derived initial design (Par. 0005; The calibration image includes a pattern, such as a checkerboard pattern or an array of points, and features of the calibration image, such as the actual, ideal, or theoretical location of features. FIG. 12A and Par. 0079; each box of the checkerboard pattern of distorted calibration image…can be compared to ideal or theoretical positions of the boxes in calibration image 1200A to determine displacements).
Regarding claim 5, Fix discloses the mapping function extraction system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the correction data is derived based on a difference between the standard appearance data and the appearance data (Par. 0080; distortion correction module 1004 receives the images of distorted calibration image as it appears through the other end of optics block 104 and determines differences between the expected locations of points of the calibration image the pattern relative to observed locations of the corresponding points of the distorted calibration image. Based on the differences, distortion correction module 1004 estimates changes to the wavefront of light from electronic display 102 as the wavefront passes though optics block 104. For example, wavefront slopes for each state are computed from the displacements for a least-squares fitting with derivatives of Zernike polynomials).
Regarding claim 6, Fix discloses the mapping function extraction system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the standard mapping function (Par. 0081-0082; distortion correction map) is to calculate position information of pixels (Par. 0078-0079; Displacements, or “tilts,” between one or more points in the distorted calibration image and in the calibration image are determined by comparing the distorted calibration image to the calibration image (or other data identifying expected locations of the one or more points)…wavefront sensors allows the camera 1010 to measure higher pixel displacement at an angular displacement…multiple camera positions provide multiple points for determining displacements, or “tilts,” between one or more points in the distorted calibration image and in the calibration image) corresponding to a virtual reality image (Par. 0072; Display of a scene by VR headset 100 is modified to mitigate distortion introduced by optical errors of optics block 104 included in VR headset 100 that directs image light from electronic display element 102 presenting the scene to an eye of a use…calibration images) to be provided through the multi-channel lens that has a pre-derived initial design (Par. 0080; optics block 104…expected locations of points of the calibration image).
Regarding claim 7, Fix discloses the mapping function extraction system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the mapping function is extracted based on a change in the appearance data (Par. 0005-0006; emulating a wavefront sensor providing better correction of distortion caused by the optics block, as the distortion is generally non-linear and changes based on a state of the optics block…is modified or changed as the pupil location or the state of the optics block changes (e.g., as a varifocal element changes the position or the shape of the optics block) to correct for optical errors caused by different pupil locations relative to the optics block states of the optics block)
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 is the method claim of system claim 1, and is accordingly rejected using substantially similar rationale as to that which is set for with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 has similar limitations as of claim 2, except it is a method claim, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 has similar limitations as of claim 3, except it is a method claim, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 has similar limitations as of claim 4, except it is a method claim, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 4.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 has similar limitations as of claim 5, except it is a method claim, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 has similar limitations as of claim 6, except it is a method claim, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 has similar limitations as of claim 7, except it is a method claim, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 7.
Regarding claim 15, Fix discloses a display device (FIG. 1 and Par. 0025; VR headset 100 is a Head-Mounted Display) comprising:
a display including pixels (FIG. 1 and Par. 0025; electronic display 102),
a lens arrangement including at least one multi-channel lens having a plurality of sub-lenses intersecting at a recessed part (Fig. 1 and Par. 0026; Optics block 104 directs light from electronic display 102 to an exit pupil for viewing by a user using one or more optical elements, such as…Fresnel lenses. Examiner’s note: Fresnel lenses comprise multiple rings with concentric grooves, each ring is a sub-lens and each concentric groove is where the sub-lens intersects at a recessed part) and configured to provide a virtual reality (VR) image (virtual scene) by refracting and reflecting an image displayed on the display (Par. 0004; optics block included in the headset that directs image light from an electronic display element presenting the scene to an eye of a user),
and a controller (FIG. 10-11 and Par. 0081-0082; distortion correction module 1004 and scene renderer module 120) configured to generate mapping data including position information of the pixels (Par. 0078-0079; Displacements, or “tilts,” between one or more points in the distorted calibration image and in the calibration image are determined by comparing the distorted calibration image to the calibration image (or other data identifying expected locations of the one or more points)…wavefront sensors allows the camera 1010 to measure higher pixel displacement at an angular displacement…multiple camera positions provide multiple points for determining displacements, or “tilts,” between one or more points in the distorted calibration image and in the calibration image) corresponding to the VR image, based on a pre-stored mapping function and VR image data (Par. 0081-0082; distortion correction module 1004 generates 1110 a distortion correction map…distortion correction maps corresponding to various states of optics block 104 are provided 1112 to scene render module 120 to modify information displayed on electronic display 102 to compensate for distortion caused by optics block 104),
wherein a difference value between standard appearance data of the multi-channel lens and appearance data of the multi-channel lens including appearance information of the recessed part (Par. 0078-0080; displacements, or "tilts") is applied to the mapping function (Par. 0081; distortion correction module 1004 generates 1110 a distortion correction map for a state of optics block based on the wavefront (e.g., based on a wavefront at the exit pupil after image light passes through optics block 104) and determined differences between the expected locations of points of the calibration image relative to observed locations of the corresponding points in the distorted calibration image captured as light from electronic display 102 passes through optics block 104).
