DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 is indefinite because it is unclear whether “the pressure” (claims filed 3/13/24, l. 3) refers to the previously recited “pressure of the pressure gauge” (l. 2) or of “inner pressures of the pipes” (claim 1, last line).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, and 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ozaki et al. (JP 2008-078505 A).
Regarding claim 1, Ozaki et al. discloses a leakage detection apparatus (fig. 5) comprising: two O-rings (41; fig. 6) arranged between flanges (27, 40) facing each other, wherein the flanges (27, 40) are provided to connect pipes (23, 47) and the two O-rings (41) are provided so as to seal an inside of each of the pipes (23, 47) from outside in a double seal manner (a pair of O-rings 41 are arranged between flange portions of manifold 27 and seal cap 40 which face each other, the flange portions are provided to connect processing tube 23 with nozzle 47, and O-rings 41 seal an inside of processing tube 23 and nozzle 47 from outside in a double seal manner; Machine Translation, ¶¶ [0023, 0025]); a communication hole provided at one of the flanges (27) and communicating with a space (42) surrounded by the two O-rings (an opening to exhaust line 43 is provided in the flange portion of manifold 27 and communicates with annular groove 42 surrounded by inner and outer O-rings 41; ¶ [0024] and fig. 6); a monitor pipe (43) capable of communicating with the communication hole; a pressure gauge (44; fig. 5) connected to the monitor pipe (43) and capable of measuring an inner pressure of the monitor pipe (pressure sensor 44 measures an inner pressure of exhaust line 43 connected to annular groove 42; ¶ [0024]); a valve (45) configured to be capable of being opened and closed to fluidly connect the monitor pipe (43) to an exhaust apparatus (valve 45 is opened and closed to connect exhaust line 43 to exhaust device 46; fig. 5 and ¶ [0024]); and a controller (61A, 46A) configured to be capable of controlling an opening and closing operation of the valve (45) so as to maintain a pressure measured by the pressure gauge (44) within a predetermined pressure range lower than inner pressures of the pipes (main control unit 61A and pressure control unit 46A controls valve 45 to maintain a desired vacuum level pressure detected by pressure sensor 44 which is lower than at least pressure inside process tube 23 during loading of wafers W; ¶¶ [0024, 0026]).
Regarding claim 2, Ozaki et al. discloses wherein a gas exhausted by the exhaust apparatus (46) flows through the pipes (23, 47), and wherein the monitor pipe (43) is connected to an intake side of the exhaust apparatus (when there is a leak in inner O-ring 41, gas exhausted by exhaust device 46 flows through process tube 23 and nozzle 47 and exhaust line 43 is connected to an intake side of exhaust device 46; fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3, Ozaki et al. discloses wherein the controller (61A, 46A) is configured to determine that a leakage occurs when at least one among a pressure of the pressure gauge (44), an elevation rate of the pressure and an opening time of the valve (45) exceeds a threshold value related thereto (if at least pressure sensor 44 has not reached a predetermined vacuum level value, a leakage is determined; ¶¶ [0061, 0071]).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Ozaki et al. discloses wherein the controller (61A, 46A) is configured to monitor an elevation rate of an inner pressure of the space (42) while the valve (45) is closed, and is configured to generate an interlock when the elevation rate of the inner pressure of the space (42) exceeds a threshold value related thereto (main controller unit 61A and pressure control unit 46A monitor a pressure over time of annular groove 42 while valve 45 is closed and generates an interlock, in which the substrate processing method does not advance to step K5 in which processing gas is supplied to processing chamber 26, when the pressure over time of annular groove 42 is higher than the desired vacuum level; ¶ [0041, 0060-0061]); wherein the controller (61A, 46A; fig. 5) is configured to open the valve (45) and configured to reduce an inner pressure of the communication hole (between annular groove 42 and exhaust line 43) before closing the valve (main control unit 61A and pressure control unit 46A open valve 45 to allow exhaust device 46 to reduce the pressure to a predetermine vacuum pressure; ¶ [0024]).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Ozaki et al. discloses wherein the controller (61A, 46A; fig. 5) is configured to check for the leakage by checking whether an inner pressure of the space (42) reaches a predetermined pressure or less within a predetermined time while the valve (45) is opened (main control unit 61A and pressure control unit 46A check for leakage by checking whether pressure in annular groove 42 reaches a predetermined vacuum level within an amount of time that valve 45 is open and exhaust device 46 is pumping air from annular groove 42; ¶¶ [0024, 0071]), and is configured to generate an interlock when the leakage occurs (main controller unit 61A and pressure control unit 46A monitor a pressure over time of annular groove 42 and generates an interlock, in which the substrate processing method does not advance to step K5 in which processing gas is supplied to processing chamber 26, when the pressure over time of annular groove 42 is higher than the desired vacuum level; ¶ [0041, 0060-0061]); wherein the controller (61A, 46A) is configured to open the valve (45) when a continuous closing time of the valve (45) exceeds a threshold value related thereto (main control unit 61A and pressure control unit 46A control a timing of valve 45; ¶ [0024]).
Regarding claim 7, Ozaki et al. discloses wherein further comprising a second exhaust apparatus (33; fig. 5) configured to exhaust a gas from the pipes (¶ [0020]).
Regarding claim 11, Ozaki et al. discloses wherein at least one among the flanges (27, 40; fig. 6) facing each other is provided with grooves into which the two O-rings (41) are fitted (flange portion of seal cap 40 is provided with grooves into which O-rings 41 are fitted).
Regarding claim 14, Ozaki et al. discloses a substrate processing apparatus (1; fig. 1 and ¶ [0010]) comprising: the leakage detection apparatus (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 15, Ozaki et al. discloses a substrate processing method (¶ [0010]) comprising: (a) transferring a substrate (W; fig. 1) into a substrate processing apparatus (wafer W is transferred into substrate processing apparatus 1 from pod 10), wherein the substrate processing apparatus (1) comprises: two O-rings (41; fig. 6) arranged between flanges (27, 40) facing each other, wherein the flanges (27, 40) are provided to connect pipes (23, 47) and the two O-rings (41) are provided so as to seal an inside of each of the pipes (23, 47) from outside in a double seal manner (a pair of O-rings 41 are arranged between flange portions of manifold 27 and seal cap 40 which face each other, the flange portions are provided to connect processing tube 23 with nozzle 47, and O-rings 41 seal an inside of processing tube 23 and nozzle 47 from outside in a double seal manner; Machine Translation, ¶¶ [0023, 0025]); a communication hole provided at one of the flanges (27) and communicating with a space (42) surrounded by the two O-rings (an opening to exhaust line 43 is provided in the flange portion of manifold 27 and communicates with annular groove 42 surrounded by inner and outer O-rings 41; ¶ [0024] and fig. 6); a monitor pipe (43) capable of communicating with the communication hole; a pressure gauge (44; fig. 5) connected to the monitor pipe (43) and capable of measuring an inner pressure of the monitor pipe (pressure sensor 44 measures an inner pressure of exhaust line 43 connected to annular groove 42; ¶ [0024]); and a valve (45) capable of being opened and closed to fluidly connect the monitor pipe (43) to an exhaust apparatus (valve 45 is opened and closed to connect exhaust line 43 to exhaust device 46; fig. 5 and ¶ [0024]); and (b) controlling an opening and closing operation of the valve (45) so as to maintain a pressure measured by the pressure gauge (44) within a predetermined pressure range lower than inner pressures of the pipes (main control unit 61A and pressure control unit 46A controls valve 45 to maintain a desired vacuum level pressure detected by pressure sensor 44 which is lower than at least pressure inside process tube 23 during loading of wafers W; ¶¶ [0024, 0026]).
Regarding claim 16, Ozaki et al. discloses a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device (IC), comprising the method (method of fabricating an IC using the substrate processing method; ¶ [0001]).
Regarding claim 17, Ozaki et al. discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium (69; fig. 7) storing a program that causes a substrate processing apparatus (1), by a computer (61-65 and 67), to perform the method (storage device 69 stores a program that causes substrate processing apparatus 1 to process wafer W using main controller 67 and sub-controllers 61-65; ¶¶ [0028, 0032]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozaki et al. (JP 2008-078505 A) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 2020/0399759 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 8, Ozaki et al. discloses the invention as set forth above with regard to claims 1 and 7.
Although Ozaki et al. discloses a substrate processing apparatus (1) in which processing gas is supplied (¶ [0025]), it is silent on a detoxification apparatus.
Yamazaki et al. teaches a substrate processing apparatus (202; fig. 1) wherein a harmful or flammable gas (such as dichlorosilane) flows in pipes (pipes into and out of process chamber 201; fig. 1), and wherein a detoxification apparatus (280) is located downstream of an exhaust apparatus (detoxifying device 280 is located downstream of exhaust pump 246; ¶ [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Ozaki et al. with the detoxification apparatus of Yamazaki et al. to neutralize harmful components in exhaust gas (Yamazaki et al., ¶ [0046]). In modifying the apparatus of Ozaki et al. with that of Yamazaki et al. one of ordinary skill would have known that to provide the detoxification apparatus of Yamazaki et al. downstream of either exhaust apparatus of Ozaki et al. to ensure harmful components in exhaust gas are treated.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Story et al. (US 5,090,871) in view of Ozaki et al. (JP 2008-078505 A).
Regarding claim 1, Story et al. discloses a leakage detection apparatus (fig. 1) comprising: two O-rings (26, 28) arranged between flanges (14, 38) facing each other, wherein the flanges (14, 38) are provided to connect pipes (12, 36) and the two O-rings (26, 28) are provided so as to seal an inside of each of the pipes (12, 36) from outside in a double seal manner (O-rings 26 and 28 are arranged between flanges 14 and 28 which face each other, wherein flanges 14 and 38 are provided to connect conduits 12 and 36, and O-rings 26 and 28 are provided to seal an inside of each of conduits 12 and 36 from outside in a double seal manner; c. 2, ll. 56-66); a communication hole (30) provided at one of the flanges (14) and communicating with a space (20) surrounded by the two O-rings (hole 30 is provided in flange 14 and communicates with channel 20 surrounded by inner and outer O-rings 26 and 28; c. 2, ll. 49-55).