Fix does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the recessed part is disposed at a center of the multi-channel lens.
In the same art of multi-channel lens, Huang discloses wherein the recessed part is disposed at a center of the multi-channel lens (Par. 0044-0045; fly-eye lens 100 comprises a substrate 10, one side of the substrate 10 is provided with a plurality of sub-lens 20, each sub-lens 20 is provided with a plurality of randomly distributed transparent structure 30. The light-transmitting structure 30 is a light-transmitting protrusion 31 protruding outwards from the sub-lens 20 or a light-transmitting groove 32 recessed inwards lens 20. As shown in FIG. 1 to FIG. 9…).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Fix’s optical distortion mapping system to incorporate Huang’s multi-channel lens structure. The motivation lies in the advantage of controlled light-transmission geometry for various optical references in multi-lens structures, further improving distortion modeling accuracy and consistency of image correction in VR display systems. The combination yields predictable results of reliable mapping-function generation for correcting optical distortion caused by complex multi-channel lens geometries, thereby enhancing visual fidelity.
Regarding claim 16, Fix discloses the display device of claim 15, and further discloses wherein the mapping function is extracted based on a change in the appearance data (Par. 0005-0006; emulating a wavefront sensor providing better correction of distortion caused by the optics block, as the distortion is generally non-linear and changes based on a state of the optics block…is modified or changed as the pupil location or the state of the optics block changes (e.g., as a varifocal element changes the position or the shape of the optics block) to correct for optical errors caused by different pupil locations relative to the optics block states of the optics block).
Fix does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of sub-lenses is at least three.
In the same art of multi-channel lens, Huang discloses wherein the plurality of sub-lenses is at least three (Fig. 1-9 and Par. 0044-0045; plurality of sub-lens 20).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Fix’s optical distortion mapping system to incorporate Huang’s multi-channel lens structure having a plurality of sub-lenses that is at least three. The motivation lies in the advantage of increasing spatial sampling and wavefront measurement across the optical aperture, further allowing accurate characterization of optical distortion and improving distortion-correction mapping in VR display systems. The combination yields predictable results of enhanced distortion modeling accuracy and improved visual fidelity.
Regarding claim 17, Fix discloses the display device of claim 15, and further discloses wherein the standard appearance data includes appearance information of the multi-channel lens having an initial design (Par. 0005; The calibration image includes a pattern, such as a checkerboard pattern or an array of points, and features of the calibration image, such as the actual, ideal, or theoretical location of features. FIG. 12A and Par. 0079; each box of the checkerboard pattern of distorted calibration image…can be compared to ideal or theoretical positions of the boxes in calibration image 1200A to determine displacements).
Regarding claim 18, Fix discloses the display device of claim 15, and further discloses wherein the appearance data (Par. 0075; FIG. 12B shows an example distorted calibration image 1202B…optics block 104 is included in VR headset 100 to show how distortion caused by optics block 104 distorts calibration image) includes appearance information of the multi-channel lens through scanning (Par. 0005; To model distortion caused by the optics block, a calibration image is displayed by the virtual reality headset and a camera captures multiple images of the displayed calibration image from different positions relative to the exit pupil…Capturing images from multiple positions relative to the exit pupil enables the calibration system to measure optical properties of the optics block (e.g., the focal length(s), how the focal length(s) vary as a function of angle, higher-order aberrations of the optics block, etc.) by emulating a wavefront sensor) the multi-channel lens including the recessed part (Par. 0026; Optics block 104 directs light from electronic display 102 to an exit pupil for viewing by a user using one or more optical elements, such as…Fresnel lenses. Examiner’s note: Fresnel lenses comprise multiple rings with concentric grooves, each ring is a sub-lens and each concentric groove is where the sub-lens intersects at a recessed part).
Regarding claim 19, Fix discloses the display device of claim 15, and further discloses wherein the appearance data includes appearance information of the recessed part (Par. 0078-0080; displacements, or "tilts") formed by the plurality of sub-lenses (Par. 0073; A wavefront sensor, such as a Shack-Hartmann sensor, may be used to measure the wavefront. A Shack-Hartmann sensor comprises an array of lenses, each focused onto a sensor, such as a CCD or CMOS array, based on a focal location on the sensor, a local tilt (or deviation of a beam of light) of the wavefront across each lens is calculated and the local tilts are combined to approximate a wavefront) included in the multi-channel lens (Par. 0026; Optics block 104 directs light from electronic display 102 to an exit pupil for viewing by a user using one or more optical elements, such as…Fresnel lenses).
Regarding claim 20, Fix discloses the display device of claim 15, and further discloses wherein: the controller is configured to provide the mapping data to the display, and the display is configured to display the image based on the mapping data (Par. 0081-0082; distortion correction module 1004 generates 1110 a distortion correction map…distortion correction maps corresponding to various states of optics block 104 are provided 1112 to scene render module 120 to modify information displayed on electronic display 102 to compensate for distortion caused by optics block 104).
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 is the CRM claim (Par. 0042-0043; application store 152) of system claim 1, and is accordingly rejected using substantially similar rationale as to that which is set for with respect to claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNY N TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2615
/ALICIA M HARRINGTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2615