Although Story et al. discloses leakage detection via the communication hole (c. 2, ll. 52-55), Story et al. is silent on using pressure leak detection with a monitor pipe.
Ozaki et al. teaches a leakage detection apparatus (fig. 5) comprising: two O-rings (41; fig. 6) arranged between flanges (27, 40) facing each other, a communication hole provided at one of the flanges (27) and communicating with a space (42) surrounded by the two O-rings (an opening to exhaust line 43 is provided in the flange portion of manifold 27 and communicates with annular groove 42 surrounded by inner and outer O-rings 41; ¶ [0024] and fig. 6); a monitor pipe (43) capable of communicating with the communication hole; a pressure gauge (44; fig. 5) connected to the monitor pipe (43) and capable of measuring an inner pressure of the monitor pipe (pressure sensor 44 measures an inner pressure of exhaust line 43 connected to annular groove 42; ¶ [0024]); a valve (45) configured to be capable of being opened and closed to fluidly connect the monitor pipe (43) to an exhaust apparatus (valve 45 is opened and closed to connect exhaust line 43 to exhaust device 46; fig. 5 and ¶ [0024]); and a controller (61A, 46A) configured to be capable of controlling an opening and closing operation of the valve (45) so as to maintain a pressure measured by the pressure gauge (44) within a predetermined pressure range lower than inner pressures of the pipes (main control unit 61A and pressure control unit 46A controls valve 45 to maintain a desired vacuum level pressure detected by pressure sensor 44 which is lower than at least pressure inside process tube 23 during loading of wafers W; ¶¶ [0024, 0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Story et al. with the pressure leak detection of Ozaki et al. to provide accurate leak detection in a substrate processing apparatus (Ozaki et al., ¶¶ [0058, 0071]).
Claim(s) 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Story et al. (US 5,090,871) in view of Ozaki et al. (JP 2008-078505 A), and further, in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 2020/0399759 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 8, Story et al. in view of Ozaki et al. discloses the invention as set forth above with regard to claims 1 and 7.
Although Ozaki et al. discloses a substrate processing apparatus (1) in which processing gas is supplied (¶ [0025]), Story et al. in view of Ozaki et al. are silent on a detoxification apparatus.
Yamazaki et al. teaches a substrate processing apparatus (202; fig. 1) wherein a harmful or flammable gas (such as dichlorosilane) flows in pipes (pipes into and out of process chamber 201; fig. 1), and wherein a detoxification apparatus (280) is located downstream of an exhaust apparatus (detoxifying device 280 is located downstream of exhaust pump 246; ¶ [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Story et al. in view of Ozaki et al. with the detoxification apparatus of Yamazaki et al. to neutralize harmful components in exhaust gas (Yamazaki et al., ¶ [0046]). In modifying the apparatus of Story et al. in view of Ozaki et al. with that of Yamazaki et al. one of ordinary skill would have known that to provide the detoxification apparatus of Yamazaki et al. downstream of either exhaust apparatus of Ozaki et al. to ensure harmful components in exhaust gas are treated.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Story et al. further discloses a leakage detection apparatus (fig. 1) comprising: two O-rings (26, 28) arranged between flanges (14, 38) facing each other, wherein the flanges (14, 38) are provided to connect pipes (12, 36), wherein the pipes (12, 36) are constituted by a first pipe (12) and a second pipe (36), and wherein the first pipe (12) and the second pipe (36) are connected by making the flange (14) related to the first pipe (12) face the flange (38) related to the second pipe (flange 14 of conduit 12 faces flange 38 of conduit 36; fig. 1).
Story et al. in view of Ozaki et al. are silent on a detoxification apparatus.
Yamazaki et al. teaches the detoxification apparatus (280) is located downstream of an exhaust apparatus (detoxifying device 280 is located downstream of exhaust pump 246; ¶ [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Story et al. in view of Ozaki et al. with the detoxification apparatus of Yamazaki et al. to neutralize harmful components in exhaust gas (Yamazaki et al., ¶ [0046]). In modifying the apparatus of Story et al. in view of Ozaki et al. with the detoxifying apparatus of Yamazaki et al., one or ordinary skill would have known to place the detoxifying apparatus downstream of either first or second pipes of Story et al. to provide treatment of gas passing therethrough.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chaplin et al. (US 4,019,371) is cited for a leakage detection apparatus (fig. 1) having two O-rings (21, 22) provided between two flanges facing each other and a pressure gauge (33; fig. 3) and valve (32).
Yatagi (US 6,279,382 B1) is cited for a leak testing apparatus (fig. 6) with a valve (19), exhaust device (16), and a monitoring pipe (18) connected to a space between two O-rings (3, 4).
Contact Information
/ERIKA J. VILLALUNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852